Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting film
Dil Se is a film that bombed in India, but was praised in the West. The film failed in India because it dared to break away from the usual Bollywood formula. The film stars Shah Rukh Khan who falls in love with a woman (Manisha Koirala) who is involved with a terrorist group. Shah Rukh Khan gives a compelling performance as a man who seems intent on destroying himself in...
Published on 15 July 2003 by TheLibrarian

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing movie. Excellenet Music
I must admit the movie didnt live up to my expectations, the story was too long and predictable and sometimes i just felt like not watching it anymore. But on the other hand, the music was fantastic, after you've watched it, it will be hard to get the songs out of your head. The movie is worth watching just for the songs. Shahrukh delivers a good performence but...
Published on 13 Mar 2006 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting film, 15 July 2003
This review is from: Dil Se [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Dil Se is a film that bombed in India, but was praised in the West. The film failed in India because it dared to break away from the usual Bollywood formula. The film stars Shah Rukh Khan who falls in love with a woman (Manisha Koirala) who is involved with a terrorist group. Shah Rukh Khan gives a compelling performance as a man who seems intent on destroying himself in the pursuit of a woman who cannot return his love. Manisha Koirala is also incredible and makes you empathise with her emotionally damaged character. The film is beautiful to look at and the soundtrack is amazing - it is worth buying just for the songs. This is not a happy film to watch, but it is very rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie; bad DVD, 23 Sep 2003
This review is from: Dil Se [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Dil Se is certainly one of the better Bollywood movies; the plot may lack some logic here and there, but the story, a combination of love story and political thriller, is still utterly compelling. Santosh Sivan's cinematography is near perfect and never fails to break the sombre mood that permeates the entire movie; A. R. Rahman's score is among his best so far. Acting from both Shahrukh Khan and Manisha Koirala is solid.
My major problem is with the DVD, which is of exceptionally poor quality: more than half of the opening credits are simply missing (starts with "audiography" rather than certificate, title and actors' names), you have to watch several minutes of commercials every time you insert the DVD (can't skip to the menu), and audio and video mastering are both very poor (several skips in the soundtrack, uneven sound level, low image resolution).
This excellent film really deserves better presentation than what it gets on this DVD (I'm referring to the UK release by Eros International, cat no. DVD-E 118 / VFC07990).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars straight from the heart to the realms of sublime art, 5 Jan 2009
This review is from: Dil Se [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
------straight from the lonely heart-----
A poem on terrorism is impossible to implicate but this movie is so lyrical it almost becomes poetry with its traumatised suicide bomber cum rape victim brilliantly essayed by Monisha Koirala ,who is chased by a love stuck Shahrukh Khan across the heavenly locales of northern india and then defines the great Sufi metaphors for celestial love as Ishq,[divine love ]in pristine poetry .

It rises to a crescendo in its final moments which are unforgettable as well as stunning,

Also the cinematography by Santosh Sivan and music by Rahman are simply divine to suit the dark sombre mood but also provide style for ravishing choreography which is undeniably the best in recent times,

yet it is Monisha who steals the movie with her forlorn scream in the wild as an anguished spirit in torment ,which is a truly great moment in screen history and haunts the viewer for eternity.

The movie is too bitter a pill for some to swallow as it treads to go into the forbidden territory of war crimes and shows the outrages of an army set against a civilian population,

This is Bollywood at its stylistic and factual best with Gulzar's 'satrangi' defining the eternal seven shades of Ishq or true love,dont miss it as it might be dark and brooding but it is a fascinating journey across a fascinating land called india,but Mani Ratnam and Gulzar have created a classic which is quality cinema with technical finesse,
A bleeding heart but as raw and powerful as the ravaged savage characters and an unforgettably hypnotic finale ,usman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dil Se [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
It was once played on English television as one of the best films, and my goodness it really is.Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dil Se [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
excellent, loved the film, some of the acting is poor, but the end to me was unexpected - good film, worth seeing again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected - not all love!, 23 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Dil Se [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I am a recent lover of Bollywood and SRK. When I got this movie I read about the different depths of love on the back cover and the reviews about 'magic' etc.
I was unprepared for how powerful this movie is - and that includes quite a bit of violence and a lot of emphasis on terrorism and martyrdom.
The love depicted is of the tragic, almost unrequited kind. It is more about infatuation and obsession and a confusion of pain and love. It isnt one of the light Bollywoods and it doesnt have a happy ending (sorry for the spoiler).
The acting was generally excellent and Shahrukh Khan superlative in all the aspects of character he played; the dancing, sensuality and acting. The photography was often breathtaking. The well-known song Chaiyya Chaiyya is not only incredibly catchy but the dance is one of the most memorable Bollywood numbers so far I've seen.
The film quality at the beginning is a bit dodgy but it does improve and change throughout the movie.
I guess it deserved 5 as it is so well done. I am dropping it a star as it wasnt what I was lead to expect given the back cover and general description. It was a bit harrowing rather than uplifting as I was hoping. But then if this is your style this may not bother you.
I am Australian and not Indian but a Sri Lankan lady told me recently that she likes Bollywood movies as 'they don't burden the mind'. Well I found my mind a bit burdened after this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing movie. Excellenet Music, 13 Mar 2006
This review is from: Dil Se [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I must admit the movie didnt live up to my expectations, the story was too long and predictable and sometimes i just felt like not watching it anymore. But on the other hand, the music was fantastic, after you've watched it, it will be hard to get the songs out of your head. The movie is worth watching just for the songs. Shahrukh delivers a good performence but there little he could do to make up for the poor story line. I would give 5 stars for the music and 1 star for the actual movie. Overall 3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dil Se [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
No
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dil Se [DVD] [1998]
Dil Se [DVD] [1998] by Mani Ratnam (DVD - 2003)
£14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews