Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding add-on to an outstanding game�..
It has been many months since the burning legion was defeated on Mount Hyjai. The Night Elves have vanished into Ashenvale to begin the healing of the land, The Orcs have settled in Kalimdor looking to call this there new homeland, the human survivors have settled along the barrens and Arthas has crowned himself King of Lordaeron has begun to wipe out the remaining...
Published on 3 Sep 2003 by Mark Gadsby

versus
3 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip Off
I bought this along with Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, I bought it and I got NO CD Key, So its impossible to install, Reign of Chaos was fine, But its a coinsidence that the one I mainly want to play comes with no CD Key, So heres a tip to everyone out there, You should buy this from somewhere else, Cause if you have no CD Key, You obivously can't install and play it...
Published on 29 Oct 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding add-on to an outstanding game�.., 3 Sep 2003
By 
Mark Gadsby "darkreaper_1" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
It has been many months since the burning legion was defeated on Mount Hyjai. The Night Elves have vanished into Ashenvale to begin the healing of the land, The Orcs have settled in Kalimdor looking to call this there new homeland, the human survivors have settled along the barrens and Arthas has crowned himself King of Lordaeron has begun to wipe out the remaining pockets of humanity from the fallen Alliance.
The Frozen Throne is about to change everything. Illidan the fallen demon hunter now searches for the Frozen Throne and so does Arthas. The Blood Elves who were once the proud Elves of Quel'Thalas are few in number and with the destruction of the Sun well have a hunger for magic that they cannot quench, which drives the Blood Elf leader to make a number of difficult decisions about the Elves future. The Orc leader Thrall is still seeking a new land for his people to call home.
The expansion set creates up to 9 new missions for each race like the original except for the Orcs. This means that you are getting a game pretty much the same length as the original only with fewer film sequences. The Night Elves, Humans and Scourge are set in the main scenario and one must be played to the end to access the others. The Orc have very little to do with the main story of the Frozen Throne and so have been give there own little story as a "bonus". The Orc story is very hero driven as you will play just as a set of heroes for all of the Orc Campaign. There are no characters that you will see or hear throw the entire game unlike the original and most of the drive of each races story evolves around new characters that are rarely supported by returning heroes from the past game. This fact plus that each race has it's own objective that only hints at the whole story means that it sometimes appears to be less "solid" story wise than the previous game but that doesn't mean that the story is below par or a bad one. The story pans out well with only a few "shady" parts that are a bit questionable but nothing too bad to detract from the overall thrust.
Only a hand full of these new missions involves you building up a base and battling the enemy. Nearly all of the other missions have you commanding a set amount of units and a number of tasks to complete so this might be a little off putting if you enjoy base building and resource gathering. This fact however shouldn't put you off buying the game. Some missions, like the original, only allow you certain units which not only introduce you to the new units and the abilities but means that you have to develop tactics around these units.
Each race gets a "vault" building which is similar to a goblin merchant, the hero units are allowed to buy certain items from a vault depending on their race. These items can be very useful to the player for a number of reasons. There are also a number of added upgrades for each race as well. A new hero and two new units are added for each race. The heroes and the new units go with each army well. Each race is only allowed to have 3 heroes so a player must choose which heroes to have in their army. A new set of creeps has been added not only to the existing map types but to the Mercenary camp as well. Not only that but 5 neutral heroes can now be obtained at a Tavern each has its own abilities and can fill in gaps that your army does not have or bolster an already strong attribute. One thing that many Warcraft players will be happy to hear is that you can have ships...but you have to purchase them from a shipyard and they are very few in the main campaign. Also the ship battle is quite basic and not as engrossing as the Warcraft 2 game.
The game also includes a few changes from the original. The price of gold/lumber for certain buildings and units have changed as well as some of the animation and graphics for a few units. For Example the Orc Catapult has been replaced with a Demolisher which looks different but is sensually the same unit. Three new tile sets have been added and the World Editor has been revamped which makes it easier for a creative player to create a scenario.
The game is very enjoyable and if you are not careful you will find that you have spent hours playing as you have become enwrapped in the game. The multiplayer has become more fun with the new units and creeps as well as the new maps that have been added for you to select. If you enjoyed playing the original Warcraft 3 game then I can safely recommend this game to you. Blizzard have a well deserved reputation of creating quality games and even better expansion sets and this one does not break that mould. The only problem with the game is that on Normal difficulty setting the game can be too easy. Players who want to be challenge or experienced Warcraft players should play throw on the hard setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Killing, 30 April 2003
By 
Seb Nichols (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
Last summer, we all waited eagerly for the much anticipated Warcraft III. And we weren't disappointed, not least because of the superb hero development. Fate, it seems, has a habit of repeating itself. The Frozen Throne is as highly anticipated as Reign of Chaos ever was, and offers oh so much more. There are now four heroes available for each race - a whopping total of 16 - and you can even hire extra ones to lead your forces into battle. Those of you who played the previous Warcraft expansion packs will now just how big they are and this is now exception - a near perfect campaign editor, (with cut-scenes, voice overs, the whole works)gives a whole lot of added depth to the game. Using the map editor, you can even edit your own hero! Another new addition to Reign of Chaos was the creeps - previously, only sheep could be found (winged sheep as a result of polymorph are most amusing)Reign of Chaos introduced Thunder Lizards, Ogre Magi and even Dragon Lairs. This huge roster of beasties is even greater, and killing them will reward your heroes with more treasure. There is of course a whole new campaign for each race, as marvellously worked as the superb Reign of Chaos. The one drawback to Reign of Chaos, if any, was the fact that the campaign, though absorbing, could be completed much too quickly. No such problem here, it seems. The storyline is engaging, and each campaign related brilliantly to the next, as they did for Reign of Chaos. Even the custom games reek of quality. There are far more game modes available, each one with its unique challenge. The visuals are superb, and with often comical voices from the characters there are simply months of solid gameplay to be had. A real Bobby Dazzler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the story unfolds, 8 July 2003
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
there are two basic reasons why people buy Warcraft games:
1. single player campaigns
2. multiplayer online playing
I will try and point out the changes, modifications and developments in TFT (The Frozen Throne) compared to RoC (Reign of Chaos)
1. the single player campaigns further develop the story of the Warcraft universe, starting in the aftermath of where RoC ended - ie, the great battle where Humans, Orcs and Night Elf Sentinels united against the Undead Scourge and the Burning Legion. The focus of the story is on two main characters whose fate we didnt discover in RoC, Undead hero Arthas and Night Elf DemonHunter Illidan.
The plot of TFT sets them against each other, as was previously implied in RoC - and the high point of the expansion set is their clash, but as I do not want to post any spoilers, I will just leave it at that.
Playing the sinlge player campaign is meant to gradually introduce the player to new units (2 new units per race), new heroes (9 in all) and modifications made to the existing ones, which is more than necessary for those players that later wanna play custom map games and online games.
You can play the campaign in NORMAL or HARD mode. For the relatively new player (I say relatively because as TFT requires RoC to be installed, I suppose noone can really be completely new to the game) NORMAL is the mode to begin with, as the HARD mode is REALLY HARD (AI attacks are more frequent, with more units that are upgraded, stronger creeps that get in your way, etc).
Important thing is the campaigns are very diverse (although there are some, not many) tasks that are repeated from RoC, and are, in fact quite challenging, sometimes even very hard, to complete (and this is for NORMAL mode).
There are many campaigns where you have to protect your hero from dying, then there are timed tasks (you have to finish something in a specific timeframe), there are classic SEARCH and DESTORY EVERYTHING IN SIGHT type of tasks - and also, some chapters of the campaigns are 'solve the puzzle' types.
Also, there is a hidden level campaign, based on a very much liked and played TOWER DEFENCE type of map. Also, we see a kind of comeback of use of ships, which was used in Warcraft II campaigns a lot.
The Warcraft Universe is developed further: the player meets many completely new races and landscapes, and also finds out history of the known races. The order of the campaigns is: 1. Night Elf Sentinels, 2. Alliance (Human) and 3. Undead Scourge.
The Orc campaign (and the Orc story) is separate from the main plot of TFT, but it follows up on the Orcs and their new homeland. It is made more as an RPG type of game than classic RTS, where, instead of massing an army of units, you only control heroes, and you have many tasks to finish using just them. The Orc scenario is very fun, and a real refreshment. It is also quite long, which is not a bad thing. Since the Orc campaign which is featured on the cd is just act 1, Blizzard has announced acts 2 and 3, which I suppose will be free to dowload from battle.net, but dont take my word for it.
2. the online aspect of playing has been almost radically changed: the intorduction of 4 new heroes (each race gets one) + 5 neutral heroes changes the gameplay a great deal. The limit is still 3 heroes per player, so choosing from 9 (4 race ones and 5 neutral) makes the game strategically more challenging.
One of the big changes is also in the treatment of creeps - the money that a player gets is significantly smaller, so the purpose of creeping has been changed from creeping to get gold to creeping to level up the hero. Also, leveling of the hero(es) is much faster, so you can get high level heroes pretty fast.
a big intoduction is the fact that players can now build their own, race-unique shops, in ther own bases, which stock various items (potions, scrolls, weapon-inducing items, town portals, etc).
there are also taverns, where you can choose from 5 different neutral heroes to balance and improve the race you're playing with (most of the neutral heroes you get to use in the single player campaigns).
A big change is also that the food limit is upped from 80 to 100 food, meaning you can produce a much more varied armies.
Also, the emphasis on resources has been moved from gold to wood (ie. buildings and upgrades take MUCH more wood than in RoC)
there are many changes, these are just a few of them. Blizzard's tradition is to introduce patches to the original form of the game, balancing out the gameplay on bnet, based mostly on reactions of the players, so I expect that TFT will have its own patches which will influence the small but important details of gameplay.
In the end, to everyone who has followed the Warcaft series TFT will not be a disappointment. I found that TFT served it's purpose very well, being a well-tought, well-made extension pack, with many surprises on top of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the stars are there for a reason, 1 Jun 2005
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
Being the fastest spreading game in the country, it maybe safe to say that warcraft is not a game you will be dissapointed with. Warcraft is not just a strategy game but one which consists of also mini (side) games for the non strategic gamers. For instance if you would preferrably want to control just the heroes instead of an army, there are games like DoTa(defence of the ancients) which are games that rely heavily on just one unit. Teaming with other gamers to complete the objective. I bought frozen throne the first day it came out in the stores and it is still the best game i have played till now, im still playing it nowadays. Such a good expansion to the original RoC. There are always new updates and patches which include various new heroes and units into the game to keep you going. I would say well done blizzard ^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good expansion of the Warcraft series, 2 July 2003
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
This game beats any other add on pack ever invented. Their is so much more to do, its like purchasing the original again for the first time. The new units do do their tasks, like for example The Orcs weak points have been strenghened, i.e. a new flying unit (troll bat) and the troll berserkers, which adds to the orcs ranged fighters. And the nightelfs for example received a new devestating melee unit (find out yourself).
Also, now that boats have been reintroduced from Warcraft 2, their is more variety of how to transport units.
Each race received there new hero, which are all good in their own way, and are better than the employable heroes, which aren't as good as the original heroes.
The levels have been redesigned, and also are a whole lot different to the original. New multiplayer maps also await you, in bigger and better qualities.
The map editor has been remade, with possibilities in making your own campaigns with better triggers and also a speech capability, so now the dialogues have sound.(wait a bit for my own Gnoll campaign!!!!!)
due to the new units and so, there will have to be some new tactics made by opposition to beat a race, and I think there won't be many more "Necro/Dryad" rushes, because the new units can counter act old strategies (to an extent) and some of the old units have changed a bit (similar to patch 1.06)
This game is definatley worth buying if you love the previous and want to know what happens next. The game will most probably give you the same pleasure as the original.
HAVE FUN!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warcraft III, The Frozen Throne, 7 July 2003
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
Since first getting hold of the first Warcraft game I was hooked and eagerly awaited each new title as it was announced, developed and published. Warcraft II and then finally after some time Warcraft III. Now The expansion pack has been released. Just as much thought has been put into this one as there was in the original and I am more than pleased to say that it contains many new features and one old feature that was missing in Warcraft III and that is the ships for sea travel. This was a good is a good thing as it will make the game more interesting and not become monotenous. There are lots of new map textures and new creeps to make things interesting. To each race has been given one more Hero to use and it may take some time to learn what each ability of these new Hero's are good for. Apart from the new hero's new units have been added to the mercenary shops that are found across the various maps in this game and these characters can act as heros as well and so upgrading from the normal slice and dice ogres and trolls that can be hired. Apart from the new characters and added features to the game the story continues in this game and we get to find out what happens to Illidian who now wanders the world free but menaced by his past and so bound by it and prince Arthur who last was seen giving the vital information required to the elves to defeat the burning legions.
All in all the game lives up to the true spirit of Warcraft and is a game that was worth waiting for.
I award it full marks for the excellent graphics, excellent game play and for being a Perfect way of beating you boss in something!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest game ever..., 7 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
If you want a full time game experience, just buy this. All who played Reign of chaos is going to love this expansion. With the new heros and units, you can play it almost 24 hours in a row, without thinking about food or drinks ( not recommendable, but YOU REALLY CAN ). Also the new campain story line is addictive, and the new heroes are THE GREATEST
BEST GAME EVER
BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warcraftilitious, 16 Aug 2003
By 
J. Field "raynor_ridin" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
The new title from blizzard doesnt fail to impress. This new expansion features all new heroes and units for each race as well as new upgrades and the option to hire heroes as well as the continuation of the excellent story inciting us into the world of warcraft. The new heroes are an interesting and welcome addition to gameplay my particular favourite being the blood mage. If you have played and completed the original warcraft 3, you will be pleased to know that you can now hire pit lords heroes like manaroth (the undead thing that looks like a really ugly centaur who goes against the orcs: he is wicked)and others. For part of the single player missions (which are again excellent) you control the waterbred naga in the clutches of Illidan Stormrage (from WC3). The only criticisms i can think of are perhaps the slightly dated graphics even though i love them and think they add a certain characteristic to the game which makes it even better and the abundance of an orc campagne (instead there is a kind of D&D thing like diablo which is good fun anyway. The strategy of this game is rather simple as well but i think this is great and i hope blizzard never change it as this is the basis for both the warcraft and starcraft series. The best thing about the whole game however has to be the story which develops from WC3 going intotgreater depth the past present and future of Azerth and after the single player campaign the improved battle.net services entertain for hours with a better matchmaking service. I simply cant wait for the MMORPG World of Warcraft to come out (hopefully later this year) to explore azeroth from a new angle and again be immersed in the stories and gameplay that blizzard have formulated. Excellent job blizzard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frozen Throne, 4 July 2003
By 
S. Rooney "Jordan Rooney" (UK, Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
I feel compelled I suppose to bunk some of the other reviews that have been posted for Frozen Throne. The one's that state "this game will rock" I need not say anything about, cause you already know to take them with a grain of salt. But for the one's that are written by actual beta testers (like myself), I need to update you on the facts, and correct some mistakes.
First off, it's hard to really rate or give a knowledgeable review of Frozen Throne because those of us that are beta testers are only getting to see the multi-player, on-line aspect of the game. There will also be an extension to the storyline of WC3, of which we can only guess at until the game is out. To give a really in-depth review of the whole game, a person would need the complete expansion.
Another thing that I find upsetting is that one of the reviewers has gotten a lot of helpful votes, just for the simple fact that people don't know whether he's correct or not. His review would have been appropriate when he wrote it. He wrote his review in March, and the game has made some drastic changes since then. So, for example, saying that Orc Batriders are overpowered is no longer applicable. To be honest, people rarely use them anymore.
Also, there is no Night Elf hero that can change Day into Night. That is an item that the Night Elves can buy from their own specific shop. To explain this, each race has the ability to build their own shop, which is very inexpensive at the moment, from which they can buy items, such as scroll of town portals, heath potions, etc. Each race has certain item specific to them. Like the Night Elf item to change the time of day or the Undead item called a Wand of Necromancy that can summon 2 skeletons from a corpse. But for some reason Blizzard decided to give Undead that item, but take away the Wand of Negation from the Original WarCraft 3. I haven't understood that move (taking away the Wand of Negation) since the beta started.
There are many other changes as well, but if I was to try and list them all, it would take me quite a while. Just rest assured that Blizzard has done a bang up job of not only making it feel like an expansion, but also adding the excitement back to when we first got WarCraft 3 and got to try out all the "new" stuff. And if I listed them all, I would take away some of the excitement of when you first pop it in and play it yourself.
Okay now that I got that off my chest, my opinion on FT so far is that it is fantastic! Bear in mind that I am only reviewing this game from the multi-player, on-line, battle.net aspect of it; I have no idea what the storyline will be to the game.
Veterans to WC3 will find some very interesting changes in Frozen Throne. While still not complete, the game seems to be reaching its home stretch. Blizzard does an excellent job of fixing balance issues, as many WC3 players already know. So that's why it was not a good idea for someone to post in March on how powerful certain units were, because Blizzard has since fixed that issue and it's no longer true. Recently they changed it so that you can get Wyverns at tier 2 now, but whether or not that will stay in the final edition, I can't say.
I personally give the game 5 stars because it excels at what I loved about WC3 so much. The on-line aspect. In all my years of gaming I don't remember a game that has pulled me in as much as WC3 has, and now Frozen Throne.
There is however a nice learning curve. Even if you are very good at WC3, you will run into some bumps in the road with Frozen Throne. But this is to be expected with new units, new heroes, new buildings and new creeps. Be warned though, a lot of the newer creeps are very, very tough and are not to be fought unless you have quite a few units. I say this mostly in the vain hope that I don't get to hear "our alley's hero has fallen" to creeps. So don't say I didn't warn you, he, he.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne The legacy Continues...., 21 Jun 2003
This review is from: Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
Who would have thought that so soon after the release of the Game Of The Year Warcraft III: Reign Of Chaos there would be an expansion set so early. Warcraft III, set the gaming standard for many years to come, with remarkable 3D tilesets and units galore to control at your will. Now with the release of Frozen Throne it is going to change the Warcraft gaming experience for the better even though I did not think it possible up to now. The Frozen Throne provides gamers with a new chapter in the epic Warcraft saga, continuing where reign of chaos left off. With the usual standards of Blizzard, the campaign is riddled with awesome cinematic cutscenes and storylines that keep you on the edge of your seat for many hours.
The expansion brings us new units for each of the races and well as neutral heros and personal item shops to buy what you will to turn the tide of battle. The new units and heros will eradicate all previous strategies and force old players of the classic Warcraft III to adopt new ways of annihilating the enemy, meaning that new players to the game can easily gain the upper hand in multiplayer with ease.
The multiplayer support for Frozen Throne surpasses any I have seen before it, not only is battle.net a free of charge subscriptionless game server, but they offer people playing on it the best multiplayer experience you will ever had the pleasure of being part off. Frozen Throne brings new and exciting clan support to Battle.net giving clans on battle.net the best management they have had in a long time, with built in channel bots, clan hierarchy system and clan ladder system.
Blizzard are also offering a new automated tournament system which means no more waiting for them to organise tournaments to test your skills on. This expansion set is truly amazing and I dare say I will be spending many hours playing the campaigns and testing my skills against other players from around the world on a nightly basis.
I could not have spent my money on a better game. See you on Batle.net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Expansion Pack
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews