Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly special tribute to Buddy Holly.
I first saw this film when I was little and was very touched by it, so it seemed obvious to buy it when it came out on DVD. After having studied the life of Buddy Holly I found this film to be very true to life.
Gary Busey made an excellent Buddy Holly and is very talented with regards to music as well as acting since none of the origional scores were used in the...
Published on 17 Jan 2005 by Gem

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor blu ray quality
did I write 'poor quality'in the title? There's no blu ray image quality at all...

It's the worst transfer to blu ray I had to witness until now. Secondly, the sound is mediocre and thirdly there are no subtitles (and of course no extras...).

This disk is for sure the result of the path of the least effort taken by its producers.

Actually,...
Published on 8 Mar 2011 by YD.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly special tribute to Buddy Holly., 17 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film when I was little and was very touched by it, so it seemed obvious to buy it when it came out on DVD. After having studied the life of Buddy Holly I found this film to be very true to life.
Gary Busey made an excellent Buddy Holly and is very talented with regards to music as well as acting since none of the origional scores were used in the film and Busey performed each one of Holly's songs. A friend of mine remarked that if you heard Busey singing and were not aware that it was him you would swear it were Buddy Holly.
I found the special features of this DVD very good. I enjoy listening to the auido commentary with the film's director (Steve Rash) and Gary Busey, it is interesting to be shown the human errors and mistakes which makes the film so realistic and believable.
I would highly recomend this DVD to any fans of Rock 'n' Roll and of course, the man himself, Buddy Holly. It will be a film that I will continue to watch for the rest of my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy up with this great DVD., 5 Feb 2009
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I shall start off by saying, I agree with everything the previous reviewer has said. To add to/expand on this, it was well acted and very convincing; if you didn't know the soundtrack is not Buddy Holly's original, you wouldn't easily guess.

You can really feel the whole era of the 50s in this film, and it's fascinating of course to think of the historical context, eg a white man breaking through in a black man's musical world.

Buddy Holly changed the face of rock n roll, and of music per se, in such a short time; we can only imagine what wonders were left to unfold had he not been so tragically and suddenly curtailed.

A must for fans of the 50s, rock n roll and of Buddy Holly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Biopics should be made this way, 20 Dec 2006
Genuine, warm-hearted account of the Great One's life. Gary Busey is brilliant (and one doesn't often say that about him) - bear in mind he did ALL his own playing and singing. The final concert section is as live and very evocative of the excitement Buddy's music generated. A great sense of the time created by attention to details, and the "story" driven on by sharp dialogue and a beautiful handling of Holly's all-too-short romance and marriage.Recommended without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor blu ray quality, 8 Mar 2011
did I write 'poor quality'in the title? There's no blu ray image quality at all...

It's the worst transfer to blu ray I had to witness until now. Secondly, the sound is mediocre and thirdly there are no subtitles (and of course no extras...).

This disk is for sure the result of the path of the least effort taken by its producers.

Actually, it should be forbidden that results like this have the BD quality label.

Lucky for me the movie and surely the performance of Gary Busey are allright, that's the reason for the generous 2 stars...

Y.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray bummer, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Anthony Clarke (Woodend, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Admirers of this superior biopic should not waste their money on this abysmal Blu ray transfer.
The print is dirty, chapters are badly planned, and worst of all, the image is fuzzy and with bleached-out colour.
I'm viewing via an HD projector on a 120-inch screen, so any faults are magnified. On my system, my old Region 1 DVD looks way better -- colours have more realistic hues and the image is sharper.
Yes, Blu rays are supposed to give us a far better viewing experience than standard DVDs. This is sadly not true in this case. Save your pounds or dollars and hope that a properly transferred Region A Blu ray may one day appear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A What-a-caster?!, 3 April 2009
This review is from: The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Buddy Holly is a young Texan rock `n' roll singer with bad eyesight and teeth like the grill of a crashed Buick who finds himself at odds with virtually everyone he comes across in his quest for a new sound. His church publicly denounce him, his parents dismiss his music as `kids' stuff, his first recording session becomes a punch up, his fiancé thinks his music is just a hobby and his band the Crickets are just a couple of `good `ol boys' just out for a good time.
In the midst of all this `encouragement' his boss at the local radio station threatens to fire him - but not before sending a recording to some `hut shut pre-dooser up theyer in Noo Yawk'. Within seconds Holly is catapulted to fame, fortune, marriage and death at twenty two - but not before he starts the ball rolling for the civil rights movement, changes the face of popular music and buys a Cadillac.

On the face of it Steve Rash's 1978 biopic seems to have gone out of its way to be inaccurate. It manages to render events that kinda/sorta happened into almost total fiction. The insult to Eddie Cochran warrants a governmental inquiry, the concept of a live version of That'll be The Day being his first hit single is wishful thinking in the extreme and don't get me started on the omissions! No mention of the 1958 British tour - an event seismic in its impact on pop music forever afterwards - and no mention of his manger and producer Norman Petty - without whom the world may never have heard of Buddy Holly. They don't even get his guitar right - a Telecaster? A Bronco?! Even in the final scene where he does finally yield a Stratocaster - an instrument integral to the Holly legend - it's a rosewood neck job with a large 70's head and with the tremolo arm left on.

For the average viewer this means nothing, but to rock `n' roll aficionados this is the cinematic equivalent of Da Vinci's `The Last Supper' depicted with a family bucket of KFC on the table.
Certainly Holly did change the face of popular music and he did buy a Cadillac (or two) but the racial divide smashing is based on his marriage to the Hispanic Maria Elena Santigo and a highly fictionalised account of his appearances at the Apollo Theatre in Harlem where he wins over an initially hostile and exclusively black audience. Here (and in subsequent stage productions) he is booked on the basis that, due to his sound, they thought he was black - then he `blows Negro minds' with his unique blend of rolling drums and jangly guitar after being warned that he would, at best, be killed by an outraged mob who had never witnessed a red neck `hot footing' their hallowed bandstand.
The reality is that The Crickets were booked - not because they sounded black - but because there was a Negro vocal group also called the Crickets creating said confusion. They did eventually win over a begrudging audience but it took a week long residency and some Bo Diddley numbers to do it.

Some kudos is due as the music is - unlike most musicals - played live and by the actors themselves (with a sneaky second guitar being played off screen - hence cut-aways and long shots during solos). Charles Martin-Smith (Bass) and Don Stroud (Drums) are adequate but everything rests on Gary Busey's singing and guitar playing which, frankly, belongs at chucking out time of a Thai karaoke night. The big final concert at the Clear Lake Auditorium with Coasters saxophonist King Curtis and a full orchestra virtually never happened. The actual show, which was at The Surf Ballroom, was apparently a shoddy affair with standard rock backing (albeit with the brilliant Tommy Allsup on lead guitar and country superstar in the making Waylon Jennings on bass). The stars on that final show ended up having to play drums for each other on account of the hired drummer recovering in hospital from frostbite due to the horrendous travelling conditions.

In all fairness many of the inaccuracies were due to litigation considerations as virtually everyone connected to the subject refused to allow themselves to be portrayed or even have their names used - so it's something of a stroke of genius that The Buddy Holly Story takes those limitations and turns them into something of a virtue - resulting in an enjoyable film which is more of an affectionate tribute to notoriously fanciful 50's `candy coloured' biopics such as the Glenn Miller Story than a faithful rendering of the tragically short life a remarkable pioneer.
The Buddy Holly Story? No. A Buddy Holly Story? Pretty much.

Adrian Stranik
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touch of nostalgia, 1 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
For all Buddy Holly fans, especially those who know the background to the Buddy Holly story, this film is pretty good. Gary Busey's acting is A-star - he portrays a good Buddy Holly; his performance of Buddy's songs is quite something. But you have to buy it to see it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing frames!, 6 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Alan East "TWB" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Although this is a good biopic, and the soundtrack is great, the actual picture is very disappointing
The picture, apart from being video, judders every few seconds, as though a few frames are missing all through the film, very off putting. Surely a decent version print and master must be available, or is this film in the Public Domain. Other releases of The Buddy Holly Story are no better! Beware.The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD]The Buddy Holly Story - 50th Anniversary Release [DVD] [1978]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rave On-Busey at his best!!!!, 11 Dec 2013
Great film,great acting,and brilliant music of course. Despite the puritans moaning,of course anyone playing the part of a famous singer,be it Buddy Holly or anyone else,isn't going to sound exactly identical,people know that,so considering Mr Busey is an actor first, he does an excellent job emulating the great man. Who else could have done it as well? He gets the look and the performance on to the screen and as soon as the rock'n'roll starts at the ice rink you are hooked. We lost Buddy at far too young an age so great to have a biopic to go with other documentaries. See also Kurt Russell as Elvis. A biopic isn't a documentary,its not meant to be. It celebrates as well as informs. Enjoy. We miss you Buddy and we salute you Mr.Busey. Great job!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Nostalgia., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best music stories told on DVD. Having seen the stage play a few times this is a good substitute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD]
The Buddy Holly Story [1978] [DVD] by Steve Rash (DVD - 2003)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews