Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2012
First off, I'd like to comment with how pleased I was at the speed this came; I got hold of it on the first day expected, rather than the day after last like I normally do.

Warcraft 3 in all is a fun game, with a deep and gripping campaign, and a lot more focus on four races than multiple variants of one like in other RTS games. The speed of gameplay also seems a lot faster than most, due to a more war focused experience than a full economy.

With this in mind, I'd like to move to the expansion: Rather than adding new races like most games would, it instead improved the others, adding more strategic possibilities than before for each race. As well as new maps, it also added a brand new campaign, following on from the events of the first. The amount of additional content on top of the original is astounding, making this one of the most well-valued expansions I've ever bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2003
Blizzard have come up with another great warcraft game. With the new heroes and units it is even more fun to fight your enemies. As expansion packs go, this is ok. The new units are very numerous maybe about 2 per race. The campaign isn't as good as the orignial Warcraft 3 one. It drifts from the plot of "The Frozen Throne" and doesn't mention it again until the end of the campaign. The critters are back with new units aswell and some of them go up to about level 11!!. Playtime, well, it depends how long you can sit in front of a computer screen for. It only took me a day to complete so its playtime isnt that great but I do nothing but play computer games. Unfortunatly the orcs dont get a mention in the main campaign but get thier own bonus campaign but the end of the first level is a big let down and very off putting. All in all this is a gd game and derservs the four stars that i give it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2003
Warcraft series is a hard series to improve upon but yet again blizzard manage to show us how good they can be.There was many a complaint on battle.net that the teams were unfairly balanced.To all those that moaned relief is here.In this new version the teams have been evened up an now playing online is more of the battle and struggle it should be.Every team has been given a new hero to fill the space in each teams attack that was missin plus their is the new neutral hero which adds that extra flavour to the game aswell.All the patches from the first game have been carried forward aswell and the single player missions are as enthrallin and exciting as the wc3.My advice to you is to buy this expansion pack if u have the wc3 because it will bring the game back into the forefront of ur gaming life.Buy it. BUY IT NOW.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2003
i was undecided for a while about buying frozen throne but i played previews and watched trailers and took the plunge.i am glad i did because it was a fantastic addition to the warcraft saga which not only featured all your favourite characters from the original but also had new ones.the new campaigns were incredible and now u can hire neutral heros u can have almost invincible armies.there are new maps and new creeps and it is almost like a new game for an extremely reasonable price.
The battlenet system has also been greatly improved and now clans relly get support and there are more tournaments organised by blizzard.also in the free-for-alls there is a much reduced chance of fighting someone several levels above you,which gives better chances to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2005
The game warcrft 3, while totaly taking over my life left me disappionted at the end, it had built up such a great stroyline and addictive gameplay that when it ended two of the main charcters seemed to be completely forgotten about, which left me feeling somewhat robbed.
Needless to say, that in the frozen throne this was more than made up for. Not only does it conculde the amazing storyline that it created in Warcraft 3, it has upgraded the game.
New charcters have been introduced, as well as new new units and warriors and even a new race the Naga.
Suffice to say that this exansion pack does more than just complement the orginal game, it supasses it.
Making the Frozen Throne a MUST HAVE for any Warcraft fan
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2003
the new expansion pack for the original game is a superb add on, giving many new features including storylines, characters, worlds, men and buildings that take you deeper into the game. It enhances the gameplay far more than expected, giving new ways of playing and different things to do. The only down point to the game is that some of the new parts slow down the game on slower machines, making gameplay jerk occasionally. But overall it is an exciting improvement that will give most gamers an enjoyable play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2003
Blizzard has finally made the sequel of Warcraft III, one of the most popular games in the past few years, and this expansion pack won't dissapoint you either. New heroes and new units are some of the improvements of this game making it even more interesting to play. A perfect combination between creativity and technology along with a versatil and powerful internet gaming capabilities makes this real-time strategy game a real Master Piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2003
Warcraft III - Frozen Throne is one of the best games i've ever played. The new heroes are amazing, especially the Crypt Lord in my opinion. I think this game is alot better than the origonal warcraft III because the new heroes can make an amazing strategy base, especially undead who have the crypt lord who can raise cool things from corpses. Here's a tip, guys out there. If you play with undead in an enclosed space, enclose it even more with Spirit towers and guard the entrance alot. Get loads of necros and the crypt lord and put them inside the base so you can summon lots of cool things and waste your enimies! I'm sorry but for all those strategy fans out there who don't have this game GET IT!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Still one of the best RTS games around. Great balance between Orcs, Humans, Undead, while they are all quite different to play. But that's just like you'd expect from Blizzard. Wonderful game, both singe- and multiplayer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2003
The first thing that comes to mind when you think of Blizzard's Warcraft or Starcraft series will likely be hours of quality gameplay. The second will be sequel.
As expected, the new Frozen Throne expansion adds numerous units, buildings and even a new hero for each race. In addition, it provides a whole new campaign starting from where Warcraft 3 left off. I won't spoil the storyline, but it has to do with our resident prince-turned-evil dreadknight finding out about a powerful artefact called the Frozen Throne, and as it happens, both the Elves, Orcs and the Humans want it too. As usual, there are numerous sacrifices, betrayals and prophecies leading to a final showdown.
I really liked this pack, because all the new units are perfectly balanced to fit in with the originals, and the game now supports numerous new tilesets for mapmakers to utilise in creating their own maps.
The only other real comparison in terms of quality is the new Neverwinter Nights expansion pack, which has been released at the same time, likely in competition, and at around the same price, and is a real competitor in terms of quality and content. Since there's a deal to buy these together, I would advise that you do so.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)