Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the 2003!, 8 Mar 2004
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
Although The Darkness may have stolen the headlines in rock music last year it was Cave In, Antenna that was the album that got me most exited. From their hardcore roots it was hard to see them making an album sounding like this but I for one am glad they did.
"Stained Silver" the opening track is a perfect way to start the album. It is powerful and gives you a sense of what the album is going to be all about. "Joy Opposites" is a strong song about love and sounds a lot like some of the leading emo bands best songs. The slower songs like album closer "Woodwork" are also good though and have relevance. They show that there is more to Cave In than the conventional rock sound.
If you have the chance to buy this album it would definately be worth it although if you have been a partizan fan of the band since the beginning you may be a little concerned by the route they have taken. There is however not a weak song on the album and it is likely that it will be in your cd player for a good few weeks before you stop listening to it intensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cave-in send nu-metal back to the stone-age, 18 Mar 2003
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
This album, the major label debut of Boston's Cave-In is a quite tremendous slice of modern rock music.
Cave In were formed in 1995 and set-out as a math-metal band along the lines of dillinger escape plan and converge. Their third album, Jupiter, saw a marked change in style with the screamed vocals replaced by a tremendous rock voice and the music changing from grating metal to atmospheric spacey sounding rock. This album develops this progression and is quite possibly the most instantly catchy album I have heard in years.
Picking a favourite song is very difficult as they are so different and yet so consistent. Highlights include the breakdown in "Inspire" and the excellent balladry of "Beautiful Son".
In summary, this is an album that should appeal to anybody who like good rock music and there is no reason why Cave-In shouldn't become as big as their labelmates the Foo Fighters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emo-post hardcore at it's best, 30 April 2003
By 
J. R. Sanders "JArghS" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
I didn't know a great deal about Cave-in when i picked up this album...now i know they are from Boston, MA (a great city) and that they have put together an amazing album. they tell me this is their fourth album and i have yet to hear the other three.
the most striking thing about this album is the melodic vocals from lead singer Stephen Brodsky, they wouldn't seem out of place in a band like Radiohead...but they are in Cave-In and they work so well! everything fits into place nicely on this album, my only criticism is that it may be a tad over-produced, maybe it sounds a little too clean shaven, but all the same this is an excellent album...highlights include 'Joy Opposites' and ' Stained Silver' but there is no such thing as a bad track on this album...
a must buy for fans of the softer side of GlassJAw and the more melodic hardcore scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
The band may not like it very much and it may not be a fans favourite but I love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars uplifting stuff, 25 May 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
in terms of evolving,cave in truly evolved from a screamcore outfit to a more post modern rock outfit,the album jupiter was a sign of things to come and then antenna was progression complete,its an album that if im honest took a while for me to appreciate but now i see that it is as strong and emotive an album as you will ever hear,it doesnt walk doewn the emo road of course,more a spacey kind of rock that is uplifting and memorable and something a little different from the standard formula.

Songs like the aptly titled inspire will soar through you like an angel on a swing,beautiful sun will move you,all the songs are catchy and memorable,and truly jaw droppingly special,of course i will always pine for the screamcore that they once spat out but this is where they wanted to be and we cant dismiss them for being themselves,can we?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars inspire, 17 April 2006
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
have only recently worked my way through the cave in backcatalogue and this is easily their best album. 'jupiter' saw them move away from the hardcore stuff (which has its moments) while last album 'perfect pitch black' sees them trying a bit to get back to their roots, so to speak. 'antenna' catches the band between the two stools, branching further out and its a very polished album. the tone is set by opener 'stained silver' and by the time 'joy opposites' has kicked in the mood has been set. best tracks are 'joy...', 'woodwork' and 'youth overrider'.

funnily enough it's when they try to move away from the atmospheric to 'lighter' tunes that the band come unstuck. true to form one of these (two) tracks ('anchor') was released as a single. odd, that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whatever makes you tired, the resting always fails..., 5 Sep 2003
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
This isn't hard rock, screemo or hardcore, this is space rock. This album is perfectly balanced, split into two by the experimental Seafrost, and in a way the album is in the same format as a Foo fighters album with all the harder songs at the beginning an interlude song and then a much more relaxed second half ending with a definitive song to cap off the album.
This is in a lot of cases the natural evolution of many bands that start off playing hardcore, metal or hard rock. The tendency is for many of these bands to change their music style to complement their growing skill by making their playing a lot clearer and for the sound to be sharper. Guitar riffs become much more controlling of the music and less repetitive, the drumming is no longer based on cymbal bashing and the vocals lead the music and are designed to be much more catchier (whereas screaming alone doesn't allow a vocalist to show his true singing abilities, an example of an excellent combination of the two styles is the way Chino sings).
This is a very good album and i highly recommended it, cave in have become one of the more unique bands of this decade and will be ranked along with Metallica, Foo fighters, Radiohead, QOTSA, Manics, Deftones in upcoming years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A WHOLE NEW SOUND!!, 6 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
This album is fab!
Cave in have a strange space sound to this album and it works really well. It almost has a hint of MUSE to it (muse the english rock band) I saw them for the first time supporting the Foo Fighters on their tour in November and I thought they were something special. Stephen Brodsky (vocals) has one of the best voices in rock at the moment. The album combines the spacey guitar sound with the echoing vocals and it works perfectly. This album is totally original and they deserve a lot of credit for it.
Tracks to listen out for:inspire,rubber and glue,penny racer, woodwork
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Driving rock music., 29 Mar 2003
By 
Sean (Watford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Antenna (Audio CD)
Obviously since signing on the same label, and touring with them, Cave In seem to have taken a few tips from the Foo Fighters' brand of melodic rock. However, Cave In haven't completely lost their spacey qualities.
Stephen Brodsky's vocals are still complete with a haunting echo, and although this effort contains more riffs than Cave In's recent efforts (see the stunningly beautiful 'Tides of Tomorrow ep'), they're wrapped up in suttle effects whcih are more like being slapped with silk than being hit with a brick. Such stunning melancholic moments as 'Beautiful Son', or epic closer 'Woodwork'.
Of course, there are still moments when this album hits you square in the gut. Take the 'Paranoid Android'-esque riffing of 'Inspire' or sudden full-on moments like 'Anchor', or 'Rubber And Glue'. Overall, fans of Cave In's metalcore beginnings will probably hate this just as much as 'Jupiter' or 'Tides Of Tomorrow', but be warned, Cave In won't be missing you.
Stardom beckons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antenna
Antenna by Cave-In (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews