Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most horrifying monsters outside of the House of commons
Played in full daylight, with a room full of mates, you'll be wandering what all the fuss is about. You start the the third instalment of Konami's increasingly popular survival horror series as a pleasant young girl gone to her local mall for a new jumper and a burger, before setting off home to watch Family Fortunes with her Dad. However turn the lights out, ramp the...
Published on 20 May 2004 by timleigh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not much new
Was it my imagination or did this game seem shorter than SH1 and SH2? Of course coming from this stable it is a good game and if it were my first SH game I would probably give it 4 stars. But in comparison there was not a lot new about this other than improved graphics and excellent sound. SH officianados should certainly buy it as it has all the qualities that make the...
Published on 14 July 2003


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most horrifying monsters outside of the House of commons, 20 May 2004
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Played in full daylight, with a room full of mates, you'll be wandering what all the fuss is about. You start the the third instalment of Konami's increasingly popular survival horror series as a pleasant young girl gone to her local mall for a new jumper and a burger, before setting off home to watch Family Fortunes with her Dad. However turn the lights out, ramp the sound up to full capacity, open the windows and plug the headphones in. Suddenly things aren't quite so genteel any more. Silent Hill 3 ramps up the shocks straight away. You will discover countless bloodied corpses, vomit covered monsters and (worst of all) the sinister god-bothering Claudia. She very creepy!! As with each visit to the soundless 'berg, you have an entirely new cast of characters with the main character being (for the first time) a young girl by the name of Heather Morris. Unlike Harry or James's adventures in the first 2 games, you are not looking for a lost relative. Instead your only goal is survival and there are some disgusting beasties intent on making your escape oh so difficult (unless of course you play on the easy setting). I won't give any of the story away but before playing Silent Hill 3, you may want to but yourself a copy of the original Silent Hill to give you a bit of background info, but it isn't essential that you do so. Okay, the first Silent Hill is a 4 or 5 year old PSone game and may look incredibly ropey, but is still the scariest of the series so far and you can probably pick it up for under a tenner. You get the usual selection of puzzles and suprisingly interesting boss battles, but this game is all about atmosphere. The Silent Hill series is all about what you can't see. For example you're are walking down a pitch black corridor with only your pocket torch for company. You hear a scream in the background but you pereseve towards the end. Faint voices can be heard but nothing on your screen suggests anything out of the ordinary. Suddenly an ear-splitting phone ring calls out from close-by and you'll have to ask the kind lady at the launderette if she'll be able to remove the stains from your underpants. However much Konami have improved the graphics engine, you're still left with the lingering feeling that nothings really changed that much. Lets just hope that (the superb looking) Silent Hill 4: The Room will offer significant incentive for us to return to the worlds worst holiday resort since Weston-Super-Mare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Hill 3 - A Classic, 12 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is an absolute classic, a masterpiece....smooth graphics, easy controls and REALLY REALLY scary gameplay....It sounds like an old fashioned cliche but the first rule of this game is to play it alone and in the dark, late at night...if you attempt to play it during daytime the feel of the game has gone...it isnt the same....so, if you are brave enough to do this you will not be disappointed....eerie noises, claustrophobic atmospheres and a REAL feel that you are really living the nightmare of the game....I'm not even halfway through the game yet and have been scared witless by distorted voices, howling and whispering in every area i have visited.....I cannot critisise this game and those that do can only be the sort of people who watched the "Blair Witch Project" and ended up disappointed because they "didnt see a witch..." If you have a vivid imagination buy this game now..if not, stick to Tetris or super mario....either way you wont be disappointed!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defeat the meat!, 24 May 2003
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Lets get the bad points out of the way first - the controls are almost exactly the same as those used in Silent Hill 2 (they don't really bother me much, but everyone else I've heard talking about the last game seems to hate them), and the camera can sometimes be a pain. But that's it, no more complaints, just great, somewhat disturbing, fun.
The storyline won't disappoint SH fans, as many of the loose ends from SH1 are tied up. You play a teenage girl named Heather, who is suddenly plunged into a dark and twisted world (though I'm sure any Silent Hill veteran would've guessed that last part). As always SH3 has its fair share of oddballs, but the monsters can out-weird any of the so-called "normal" people. Most of the shambling, scuttling and swirly/scything (watch out for them, they're nasty) things you'll meet look like they've jumped straight off a butchers hook, with the exception of the nurses, who look healthier than they did in their previous incarnation. Luckily for Heather, there are plenty of weapons at your disposal. There's the usual pistol, shotgun and big whacking-pipe, but there's now a sub machine gun for you to play with, along with a few nice close combat weapons. And, of course, there are the compulsory bonus weapons which are provided on completion of the game (that is, if you can meet the requirements).
The environments (my favourite thing about the SH games), while not leaps and bounds ahead of SH2, are all wonderfully done, and the shadows are still as fascinating as ever; shifting around with the sway of your flashlight beam. There are a fair few "Let me out of here!!!" set-pieces, the best of which is in the dark version of the hospital, you'll reach a room with a mirrored wall. Just stand and wait in front of it. Trust me... mwahahahaa!
The sounds are as leap-out-of-your-seat shocking as usual, with the creaking, slurping and crying all adding to the suspense by the bucket-load. The music is pretty darn good too, though the song played during the end credits is amusingly ropey. The voice acting seems to have lost its edge a little since SH2, but still does the trick, though maybe not quite as subtly as last time around.
If you are a fan of the previous Silent Hill games, as I am, then you'll love this like nothing else. However, if you're just a gamer looking for something decent to play, then perhaps you might want to deduct one star from the five I'm giving it, as the few little gameplay flaws may be enough to put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise lost (or found?), 9 July 2004
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Going back a year or so ago I was house-sitting for my family (who had gone off abroard somewhere sunny) and I started playing on my brother's copy of Silent Hill 2. By nightfall, when I realised I was in the house alone I became genuinely scared and decided to walk the mile home rather then stay in my dads empty (and now quite spooky) house.
Ahh happy days, in a twisted sort of way.
It was this experience which made me buy Silent Hill 3; I WANTED to be SCARED, I WANTED to be DISTURBED, I WANTED to have NIGHTMARES.
I got what I wanted. For me Silent Hill 3 works for two main reasons
1: The terror of what you can see is nothing compared to the horrors that you can't. Because of this your forced to rely on the sound of either monsters moving or bursts of white noise and both are unsettling.
2: Loneliness is everywhere. The game disarms you by placing you in locations that are never seen as deserted (mall, subway, funfair,) this immediately removes the old "Haunted House" cliche (although not entirely...) and plays havoc with your nerves in the process.
Of course a game cannot rely solely on scare value and thankfully SH3 is a joy to play. The controls are fluid and feel vey responsive, the graphics are sublime on both the characters and the locations and once again the soundtrack is just about faultless (although not quite to the standard of its predecessor).
If you do buy this game (and you really should) make sure you play it alone, somewhere isolated and very dark (like I did with SH2) only then you get the full effect that SH3 can have on you.
And remember as you walk slowly down to the hospital basement; its what you can't see that scares you most. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silent Hill 3 - Hell Awaits, 10 Jun 2003
By 
Rick (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Haunting. Intense. Dark. Words well known to all who have lived the previous Silent Hill nightmares - and the third in this chilling trilogy is no exception. The story follows the trepidations of 17-year-old Heather who, while in a mall, discovers a world that would not seem out of place in the most perverse of bad dreams. And as the plot slowly unravels, the mysterious role of Heather in the birth of this horrific world grows ever more disturbing.
Silent Hill 3 exploits the fear of the unknown, a clinical aspect to its success as perhaps the greatest survival-horror ever conceived. Claustrophobia guaranteed, the near-constant darkness, despite what may seem a way of avoiding any graphical commitment, actually compliments the game-playing experience. Not being able to see what waits ahead bines well with the curiosity of what lies behind the next closed door. This anticipation almost leaves the player wishing for the door to be jammed, only to be dismayed at finding one untried door in the corner, painted with blood, and complete with dragged handprints. Konami and darkness are clearly the perfect marriage.
The sound affects too play a vital role in the upkeep of the suspense, with clangs and churning in the distance being almost onomatopoeic of the dank bowels of the Earth. As with Silent Hill 2, the game’s graphics never fail to impress, with clever lighting affects adding to the realness of the adventure. In particular are the distorted shadows cast from Heather’s flashlight from railings – with them becoming more elongated as she manoeuvres backwards. This only serves to amplify the distressing, disturbing atmosphere that has made Silent Hill bottom of tourist’s ‘must see’ list.
The twisted visions of the Silent Hill team are truly unique, and depict a version of Hell many would align with. But this instalment especially, shows how the horror genre has been nurtured and brought to life. In fact, Silent Hill 3’s uncomfortable nature makes Resident Evil’s flesh-eating zombies rather mediocre and clichéd – a cuddly kitten in comparison to the mutated mould of Konami’s creation. All in all, Silent Hill 3 is not just a game, it’s an experience, an experience you would sooner forget before you turn out the lights to sleep. An eerie, all-inspiring trip to Hell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely my favourite Survival Horror, 10 Aug 2005
By 
G. Morgan "Milton Drake" (Seattle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
This third game in the classic Silent Hill series is perhaps the most enjoyable. It has a great story, a good range of weapons (Shotgun, sub-machinegun, Samurai Sword) and monsters to use them on. The visual and audio effects are the most impressive yet and the rewards for winning the game make the second playing twice as fun (especially the beam sabre). It is really imagininatively done and offers constant unease and tension as well as a bit of humour and a lot of gun-play. There are various really good C.G.I sequences throughout the adventure as well as some genuinely creepy moments (the birthday phone call and hospital mirror are especially enjoyable).
In short: It's big, long and creepy; with lots more weapons and monsters. What more can you ask for from Survival Horror?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witness the rebirth of paradise...., 5 July 2004
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Well...last Christmas (2003) I received Silent Hill 3, but since then I have been pretty much too petrified to play it. However, just recently I decided to give it a go, and about half an hour ago I finished Silent Hill 3!
I must say, and I am definitely a gaming veteran, that this is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It does follow the same old survival horror formula (walk around, shoot some enemies, run out of ammo, solve puzzle, look at map, find ammo, fight boss, etc) , but it feels like so much more than a game.
First things first, the storyline. Basically, if you haven't played the first Silent Hill game, you may have a lot of trouble following the storyline, as it simply is a continuation of that story.
I didn't have a clue what was happening, but when I got confused, I went on [...] and read one of the storyline analysis's that they have on there - it really helps a lot and I would recommend doing so.
In a nutshell, the game revolves around a girl named Heather Mason. While shopping in the mall one day, the world around her suddenly becomes twisted and dark. Almost like she has been placed in an alternate reality.
However, this game isn't just about magic spells or bottomless monster stories; the storyline IS highly sophisticated, admirably ambitious, difficult to swallow, and indeed disturbing.
Right. The game. I think anyone who has played it will agree, these are probably the best graphics to be seen on the Ps2. Forget Final Fantasy X's FMV scenes, the in-game graphical physics in SH3....I haven't seen anything like them.
You'll find yourself spending time just randomly turning from side to side in a room, watching how the lifelike shadows twist as you turn your torch away from them.
The sound is great, although it is pretty much what you'd expect. Most of the voice-acting is strangely quite good, although the character Vincent could have had a better voice in my opinion.
One of my most hated things ever in any video game is in Silent Hill 3 where Heather's pocket radio starts crackling and screeching whenever you gain proximity to one of the nastier monsters. It really makes me just want to turn around and run in the other direction, it scares me so much.
Thankfully the game does not require you to run around and around in circles, revisiting areas over and over again, like in a lot of survival horror games.
The map system is also very handy and easy to use, aswell as actually being kind of realistic, with small pen marks appearing to mark doors you've been through, locked doors, save points, etc. Oh, and the save points are also very cool too.
Basically, I haven't played a game this good in ages. Stick with it for an hour or so (I wasn't too impressed with the first few sections) and you'll be hooked.
One of the things that kept me coming back was my urge to escape the places that I was in (the abandoned hospital...shudder). It's just such a relief when you finally manage to exit a section you've been on for ages, and escape the claustrophobia that each section brings with it.
Basically, I would highly recommed this game to anyone. It's got an excellent storyline, really really amazing graphics, and engrossing gameplay. It will also scare the hell out of you.
Like I said previously though, I would definitely suggest taking the time to read up about the story of Silent Hill 1 beforehand. It will help A LOT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best survival horrer game ever., 4 Jun 2003
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
SILENT HILL 3 is the latest release in the ever more popular 'survival horror' genre and, as the title implies, the third in the best selling Silent Hill series. A new character is immediately introduced, teenage Heather, along with a stream of new locations in and around the spooky town of Silent Hill. These include an office complex, eerie sewers, a hospital, a haunted house and a railway station but, as usual, these all seem to be gathering places for creatures of unspeakable horror with a voracious appetite for human flesh.
Heather seems to be the sweet and innocent type but for some reason she is haunted by terrifying dreams, or is it an alternate reality that she drifts into? Whatever the case, to her it is a grim nightmare that she must somehow escape. Right from the start of the game Heather begins her battle for survival using just about anything she can get her hands on. Steel pipes, guns, rifles and swords all do extreme damage to the hell spawned beasts that are lurking in the shadows, but will they be enough to get her through?
On the other hand, it is often wise to run rather than fight, as the gameplay allows, and save your ammo and health for the creatures that cannot be avoided. Furthermore, in a game filled with ravaging monstrosities and complex puzzles.
Graphically the scenes are blood-splattered and horrific, mutilated and mutated bodies appear regularly - and many of them are not even dead! It's fortunate, therefore, that the intentionally grainy resolution detaches players from these gruesome scenes and allows them to focus a little more on the combat and puzzle elements, but there's still the goose pimple inducing audio to take into consideration. Dynamic camera angles also do their bit in presenting you with the best view of all the bloody action and they play a big part in maintaining the tension too.
Some would say that this is a game best played alone, in the dark, with the audio turned up to max. I would say get some friends around, leave the lights on and turn off the sound. This way you may at least get an untroubled nights sleep after playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of a great series, 30 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
being a huge fan of the silent hill series, i expected much of the third outing to the town of silent hill. I wasnt disapointed. this game is an absolute must buy for fans of the series.
While featuring several well thought out new characters, and a new protagonist, Silent Hill 3 has strong links with the first game of the series, a feature which was sadly lacking in the second game. So, without wanting to reveal any details, if you want to find out what happened to Harry Mason after the events in silent hill 1, heres where youre going to find out. The plot of SH3, while not so mind bending as its predecessors, will still keep you guessing, and certain revelations will take you by complete surprise.
However, as the background and plot is more clearly explained in SH3, those who havent played the previous 2 installments still have alot to enjoy here.
There are some spectacularly terrifying locations and enemies in this game, and the graphics and sound are both excellent.the music and voice acting is also outstanding.
fans of classic horror films such as the frightening Jacobs Ladder, will enjoy spotting several references to them.
The game is not for the squeamish or faint of heart however, as the game really can be extremely violent, gory, and horrifying.
the only complaint i could possibly raise are that one or two locations are slightly samey, however, it isnt really an issue, as you'll be focusing more on the building tension as horrifying noises in the distance grow steadily louder, and dreading what will be waiting for you through each door...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Empty room. Big mirror on the wall. Oh, blood, and....AAAGH!, 22 Jun 2003
By 
PD Neafcy "duckbutcher" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
The above is an approximate reaction to one of the many ingeniously terrifying setpieces concocted for this, one of if not the most unsettling game experience ever crafted. This game does everything horror films have been trying to do for years. There's a total blanket of misery and disgust covering the events of this game right from the word go. I challenge anyone to play this game for more than twenty minutes to turn around and say that it didn't bother them. As a long term fan of the series, I felt Silent Hill 2 (whilst the best so far on plot and story), lacked something in the scares department. Silent Hill 3 puts the series back on track in that respect. There are really times when you want to drop the pad and run from the room! Plotwise very similar (and more of a sequel as a result) to the first game, SH3 sees the return of much of that classic's scenery, this time beautifully (or not) rendered in hi res PS2 vision - the choice decor of gutted bodies hanging in cages, stained torture devices lying around in shopping malls and half-glimpsed monstrosites carrying out unspeakable acts upon twitching zombie nurses. Yep, great stuff. The rusty grating floors are back too, as are the demon dogs and even a couple of cameo appearances from some of the original game's characters. The story is adequate, and does help to clear up a few of the loose ends left over from SH1, but the game's real strength is its ability to build up the tension to an alarming degree through noises and lighting effects and then unleash a perfectly timed fright upon the player. This one's a lot more gruesome too. Bleeding walls, corpses having their faces chewed off, characters vomiting up demons Poltergeist-style...it's definitely not for the squeamish. To get the best out of this game, it needs to be played between the hours of 10pm and 2am, preferrably when you are alone, and there's a torrential rainstorm outside. If you live out in the country, away from the comforting sound of human civilisation, so much the better. Switch off all the lights, open a few windows, stick the disc in the PS2 and let your the game and your imagination do the rest...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Hill 3 (PS2)
Silent Hill 3 (PS2) by Konami (PlayStation2)
9.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews