Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth 5 Stars
Being a huge fan of Third Eye Blind, Lifehouse, Stroke 9 etc. in my mind 3 Doors Down are a very strong contribution to this American-But-Unknown-In-Britian-Rock scene. The heavy guitars mixed with great lyrics and beautiful songs make this album a real must have. Here are some of the tracks that really stand out for me:
1) When I'm Gone: A great opener, and for me...
Published on 9 Nov 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than average american rock
I'd heard of three doors down before the release of this album mainly due to the huge sucess of kryptonite in the US and through the presence of the beautiful Be like that on the american pie 2 soundtrack. So what have these boys got to offer on their secound album? After buying this album i would have to give the answer, a mixed bag. The high point of the album is...
Published on 3 Jun 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth 5 Stars, 9 Nov 2003
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
Being a huge fan of Third Eye Blind, Lifehouse, Stroke 9 etc. in my mind 3 Doors Down are a very strong contribution to this American-But-Unknown-In-Britian-Rock scene. The heavy guitars mixed with great lyrics and beautiful songs make this album a real must have. Here are some of the tracks that really stand out for me:
1) When I'm Gone: A great opener, and for me one of the stand-out tracks. Powerful and full of those 3 Doors Down great guitar riffs, garenteed to make you sing along.
2) Away From The Sun: Another stand-out for me, and also the first ballad of the CD. Amazing lyrics and the music make this track full of feeling, and my second favourite on the album.
3) The Road I'm On: This track starts out quite slow, and then builds up throughout, making it very different to all the other tracks on the album. Another great song.
6) Without a doubt, the highlight of the album. A beautiful ballad that'll have you reaching for this CD again and again. Truly spectacular. If nothing else, buy the album for this.
10) Going Down In Flames: A great rock track that'll have you jumping round to the chorus and yelling "I'm falling into this agaaaaain!". 3 Doors Down at their best!
True, that it can be said that the group's first album "The Better Life" was prehaps slightly better, due to the awesome "Kryptonite" and "Be Like That". This album is in no way lacking. I can sum it up in 3 words: Here Without You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 2nd album, 3 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
This is prehaps tighter than their first album, "Better Life". It's certainly the natural progression from then, anyway. True, it's more of the same, but they have an excellent, catchy, emotional sound that you really can't fault them for releasing more of it...!
If you like these guys, also try: Love.45, Our Lady Peace, Vertical Horizon, Matchbox 20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 28 Jan 2005
By 
P. McCauley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
This was a great album for 3 doors down to follow on from their last album. In their previous album they had some pretty big hits songs that i thought could be hard to match. this album i definetly enjoyed listening to with a very distinguishable improvment on they song structure than their previuos album. songs like 'away from the sun', here without you', and 'the road im on' are probably some of the best and great hits that are on it but the rest aren't far benhind.
- a recommended buy if you like great rock
- not a 5 star because not its not quite there yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than average rock, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
After hearing 'When i'm gone'on msn radio i had to buy the album for love of the song. While listening to the album the first time i was amazed at the talent within the band. the combination of lyrics and powerful music stirred feelings inside of me. In particular 'When im gone' and 'here without you' are the best, making you want to put them on repeat over and over again. This si the first album i have listened to from 3dd but i can be cewrtain that i will be buying their first album to compliment it.
BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!! THERES NO REASON WHY YOU SHOULDNT.
Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT, 22 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
I first got into 3 doors down when i lived in the states, i always heard kryptonite (from the 1st album) on the radio and had to have it. I loved it. When i moved back here i was devastated to hear that no one really knows them here. When I found out they released a new album i rushed to get it and i wasn't dissapointed. Away from the sun is fresh and yet continues in the same vein. I love Here without you, it is my favourite on the album but i could still listen to the whole thing all day long. If you like hoobastank, vertical horizon, third eye blind music from smallville etc. GO AND BUY BOTH THIS AND THE FIRST ALBUM. You'll love em!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than average american rock, 3 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
I'd heard of three doors down before the release of this album mainly due to the huge sucess of kryptonite in the US and through the presence of the beautiful Be like that on the american pie 2 soundtrack. So what have these boys got to offer on their secound album? After buying this album i would have to give the answer, a mixed bag. The high point of the album is undoubtibly the gorgeous ballad Here Without You. Touching lyrics, a cracking chorus and dripping with strings make this one of the best rock ballads ive ever heard. Unfortunatelty there is no other song on the album that reaches this level of genius but there are gems to unearth. Away from the sun is soaring rock beauty while the road im on shows 3dd's more meatier side. Changes is a more angsty aggresive number and going down in flames is a good up tempo rock number. Brad Arnolds voice lifts alot of the tracks on this album with his soothing vocal range. Where this album fails is the fact that 75% of the songs on it sound almost identical. Its as though the songs were produced by some soft rock creating machine on loan from Nickleback. Thats not to say that this album falls anywhere near the musical hell of the aforementioned band. 3dd end up sounding a bit like creed in their better moments. A bit more work and this band could progress to a much higher level. What is more likely to happen is they produce a few more albums like this and retire from the huge albums sales they receive in the US. But with songs like 'here without you' ill be glad to have them around for a few more years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 17 July 2007
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this album. There alot of really great songs. The songs really vary from heavy rock to a really beautiful "Here without you" acoustic song. I really like 3 Doors Down as they're not your average rock band. They have a variety of tastes and styles and this comes through in there songs.

Ticket to heaven is a fantastic song, I really like this song. Other classics include Kryponite and Here without you (don't listen to this song if you've just broken up with someone or you'll probably end up crying :( )

I really recommend this CD, it's one of my favorites CD's in my collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars away from the sun, 23 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
the whole reason i got into this band is because of the track when i'mgone. travelling accross america last summer this song stuck leading me tobuy both albums and love them!!
this album is great - true i prefer thefirst but this is also an excellent album and although it takes a wee bitof listening you grow to love it to!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressed, 2 Nov 2003
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
Alerted to 3DD largely on the basis of Kryponite which i heard while on holiday in Australia and be like that from the American Pie Soundtrack, I thought i should check out their albums.
I must say that criticism that their music sounds the same all the time is largely unjustified. There is a good mix of powerful rock ballads and the more guitar driven rock songs and although 1 or 2 are similar, i can't really understand this criticism.
Here without you - the stand out track...when im gone also gets mr drumming along.
Good stuff in general, i'll borrow a phrase from another reviewer, 'more refined' than their last album because in general i agree. But comparing them with nickelback is a little unfair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This album certainly shouldn't be hidden away from the Sun!, 9 May 2003
This review is from: Away From The Sun (Audio CD)
A talented mixture of emotions displayed through music, this album is definately one to own, whether you're angry, depressed, lonely, or just simply like rock. A more mature and balanced follow up to the still amazing 'The Better Life', 3 Doors down are establishing themselves as one of todays essential rock bands. A refreshing change from the hardness of the Nu Metal genre, 'Away from the Sun' blends heavier tracks such as 'Going Down in Flames' and 'Sarah Yelling' with the slower, moving, ballad-style tracks 'Here Without you, 'This Time, and the title track 'Away From the Sun'. Emotionally charged, everyone should identify with at least one song on this album, lending it a feeling of realism and empathy, assisted by sensitive and passionate vocals. For those who like heavy, bitter, and anger-charged rock, this one's not for you. For those who want a combination of rock and rock-ballads, with a helping of human emotion and musical talent, this one's an essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Away From The Sun
Away From The Sun by 3 Doors Down (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews