Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Them Bes An Excellent Additioning to them Thiefs Series!
Thief is back, and once again proves how under-rated the series is. It was a long time in the coming, and with the extremely unfortunate demise of Looking Glass Studios, the project was taken up by Ion Storm, makers of the Deus Ex series. Fans of the Thief series were shocked to hear that the game was also being made for the X Box, and, indeed, it has suffered on this...
Published on 28 Dec 2004 by D. Buttar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Linear
Maybe this is a false memory, but thief 2 seemed like it had more scope to just do your own thing, you weren't just limited to a mission, you could run around and find secret places with weird stuff.

But here? Missions and the city in between are linear and bland, nothing really changes in the city once you've gone over it once. You have a few missions in...
Published on 4 May 2012 by Andrew.M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Genius presentation, shame about the engine., 27 Feb 2008
By 
C. Howarth "Higher than sympathy..." (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
I played all 3 thief title back-to-back. In many ways this shiny pixel-shaded update is the most accomplished. The acting, graphics and atmosphere all surpass the original games by light years. Nevertheless I did find that as with the previous titles the engine was a little buggy. In fact this latest reworking of the unreal engine is so flawed in places that it is more challenging than the enemies!

This said I could not in good conscience deny this superb title the five stars it deserves. The four difficulty settings make a genuine difference meaning that experienced thieves can be challenged whilst newbies can still get a gentle ride through the story if they want.

Then there is the piece de resistance: The Cradle!
I won't spoil it for you but this mission is probably the most memorable of the thief series' levels. The concept and presentation is immaculate. They really out did themselves. This isn't a difficult level, the real struggle is with ones inner fears! If you found Thief 1's haunted cathedral level scary then you may need a friend to hold your hand for this one!

The other major fault with this game is that many of the areas are quite small with long loading times which can be a bit frustrating, especially compared to the last instalment. I suppose all those pretty textures come at a price! Those smaller areas do also make the objectives less open-ended so there may not be as much replay value compared to the huge expanses of some thief 2 levels.

This game lives up to its heritage and is a must for anyone bored with 1st person bloodbaths and linear arcade genres!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Thief yet? No but still great, 27 April 2008
By 
Tangerine "tangerineman" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
Despite being 'dumbed' down to allow for the ports to consoles to be easier to manage Thief is still a fine game. You reprise the role of Garrett and undertake a series of missions which is driven along by a very fine story (as always). Having played all the Thief games so far I have to say that I enjoyed the notion of having a 'living' town to wander around in. It would have been nicer had it been populated a little more though. The great thing about the Thief games is that the cut scenes do carry the story forward and add to it. Also, the writing is always impressive - at times reminding you of past deeds in previous games. These tie-ins are a nice touch and remind you of previous games and how enjoyable they were. Thief will never appeal to huge masses because it takes a very different approach to gaming. The idea of not killing people to achieve your ultimate goal is something that will appear as an alien concept these days. But whilst there is a place for slaughtering countless numbers of pixel generated gimps who there is also a place for Thief and the different challenge it represents. And don't forget you can always stick and arrow through a guards eye if you so wish! I just hope that the talk is true and that the next Thief game is indeed going to be reality - as long as its not set in the modern day World - that would be a huge mistake. Time as always will tell on that score. But regardless Thief Deadly Shadows is an enjoyable game and worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Impressions review..., 16 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
Two important points to note:
1. I'm basing this review on my first evening's play ONLY
2. I've never played any of the Thief series before.
OK, with that out of the way, down to business...
Thief seems to follow the lines of several other 'stealth' orientated games such as Splinter Cell in that gameplay is very much about sneaking about, completing missions and not getting spotted in the process. It does seem, however, to execute this genre particularly well and provides good entertainment value.
I confess that, like previous reviewers, I was somewhat concerned that Thief comes from the same stable as Deus Ex II which seems to have been generally criticised and which I, personally, don't rate particularly highly either. Thankfully, Thief seems to run well on my system (P4 2.8Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon5600 with 256MB) without too much of the 'jerkiness' I've seen on DE:IW. Admitedlly, the Frame Rate isn't going to blow you away but for a stealth-based game where movement needs to be slow and deliberate, this doesn't seem to be too big a problem.
There are some nice touches in the game - being able to extinguish torches (sources of light - very bad for a sneaky thief!) with water arrows or even snuff out candles when you get close enough is quite good fun. I also seem to get some perverse enjoyment out of sneaking up behing the guards in the game and dispatching them to the land of nod with a swift cosh to the back of the head - it makes an engaging change from the 'blast or be blasted' modus operandi of many FPS games. The game also conveys a good sense of 'atmosphere' in that it's quite dark and really encouraqges you to seek out the shadows - this might cause some players problems in that it can sometimes become difficult to actually see where you are and what you're doing. The games does allow you to adjust the overall brightness though which does help.
As I said at the head of the article, I've only been playing for a few hours but this genuinely seems like an atmospheric, engaging and interesting game to play. It's certainly encouraging me to progress further (I sense I've only scratched the surface so far!) and, based on a few hours play, I'd rate it pretty highly. I'd recommend this game to most people although die-hard FPS players might find it hard to adjust to the "softly, softly, catchy monkey" atmosphere of Thief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic game with brilliant graphics, lots of places to go and lots of things to do. Thief Deadly Shadows though is rather shorter than the other Thief games and perhaps is not as good as the others were at their time of release. However this game is brilliant for people who like stealth games it is also one of my personal favourites 9.9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated!, 6 July 2004
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
People are really underestimating this game and giving it bad reviews. I disagree with most of the reviews for this game that I have seen on this site so far.
This game is a change from the other 2 Thief games, because you don't HAVE to be stuck in first person view all the time, as it gives you the option to change it to 3rd person perspective.
The game is a lot more realistic!
The guards interact with each other. They will hold mini conversations when they bump into each other, and will talk to each other if you have been spotted.
This game is better than the second game, in my opinion, because it is a lot more sneaking about than the 2nd one. I found the second Thief a lot more hit and run type game, where this game is back to the old "hit them over the head, and drag them into the shadows" type game.
In this game, you are in alliance with the Keepers, as the Keepers have foreseen the 3rd Dark Age, and you are the one that can help. You start off working for the Keepers, and are even permitted into the Keeper Library.
On this game, you do not have a sword, but instead, you have a Dagger. In ways this is better as it adds more challenge to the game, but means that if you do run in to a corner, and there is a gaurd behind you, you're going to have a hard time fighting your way out. It is advised not to tackle more than one enemy at a time.
You have a few more interesting gadgets, such as Wall Climbing gloves, allowing you to climb certain types of walls and oil flasks, which allow enemies to slip over, causing them damage. You can also fire a fire arrow into the oil, which will create a fire, but be careful, this will create more light!
You also have you mechanical eye, which you lost in the first game, because of the Trickster God. This allows you to zoom your eyesight, which helps you to see whether a guards back is turned or not.
In this game, you will spend a lot more time in the streets. The City Watch, the city's police force, is always looking for you, and will kill you on sight, or take you to prison if they catch you. If you get taken to prison, you have to break back out!
You have to sell the loot that you get, in exchange for the local currency, and then go to a "Fence" to buy equipment. Each different fence will buy different types of loot. Some will buy artwork, where others will buy gems, etc.
Also, while in the City, Hammerites and Pagans will be wandering around. The Hammers and the Pagans are against each other. In this game, you have factions, which tell you what the 2 clans think of you. You can do certain tasks for them, to change your faction. If your faction says "Enemy" to one, or both of the clans, they will attack you on site. If it says "Neutral," they won't harm you, unless you are in their property. If it says "Allied" then you are free to wander in their property, and they won't attack you.
This game is great, and for all the people who enjoyed the first Thief game the most, then this game is for you. Get your credit card at the ready if you did enjoy Thief 1, because this one is that, only better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost live!, 28 April 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
Normally I do not have time to play video games. My wife and I have purchased this game out of curiosity. We were searching a non-combat game with an adventure notion in it. We had not played with former Thief games either. The game shocked us from the start as to its concept. The story is carefully weaved around a magnificient historical atmosphere. I loved the details as I am a history lover. All the curiosities, the roads, the alleys of the middle ages are there and they are for real! The sound and light effects are extraordinary. A sentry walks by you and you sneak in the shadows...I was so excited that I could not go on playing until a certain level. The game is gripping, you can not let it go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!!!, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. M. Betchley (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
Ok i dont like writing reviews but i just had to say something about this game...i have just finnised this and i have to say its one of the best ever games to come out.

The graphics and amazing sound(played on vista)make this a true master piece...the locations excellent,and its also the most frightning game ever!(iam talking about when you get to the "CRADLE" wow was i blown away!.

thank you so very very much for this it..has has brought a lot of fun in to my life...which is what a game should do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 8 Oct 2004
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
After playing Deus Ex 2 and being highly dissapointed by it, I thought that this game would dissapoint me as well. After all, it was by the same people, using the same engine and enhancements. But no. in fact, this is an excellent game, the game deus ex 2 should have been. I have a very nice PC, but deus ex2, with it's shoddy textures and tiny levels took ages to load with an appalling framerate. Thief 3, however, took mere seconds to load much larger levels, with much better textures, and even at maximum detail the FPS holds steady and stays smotth.
The gameplay is excellent, the sound is excellent, the atmosphere is absolutely unparrelelled. this is a far superior gam to deus ex 2, and in my opinion, both doom 3 and far cry. Far cry made you feel you were playing an action movie and Doom 3 made you feel you were playing a horror movie. Thief3 does both action and horror, but makes you feel as though you're living it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last....., 3 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
Been looking for a decent 3rd person action/adventure/puzzle solving type game for ages. I had tried Thief 2 a while back but found it frustrating and too dark. However, trying this new one I found the blackness has been replaced with dimness. And with some really nice lighting effects thanks to Dx9 and my Radeon 9800 card the game looks fabulous. These enhanced visuals open the game more than it`s prequals for me. Whereas I struggled with Thief 2 I have found this game a joy to play. The 3rd person view in particular makes for far better gameplay as the added peripheral vision is crucial as you plan your moves. At last a decent 3rd person game for PC with proper quicksaves etc!!! It is not overly linear nor is it overly confusing as the little maps and objective lists keep you on track with what to do and where to go. There are side quests along the way and some nice character development.
One the downside there are glitches. The AI at times fails as adverseries often end up dancing with walls etc. Lighting anomalies shine through walls sometimes. But these are minor quibbles. Also at times it`s so obvious that a person I`m supposedly sneaking past unsees would be able to see me easily and I`m left thinking they are blind or something! But that`s just a quirk of the gameplay.
All in all this is a fantastic game. Nice to play a game that isn`t frought with gun toting action around every corner. You need to think. And that`s good. However it isn`t really difficult. If you`re not overly keen on stealth levels in games don`t be put off. They are rarely exercised correctly in other games. This game is all about stealth. But it does it well. It works. It`s not a simple case of finding the invisible path to your objective.
Highly recommended if you liked Tomb Raider, Splinter Cell, The Myst series and other great games that require more than just dexterity from the player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Linear, 4 May 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) (Video Game)
Maybe this is a false memory, but thief 2 seemed like it had more scope to just do your own thing, you weren't just limited to a mission, you could run around and find secret places with weird stuff.

But here? Missions and the city in between are linear and bland, nothing really changes in the city once you've gone over it once. You have a few missions in between but nothing new pops up over time. The graphics are painful to look at now, but thats nothing major. There are a few bugs in the gameplay here and there, where you jump and stay floating for intance. Had to save and load to fix that. I like that there were less zombies/spiders/dinosaurs and stuff like that in the game, but the game feels alot more stunted then its predecessors. Not really what i wanted.

This game is fine. Not particularly good or bad. It can be a challenge if you turn the difficulty up, its kind of fun stealing everything in sight and getting away with it. No real replay value. Cheap though. Probably worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC)
Thief: Deadly Shadows (PC) by Eidos (Windows XP)
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews