Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Noir to leave you "a bout de souffle"
"Rififi" has been long-awaited as a Region 2 DVD release, and the wait is well worth it. P>The plot is the classic "retired master criminal plans one last job" one; but "Rififi" has things going for it. there are the production values: the real locations, the luminous black-and-white photography (deliberately done on grey winter's days to get the atmosphere just right),...
Published on 7 May 2003 by Mr Robert Day

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars subtitles
The English subtitles cannot be removed so you have to watch the entire movie with the English subtitles on. For someone like me who understands French this is very annoying. The fact that the subtitles cannot be removed is not stated in the Amazon Product Details.
Published on 10 Feb 2010 by lleaf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Rififi (1955) ... Jules Dassin ... Criterion Collection (2001)", 15 Dec 2010
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Criterion Collection presents "RIFIFI" (1955) (122 min/B&W) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) -- A landmark caper film about the planning and execution of a nighttime robbery at a swanky English jewelry shop in the Rue de Rivoli --- The story concerns a collection of thieves who band together to commit a seemingly impossible robbery --- The gang consists of a tough, straight-talker Tony Stephanois (Jean Servais); a young man under Tony's tutelage Jo le Suedois (Carl Mohner); a happy-go-lucky Italian Mario Farrati (Robert Manuel); and a safe cracker, Cesar --- The set piece of the film is an intricate 28-minute sequence that depicts the robbery in detail all filmed silently without dialogue or music --- After the success of the robbery, the gang barely has time to celebrate when a rival gangster, Pierre Gruuter (Marcel Lupovici), decides that he wants a cut of the take --- When Tony's gang refuses to cooperate, Pierre kidnaps Jo's son, and the gang has to get tough with their nemesis.

Special footnote: This film is in French (spoken) language with English subtitles --- A wonderful film, falls into the genre of "film noir", which Dassin is the master in story board and direction.

Under the production staff of:
Jules Dassin [Director]
Auguste Le Breton [Novel]
Jules Dassin [Adaptation]
René Wheeler [Screenwriter]
Auguste Le Breton [Screenwriter/Dialogue]]
Henri Bérard [Producer]
René Bezard .[Producer]
Pierre Cabaud [Producer]
Georges Auric [Original Film Music]
Philippe Agostini [Cinematographer]
Roger Dwyre [Film Editor]

BIOS:
1. Jules Dassin [Director]
Date of Birth: 18 December 1911 - Middletown, Connecticut
Date of Death: 31 March 2008 - Athens, Greece

2. Jean Servais
Date of Birth: 24 September 1910 - Antwerp, Belgium
Date of Death: 17 February 1976 - Paris, France

the cast includes:
Jean Servais ... [Tony le Stéphanois]
Robert Manuel ... [Mario Ferrati ]
Janine Darcey ... [Louise le Suedois]
Pierre Grasset ... [Louis Grutter aka Louis le Tatoué]
Robert Hossein ... [Remi Grutter]
Marcel Lupovici ... [Pierre Grutter]

SPECIAL FEATURES [BONUS]:
1. Stunning new digital transfer, with fully restored image and sound
2. Exclusive video interview with director Jules Dassin
3. Set design drawings by Alexandre Trauner
4. Production stills
5. Production notes
6. Theatrical trailer
7. New and improved English subtitle translation
8. Optional English-dubbed soundtrack

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 5 Stars
Overall: 5 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 122 min on DVD ~ Criterion ~ (04/24/2001)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent film, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
There are many adjectives that one could throw in and still it would be tough to do justice to this film. Above all I find it extremely perceptive of underworld relations and very intelligent, especially the very neat ending and Jean Servais' flawless performance. Curiously, the film's most famous sequence (the silent robbery) has been copied so often that I did not appreciate it as much as I should have. Impeccable direction by Jules Dassin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5-star French magic, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw Rififi as a teenager in the late 50s and was greatly impressed by its "noirness". I see echoes of Rififi in some more recent offerings, none of which comes close to Dassin's masterpiece. I live in France now, and I speak French, and I would have preferred the DVD with a choice of English or French. However, I try to ignore the subtitles which don't detract from my enjoyment of this still outstanding example of French cinema at its blackest best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Gold, 11 Oct 2008
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
My father watched this many years ago and always maintained it was one of the best films he'd ever seen. I purchased this for his birthday and he remains convinced of it's greatness. The five stars are from him. Rififi invents some of the cliches we were to see in films made later on. It is also, despite the lack of colour, one of the most glamorous epics you will see. Gangsters, molls, bank jobs, love, death. A French classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The daddy of heist movies, 15 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
The other reviewers have said it all - a brilliant movie, with Paris as the uncredited supporting actress. I call it the daddy because so many other heist movies have been spawned by this one.
Watching it again after so many years I kept thinking of how much 'Heat' borrowed from this masterpiece.
A must buy DVD - the quality is excellent with some remaining grainy scenes adding to the atmosphere instead of detracting from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST-SEE FANTASTIC FILM NOIR THRILLER, 9 Sep 2007
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
If you've never seen Rififi then I urge you to get a copy. Jean Servais as the master thief is stone-cold brilliant in this, even rivalling the great Lee Marvin and Jack Palance for the most grim face on the silver screen award. Quite brutal at times, this classic heist movie has turned out to be one of my surprise recently-discovered favourites. As Francois Truffaut put it, "The best Film Noir I've ever seen." I couldn't put it better myself. Though the film has the look of a very post-war Paris, Jean Servais' hardman criminal could easily fit in any of today's gangster movies. Yes, he's that good.

Another Jules Dassin directed classic is the brooding Night And The City available on Citerion which I also fully endorse, especially if you like Rififi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best thrillers I've ever seen..., 17 Feb 2012
I knew nothing about this film before sitting down to watch it and chose it largely because it was filmed in Paris in the 1950s - what I hoped for was lots of atmospheric, "period piece" shots of the city - what I got was lots of atmospheric, "period piece" shots of the city and... one of the best thrillers I've ever seen.

Everything about it - the wonderfully grey almost malevolent street shots, the excellent understated acting, and the superbly edited black & white photography - builds tension. But what makes it genuinely gripping is the stunningly effective, virtually silent 30 minute sequence that follows in meticulous detail the execution of the "perfect crime". From the moment the sequence starts, and even though you know it's got to go horribly wrong because "crime doesn't pay", certainly in the 50s, you'll be transfixed. Sure, the film suffers from too much of the typical 1950s "gangster movie" stereotyping but these weaknesses are quickly forgiven and forgotten because the plot is just so good. And, of course, backing it all up are as many brilliantly filmed, highly atmospheric "period piece" shots of the city as you could hope for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold and classy, 21 Oct 2009
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
I'd never seen a film by Jules Dassin before, and now I'd like to see many more. There's something very slick about the movie, it has atmosphere, pace and charm. It's rather quaint to have the robbers going after an English jeweller's Mappin & Webb. You can see how this film has become the model of many other great heist films, it moves effortlessly forward and keeps you guessing and rooting for the villains at the same time. I enjoyed the extras, Dassin seems to have been a very civilised man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 1 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
This Jules Dassin film made in Europe (since he was blacklisted by senator mccarthy) would reveal itself as the movie to which all pictures of the genre would and still are compared to. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copied many times but never bettered., 6 Nov 2006
By 
steve b (Dudley England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
Rififi is a film no lover of crime films and in particular Franch crime films should miss. The story is simple and has repeated many times, a gang of French and Italian criminals rob a jewelry store, this is done in complete silence with no dialogue for over 30 minutes, a bold move for film makers at the time. Having sold the jewels to a fence in London a rival gangster decides to rob them of the proceeds.

O.K. we have seen it plenty of times, but Rififi was I believe the first with this plot and still remains the best heist film ever made. Rififi is set in a Paris the tourist does not see. It is a grey, cold, wet, fifties Paris. Everyone in it with one or two exceptions is a member of the underworld. The robbers do not have to worry about the police only their fellow criminals. It is a world of thieves, pimps, drug dealers and prostitues. Early in the film there is a marvelous scene where a group of men have spent all night in the backroom of a bar playing poker, not one of them has removed his hat.

Jean Servais is perfect as Toni, the head of the gang. An aging gangster trapped by his past and his underworld code of honner.

Watch Rififi and together with Cercle Rouge, Bob Le Flambour anmd Le Dubois see how the FRench in the fifties and early sixties mastered the gangster film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rififi [1954] [DVD]
Rififi [1954] [DVD] by Jules Dassin (DVD - 2003)
7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews