Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an american pie beater
[...] In a way it's a different animal to the american pie franchise, slackers is more surreal. The basic premise of the film is a group of guys cheating their way through college using innovative ways, but alas, they get found-out and held to ransom buy the geek on campus. Either the gang hook him up with the target of his affection, or he will get them kicked out of...
Published on 8 Feb 2007 by L. Travell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as people would have you believe.
the first time i watched this film i thought it was okay, but i watched it again and enjoyed it a lot more the 2nd time round. it is different to other films of the same genre. what sets it apart is it's rather quirky sense of humour that admittedly won't be to everyones taste. there are some highly amusing moments mainly delivered by Schwartzman who plays the stalker...
Published 13 months ago by tobyonekenobi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an american pie beater, 8 Feb 2007
By 
L. Travell "trev productions" (Gosport, Hants. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
[...] In a way it's a different animal to the american pie franchise, slackers is more surreal. The basic premise of the film is a group of guys cheating their way through college using innovative ways, but alas, they get found-out and held to ransom buy the geek on campus. Either the gang hook him up with the target of his affection, or he will get them kicked out of school. The plot is a bit thin on the ground, but hey if your into these films your not really hooked up on 'plot', what you want is cheap laughs and this has plenty of them all served up in a well directed, well characterised and very off the wall comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guaranteed Laugh a minute thanks to Cool Ethan, 23 April 2003
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
'Not another teen movie!' I hear you cry, but this is way different than films such as American Pie and Road Trip. This is not a bad thing though.
Jeff, Sam and Dave, 3 typical 'party-first and study-later' guys are in their final year of University. Upto this point they have managed to cheat their whole way through high school and college, but their little secret is about to blown wide-open by the campus geek Cool Ethan (Jason Schwartzman). Cool Ethan catches them cheating and threatens to get them kicked out of Uni, unless they get him Angela, and girl who he holds an wierd and twisted obsession for.
However, Dave (Devon Sawa) finds himself falling in love with Angela and must decide to choose the girl and face getting him and his friends kicked out of Uni, or helping Cool Ethan and missing out on true love.
Despite the romantic tendencies this film has, I recommend this film to anyone who likes to laugh as this is guaranteed to having you laughing from start to finish, all thanks to Cool Ethan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Film, 27 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Never before in the field of human film making has a film starring so few, made me laugh so much. Insane in parts, just crazy in others, this film will make you laugh so hard you might loosen your bowels.
Devon Swaha shows again that he can be brilliant in a comedy (see Idle Hands) and Jason Schwartzman hasn;t been this good since Rushmoore. With a supporting cast of funy, funny people this film delivers on all levels, just don't watch sober.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one word... Spongebath!, 21 July 2005
By 
Ms. P. Ritchie "bobbybobson" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is one of my FAVOURITE films! It's great. Nothing but clever, harmless fun with plenty of laughs. My 2 most favourite scenes are the hair doll and the spongebath! They are hilarious/quite surreal! The song that plays along with the spongebath scene (and end credits) is excellent, although I can't for the life of me figure out who sings it! If you're unsure about buying this film, do not hesitate. You wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as people would have you believe., 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
the first time i watched this film i thought it was okay, but i watched it again and enjoyed it a lot more the 2nd time round. it is different to other films of the same genre. what sets it apart is it's rather quirky sense of humour that admittedly won't be to everyones taste. there are some highly amusing moments mainly delivered by Schwartzman who plays the stalker nerd character excellently. jamie king is always solid, but isn't really given much of a role. devon sawa is a little disappointing as the lead, and not as good as he is in idle hands, while segel too, isn't really given enough quality dialogue to do anything with. on the whole the film is okay and worth a punt if you fancy something a bit different to the normal team film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars boring!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The two stars is nothing to do with the quality of the packaging or service, as this was very good. The DVD is just very boring and not as funny as I thought it would be. I would not recommend this film to a friend it is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I love comedies, got all American Pie, Van Wilder and tonnes of others.
But I can only say that this is complete and utter crap.
Don't waste your time or money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Love this movie so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth your time, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I bought this Slackers DVD along with Fired Up and although neither is brilliant, the latter is at least entertaining, albeit not overly funny. Slackers on the other hand is dull and pointless. The acting is suspect and the story is unoriginal and weak (guy cheats on an exam, angers the Uni stalker/schizo by putting the moves on the girl he likes. Stalker guy works out the cheating ruse and blackmails the three of them into arranging a date with the girl he is stalking. His plan backfires and one of the three he blackmails ends up falling for her, resulting in a clichéd ending where the truth is revealed and justice is served).

What I disliked about this film is aside from being devoid of laughs or entertainment is none of the characters were relatable and in all fairness they were all a-holes! Add to this the fact that the film is badly mistitled when it should refer to them as cheaters or even schemers, for Slacker films refer to flicks like Clerks, Mallrats, Office Space, Big Lebowski, etc.

The Stalker guy (Jason Schwartzman) was a creepy walking cliché and the three he was blackmailing were all amoral losers and cheats. I watched this with the lads on a Friday night after a long week of work and it really was short on laughs, light on entertainment and heavy on boredom. The front of the DVD box has a quote by News of the World Sunday Magazine where it states "Very funny...What American Pie wants to be" and on the back a quote by Total Film reads "The gags come thick and fast. Worth a punt". I can only assume they were watching an entirely different film to this, such as the actually funny American Pie films (first 3 and Reunion film) or Road Trip trilogy or Sex Drive, as these films were actually funny and had some characters who were at least relatable to some degree along with some gross-out comedy. There is some gross-out stuff in this film, but it seems forced. This film is utterly missable and dull. Plus the look and feel of the film seems very dated, more like a late 80's/early 90's flick than one from 2001.

Take my advice, save your time and cash - your funnybone will be thankful you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Achtung!, 14 July 2012
This review is from: Slackers [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
For a comedy this film is very sparse on humour... some fart jokes, some falling over, nothing remotely witty about the dialogue or the characters. Ethan is a nutjob but just comes across as annoying rather than amusing and I felt no love for any of the characters. I thought due to liking films such as American Pie, Role Models, Dumb and Dumber that I'd be on to a winner but honestly this film doesn't even make it to the stadium in time for the race. I watched it solely on the reviews on here so beware if you read them, by all means make up your own mind, I just felt very mislead by these reviews as this film should not even have a 3 star average let alone 4 :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slackers [VHS]
Slackers [VHS] by Dewey Nicks (VHS Tape - 2003)
£1.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews