Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as the original but still great
The original Deus Ex game deserved to be called a classic. You really felt you were in a living breathing world with secret organisations all operating around you.
Invisible War (IW) lives up to the original's great gameplay but there are some significant differences. There's not quite the same level of detail as in the original. There are no newspapers lying around...
Published on 2 Oct 2004 by R. A. S. Brown

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whats with those load times?
Absolutely nothing new in game play terms, a sense of Deja vu permeates the whole game. The Science Fiction setting is familiar, peppered with cliff note philosophies. Think "Hitman" in the future, although with less devious spaces to work in. Less devious doesn't mean some enjoyment, but you could see chances and ideas that could have been so much better, with more...
Published on 7 July 2006 by Useless Article


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as the original but still great, 2 Oct 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
The original Deus Ex game deserved to be called a classic. You really felt you were in a living breathing world with secret organisations all operating around you.
Invisible War (IW) lives up to the original's great gameplay but there are some significant differences. There's not quite the same level of detail as in the original. There are no newspapers lying around to read and fewer amounts of junk to play with - the basketball is still there though. The plot also seems to unwind faster. The missions come thick and fast in IW and action is always just round the corner.
If anything, this is Deus Ex light. There's no more role play style stats. There is only one standard ammo clip, which works with all weapons. The body mods are simpler too. They are still good but more accessible this time. I guess this is all to make the game console friendly. The original PC game was ported to the PS2 as an after thought. PC purists won't be impressed, though, especially as the PC game is the same as the Xbox one.
Again, like the original, you start off working for one organisation, then other rival outfits offer you different conflicting missions. One group might ask you to get info off a guy, whilst another might tell you to kill him. You get to pick and choose what you want to do without really knowing which is right or wrong. You can also choose your own style of play. Some players will mainly blast their way through the game, some will hack, whilst others will use stealth. Of course you can use all three types
The game even plays on your real life prejudices. In one scene, an obviously gay man propositioned my male character. I gave a deliberately 'friendly' response, which gave me benefits that an unfriendly one probably wouldn't have. Very clever.
This is all far more sophisticated than Knights of the Old Republic's, simplistic dark or light choices.
It's a great game, certainly one that older gamers would enjoy and I can't wait for Deus Ex 3, as I feel Ion Storm are setting new boundaries in interactive gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of this please, 15 Mar 2004
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game like its predecessor has stuck in my mind for a few reasons. First the re-playability you can have, with so many ways of doing things you want to play the game all the way through again and all the time your thinking "I wonder what happens if I go this way instead". That and the excellent story will surely get you hooked to this masterpiece and you will never put the controller down...EVER!
I have however only began to scratch the surface of the things you can do in this game, let alone the several different story lines there are a massive selection of side mission you can do should you want (Things like assassinations, theft, spying etc.). To put it straight there literally enough things to do it will keep you occupied for weeks to come.
Now for the graphics, the eye candy, which is exactly what this game is, the graphics in this game are truly awesome. The character models, the worlds the objects the weapons are all rendered to the very finest detail (taking full advantage of the Box's power). To boot all the animations are simply superb and if the story didn't hook you, the graphics will.
This game captures the true heart and soul of a gritty, cyber-punk future with the dialogue and actions from the characters it all seems so realistic. This game will immerse you to the fullest (causing many arguments with ones girlfriend...trust me I know!!) and when you're done you will pick your controller up and start again.
Ok now for the not-so-good things, but fear not, there are little!
Although this game does boast a multi-ended story etc.... and with all the side missions there are times where you can just become overloaded and left a bit confused on how to go about completing your objectives. All be it there are opposing factions in the game but each time you get a new objective from one faction you will get opposite orders from another. What you do however is up to your own devices and that's not what I am criticising, it's the fact that the objectives come all at once and can leave you slightly taken by the wealth of information thrown at you.
Another small compliant is as this game is the sequel to the original Deus Ex, newcomers to the series will find it somewhat difficult to get to grips with the overall story and I think it will leave them slightly confused as to what's going on. However even if you are new to the series you will be back on Amazon ordering the original after having played this game!
Overall a very, very well polished game and very gripping. Obviously with some little flaws, but nobody's perfect eh?
This game deserves to be bought so beg, save, steal, launder some cash to get it RIGHT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deus Ex - Invisible War (Xbox), 29 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is the second instalment and a fairly good one at that. Gameplay is fast paced and intricate, missions involving more than one method of doing things whether it be stealth or full out gun blazing.
The story line has to be given a lot of credit, it is amazing and as soon as you start the game, you are sucked into the immersive world with its own politics and internal power struggles.
For me though, a big fan of the original, this game was slightly lacking. It is no where near as exciting and has been overly simplified (but that might be just the console version).
Overall I would give the game 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FPS with brains !!!, 14 Jun 2004
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
My first contact with deus ex was on the PS2 which I didn't enjoy and I gave up half way. Graphically it looked awful, and out of date. All you ever seemed to do is pick stuff up and talk to people, and with my attention span lost the plot very quickly. That was my first attempt at a RPG, so when invisible war came out I decided to rent it at first. What a mistake ...
The game is great !!! It seems like a lighter version of the first game which won many a accolade in the gaming community, but to me better than the first. I'm not finished yet but I already love it's beautiful lighting effects and the story which doesn't seem as involved or too complicated for my tiny brain to lose interest. Graphically it looks the business, and seems to be the first game on Xbox which is heralding in the new bunch of titles that boast next gen graphics like Doom3 and Cronicles of Riddick which ups the ante in the looks department. Especially the lighting effects are excellent and help create a unique atmosphere. Your surroundings boast sharp visuals and although the people around you look a little stiff, generally the whole experience seems believable. The weapons in the game generally is great, as a newcomer having all these tools to approach each scenario differently makes for great gameplay. Having to choose your path through the story also takes some careful decisions throughout, as towards the end choosing who to support and what to do to who, makes all the difference how the story finishes.
On the negative side, you only seem to pick up one type of ammo and it seems to fit any weapon you use. It can be used on from your dainty pistol, to the rocket launcher. Not the most believable scenario ever. The shotgun and pistol seem a bit under powered, and one have to use mods to get your weapon up to scratch as the firing rate isn't exactly very fast on any of them. Having to constantly be a scrooge when it comes to ammo is something new for a FPS head like myself. Isn't there any ammo shops where you can buy ammo from ? You have collect everything whenever you just killed a enemy just to make it through the game, so be warned. It feels as if the game is a excercise in resources management, and it boils down to how to effectively use that what you have.
This is a great game that will keep you occupied for weeks and months even, and should not be missed. I can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Consoled Up, 9 Aug 2008
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
First of all i'd like to start by saying that if your generally a PC gamer then you'd be better off sticking to the original, the first Deus Ex. Why? because there have been a few complaining reviewers, whining about how the PC version is better, and are looking at it completely the wrong way, they might as well complain that you don't use a mouse and keyboard. However, it would be best to ignore these little nerds because this game is a gem amongst others on the Xbox, and possibly the best for the console in 2004. So if you're one of those who stay in all day staring at your PC screen then you better stop reading, you just won't like this game, its for norms, not the world of warcraft playing, or PC gamers in general. You do not need to have played the original to understand or enjoy this game, a usually rare feature amongst games, and the official magazines and websites that have rated this game are not wrong, "10/10 - XBM" "9/10 - OXM" Its one of the most evident games to show rag-doll physics. In other words, nearly everything is intractable, and objects move more like they would in real life, for example, in a standard FPS you can drop a gun and it will instantly be placed on the floor without movement, where as with Deus Ex, the weapon would bounce, slide or roll.

This alone surprisingly adds to the games fun factor, throwing corpses through basketball hoops for example, but of course the story is what "can" keep you. I say can because you can breeze through this game without listening to a single bit of dialogue and still find yourself completing it. However, just the slightest bit of attention is required to really understand what's going on, amongst the jargon of some of the characters. The feel of the game is one of the most appealing attractions because although the areas are all singly loaded, the features that they offer are remarkable, with everyday objects that you wish you could find in a normal game, ventilation shafts, rooftops, store cupboards, fire escapes and dumpsters. I realize that might not sound to appealing to you, but when you consider your character can jump to/in these places, hide in these places and basically interact with all of them makes for some pretty realistic and creative game-play. There's just that specific amount of freedom that this game offers that keeps you hooked in, along with the awesome weapons and equipment found throughout, such as homing rocket launchers or Nikita's, Stun prods, Energy Blades, Rail Guns, Sniper Rifles and your basics accompanied by another array of secondary fires and grenades/mines. Basically this game allows you to interact with your surroundings as much as possible, so that you play the game you want too. You don't have to charge into a group of enemies that so many games force you to do to progress, instead, why not throw a few grenades at them to lure them in close? lay some mines on the floor? and then hop your A*** into a nearby dumpster?

So in summary, if your a dedicated gamer keen to complete and be compelled in a game, its a good one, or if you love messing about and doing your own thing, once again, a quality game for you. Console gamers - you'll love this. PC gamers - stop whining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars R, 27 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
Finally the sequal to Deus Ex has arrived.. I was a great fan of the Deus Ex 1. I had it on pc and lost it so i got it on PS2. But i am dissapointed that its not on PS2.. But i play it on my x-box instead. Well the game is great.You play Alex Denton in the future and you can choice mulitple people to work for. Such as work for the WTO and fight against the Order ect. The graphics are good and so is the gameplay. However the maps are a bit bare. Such as you go into a club and theres only 4 people there. Also you cant get head shots. Only with a sniper rifle can you kill people wit a head shot.Also the ammo is weird. No gun has bullets for its self. Theres just ammo clips for all of the guns. Pistol will only take a bit of the bar, but the sniper rifle takes up more. Silly. But this game is very fun adn i would advise anyone to get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It., 28 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
However you want to play the game, stealth, action, with a conscious or a killing machine. You can adjust your weapons and even your body to suit your own style of play. You can forge alliances with different groups often having to choose between incompatible objectives. As well as the main story you can hit out and help or hinder the members of the game world in a variety of sub missions, will you cure a plague or take sides in the coffee wars it's up to you.
This is so much more than just another FPS, although if that's what you want you can play it that way, however to get the most out of the game put in a bit of time and get carried away with an adventure featuring the best stroyline since the last Deus Ex game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It continues the 'spirit' of Deus Ex, 1 May 2004
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
Alright, I'll admit it, this isn't as good as the prequel, but it is still one of the finest games on the Xbox. In fact, if you ignore the fact it's the sequel of one of the best games ever, Invisible War is a brilliant game. But comparisons will always be made.
Graphics
Graphically, this game is GOOD. Detailed creatures, mechanical and otherwise, and good faces. I don't think there is a better looking game on the Xbox, with the possible exception of Knights of the Old Republic.
Sound
The sound effects aren't the greatest ever, in fact they're pretty poor, especially when compared to Halo's. But the music is in the same vein as the original, i.e it's good background, but don't expect any major emotional score.
Gameplay
Here is where I disagree I with some of the other reviewers, the gameplay is great. There IS choice in how you pursue your mission, stealth is definately possible, as is full assault. With the different biomods, different tactics are available, do you cloak and run past, hack the security, or take out the rocket launcher and start shooting? It has the same 'feel' as the original deus ex. The different factions offer different rewards, and you can make different alliances as you go on. My only problem is that the game isn't long enough, and some of the choices you make don't have quite the impact you may hope. I also dislike the single ammo feature, it just seems like another bar, like your health and bioenergy that you have to keep topped up. But I will be playing it through again to see what secrets are hidden, which I suspect will be more than some suspect.
Is it as good as Deus Ex? No. The lack of skills, the smaller maps, and the single ammo make Invisible war a poorer game. However that doesn't make it a bad game, it is well worth anyone's money, if you want a thinking FPS, with a great storyline carrying on the spirit of the original Deus Ex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Extreamly good, 8 Sep 2004
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
I was a big fan of the first Deus Ex, and this was no dissapointment....well..near the end it was. at the beginning though, this is a brillian game, it balances the hardcore fighting aspects with the sidequest civi aspects...as the game progresses though, all side quests dissapear and you are flung into a constant battle, which sounds not that bad, but if (like me) you liked the first deus ex because of the time to relax and chill with the side quests, this may anoy. overall though, this is a must have game! the graphics are brillant and they got rid of the aiming system. and i love throwing dead people about with the rag doll effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DEUS EX 2 AMAZING, 22 April 2004
By 
D. Reid "Daddy Love" (Derry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox) (Video Game)
I heard a lot of negative reviews about this but bought it anyway... thankGod I did! The developers wanted to give you a game that every time youplay it you could have a different gaming experience. The main plot linemissions you could complete in a few days if you really wanted but thereare that many sub plots and so many different ways of tackling things thatyou could make it last a couple of months. The graphics are the best I'veever seen, the realism provided by the ragdoll fx were outstanding. I havebut one complaint, I own a PS2 and had to borrow my brother's x-box toplay it. I love this game, hope DE3 comes out soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deus Ex: Invisible War (Xbox)
£6.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews