Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Wisdom, 23 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: On The Beat [DVD] (DVD)
This was the first ever Norman Wisdom film I saw, and I fell in love with it that very first time. It's a HILARIOUS film, and is clever in so many ways. Not just a slapstick film, although there's plenty of it for the kiddies. The thing I like best about this film is the number of expressions Wisdom is able to pull off. I didn't know so many existed!! And they all make you fall on the ground in laughter. An absolute MUST SEE for any comedy fan, especially those who enjoy the American comic, Jerry Lewis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film , great British slapstick humour., 11 Aug. 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On The Beat [DVD] (DVD)
In the fifties and early sixties Norman Wisdom was a huge star on the stage and screen. It transpires that Rank used to make money form his films when others did not do so well. . We learnt in recent years he is also big in Albania as his films were some of the few that the communist regime would allow to be shown.

It was because he was the little man against the establishment.

As a fan of all sorts of comedy he is the master of physical comedy and there are echoes of Charlie Chaplin and the Marx brothers in there.

Rewatching the opening scene he is being machine gunned by a baddy but is stubbornly walking towards his opponent and the bullets are not affecting him. I wonder If Sergio Leone got the idea for that when Clint walked toward Ramon and had a piece of metal under his poncho. "aim for the heart Ramon." The Dollar films were being made only two years later.

It turns out with Norman that is is in fact a dream

He desperately wants to be a policeman but only washed cars at Scotland Yard.

There are hilarious physical antics when he sprays the commissioner with water. Later when he puts his dad's old uniform he starts a rush of policeman all blowing their whistles. It is all harmless fun. The top brass want him to do them a favour and they are calling him Norman. He insists on knowing all their names and they flinch as he calls them Cecil, Bert and Ron, very funny.

No swearing, bad language ,sex or violence that is why they are timeless films.

There are quite a few set piece comedy sections which today would be part of a sketch show. He is a genius of physical comedy and the faces he pulls are fantastic. He shows the whole range of emotions without using any dialogue.

Actors and performers like him had real talent and they could show it on stage and in films. This was why they lasted so long after the musical hall had gone and they moved in to films.

I can't think of anyone today that would combine all his talents.

He then becomes vital for the police to catch a criminal and he does the old double act like he did in Square Peg where his is the exact double of the villain with hilarious consequences.

He always gets the girl of course and he lives happily ever after doing what he wants to do that is being a policeman.

I learnt on the internet that is was all filmed in 1962 Windsor so it is a period piece for the inhabitants of Windsor.

I loved Norman Wisdom when I was young and he is still funny all these years later. He is up there with the Marx bros and Chaplin.

Great film , great British slapstick humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whistle at the ready little man., 25 Nov. 2010
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: On The Beat [DVD] (DVD)
On the Beat is a Norman Wisdom comedy film directed by Robert Asher. It's the tenth Wisdom picture where he was the lead actor. Plot sees Wisdom as Norman Pitkin who works at Scotland Yard as a car cleaner but harbours dreams of becoming a policeman like his late father. The problem Norman faces is that he is just too small to meet the height requirement to join the service. However, after managing to get himself fired from the car wash job, Norman is given a way into the force on account of his uncanny resemblance to a suspected Italian crime boss who is masquerading as a hair dresser. Thus Norman is required to go undercover as the crime boss. Can he pull it off?

Norman Wisdom, he's Marmite isn't he? On The Beat, to this reviewer at least, is one of Wisdom's best film's. Some of his main collaborators such as Edward Chapman & Jerry Desmonde may be absent, but On the Beat has a real zest for life, an action comedy where at its core is the emotive based dreams of one man.

On The Beat follows in the great traditions of British comedy film's involving the good old British Bobby. Trace a line from Will Hay's brilliant Ask A Policeman in 1939 to Hot Fuzz (2007) and you will find a number of "themed" movies involving the British copper. With film's such as On The Beat and Carry On Constable from two years previously, we get a glimpse of a time when respect and fear of the law was the order of the day. When the copper was there to aid and make the public feel safe, values that sadly today are ever diminishing. With that, as a Brit myself, it's hard not to get caught up with nostalgia; and maybe even feel those pangs of sadness of a time long past. My rating, in that context should be taken in to consideration.

On The Beat is a very British film, it's also a rank and file Norman Wisdom film. One that's filled with the standard set pieces full of vim, vigour and chaos. With one medical on stilts sequence as mirthful as it is near genius. It's, however, unlikely to win over any sceptical older viewers who didn't get Wisdom back in the day. Nor is it a safe recommendation to those venturing for the first time into the works of Marylebone's famous son. But this does hold appeal for those in need of a light hearted pick me up. A harmless piece that zips along, gets in there, and gets the job done. Something that Wisdom, just like his character Pitkin, was want to do. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of his best, 17 Oct. 2010
This review is from: On The Beat [DVD] (DVD)
On the Beat made me laugh out loud at one point, even though the plot is wafer-thin. Norman Pitkin, pint-sized Metropolitan Police car park attendant, wants to join the olice but is too short. He finally gets his chance when it transpires that he is the spitting image of Julio Neopolitano, a gangster and society hairdresser, who the police are desperate to get some evidence on. Cue Pitkin being trained to impersonate the decidely camp crimper and infiltrate his salon. Co-written by Wisdom, this is really a succession of great set-pieces, presumably crafted by the man himself to showcase his extraordinary visual comedy talents, and let down only by the framing story, which as ever in a Norman Wisdom film, over-eggs the sentimentality. The opening two scenes before we find out what Pitkin really does for a living are splendid, and the scene where he attends a police medical very funny. Having said that, the car washing scene seems to have wandered in from some other film. The highpoint though is when Norman ventures out in his father's old uniform and gets mistaken for a real copper by a bunch of kids playing football in the street. They ask Norman to referee their match, as he has a whistle, which he blows prodigiously...summoning loads of other policemen in the process. This turns into a slapstick tour de force for British comedy, making full use of the advantages of location filming: Norman hurdling over garden fences as pursuing policemen fall into pens of geese and home-made ponds not only generates good comedy, but serves as a time-capsule of post-war British living that has long vanished. The camping-up and sterotype hardressers are just about bearable (though David Lodge is admittedly hilarious as a police inspector trying to teach Pitkin how to act like Julio) and Wisdom clearly has great fun as the hairdresser in his salon. And the laugh-out loud moment? Eleanor Summerfield as a drab policewoman, sent in to the hairdressing salon undercover to obtain some covert film footage of Julio, reporting back to her superior with an enormous boufant escaping from under her police hat that "I made my way to Maison Julio where, after a preliminary examination, he styled and cut my hair in a modern manner". Priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 7 Nov. 2001
I think this is an all time classic. Normans witty sense of humour is really funny and is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Norman wisdom Dvd, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. A. P. Stott (Lichfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Beat/Man Of The Moment [DVD] (DVD)
This product arrived in good time and is of good qulity. As a big fan of Norman wisdom It has been included in my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British slapstick at its best, 1 Jun. 2013
By 
RMitra, mystery writer "author" (Long Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Beat/Man Of The Moment [DVD] (DVD)
Norman Conquest, what happened to you? Your films, I mean?
I waited years in America to find a title.
Finally I had to turn to Amazon UK to find some of his side splitting best movies on DVD. It's good I have a player that plays all region DVDs.
On the Beat remains a classic of Norman Wisdom kind of a comedy. The movie is as infectiously funny as his trademark laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars on the beat, 13 Nov. 2010
This review is from: On The Beat/Man Of The Moment [DVD] (DVD)
If like me you are a big fan of slapstick comedy you will love this , Norman Wisdom is pure genius in "On the Beat" I laughed untill I could not Laugh any more , my sides were aching, If you don`t like slapstick you will not get this film at all, Comedy is a very personal thing ,not everybody laughs at the same things. Good job to. But for me 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On the Beat/Man of the Moment, 11 April 2009
By 
ruralbuyer (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Beat/Man Of The Moment [DVD] (DVD)
Two more hilarious films from the little man with the huge heart as he struggles to become a policeman like his father in On the Beat.
Man of the Moment finds Norman acting as a delegate at a conference in the beautuful city of Geneva.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars English comedy, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Beat [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great Ealing comedy. Early stuff of these iconic personalities - shows you why they hit the top of their profession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On The Beat/Man Of The Moment [DVD]
On The Beat/Man Of The Moment [DVD] by Robert Asher (DVD - 2003)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews