Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason comes of age
The review title says it all. This film makes up for a lot of the previous entries in this particular franchise. Behind only the original, and Pt 6 (Jason Lives), this is by far and away the best film to be linked to Jason.
The character development eclipses that which you would expect to see in your average stalk and slash film and the makers must have had their...
Published on 24 Jun 2003 by Gavin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An embarrasment to a brilliant series.
This film is atrocious, I am a huge fan of the friday the 13th franchise which is why I found this film extremley hard to watch, it's dull, boring, the actors are terrible (OK so maybe bad actors aern't new to FT13 but these really over do it)and, it has some of the most awful dialogue I have ever heard in a movie, e.g.`It'll take more than a small poke in the ribs to put...
Published on 8 Aug 2003 by childofthecorn


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason comes of age, 24 Jun 2003
By 
Gavin (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jason X [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
The review title says it all. This film makes up for a lot of the previous entries in this particular franchise. Behind only the original, and Pt 6 (Jason Lives), this is by far and away the best film to be linked to Jason.
The character development eclipses that which you would expect to see in your average stalk and slash film and the makers must have had their tongues so firmly in their cheeks that anyone looking on must have thought the cast and crew were all lopsided.
Now that can go drastically wrong if done badly (See Freddy's Dead) but when executed well (no pun intended), it takes the genre in the only direction which will keep it alive and killing.
The big budget shows through the sets, the music, and the SFX. Had this been a low budget affair, none of this would have worked.
The plot is fairly simple, and along the same lines as all other films of this type - group of kids and a relentless killing machine. But transfer that into the future, with shameless borrows from the sci-fi genre and what you have is the same situation, with countless new ways to die. Add to that the best script of any of this series, the usual money mad scientist, the survivor of a previous encounter, who no-one beleives and the horny teenagers and what you have is an all out killfest with a sense of humour.
For the purists who want their horror without comedy, I can only say that when you get that type of film, you still get comedy, but unintentional as opposed to carefully constructed.
Jason has got to be the meanest looking killer, in size and the way he carries himself. It used to be Michael Myers from the Halloween series, but with H20, and the short dude playing Michael, that mantle was wrenched away by Kane Hodder in the role he has imposingly made his own.
The other 'Jasons', in films 2 - 6 were all a little on the thin size. That just made Jason look gangly, like a basketball player who found a hockey mask. Pt 6 got around that by having a great script, music and a sense of humour. But imagine how much better it could have been with Hodder in the drivers seat.
The teenagers are a suitable mix of cute kids and geeks, and KMU14 has some of the best lines I've heard in a horror film.
This film also has some hilarious references to a future that possibly awaits us, spoken of in a past tense by the grizzled old veteran.
Finally, without putting a spoiler in this review, all I can say is if you thought Jason was unstoppable before, wait till about three quarters of the way through this.
Roll on Friday the 13th 11, and by that I don't mean Freddy Vs Jason, which shamefully has someone else playing Jason but at least has Robert Englund as Krueger.
It will be interesting to see how they manage to bring number 11 out of the end of this, and all I can say is, they're never going to beat this film but if they do, we could be talking film of the genre (with respect to The Exorcist, Halloween and American Werewolf In London).
Watch this film with a beer, some freinds (male and female) and with the volume tturned up full blast, and I challenge you to be disappointed!!
Jason Rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An embarrasment to a brilliant series., 8 Aug 2003
This review is from: Jason X [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film is atrocious, I am a huge fan of the friday the 13th franchise which is why I found this film extremley hard to watch, it's dull, boring, the actors are terrible (OK so maybe bad actors aern't new to FT13 but these really over do it)and, it has some of the most awful dialogue I have ever heard in a movie, e.g.`It'll take more than a small poke in the ribs to put this old dog down (Jason stabs him again)yep,that'll do it`, seriously, how much worse can it get. As for the uber robo Jason, well, the less said about that the better, it was possibly the lamest thing I have ever seen in a movie, it looked ridiculous.
The thing that really annoys me about this movie is that it could have been made to be really good, there is a lot of potential here but it was never touched, they seem to have purposley avoided everything that would have made a decent film. I don't think that the change of setting had anything to do with the film bieng bad, they changed the premise in Jason goes to hell which is one of the best films in the series. Lets just hope that Jason can regain his dignity in Freddy VS Jason, all we can do is pray that it's better than this awful excuse for a horror movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror or comedy? You'll have to answer that yourself..., 6 Dec 2004
By 
T. Carne "Techie wage-slave" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jason X [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
First off, I have to say I personally really enjoyed this movie. I'd seen a few of the early Friday the 13th films prior to this, and had a fairly good idea of the overall quality of the series. Which is where this particular episode is interesting, as it departs completely from what has gone before. Jason X is more or less the Friday the 13th series' "Army of Darkness". It has intermittent scares, and the odd sequence that'll make you jump, but largely it plays like a violent slapstick comedy. This is a complete polar opposite to the straight as you go, scare you silly and gross you out approach that the rest of the series adopts. Which is where people who watch this start to divide up into two separate camps. Most of the people who hate this film say something along the lines of either 'this isn't a horror film, and I paid for a horror film' or 'this horror film sucks, why isn't it more scary'. They'd be right. It isn't all that scary (though people who've never watched anything horror-tinged wouldn't necessarily be advised to start here), and it isn't a straightforward horror film. But, there's the other side of the argument which is that this is a respectful and knowing spoof of the slasher genre, made by slasher fans for slasher fans (unlike Scary Movie, which is a pointless, rude string of direct insults to the horror genre) and it's a good, fun way to spend an hour and a half. I fall on the 'this movie is good fun' side of that argument, because although I do like my horror, and I like it pretty scary and intense, I was entertained throughout this movie. The trouble with this film is that in order to totally enjoy it, you have to get the jokes (many of which are direct references to earlier Friday titles, like the recurring machete or the sequence where two girls get smashed against a tree in sleeping bags) and be on board with the horror bits which aren't gonna phase a horror fan but will probably put off the more squeamish among you (though it didn't scare me, I recently watched it with a friend who watched a lot of it with their eyes shut making vague 'arrggh...' sounds in the corner). At the end of the day, this is a good movie that stops itself being a great one by not making a firm decision about what it wants to be. It's too horror for teen-comedy kids, and it's too teen-comedy for the more pretensious of the horror hardcore. If you don't have a definite kind of movie you want to see, you'll probably love this, like me, but if you have a definite idea of what you want to see, I wouldn't bother because you'll probably be disappointed. On a final note, this movie is a very violent 15, and I have a firm suspicion that it just slid under the 18 bar. The one thing Friday fans are unlikely to be disappointed at is some of the more gory kills (the corkscrew kill in the middle of the film is pretty cool). For once, the UK release is more or less intact and uncut, including the infamous 'half a bloke crawling across the floor' sequence that got cut out of most other countries edit of the film. There are some pretty inventive SFX shots here, so that side is pretty cool. On DVD this has good special features too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From horror to sci-fi, 11 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jason X [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Jason goes to space. The very idea seemed so ludicrous that I simply had to watch the movie. I've always enjoyed `Friday the 13thÂ', and to tell you the truth I had sort of marked this movie as a dud in advance. I mean ever since the 6th addition to the series, it just hasn't been the same.
But in truth it wasn't all that bad. To my surprise much of the traditional Jason has been preserved in this movie (until he is upgraded that is). The only failure of the movie is that it quickly becomes a little too sci-fi for its own good. A little too much Alien 2, if you know what I mean. Don't get me wrong....I loved Alien 2, it's just that high tech weapons and futuristic marines are not really part of the universe that I associate with Jason and `Friday the 13thÂ'.
Also I would have preferred if Jason had remained himself instead of becoming Super-Jason. I mean, does he really need body-armor? Anyway, he upgrades and becomes more like the Incredible Hulk than good old Jason Vorhees, which is a shame. Still, after 10 movies I guess it was time for a change.
By the way one cannot help but wonder if the makers of `Friday the 13thÂ' have not put Jason to rest for good this time. For how on earth is the story ever to evolve from that ending without becoming extremely tacky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jason X, 26 July 2003
This review is from: Jason X [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
I am a huge fan of the friday the 13th franchise which is why I found this film so hard to watch, it is truly an embarrasment to the series and a good sign that maybe they should leave the films with some dignity before they destroy them anymore. There are numerous reasons why I didn't like this film, one being that the characters were so damn annoying, I know annoying characters are nothing new in friday the 13th but these really over do it, another is that it is extremley boring and dosen't seem to go anywhere, mainly because the characters are so irritating that you actually couldn't care less whether they died or not. Also, the uber cyborg Jason was just plain lame and ridiculous and more laughable than scary. If you haven't seen this movie then don't, go and watch a real friday the 13th movie (1-9) and spare yourself the boredom and disapointment. P.S. What was the deal with Jason having a full head of hair, that was just pointless and it made him look stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jason x, a return to form, 29 Feb 2004
The Friday 13th franchise has always been a great source of entertainment, although some of the movies have just been awful, ie friday 13th jason goes to hell. This movie is seperate from the others, since jason was taken to hell in the last installment and freddy v jason follows on from that one. This film is set way in the future(2455) and is set around a group of students who stumble across a girls frozen body, along with jason. The student do tests on the masked killer, only to wake him. And he is still set on extending his victim list, with these students, and the crew of the ship they inhabit, the main targets.
Each victim is given a nasty send off, and with the extras of the dvd you can skip to each death.
I really enjoyed this movie and found parts fairly amusing.
A real must for slasher and jason movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jason goes sci-fi, 17 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jason X [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have just recently bought Jason X and it was worth every penny. It starts with Jason being cryogenically frozen and being found over 400 years later by a group of students, who take him back to their ship. Soon after Jason is unfrozen and sets off on yet another killing spree. There are some really cool and grisly deaths, the best, probably, being the woman having her face frozen in liquid nitrogen and being smashed on the edge of the table. It is hard to find many problems with this movie, but there are some anoying wise-cracks, (e.g. "I think he's gone," "Why don't you just stick your head out and take a look?")and the idea of Uber-Jason (a half-machine, half-human version of Jason) was a stupid one, but apart from this it is well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A "cut" above your average slasher flick, 16 May 2003
By 
Kevin Turrell (Waterlooville, Hants England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jason X [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Jason in space is probably one of the best jason movies made. Transplanting the action to a ship in space gives this a slight aliens feel (though it is not THAT good). It's paced right, stays fresh and interesting and has more than a few laughs along the way. Features some great dialogue, terrible effects and enough gruesome deaths to satisfy any horror fan. This is a much underrated gem. If nothing else its better than all the Scream/I still know... movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TO ALL MOVIE FANS!!!!!, 12 July 2003
By 
Chris Stothard (Wooler, Northumberland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jason X [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
When i first put this in my DVD player and the main menu popped up with its spine chilling music i thought: "Great, this is guna be good!"
That was the last good thought i had about this movie. I found it far too predictable and was able to foretell everything so i was not "thrilled" at all.
A thoroughly dissapointing movie which is highly over-rated.
PLEASE, If you have any respect for movies and yourself, DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason in space, 24 Jun 2003
By 
I Am Tyler Durden (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jason X [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Finally a Jason film made by people who "get it" and enough money to do it right. The great Part 6 had humour and "entertaining" killings. This one has all that plus a sci-fi futuristic setting with loads of cool effects. Really funny and totally great from start to finish. Jason in space against "Aliens" style marines. All the fans want is to see Jason kill loads of people and also get his ass kicked. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jason X [DVD] [2002]
Jason X [DVD] [2002] by James Isaac (DVD - 2003)
£4.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews