Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best UK Hip Hop album I've ever heard!
Unless you're into buying vinyls, you're unlikely to have heard of DJ Format. In the past 4 years, Format has had profound success in the UK Hip Hop Scene with the few singles he's released, but as with most UK DJ's, it's been an uphill struggle. His first major track 'Vinyl Overdose' on the compilation 'Return of the DJ vol.2' swiftly led him to talks with MoWax...
Published on 1 May 2003 by Stephen Potter

versus
4 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uk hip-hop at its very lowest!! DREADFUL! DONTBUY!!
what can i say, as soon as i heard this album i was literally laughing at its terrible tracks. Nearly every track is used as an album filler using very poor and camp instrumental tunes that just drag on and on. I had to take it back after one listen to it. I have a complete different perspective over dj format now, and i think he is a joke. I must admit in kindness, that...
Published on 31 Dec 2003 by big dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best UK Hip Hop album I've ever heard!, 1 May 2003
This review is from: Music For the Mature B-Boy (Audio CD)
Unless you're into buying vinyls, you're unlikely to have heard of DJ Format. In the past 4 years, Format has had profound success in the UK Hip Hop Scene with the few singles he's released, but as with most UK DJ's, it's been an uphill struggle. His first major track 'Vinyl Overdose' on the compilation 'Return of the DJ vol.2' swiftly led him to talks with MoWax records, but to no avail, before touring with jurassic 5...as their driver! Thankfully his true potential was recognised with his single 'English Lesson' (Inspired by Cut Chemists' 'Lesson 6') and his 'ill Culninary Behaviour' single, which paved the way for an album deal.
The album thankfully contains both of these singles, as well as a more recent single release 'We know something' with guest vocals provided by J5's Charlie 2na and Akil - a surefire winner from the start. Despite his obvious contacts, don't assume that this album is all about cashing in favours from friends. This album is a masterpiece in more ways than one. Format aspires to the sounds of the early 90's, old school hip hop scene - the fresh, pre-gangster rap sounds that de la soul, Main source and Tribe called quest produced, and the samples and breaks that have made the likes of J5 and Ugly Duckling so popular. But it is his choice in collaborators that really brings the tracks to life. With the highly addictive vocals of the canadian MC 'Abdominal' in 3 of the tracks, and the influential style and vocals of the Bristol-bourne 'Aspects' amongst others, each track is truely unique in its own right.
One might be forgiven in assuming that so many collaborations in one album could provide a rather clinical, 'rent-an-MC-for-a-day' sound that is so often the case. In formats case this couldn't be further from the truth. You can instantly tell that Format works well with all his guests and you get the impression that his choice of samples and breaks are all influenced by the collaborator. This, and the way the tracks seem to easily blend together, despite their uniqueness, provides for an absolute masterpiece of an album. Whether you like HipHop, funk, or old school beats'n'rhymes, 'Music for the Mature B-Boy' is a winner, and should surely be one of the best albums of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK Hip Hop at its best, 28 Oct 2003
This review is from: Music For the Mature B-Boy (Audio CD)
Coming in at a slender, listenable 45 minutes, Music for the Mature B-Boy is an amazing collection of old school funky hip hop songs.
The MC who gets the most of a work out is an MC called Abdominal, who guests on three out of the ten songs - ten not including the obligatory hip hop intro.
Abdominal (who I'd never heard of) is an amazing MC who reminds me of the Day-Glo MCs of the late 80's and early 90's, dropping light-hearted, lucid rhymes.
Akil and Chali 2na from Jurassic 5 also get a workout on the album's single We Know Something You Don't Know; another excellent little song, but that's hardly surprising given the guest vocalists.
Fatski guests on the song B-Boy Code Part. 2 a song that starts with his vocals and some scratched beats before kicking into a gem of a bassline. I'd never heard of Fatski before; he's a great MC but not as charismatic as Abdominal or the Jurassic 5 cats.
The other guest on the album is Aspects, another guy that I'd never heard of (I think I'm losing my touch because this whole CD came out of left field), but one that I'm going to keep an eye out for.
The rest of the songs are instrumentals, four in total; these are all amazing. Two of the instrumentals are up-tempo little numbers, and the other two are down-tempo.
Going with the main feel of the album, the instrumental tracks are situated comfortably in the realm of funk. Of the four songs the slower ones are the best, relying not only on energy to get by, but rather on amazingly crafted break beats and cool basslines.
This is album is amazing and would i recomned it to anyone in to hip hop, Buy It Now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking up beats and rhymes..., 4 May 2006
By 
M. Fermor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music For the Mature B-Boy (Audio CD)
This album is great fun from beginning to end. A lighthearted beat infused concoction this album is always entertaining and never dull. Even the cheesy cookery analogy doesn't tire and adds a bizarre kind of depth to this funky and upbeat album.

The guest vocalists add a dash of pedigree to the catchy tunes and while it is not going to be heralded as groundbreaking it is a cracking album that will never fail to add cheer to your day.

There are no low points with this record and I would advise it as a fail safe record for those people wishing to dabble in the murky waters of the hip hop world. I can guarantee you will not disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Funk Hop!, 30 Mar 2003
Apparently DJ Format has been around for ages, but most people will know him for his limelight stealing support slot with Jurassic 5 on their UK tour or from the track ‘ill culinary Behavior’ featured on DJ Yodas how to cut and paste vol. II mix tape. This LP is in the same vein as Yoda mix tapes-Silly, funny, not to be taken too seriously and sample & scratching ridden. Id describe the music on this album as hip hop/funk, and for me the standout tracks are the ones featuring abdominal (A beautifully articulate and concise Canadian MC whose lyrical content is equally as brilliant as the execution), the single ‘We know something you don’t know featuring Chali 2na and Akill from Jurassic 5 and the instrumental funked up remix of ‘last bongo in brighton’. Straight hip hop heads might tire easily of the instrumental tracks as they are pretty much straight up funk, but I love them, they just make me wanna move!
All in all this is a hugely enjoyable and refreshing outing for the Brighton boy. The next public enemy he aint, but if your after fun and good tunes, buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DJ Format, back to the old school, 24 Mar 2004
By 
B. Habbershaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music For the Mature B-Boy (Audio CD)
This is a superb album. Very fresh, catchy, old-school samples. The best track on the album would have to be the superb 'Vicious Battle Raps' in which Abdominal gives a truly magnificent performance. Not only are the samples good, but also the lyrics. I had the pleasure of seeing DJ Format and Abdominal (featured ona number of tracks on the album) and, as good as DJ Format was, Abdominal stole the show with some excellent freestyling. If you like funky hip-hop such as Jurassic 5 (Format supported them) then you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Mature B-Boys, It does exactly what it says on the tin, 22 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Music For the Mature B-Boy (Audio CD)
Cracking album, funky, funny, a mixture of original hip hop from the days of the B-boy with both old and new beats together with excellent lyrical content, delivered by true talent who have been in the business long enough to know what makes a good tune. A definate must for anyone who has a grandmaster flash and an ugly duckling in their CD collection. It's elements of the original with the new and the transition is near perfect. This album will be timeless and will fit in perfectly at the bar-b-q, the party or just the bootchanger in the car. There is no way that this album could disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DJ hits the right FORMAT, 7 April 2003
From the funky sleeve with a couple of old DJs with crutches and a beat box to the end of the last track this is a wonderful collection of variable sounds - all hanging together on the street corner. Various styles come to pass from the early tracks that have echos of early Beastie Boys and 3rd Bass on to funky instrumental heavy middle sections - full of hammond organs and loud brass sections and the 1970s inspired Here comes the Fuzz on towards RUN DMCish B-Boy Code Pt2. Things mellow out with a Little Bit of Soul before exploding again in the final track English Lesson. Its difficult to believe that this was made by someone from the East side of the Atlantic!! Its polished but raw, funny but serious and above all a great thing to put on the CD and keep there all night. I bought this today and I'm already onto listen 4 and I can't wait to get to listen to it for the fifth time, the sixth time etc.
Actually I'm going back to change my rating to a 5 star, might even give it 6!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK B-boy done Good, 24 Mar 2003
Those who have already caught DJ Format on various 12's and mixtapes and have already sampled his style will be hooked no doubt, effortless mixing and consistently good beats lend this album the "no need to skip tracks" appeal and you really will struggle to pick a weak track.
Throw in appearnces by the likes of J5 and you have a quality UK album by one very underrated DJ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool as funk, 24 Mar 2003
I bought this album mainly on the strength of DJ format's live set supporting jurassic 5, and a promo album sampler I got my hands on at that show. I really like the DJing on this album, I think his samples are cool, and he has good beats to go down with them. Also, he has some great MCing on there, there is a track featuring Akil and Chali 2na from J5, and a few featuring Abdominal, who I had not previously heard of, but is a great MC. I generally really like this album, its humourous in places, particularly the culinary-themed song, and it's always good hip-hop DJing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the Funky UK theme..., 2 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For the Mature B-Boy (Audio CD)
UK hip-hop seems to be going through a bit of a funky patch recently; The Nextmen, Krafty Kuts, Deckwrekka and now DJ Format. If - like me - you're tired of US rappers spouting profanities at each other and long for a return to the good old Sugar Hill-influenced hip-hop days, this will be right up your street. The Amazon review above is spot on in every way and it's also good to see J5 giving Format some recognition and lending their vocal talents to this album. Funky in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music For the Mature B-Boy
Music For the Mature B-Boy by DJ Format (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews