Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!
I watched this series as a child and loved it, but only brought it really for sentimental value. But as my nine year old daughter and I sat down to watch it we have quickly become engrossed in the story once again. We are half way through the second episode and I have to say its as good (if not better) than anything on tv today. The story is original and gripping. I...
Published on 10 Sep 2006 by J. Overaa

versus
16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unnecessary sequel to an already-unnecessary sequel
This programme really does scrape the bottom of the barrel. What I hate most about it is how unrecognisable the character of Chocky herself is from the original novel/series. In that first story, it's established at the end that she has to leave Matthew and never openly communicate with children again as she foolishly miscalculated the greed of humans and placed Matthew...
Published on 6 Jan 2005 by D. Whiting


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!, 10 Sep 2006
This review is from: Chocky - The Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series as a child and loved it, but only brought it really for sentimental value. But as my nine year old daughter and I sat down to watch it we have quickly become engrossed in the story once again. We are half way through the second episode and I have to say its as good (if not better) than anything on tv today. The story is original and gripping. I think I may even be enjoying it more the second time around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!!, 2 Nov 2007
By 
Chester Beeput "cjbeeps" (Trinidad & Tobago) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chocky - The Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw Chocky in 1984 and I was mesmerised! Recently, I read the book by John Wyndham and I got motivated to search for the DVDs. Needless to say, I purchased it immediately off this site. Sentimental value was the prime motivator in deciding to purchase this as I initially thought that as an older individual I'd not be as enthralled. I was wrong!! The series still has the ability to captivate me, even discounting the nostalgia factor. The Chocky series is so simply done, no special effects to speak of, yet the content grips you and you simply have to continue watching episode after episode.
Modern day producers of television shows would do well to take note of shows like Chocky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel To A Great Original, 24 Jun 2005
By 
M. W. Stone (peterborough, cambs england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chocky's Children [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
An awful lot of sequels don't measure up to the original story, but this is one which does.
This serial takes up Matthew Gore's story a year or so after the end of "Chocky". He is now 13, though still much more the bright child than the adolescent. I don't know if anyone else has ever commented on it, but the actor (Andrew Ellams)bears a remarkable physical resemblance to the boy shown in Harry Willock's cover picture on the original (1968) Penguin edition of "Chocky" itself. Over that year, he has concentrated on his artistic talents, carefully avoiding anything which would interest the sinister forces who kidnapped him,and who, it emerges, are still keeping him under discreet surveillance.
Staying with an aunt in the country whilst his parents and sister are away, Matthew comes into contact with Albertine, about his own age, who is the genius daughter of a reclusive scientist living nearby. They discover that they are able to communicate by telepathy, and Matthew becomes convinced that Albertine must be another child like himself, who has been visited by Chocky. Albertine is at first unconvinced, but has an enforced rethink when the same bunch who kidnapped Matthew now come after her.This compels Chocky, who apparently never went too far away, to re-enter Matthew's life so the two of them can see to Albertine's rescue. This is accomplished with the aid of numerous other superkids (the "children" of the title)whom Chocky has contacted all over the world, and who have some strange mental powers.
All in all, and though written long after his death, this sequel stays pretty faithful to Wyndham's original story, and even has echoes of his other work. Indeed, it could be seen as a sort of counterpoint to "The Midwich Cuckoos", but this time with the Children as the good guys rather than the bad.
There are some jarring notes, mainly a result of the series' age. Matthew's wide-eyed excitement at the discovery that Albertine's Dad has (wait for it) his own computer - is bound to raise a smile in 2005, as, in a different way, does the trouble the family had over his insistence on educating her at home. At one stage, it appears, they had to barricade themselves in the house to stop the authorities taking her away to some "third rate school". Today, of course, she would just be one more homeschooled kid,arousing no comment at all. But for anyone with enough imagination to read it as a "period piece", this really shouldn't be a problem. I you liked Chocky, you will like her children too. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unpretentious and Enjoyable., 17 Jun 2005
By 
M. W. Stone (peterborough, cambs england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chocky [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
It is always with a bit of trepidation that I approach the film or tv version of a book I liked, wondering whether it will come over so well on the screen. "Chocky", I am glad to say, is one that did and does.
I first read it not long after it was written, and always liked it. Its theme, which has seen quite a bit of use both before and since, is that of "first contact" with an alien being made by a child. 12-year-old Matthew Gore starts hearing "voices" from an alien life form, and the rest of the book is largely his and his adoptive parents' attempts to come to terms with the phenomenon.
The characters, though perhaps better educated than the average, are basically a pretty ordinary lot, and are completely bewildered by what is going on. Matthew's mother, in particular, takes a very good part as she is driven almost hysterical in her attempts to deal with what is happening to her son, and one of my regrets aboout the sequels is that she did not appear in them. The father manages to stay a bit calmer, and gradually comes to accept that Chocky is real and not a psychiatric phenomenon, but he too is as out of his depth as one might expect in such a situation. As for Matthew himself, to my mind he looks and acts a bit younger than his supposed age, coming over more like a bright ten-year-old, but then his original was a 1950s (or at most early 1960s) twelve-year-old, not a 1980s one, so perhaps the makers of the serial were being true to their source.
In this they were consistent. The serial sticks very closely to the book, which means that it is all very low key and "cosy", with almost no melodrama until we get to the kidnapping at the end, and even that is played down, without violence or much sense that Matthew is in danger - though the parents are convincing as they worry about their missing child. Otherwise, the focus is how matthew's involvement with Chocky impinges on his otherwise pretty normal sort of life, with his teachers raising their eyebrows about the sudden enhancement of his academic and artistic performance.
All in all, the was a good read, and the serial is a good view. If you like it unpretentious and enjoyable, grab this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chocky, 16 July 2003
This review is from: Chocky [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I was only 6 years old in 1984 when this series first aired but remember really enjoying at the time. It's often a mistake returning to a show you loved as a kid as they rarely live up to how you remember them. With this in mind, I was really pleased and surprised that 19 years on, and apart from being slightly dated, I found it very enjoyable indeed. I was especially impressed with the performance of the young lead (Matthew) and of the late James Hazledean (Matthew's father). It's an intelligent and thoughtful series and certainly does not speak down to it's audience. It certainly hits home how children's TV has fallen from grace in the last decade. If you enjoyed this series 19 years ago i don't think you will be disappointed. If you haven't seen it before, then I recommend it. Especially John Wyndham fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A benign Exorcist - existential angst and altered states of consciousness in children's TV!!, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Chintan Nanavati "Chinhealer" (Staffs, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chocky [DVD] (DVD)
This was a favourite of mine as a child/pre-teen when it was first broadcast. I have always remembered its unusual sensibility (although I wouldn't have called it that at the time!) and the fact that it evoked some fairly intense emotions in me. What I didn't remember - and what I have just rediscovered after watching it for the first time in more than two decades - was just how high-brow and intelligent the whole thing was without being pretentious. The series explores adult themes such as the nature of reality, the nature of the self, concepts of discarnate entities and morality and self-control and, more obliquely, adults' fears of pubescence and pubescents' feelings of alienation. This is weighty stuff and comes as a stark reminder of how utterly banal and low-aiming most children's programmes of today are. Actually, I hesitate to categorize Chocky under 'Kids' TV'. It deserves a far wider audience than that. And in terms of acting, script, direction and atmosphere it knocks the socks off most adult TV drama series of today, anyway! And, sure, many of today's children and teens weaned on a junk-TV diet of Hannah Montana, High School Musical, Suite Life... et al might be a bit nonplussed by the thoughtful, unhurried pace of Chocky, its unflashy, rather dour mise-en-scene and its philosophical musings. But that's all the more reason to expose them to it. Where else, exactly, are they going to get such gravitas from today's schedules? Besides which, much of Matthew's wardrobe seems to have been modelled on my own from the 80s! (Which leads me to believe, ahem, that I was dead fashionable in retrospect!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chocky a great programe, 4 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i think the programme was so fare ahead of its time
and shows how aliens would veiw us i think its great i have the whole collection i just wanted to let peaple know if your thinking of geting it please do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars chocky!!!!!!!, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocky - The Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Classic childrens TV and one i remembered for years after seeing it as a child.. so bought it more to see it again. glad i did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unnecessary sequel to an already-unnecessary sequel, 6 Jan 2005
By 
This programme really does scrape the bottom of the barrel. What I hate most about it is how unrecognisable the character of Chocky herself is from the original novel/series. In that first story, it's established at the end that she has to leave Matthew and never openly communicate with children again as she foolishly miscalculated the greed of humans and placed Matthew in great danger. In "Chocky's Children" - the not-so-bad second story, it's neatly explained that she's learned from her previous mistake and is now carefully, but very silently guiding Albertine and other children around the world with their development. Just like at the end of the first book, you are left with the feeling that it will be quite a few generations before her work is complete and mankind "discovers" cosmic energy.
This third instalment destroys all that subtlety. In the first episode alone, Chocky has casually forgotten her previous mistakes and is openly communicating with Albertine who, just like Matthew in the first story, gives the impression of talking to herself. Albertine is, in turn, quite openly bragging about the cosmic energy and anti-gravity that she's going to discover and giving lectures about it at the age of 13 - while her father, who was previously (and quite rightly) fiercely protective of her, now doesn't bat an eyelid at the attention she's drawing toward herself from the kind of unscrupulous baddies who kidnapped her and Matthew in the previous tales. The episode ends with Albertine being quite rightly ridiculed by a panel of University Professors in her search for a grant, only for Chocky to magically reveal herself to them and save the day! Subtle it ain't...
Later on, it just gets stupider. More children (who can't act) turn up and start moving tables, boats and blowing up computers with their minds and building futuristic technology with just a few microchips and bits of plastic and metal. They build one "generator" that gets stolen then trust "Mrs Gibson" - a complete stranger who just turns up claiming to from the Ministry Of Science and gives them money to build a second one. They do this and then leave it overnight at the risk of getting stolen all over again. Paul, the super-child turns out to be the son of Doctor Liddle and, er, it doesn't make one bit of difference to the plot. "Mrs Gibson" reveals herself to be NOT who she claimed and gets kicked out by everyone (didn't anyone think to check her credentials when she first appeared?) yet Super-Paul AND Chocky(!) are both stupid enough to get easily kidnapped by her less than one minute later. What's really creepy is the fact that the Ministry Of Defence quite happily store away a futuristic pyramid containing a 12 year old boy and don't seem to spare a thought for feeding him and keeping him alive!?
Things reach a nadir in the final episode when the children decide to send their minds across space to search for Chocky's "parent" to help them out. Luckily for them, back in the first episode, Chocky got Albertine to trample over some poor scientists radio telescope work and locate signals from her race. No reason was given for this at the time other than to make Chocky "so happy" and have a bit of a giggle (I swear I'm not making this up - she literally giggles) but now, thanks to the knowledge of where the planet is located, they easily summon up Chocky's "parent" (after some some bad 80s special effects..) who locates the missing two and the day is saved. In the very final scene, you see Chocky plus parent go flying off back into space. What I'd like to have seen added on is a bit where parent kicks Chocky around for causing the whole mess in the first place! Haven't these aliens even heard of the Prime Directive, lol???
This programme is truly bad and it's hard to believe that the same team who created the excellent adaptation of the original novel could produce such drivel. Am I being unfair to a 20 year old kids programme? No, not really, as I thought it was bad when I saw it the first time round at the age of 13!
One more final niggle. Why is Matthew even featured on the cover or in the title sequence. He only appears as nothing more than a cameo in three of the episodes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bad quailty, 8 Jan 2013
By 
M. smith (southampton england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocky [DVD] (DVD)
The Dvd was like a film projector with a squiggle here and there appearing now and then and the sound was so quiet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chocky's Children [DVD] [1984]
Chocky's Children [DVD] [1984] by James Hazeldine (DVD - 2003)
7.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews