Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb film and a superb blu ray
Until I bought Rififi on this Arrow BD I knew very little about it and it's purchase was a gamble. I now feel I have made a real discovery and have found a film I will get great pleasure from for many years to come. As a film it's perfect. Performances in this film noir crime drama are superb. It's a cracking heist movie (the robbery itself is, with the exception of sound...
Published on 13 Aug. 2011 by Catzilla

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film and picture quality but it didn't seem to ...
BLU RAY RELEASE: Good film and picture quality but it didn't seem to be as good as I remembered it with the passage of time. I always find having to read subtitles on an undubbed foreign film tedious.
Published 3 days ago by Silver Spirit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dassin’s Riveting Noir, 6 Feb. 2015
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
That American film-maker Jules Dassin’s outstanding 1955 'heist noir’ was originally offered to Jean-Pierre Melville to direct makes at least some sense – Melville’s loss, perhaps, though he went on (in the following year) to make the equally outstanding Bob Le Flambeur, with which Rififi shares a number of common elements. Both films tell the tale of ageing gangsters tempted out of 'retirement’ by potentially lucrative safe-cracking jobs, both are co-written by novelist Auguste Le Breton and both were made on a shoestring, resulting in 'non-stars’ being cast in the lead roles – Roger Duchesne as Bob in Melville’s film and, here, Jean Servais, outstanding as the deadpan, internally-conflicted, Tony 'le Stéphanois’. As well as being a cleverly-plotted, sharply-scripted and (largely) fast-moving tale, Rififi also provides a sensorial feast – courtesy of Philippe Agostini’s stunning shots of Paris and lingering close-ups, plus Georges Auric’s alternately rousing and haunting score.

Indeed, Agostini’s camera is particularly impressive during the film’s notorious half-hour ‘silent’ (sans dialogue or music) safe-cracking sequence in Tony’s gang’s targeted Parisian jewellers – intriguing angles and close-ups of increasingly tense and sweating visages being the order of the day. And, although the heist does form the film’s centrepiece, it is 'topped and tailed’ very effectively, too – as Dassin initially sets up Tony’s international accomplices nicely, comprising two of the career criminal’s ‘inner circle’ – Carl Möhner’s Jo 'the Swede’ and Robert Manuel’s comedic Italian, Mario Ferrati, plus Dassin himself as the flamboyant Italian womaniser (and safe-cracker) Cesar, and then (post-heist) ratchets up the tension still further as Tony discovers that Marcel Lupovici’s Pierre Grutter and his rival gang are on his tail. The film 'set-up’ also includes the remarkable night-club scene (in effect, the entire film in microcosm) during which Magali NoŽl’s Viviane sings the film’s title song (loosely meaning 'trouble’) to a backdrop of gangster and moll silhouettes. The latter section of Dassin’s film provides the film’s most interesting moral dimension, as Tony is torn between his ruthless (and frequently violent) gang instincts (driven by the 'lure of the lucre’) and his latent humanity (as Pierre’s pursuit takes on a ‘personal’ twist). Indeed, now even Dassin’s women, who have hitherto been 'typecast’ as either 'loving wives’ or 'molls’, openly question the morals of their menfolk – both Marie Sabouret’s ex-to both Tony and Pierre, Mado, and Jo’s wife, Janine Darcy’s Louise, speaking their piece.

In the end, though, taking the film’s outstanding 'technical’ qualities as a given, I keep returning to Servais’ pivotal performance as the seemingly irredeemable anti-hero. It’s a role one can easily imagine Bogart or (perhaps more obviously) Jean Gabin inhabiting (indeed, Servais’ face is eerily reminiscent of a wizened, lived-in Gabin), and Gabin’s role in the previous year’s Touchez Pas Au Grisbi is another role (and film) with which Tony 'le Stéphanois’ and Rififi bears similarity. Such comparisons merely cement Rififi’s place as one of France’s top crime thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5-star French magic, 14 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw Rififi as a teenager in the late 50s and was greatly impressed by its "noirness". I see echoes of Rififi in some more recent offerings, none of which comes close to Dassin's masterpiece. I live in France now, and I speak French, and I would have preferred the DVD with a choice of English or French. However, I try to ignore the subtitles which don't detract from my enjoyment of this still outstanding example of French cinema at its blackest best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent film, 22 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
There are many adjectives that one could throw in and still it would be tough to do justice to this film. Above all I find it extremely perceptive of underworld relations and very intelligent, especially the very neat ending and Jean Servais' flawless performance. Curiously, the film's most famous sequence (the silent robbery) has been copied so often that I did not appreciate it as much as I should have. Impeccable direction by Jules Dassin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The daddy of heist movies, 15 Aug. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
The other reviewers have said it all - a brilliant movie, with Paris as the uncredited supporting actress. I call it the daddy because so many other heist movies have been spawned by this one.
Watching it again after so many years I kept thinking of how much 'Heat' borrowed from this masterpiece.
A must buy DVD - the quality is excellent with some remaining grainy scenes adding to the atmosphere instead of detracting from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Gold, 11 Oct. 2008
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
My father watched this many years ago and always maintained it was one of the best films he'd ever seen. I purchased this for his birthday and he remains convinced of it's greatness. The five stars are from him. Rififi invents some of the cliches we were to see in films made later on. It is also, despite the lack of colour, one of the most glamorous epics you will see. Gangsters, molls, bank jobs, love, death. A French classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinema at at's Best., 21 July 2009
By 
R. James (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
The product arrived exactly as advertised and delivered on time

This film is "classic cinema"as exciting today as it was when it was made
in the fifties. One for the real film fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly superb!, 27 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
There have been a few films made, throughout movie history, which not only stand the test of time, but have become classics in their genre. Rififi is one such film. Think of Casablanca, Gone with the Wind, Citizen Kane, even the Wizard of Oz. Rififi stands comparison with any of them. Truly superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copied many times but never bettered., 6 Nov. 2006
By 
steve b (Dudley England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
Rififi is a film no lover of crime films and in particular Franch crime films should miss. The story is simple and has repeated many times, a gang of French and Italian criminals rob a jewelry store, this is done in complete silence with no dialogue for over 30 minutes, a bold move for film makers at the time. Having sold the jewels to a fence in London a rival gangster decides to rob them of the proceeds.

O.K. we have seen it plenty of times, but Rififi was I believe the first with this plot and still remains the best heist film ever made. Rififi is set in a Paris the tourist does not see. It is a grey, cold, wet, fifties Paris. Everyone in it with one or two exceptions is a member of the underworld. The robbers do not have to worry about the police only their fellow criminals. It is a world of thieves, pimps, drug dealers and prostitues. Early in the film there is a marvelous scene where a group of men have spent all night in the backroom of a bar playing poker, not one of them has removed his hat.

Jean Servais is perfect as Toni, the head of the gang. An aging gangster trapped by his past and his underworld code of honner.

Watch Rififi and together with Cercle Rouge, Bob Le Flambour anmd Le Dubois see how the FRench in the fifties and early sixties mastered the gangster film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold and classy, 21 Oct. 2009
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
I'd never seen a film by Jules Dassin before, and now I'd like to see many more. There's something very slick about the movie, it has atmosphere, pace and charm. It's rather quaint to have the robbers going after an English jeweller's Mappin & Webb. You can see how this film has become the model of many other great heist films, it moves effortlessly forward and keeps you guessing and rooting for the villains at the same time. I enjoyed the extras, Dassin seems to have been a very civilised man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film noir classic, 13 May 2012
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rififi [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
There is no doubt in my mind that this is one of the best films I'll see this year. A black and white French gem from the mid 50s, that must have influenced Scorcese, Tarantino and many other US directors.

The story is about a con recently released from prison who decides to do one more big job. How he goes about this, the actual heist and the aftermath are beautifully filmed and very well acted. The heist itself is perhaps the high point of the movie. There is no dialog during this, and its a very cleverly constructed, tense affair that loses nothing for almost being a segment from a silent movie.

To try and make comparisons with other films is very difficult, but I suppose its modern equivalent is Reservoir Dogs, though its different in feel and texture to that later film. Though less humourous, and as its French, a less well known cast you could perhaps compare it to The Maltese Falcon.

The fact is though, it stands in its own right as a piece of classic film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rififi [1954] [DVD]
Rififi [1954] [DVD] by Jules Dassin (DVD - 2003)
£5.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews