Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW IT SHOULD BE DONE
This is still the bench mark for the making of any film about love,sexuality, and relationships about young people, especially in the 12years to 20years age group.In fact "Oranges" should be required viewing for any person making a film about blossoming sexuality, without being either trite, judgemental, holier than though or hysterical!
Simply brilliant!
Published on 4 Sep 2008 by rickwill47

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Film review
No problem with speed of delivery and the item was as expected. Story was set in the 60's and was rather long drawn out and boring. I would say the film was not as good as the book. However it was very typical of life in the 60's in Lancashire which was interesting to a point and well acted.
Published on 17 April 2012 by Mrs. Angela Coleman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this dvd to replace the video cassette I once had. It is a masterpiece and a piece of social history as well as a brilliant story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the film., 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen the film before and loved it, I've therefore ordered it as a Christmas present, it arrived promptly in the post.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking and funny, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just saw "Oranges are not the only fruit" for the first time - even though it was first screened almost 25 years ago - and I found it both heartbreaking and funny. I was particularly taken by the acting of the small Jess - Emily Aston. How captivating she is!

Charlotte Coleman is absolutely gorgeous but it's awfully sad to discover that she died due to illness.

Geraldine McEwan's presence throughout the film is fiercely dominant. She is magnificent.

Shame on me but I have only just discovered the writer of the screenplay - and author of the book - Jeanette Winterson. I watched the Special Feature and was electrified by the interview. Consequently, today I ordered her book "Why be happy when you could be normal" so I am grateful to Amazon UK for the introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyable onylu just discovered jeanette winterson so decided to start of with the tv adapation it was definately worth the money! must read the book to tv series now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oranges, 26 Sep 2013
By 
D. S. A. Cranch (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Great series with such suburb acting from a suburb caste .Its tt's so
terrible that Charlotte Coleman died so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars British TV drama at it's best, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slice of 'real' life semi-biopic, well scripted, acted, directed. Earthy wit, anguish, forbidden desires, higher consciousness and redemption, a modern day coming of age fairytale. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good adaptation, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD was as described, Although a little dated, the drama was presented well and still watchable and engaging. Also had addtional clips including an interview with the author (a little dated but fascinating to see how attitudes have changed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It had been recommended - it got a little repetitive in parts - but excellent acting and portrayal of the story .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story & makes a great film. The acting is just brilliant especially from Geraldine Mc Ewan who plays a religious nutter, totally over protective of her adopted daughter. As expected the daughter has her own ideas for her own life and the drama which follows is both comic and moving. The setting is so evocative of it's time in the sixties growing up in a Northern town where the drabness of the everyday is set against the wonderful imagination of a little girl her reads her way to a more fulfilling life. Absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film that is not only well written, but a good commentary on the stark homophobia of the past. That love trumps predudice and sexual sterotype
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit [DVD] [1990]
Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit [DVD] [1990] by Charlotte Coleman (DVD - 2003)
14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews