Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!
This is a wonderful four part romp from the middle of the golden Pertwee era. I loved the Patrick Troughton stories and it's simply magical when he appears out of nowhere in the Tardis towards the end of episode one. Troughton is probably the only actor not to have played the character anywhere near 'himself' and I think as a result is the best to have had the...
Published on 2 Dec 2003

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great story but a significant one
There is a certain type of Doctor Who story that could be best termed an "event story". These feature a story that is designed around a novelty - the return of the Daleks, Cybermen or the Master often fall into this category. 'The Three Doctors' was an even bigger event - it brung together the first three Doctors for a romp.

Except it doesn't quite. William...
Published on 13 Mar 2008 by Andrew Brack


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 2 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This is a wonderful four part romp from the middle of the golden Pertwee era. I loved the Patrick Troughton stories and it's simply magical when he appears out of nowhere in the Tardis towards the end of episode one. Troughton is probably the only actor not to have played the character anywhere near 'himself' and I think as a result is the best to have had the role.
I'd never seen an interview with Troughton before so the DVD extra from 'Pebble Mill at One' is fascinating and shows a nervous and quiet yet clever man in conversation. The other extras are worth seeing too including a superb half hour in the company of the third doc and Jo Grant at the 1993 Panopticon convention.
The commentary from Barry Letts, Katy Manning and Nick Courtney is satisfactory and the production subtitles make for interesting reading but these are indeed just bonuses to what is a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three steps to Heaven, 26 April 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The Tenth anniversary of Doctor Who kicked-off with this, the first televised multi-Doctor story. The Three Doctors introduces another rogue Timelord, Omega, after the sudden death of Roger Delgado meant that The Master could no longer be involved. The story is somewhat lacking in depth but a real treat for any fan of the 'classic series'.
After a rollicking start, where a mysterious and shapeless energy bubble begins terrorising the countryside and abducting random people, the story seems to settle into a classic Third Doctor Earthbound adventure. All goes well until we are properly introduced to Gallifrey, the Doctor's home planet, for the first time in the series, although the name is not used at this point. This could have been a fantastic plot device and given the fans a much-anticipated insight into The Doctor's origins, however it is simply presented as a load of crusty, hirsuite old men; the worst of whom is The President of the Timelords, played by possibly the most wooden and uncharismatic actor in the show's series (and yes, I've seen 'The Mutants'!) Still, it's good to at least see some more of The Doctor's people and it does give a good idea as to why he needed to escape!
The story's second episode is a somewhat stretched affair but Patrick Troughton is in fine form as The Second Doctor and gets all the best lines - before seeing this story I thought The Fourth Doctor was the originator of the jelly babies. The Third Doctor and Jo are transported to a world of anti-matter and we get to see the fabled Omega for the first time. Brief glimpses of The First Doctor (who is trapped in a 'time-eddy') show a clearly decrepit but still imposing William Hartnell and his line, "so these are my replacements, a dandy and a clown!" is pure joy. In fact, he turns out to be the linchpin for the story's resolution and it remains a fitting epitaph for the original 'Doctor'.
In the third episode we see the UNIT HQ transported to Omega's world, along with The Brigadier, Benton and The Second Doctor. The Third Doctor pits his wits against the renegade Timelord but there is a lot of filler in this episode - fortunately Jo's shapely legs help to sustain interest throughout...The unnamed, 'jelly-like' creatures who serve Omega, chase our heroes down lots of globule-encrusted corridors whilst Doctors Two and Three squabble in humorous fashion before uniting against Omega. The episode ends in slightly hallucinogenic fashion, with The Third Doctor slow-mo battling Omega's 'dark side' in the form of a hideous gremlin. This prompts the watching Timelords, in the final episode, to send The First Doctor into the black hole to help his future selves.
Overall the production qualities of this anniversary story befit its status. Apart from the feebly realised 'jelly monsters' the effects, locations and cast are all top-notch. Plot holes are excusable as it is a celebratory story after all, and I'm sure that the cast and crew had no idea of the programme's colourful future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Birthday to Who! - Celebrating 10 years of 'Doctor Who', 14 April 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The Doctor's 10 years old! No, not really!

It's time to celebrate as `Doctor Who' reaches its 10th birthday in 1973. It's an exciting and momentous year as we get to have an adventure with the Doctor to commemorate 10 years of the show's history. It's a romp of an adventure with blobby jelly monsters, manic magicians and lots of birthday presents to open including a brand new dematerialisation circuit for the Doctor. But the Doctor's going to find this a tricky birthday to contend with as he meets two more versions of himself. This is `The Three Doctors' and it's one heck of a ride!

This was the first story I bought from the Jon Pertwee years of `Doctor Who'. I'd already seen Jon Pertwee as the Doctor before this in `The Five Doctors', which was the 20th anniversary special. So it was nice to be watching an adventure from the early 70s with Jon Pertwee in the leading role. It was nice to cushion the experience with watching Patrick Troughton and William Hartnell joining him on this adventure, as I was getting to know `Doctor Who' as a new comer to the series from the latest new generation of the show. Not only did I watch the first three Doctors altogether for the first time, but I also got to see the Brigadier who I enjoyed, Sergeant Benton who I recognised from `The Invasion' and the lovely and delightful Jo Grant, the Doctor's current companion in this story.

`The Three Doctors' is a story where a crisis occurs with some anti-matter monsters invading the Earth in the 1970s and they attack UNIT HQ in order to capture the Doctor. The Doctor with Jo and Sergeant Benton get themselves in the TARDIS and can't escape with some raw matter material trying to get at the TARDIS. The Doctor sends out a distress call to the Time Lords to ask for help. But the Time Lords are having troubles of their own as they're trying to contain a black hole from draining power from the real universe into a universe of anti-matter. The Time Lords can't help the Doctor, but maybe the Doctor can help himself. The Time Lords lift the first two Doctors from his own time-stream to meet him in his future in the present-day at UNIT. It's not an easy working relationship, but the Doctors need to work together in order to defeat this menace in the anti-matter universe. Can they achieve that?

Watching Jon Pertwee as the Third Doctor was great! I enjoyed Jon Pertwee's interpretation of the Doctor and having seeing him once before in another anniversary story, it was great to see him taking the lead in the 10th anniversary story as the current Doctor. The Third Doctor is an action hero and Jon Pertwee plays the part with such believability and credibility. I love how his relationship with Jo is portrayed when they have scenes together and he's protective of her. He gets annoyed by Doctor 2's witterings from time to time but does his best to tolerate him when they're having to work together. Jon's Doctor gets to meet Omega in his palace and I like how his Doctor tries to gentlemanly and agreeable when he's having chats with Omega after he's been given a seat. I like Jon Pertwee's Doctor and I'm glad I was able to watch him in this and get his TARDIS to travel in time and space again since he's been exiled on Earth by the Time Lords for three years.

Patrick Troughton was equally great to watch as the Second Doctor returning to `Doctor Who' to join Jon Pertwee on his adventure in the anti-matter universe. I loved it when his recorder appears in the TARDIS and the Doctor and Jo pick it up. Then Doctor 2 appears and takes the recorder off Jo and plays a little tune before looking around finding `I've seen you've redecorated the TARDIS a little. Hmm. I don't like it.' I enjoyed it when Doctor 2 reunites with Benton since they haven't seen each other since that nasty business with the Cybermen. Doctor 2 soon meets Doctor 3 and it's clear he's not welcome by his successor. The two of them don't get on well with each other, and it's clear in the performance that Patrick and Jon didn't get on so well at first as there's a tense rivalry between them. But it was great to watch Patrick's Doctor in his mischievous, impish ways compared to Jon's magnificence. The two have to work together to defeat Omega and I like it when they put their minds together and go `Contact! Contact!' It's a fractious and rocky relationship between two egos, but it was a joy to watch these two Doctors together in the same scene.

Doctors 2 and 3 are refereed when William Hartnell as the First Doctor turns up on the scanner monitor screen in the TARDIS to tell them off. This was to be William Hartnell's last appearance as the First Doctor in `Doctor Who'. He created the role back in 1963 and it was great to see him in this special story to celebrate 10 years of `Doctor Who'. At that time of doing this he was very ill and he could only do a small part in the story. So he doesn't have much to do in this story apart from being on the screen and have a few short scenes with Doctors 2 and 3 in the TARDIS. It's a shame really because I would have liked to have seen more scenes where Doctor 1's in on the action and sharing scenes with Doctors 2 and 3. But at least William Hartnell was in `The Three Doctors' and it's a great testament for an actor who first play the role of the Doctor at the beginning to come round full circle to celebrate the show's success. Not only after doing this, William Hartnell died three years later. But he's still fondly remembered for playing the Doctor back in the early 60s and the show continues growing strong to this day.

I really like Jo Grant as the Doctor's companion, played by Katy Manning. I've met Katy a number of times at conventions lately and she's truly a lovely bubbly person to meet with such a cheerful personality. I was happy when she signed recently the original DVD cover of this story for me at a convention in March this year. Jo Grant in this story is amazing, as she's a truly wide-eyed young girl full of heart and compassion as she joins her Third Doctor on his adventures in time and space. She's a very willing and able person to help out the Doctor, especially when there's three of them. I like it in that TARDIS scene when Doctor 2 tries to explain his other second self by saying, `I am he and he is me' and Jo quotes `And we are all together, coo coo cachoo?' which is from a Beatles song. I just knew I was going to like this girl. I laughed when Patrick's Doctor went with his recorder, `Oh how does it goes?' before Jon's Doctor tells him to shut up.

I like it when with Jo she comes up with the idea for the Doctors 2 and 3 to put their minds together to create a door to get out of the prison cell they're in in Omega's domain. It shows how resourceful is and is full of bubbly enthusiasm when it comes to defeating the enemy. I found Jo to be very loyal to her Third Doctor and she was willing to give her life for him, stand by him or to sacrifice herself to him. It's clear she doesn't want to leave Jon's Doctor when being told to walk through the light stream to be sent back home, and it put me in mind of Rose Tyler a little bit when she wanted to stay by her Tenth Doctor whenever he was about to make some big sacrifice. So Jo Grant is a really lovely character to be a companion for the Doctor, and I'm really glad I've been able to meet the actress who played Jo as I have enjoyed talking to her and having laughs with her since she's a very easy-going person to talk to at conventions.

The Brigadier was great to watch in this too! I enjoy watching Nicholas Courtney as Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart. I've seen him twice before in `The Invasion' and `The Five Doctors', but this was the first time I'd seen him in one of his regular appearances with Jon Pertwee's Doctor during the early 70s. He's the link between the Doctors 2 and 3, and he's bewildered by what goes on when he comes across two of them. It's a shock since he first met Patrick Troughton then had to get use to Jon Pertwee and then having the two of them together in this story and it becomes too much for him and way over his head. He gets frustrated when he doesn't understand why the Doctor's changed back from Jon Pertwee to Patrick Troughton he thinks and is a little annoyed by Doctor 2's whimsical ways. I found it funny when they arrive in the anti-matter world and he thinks they've arrived on a beach and he comes back in the UNIT lab to confront Doctor 2, `Now see here Doctor, what's going on here?!' Then the Brigadier tells Doctor 2 that there's sand everywhere and Patrick goes `Oh sand! How splendid! Who's for a swim?!' and the Brigadier's fuming. But he's great to watch and Nicholas Courtney is a fine actor to play him, sadly no longer with us. He gets used to the idea of two or three Doctors, but as far as he's concerned one of them is quite enough.

I liked Benton in this story (played by John Levene). He gets to be a part of the adventure in this story and also provides a link between Doctors 2 and 3. I like it when he's reunited with Doctor 2 in the TARDIS, and it's he who explains to Jo properly how he first met the Doctor with Patrick before Jon. Benton gets to share more scenes with Patrick's Doctor in this story when they're sorting out the raw anti-matter creature and when they get captured by the blobby monsters and taken to Omega's lair. I like how Benton believes Doctor's 2 assumptions about where they are in the anti-matter universe whereas the Brigadier's sceptical. It provides the comedy between the Doctor, Benton and Brigadier very beautifully when they're having scenes together.

The menace the Doctors have to fight against turns out to be Omega (played by Stephen Thorne). I remember first hearing Stephen in the BBC radio series of `The Lord of the Rings' where he played Treebeard. To hear his voice and have him playing a character in `Doctor Who' was a true delight. He's encased in mask and large costume in this story, but it's still recognisably Stephen Thorne. I've actually seen Stephen at a convention in Swansea last year. My fondest memory of him was where he was on a panel with Michael Kilgariff and David Bickerstaff's interviewing them. David at one point says to Stephen how much he enjoyed him on telly and radio and considered him to be one of his heroes, before Stephen bellows that classic line, `A HERO?! I SHOULD HAVE BEEN A GOD!!!' Everyone in the audience roared with laughter as it was such a fantastic moment to witness.

Omega in this story is a very important figure to the Doctor. He comes from Time Lord history as being the first stellar engineer to create time travel for the Time Lords. But he got caught up in an explosion in a black hole where the Time Lords thought he was destroyed. But he managed to survive and he's been spending his life in an anti-matter world for eons of time. He can rule and create anything he wants in this universe according to his will. But Omega wants to go home and seek his revenge on the Time Lords who he believes abandoned him. So he summons the help of the Doctor in order to achieve his objective in returning to the normal universe. Omega is a being full of rage and hatred and he gets into a boiling rage whenever something doesn't go his way or when the Doctors defy him. The Third Doctor gets to fight Omega in the dark side of his mind...THE DARK SIDE!!! Omega is a really interesting and complex character and I found that moment terrifying and astonishing when Doctors 2 and 3 begin to take off his mask and discovering the shocking truth. Omega discovers the shocking truth is well and is done very cleverly special effects and a howling wail from Omega inside the mask.

The slaves of Omega happen to be the Gell Guards. Now these guys I can't take seriously nowadays. I'm sure kids in the 70s would have found them scary, but they really do look daft. They do look like blobby jellies who walk around and there are actors inside those costumes who can't see where they're going despite giving a good try. I laugh when I see them, since they put me in mind of Mr Blobby at times. BLOBBY, BLOBBY, BLOBBEEEE!!! In a strange way I can't help but enjoy watching them on screen, but honestly! Couldn't' they have come up with something more frightening than that?! But hey, it was the 70s after all.

The story was originally released in 2003 and it had some special features included on the disc. These include the following.

There's a Pebble Mill at One feature containing interviews with monster maker Bernard Wilkie and second Doctor himself Patrick Troughton that was shown from Christmas 1973. There's a music video to commemorate the 40th anniversary of `Doctor Who' at the time of the original DVD release. There's a Blue Peter feature where Peter Purves meets Jon Pertwee who drives his new Whomobile into the studio. There's also some `BSB Highlights' where `The Three Doctors' was reshown for the `31 Who' weekend in 1990 and there are interviews with Jon Pertwee, Nicholas Courtney, Terrence Dicks (script editor) and Bob Baker and Dave Martin (writers of the story). There's also a stage interview that was taken place at the convention `PanoptiCon 93' with Jon Pertwee, Katy Manning and Nicholas Courtney.

There's a trailer for `The Five Faces of Doctor Who' which was a season of repeats showing classic stories on BBC2 in 1981 and it included `The Three Doctors' as well as `An Unearthly Child', `The Krotons', `Carnival of Monsters' and `Logopolis'. There's also a trailer for Episode 1 of `The Three Doctors' before it was transmitted in December 1972. There's a photo gallery, an info-text commentary option to watch and a commentary with Katy Manning, Nicholas Courtney and Barry Letts (the producer) talking about the story.

Since then, `The Three Doctors' has been re-released as a special edition and part of the Revisitations 3 box set, which also contains 'The Tomb of the Cybermen' and 'The Robots of Death'. It contains the original special features as well as some new ones to compliment the enjoyment and experience.

The additional features on the special edition include a PDF file of the Radio Times listings for `The Three Doctors' that's provided on Disc 1. On Disc 2, there's a making of documentary on `The Three Doctors' called `Happy Birthday to Who!' with interviews from Katy Manning, Stephen Thorne, Barry Letts, Terrance Dicks and Bob Baker. There's also the documentary `Was Doctor Who Rubbish?' that looks at the question as to whether the classic series of `Doctor Who' was rubbish or not with contributions from fans of the show e.g. Joe Lidster (Big Finish writer) and Thomas Guerrier (brother of Simon Guerrier). There's also `Girls, Girls, Girls, 1970s' where Caroline John (Liz Shaw), Katy Manning (Jo Grant) and Louise Jameson (Leela) talk about what it was like to play a `Doctor Who' companion in the 70s with an introduction from Peter Purves at the beginning.

This is a lovely anniversary story with three Doctors to celebrate 10 years of `Doctor Who'. I had great pleasure watching this and introducing myself to the Third Doctor era with Jo Grant, the Brigadier, UNIT and everything. It wouldn't be the last time I would see them again as I continued to enjoy more classic `Doctor Who' stories bumping into Jon Petwee's Doctor and Jo from time to time. It was a pleasure to watch this, and this story would start off a chain of more multi-Doctor adventures with the likes of 'The Five Doctors', 'The Two Doctors', 'Time Crash' and more recently 'The Day of the Doctor'. This is one story worth enjoying and it's great to have an upbeat and reassuring ending where the Doctor's forgiven by the Time Lords and allowed to travel freely in the TARDIS.

The next story with the Doctor and Jo is 'Carnival of Monsters'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Doctors, 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
NOTE: Also available as a Special Edition in the Revisitations 3 box set, remastered and with new extras - highly recommended.

How do you celebrate your tenth birthday on air if you're over 700 years old? Get some friends round, probably have a couple of annoying relatives drop in, go out for the day, take in a pantomime, set off a few fireworks then all home in time for tea. `The Three Doctors' is `Doctor Who' in full party mode and it works brilliantly. There is a serious back story of the Time Lords in trouble with only the Doctor(s) to save them, but this often seems like a framework on which to hang as many party decorations as possible. Jelly monsters, glittering sets and costumes, the Doctors getting on each others nerves but still working together and the Brigadier light years out of his depth but soldiering on gallantly with some great one-liners - Nicholas Courtney plays it perfectly, with a straight face and militarily precise comic timing.

In the midst of all this frivolity, Stephen Thorne still manages to create the tragic role of Omega, driven mad by his long isolation and desperate to escape. It's one of the best voice performances in `Doctor Who'; Omega's mask is unchanging but his shifting moods of pride, anger and utter despair are clear to see. Still, this show is a birthday party and the intention seems obvious with references to Omega's fortress as "Aladdin's cave" and the point of singularity as the "magic lamp" so I suppose that makes Omega the conjurer - but not really an evil one, the Doctor feels sorry for him at the end. In keeping with the birthday atmosphere, this is a rare (unique?) `Doctor Who' where everyone survives - even Omega, but that's another story ...

The idea of three Doctors in one show works superbly, Jon Pertwee and Patrick Troughton playing off each other expertly and William Hartnell appearing like a wise genie to steer them in the right direction. When the party's over (as William Hartnell's Doctor says) everyone goes home after a thoroughly good time and the Doctor gets a surprise from the Time Lords - just what he's always wanted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cromer, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I think that one of my favourite aspects of this is that it's often very funny, and honestly so - not laughing up its sleeve or sending itself up, or treating the audience as too thick to understand the jokes, just funny, and that's good. It's perfectly possible to play something dead straight and still raise a laugh.

It's also very intelligently written - the Bristol Boys were seldom short of ideas - black holes were topical in 1973, meaning astrophysics was being talked about. 'Super luminescent emissions' wasn't too far from the Zeitgeist. It's good that the fairly daft piece of Deus ex Machina that the story hangs on isn't too implausible, and the Time Lord idea was overdue for development.

These are not quite the indifferent gods of War Games, and if not quite the the cynical politicals of Deadly Assassin, they are on their way there - I wouldn't trust Clyde Pollitt's Chancellor as far as the end of the street, never mind to the end of a light beam (he was at the trial in the War Games, and has presumably been promoted). Graham Leaman was previously a Time Lord in Colony in Space, and Barry Letts has confirmed that the two are playing the same characters (lending greater weight to the idea that Bernard Horsfall's character in War Games is Goth).

It's a pity about Bill Hartnell, and I'd like to know what his part might have been had his wife not phoned Barry Letts with the words, 'What do you think you're doing? He's ill, dammit!', but it's good that he's in it, though time had clearly not been kind to the poor man since 1966.

Mr Troughton is clearly having fun, somewhat (I suspect) at Jon Pertwee's expense - after all, Dr Who wasn't Patrick's show anymore, so he could get on with enjoying himself and (I further suspect) flirting with Katy Manning.

Stephen Thorne is on very fine furniture-chewing form as Omega; there is always a temptation for actors in masks to over play their role, and Mr Thorne does, but it works, making Omega all the odder - of course, he's been stuck in a black hole for millennia, his social skills are under-exercised. And *three* Doctors demand a BIG villain. The moment that he takes his mask off revealing nothing beneath is beautifully handled. Amid all the bluster, he's really quite moving.

And, as mentioned above, it's clever; the weather balloon, the picture, the blob, the gel guards, UNIT HQ zooming off into goodness knows where, and Corporal Palmer staring in disbelief - great cliffhanger.

Omega World is, admittedly, a quarry, but Lennie Mayne does his best with it - the weird camera angles are effective - and if Omega's palace lacks the impressive exterior of T. Dicks' novel, well, it's a shame, but there we are.

And it's also a lovely story for UNIT, and especially the Brigadier, who gets all the best comedy moments; there's a distinct sense of the military mind under such assault that it's close to breaking down - it doesn't of course, because Lethbridge-Stewart is such a professional soldier that he can even rationalise the TARDIS as a massive waste of UNIT money. Meanwhile Benton gets all the Jamie stuff to do, because Fraser Hines was stuck in Emmerdale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Had Forgotten How Good Classic Dr Who was, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I got this "classic" Dr Who dvd for my birthday. Jon Pertwee was my first Doctor and I had forgotten how good the early doctors were.. A great story , well written and well acted. The new doctor who may have better effects , sets , a bigger budget but classic doctor is still the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC CLASSIC, 18 July 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The three doctors is a great dr who episode, one of my personal favourites. A great storyline and good special features.

Heres a little bit of the plot An alien force attacks Unit Headquarters, The doctor has to call on his people, the Time Lords for help. The Time Lords send his two former forms, the 1st and 2nd doctor(William Hartnell and Patrick Troughton)- but this is breaking the first law of time travel. However in a universe of anti-matter an old figure in time lord history is awaiting- but can the three doctors stop this evil and who is this figure in time lord history only....OMEGA a tiemlord who thinks he should be a god.

The special features are good and they include an interview with Patrick Troughton and head of the dr who visual effects department bernard wilkie(very entertaining).

A trailer for episode 1 from 1972.

Jon Pertwee and Katy manning at panopticon dr who convention.

Blue peter talking about Jon Pertwee's Who mobile, and the up coming series(well for back then) also William Hartnell to Patrick Troughton regeneration in the the tenth planet episode four.

Also the 'five faces of dr who' - it was bbc2s idea to have a whole series of repeats and this is the trail for them. They include The Unearthly Child(The first dr who episode), The Krotons, Carnival of Monsters, The Three Doctors and logoplolis.

All in all a great dvd buy and would strongly encourage anyone who is interested to buy this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, great extras result in a great DVD, 30 April 2010
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The Three Doctors was produced to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the show, and its a little gem. At 97mins its just the right length and the performances from Pertwee, Troughton and Hartnell are all exemplary. In particular the spark between the 2nd and 3rd Doctors (in the form of bickering) is wonderfully written and very well acted. The plot is classic Dr Who - a rogue Time Lord is trapped in an anti-matter universe and is desperate to escape get his revenge - thats it really!

Its also worth mentioning the picture quality of this DVD, which is very good.

What also makes this DVD worthy of 5 stars is the extras. The Panopticom event, filmed in 1993 with Jon Pertwee, Katy Manning and Nicholas Courtney is a marvellous chance to hear Jon Pertwee (my favourite Doctor) talk about his career in some detail. I found Katy Manning slightly irratating, and sadly Nicholas Courtney only gets a few words in, but the rapport and friendship between the 3 of them was clear to see.

The other noteable extra is an interview with Patrick Troughton from Pebble Mill. Again this is very interesting and watching it for the first time made me realise how good an actor he is, as in person he is nothing like his Doctor Who character.

So overall a very good series, with very good extras makes this an essential purchase from the Jon Pertwee era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent job by the BBC restoration group, 14 Jan 2004
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
"The Three Doctors" is one of the best programmes from the long-running TV series. Made for the beginning of the 1973 Jon Pertwee season, the 4 part story features William Hartnell, Patrick Troughton and Jon Pertwee himself as Doctor Who. There is also strong support roles from Katy Manning as assistant Jo and the Brigadier. The acting is very good. The programme was also re-run on the BBC in 1981.
Effects-wise, the story stands up pretty well, especially as the programme makers really seems to have mastered colour separation and overlay techniques. The plot is also consistent and reasonably convincing.
The major selling point is the extras. They are very substantial and complete. It is clear that the Doctor Who restoration team have worked long and hard over it. There is an entertaining commentary, Blue Peter and Pebblemill at One footage from the early 70s (completely restored) and some great convention material from the early 90s. Certainly, the production couldn't be bettered.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jon Pertwee, Patrick Troughton, William Hartnell, 5 Mar 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Well what more do you want? Even though the Timelords are breaking the first rule of time its still a thrilling story. The Doctors come up against a fellow Timelord, Omega. Time itself is in preil! Cosmic energy is draining into a black whole and the Timelords are under seige. The Doctor is their only hope but as he is trapped in the TARDIS and powerless to help them. The only way out is for the Dcotor to help himself, literally. So will they stop Omega? Watch to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Three Doctors [1972] [DVD] [1963]
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews