Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culloden, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I'd been looking for a reasonably priced copy of the Culloden DVD for years. As soon as I saw this one advertised, I simply had to get it. The DVD arrived in the north of Scotland within three days of being ordered - a first class service! It was a real bonus having The War Game included with it. Though their titles on the DVD box are written in French, the DVD's have the choice of English or French languages.

I shall be showing the DVD's to numerous people, especially the Culloden one, as it graphically shows how the Battle of Culloden was lost. This was due to it being held in the wrong terrain for a Highland charge, bad leadership, a weakened and exhausted 'part-time' Jacobite army, which was pitted against overwhelming odds on the day. The Jacobites were greatly outnumbered and had to fight against a well drilled professional Hanovarian army, that was well fed and rested. The Jacobites fought with inferior firelocks, pistols, broadswords, knives and Lochaber axes. In stark contrast, the professional 'Government' troops were fully kitted out with the latest armaments of the day. They had batteries of cannon, that used round shot and grapeshot to tear holes in the Jacobite ranks. Their superior musquetry also outflanked the Jacobites. When the Jacobites finally broke ranks and charged, they were bogged down and the government cavalry literally ripped them into pieces. It was a bloodbath.

The Culloden DVD also highlights the infamous atrocities carried out by the Hanovarian troops after the battle. Not only were the wounded Jacobites cruelly slaughtered on the field, their homes throughout the Highlands were ransacked and burnt, their women were raped and then killed, along with their children. Entire communities were wiped out in a sickening fashion. Nowadays the actions of the Hanovarian Government troops would be considered as war crimes and the United Nations would seek vengeance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The War Game / Culloden, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Tikka (Horsham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Don't worry, despite the cover this does have an English soundtrack option. The War Game, which I bought it for, is just as chilling in its 3/4 of an hour as I remember it. I few up in those those times, when we had nuked-up Vulcan bombers sitting on runways twenty four hours a day (and in the air a fair proportion) to deal with the Communist threat. We all put it to the back of our minds, and got on with the swinging sixties, Beatlemania, winning the World Cup, men on the moon, glam rock and the miner's strikes.

A must see for everyone, particularly how both in this and the later 'Threads' the conflict originates with troubles in the Middle East....

Looking forward to watching Culloden sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perspective of warfare., 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
The Bomb was a drama documentary on what to expect and how to prepare for a nuclear bomb blast in the UK. It was graphic and clearly exposed the terrible effects of a nuclear explosion. I lived through this period of the '60s in the UK and it brought back memories of the worries we had then of the nuclear threat from the USSR.
Culloden was a unique approach to revealing the last battle on British soil. It was an interview technique with the combatants. Who they were and why they were there. They told their own story. A tragedy unfolded before you. The last Highland Charge was an apt description. Incompetant Jacobite leadership led to the final demise of the 1745 uprising. The butchery of the Government troops after the battle was inexcusable. Such is warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culloden, 2 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Timothy David Sibbald "TDS" (United Kingdom of Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Brilliant. I am especially happy the film Culloden. Learnt a lot. They only used local people and 1 cannon to film it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying, everyone would do well to see this at least once, 1 Dec 2011
By 
ab..c (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Introductions

I bought this DVD from 'DaaVeeDee-uk' and the disk is in B&W, bilingual French / English options. May I say that the price I bought it with is much better than other suppliers. With either language option, its is easy to select. This film is shot on what looks like 16 mm film, but has a brutality that's still strides over much more recent major films. The order of events that would take place if such circumstances occurred is captured with an unflinching eye on reality and severity.

If you are suffering from depression, I would ask you to think about watching this on another date.

Background

Over a very long time, I and maybe you too have heard something about this programme. Some on the political right - wing used to say its '...too socialist...' and visa - versa. Leaving this aside, which may be at some time true or not. Although this programme was filmed in 1964 and during the depths of a cold war, its facts do shine through any political rhetoric.

What are the political topics for war?

The explanation of how such a nuclear war could begin is by political machinations and invasions in other parts of the world. And how these create a rapid recoil in Europe to the Warsaw - pact and non - pact countries. The political events roll forward with factual handicap statements such as it could take 4 years - just in peacetime - to prepare for this type of mass assembly of provisions and housing and the major parts of the U.K.

How is it constructed?

The film has many factual and reasonable levels to show how civilization would impact and unzip during such a war is really, really terrifying. No poem could capture the losses of the burnt dying and dead. Those dying would be - without pain killers or attention by over whelmed medical staff - in a holding pen. The many, many dead would be stacked in warehouses and burnt again to ashes to stop disease.

And it shows the results of a nuclear war but its in your back garden. For example, the hike in prices to make shelters. Another example, after the missile attack, the resulting mass fires created in towns and cities make fire-storms - hurricanes but with fire- is not some figments written by an author. They have been documented in the bombing in WWII of Dresden and Tokyo. Its not I am trying to say its anyway enjoyable to see, but (i.m.h.o) its still essential to see this some time to put a frame around the otherwise incalculable and permanent losses to humanity.

Summary

It breaks the ideas that politics alone drive the world. At the time it was made there was little on the ground and available to show and explain in real terms the true consequences of the damage potential of nuclear war. This is public education film in its truest sense. This is done to allow the viewer to carry around major parts of the horror in our minds and to involve ourselves within it as passengers and to alight when we can - thank fully- and leave it for another day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Found it at last., 27 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
First saw this at University via a Professor who was interested in nuclear war as he had worked for US defence before moving to Australia. Recorded it when it was finally shown on television, not a very good copy. Just happened accross the video and thought maybe it had been released on DVD. It is nice to finally have a good copy, harrowing though it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It still packs a punch, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I first saw The War Game in a cinema in the mid sixties. It is still a powerful drama, retelling the continuing story of Governments playing fast and loose with the lives of their electorates. There are many threats in our world equal to or greater than The Bomb and you can bet that our leaders are equally unprepared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The War Game, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Its a very interesting, thought provoking film, which I've wanted to see since it was made, but it was not shown because it was controversial. I would recommend it to anyone who was in doubt about nuclear war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964]
The War Game / Culloden [DVD] [1964] by Peter Watkins (DVD - 2003)
18.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews