Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a region 2 alternative to the Ultimate Edition
I'm not going to wax lyrical about how great a movie Dawn is, as you can find that elsewhere. I am however going to discuss the particular merits of this latest release of the film from Arrow Entertainment.

The first of the four discs is culled from the same tranfer as last year's Blu-Ray edition and is the best available DVD version of the film, but the real...
Published on 2 Oct 2010 by Rambleast Reviews

versus
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I don't see why it gets soo much love, perhaps you had to be there.
Don't get me wrong it's an alright film, but after being told for years how great it was I expected more. The zombies are not great but then for the time and budget it isn't a shock so I don't hold that against it. The thing is it didn't grip me, nothing made watching it compelling, not the tension nor cast nothing. Perhaps it is because I saw it much later in life, I...
Published on 29 April 2008 by genejoke


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a region 2 alternative to the Ultimate Edition, 2 Oct 2010
By 
Rambleast Reviews (Truth Or Consequences, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I'm not going to wax lyrical about how great a movie Dawn is, as you can find that elsewhere. I am however going to discuss the particular merits of this latest release of the film from Arrow Entertainment.

The first of the four discs is culled from the same tranfer as last year's Blu-Ray edition and is the best available DVD version of the film, but the real selling point of this set is the package of extra features. It's been some odd years since the 4-disc Ultimate Edition was released in the States, so to finally have these extras released on Region 2 is great for those few who have yet to make the jump to multiregion players. While not all of the Region 1 extras have been ported over (specifically the actors' commentary on the European cut, and Ken Foree's tour of the film's famous Monroeville Mall), there are more than enough on offer already and a few new ones to boot.

The fourth disc features Roy Frumke's essential Document Of The Dead, last available in this country on the shocking Trilogy Of The Dead set, whose only saving grace was Savini's shock on the commentary at how the exploding head had been removed from Dawn. Produced at the time Romero was making the film, Document gives a real insight into his process. At an hour and 20-odd minutes, it's a thorough affair and one of the best documentaries about moviemaking ever produced, particularly for one that predates the DVD boom by some 20 years. Exclusive to this release of Dawn are outtakes from the documentary- 7 minutes labeled as deleted scenes, and a further 20 of extended interviews with Adrienne Barbeau, Romero and Savini. In addition to previously released commentaries with either producer Richard Rubinstein or Romero, his wife and Savini, this disc also presents us with Fan Of The Dead, another hour-long documentary in which French Dawn afficionado Nicolas Garreau tours the locations used for Romero's first three Dead movies. It's cheaply made and subtitled, but no less interesting as a result.

Disc 2 features the 75-minute The Dead Will Walk, Perry Martin's superb retrospective making-of documentary. Featuring new (at least in '05 or so, anyway) interviews with all the key players, it's a great companion to Frumke's film, offering a look back on a modern classic as opposed to a detailed, contemporary documentation. This disc isn't much different from Arrow's 2005 release of Dawn.

The third disc presents Dario "Susperia" Argento's European edit of the film, featuring more dialogue and more soundtrack music from the wonderful Goblin. The vaguely-titled "Scream Greats" documentary is an hour-long feature on Tom Savini that was originally part of a video series released by Fangoria magazine. It's a great insight into his personal and professional life, and leaves you wanting there to be more documentaries about him, just so you can enjoy his company that much longer. The obligatory posters, reviews and trailers galleries round out this disc.

Finally, the packaging deserves a mention. The set is coupled with a booklet (remember those?) with an essay from a film critic from Scotland, although honestly it offers little that the documentaries and commentaries haven't already covered. He has some interesting points to make, but I'll let you sample those yourself. The case itself is presented with four choices of artwork- one original film poster, and three newer pieces, all excellent. The outer slipcase has a window cut out in front so whichever you choose is framed.

Overall, it takes it's place as the best DVD release of the movie so far, and one of the nicest sets produced in years, hopefully setting a precedent for the release of older movies on a new format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of the dead UK blu review, 1 May 2010
Dawn of the dead blu ray review

Distributor : Arrow video, UK

With this set I was hoping it would be the last time that I would have to buy this film, having previously owned umpteen videos, laser discs, dvds and even the US blu ray release. I thought finally, this will be the ultimate release and the last word on the film.

All 3 versions of the film and a great deal of extras are provided here so I have only quickly skipped through the blu ray but will include my thoughts on the set incase anyone is considering a purchase.

First off, the print on the theatrical release was excellent considering the age of the film and in some ways it was like seeing the film for the first time. The extended cut and Dario Argento cut are included but only on standard dvds, due apparently to the print quality costing too much to remaster to HD blu ray quality. This is a slight disappointment, however the print on both of these (dvd) versons is very good and with the theatrical print being so good in HD, it really helps to make up for this.

The extras are excellent, with only one problem which unfortunately for me was a major issue. The set contains 2 of the commentary tracks from the Anchor Bay release. The George A Romero commentary which is excellent and a commentary with Richard Rubinstein, which I found myself continuously fighting to stay awake for.

The major issue for me, was the missing audio commentary by the 4 main stars of the film which had previously been found on the Dario Argento cut on the Anchor Bay Ultimate Edition dvd release. Assuming the decision to leave this one out was due to rights issues or something similar, this omission almost killed the set for me. Granted if commentaries aren't your thing, then that's fine, however it was actually one of the best commentary tracks I've ever heard and the way the actors bounce off each other and remember the good times provided a truly a fun experience listening along with them.

What helps to bring this set back up for me, is the inclusion of the Fan of the Dead documentary, where a "mad fan" goes in search of all of the locations from Night, Dawn and Day of the Dead and even finds his way into the original cellar from the first movie (which by the way hasn't changed a bit). This documentary has been on Youtube but for filming locations fans such as myself this is a real treat to have it included in the set.

With other feature length making of documentaries and even the Document of the Dead and Tom Savini Scream Greats for extras, this release overall has to be the best ever release of this film so far.

The set also comes with a reproduction poster from the original UK theatrical release (and pre-cert cover art) and a choice of up to 4 different covers for your blu ray.

I would have hoped this release would be the last version I would ever need to buy of this movie, however the lack of the cast commentary track I previously mentioned is reason enough to warrant another purchase if/when Anchor Bay release their ultimate edition on Blu Ray and I wouldn't be too surprised to see Anchor Bay include the extended and Dario Argento cuts also on blu ray discs rather than on standard dvd.

Ultimately for Dawn of the Dead fans, this is an essential purchase, If you can live without the cast commentary track and are not bothered about the other cuts being in SD this probably will be the last time you buy the film. For anyone else (myself included) it is still an excellent purchase, which will suffice, until the inevitable Anchor Bay ultimate edition blu ray set is released.

Overall, a quality release from a distributor who really seems to care for fans of the films which they are supplying.

BLU REVIEW OBSCURA - find us on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Region 2 version yet, but not perfect., 16 July 2003
By 
Mr. Jason R. Carr "jase-18" (Carlisle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawn Of The Dead: Director's Cut [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
This is at least the third time Dawn of the Dead has been released in the UK, but the only time it has been totally uncut. This edition only seems to vary from the previous releases by way of being uncut, it's the same longer director's cut and the same Tom Savini commentary and presumably the same print.
Noticeable restorations include shots of zombie children being machine-gunned, and two instances from the tenement siege: sight of a man biting chunks of flesh from a woman's arm and neck, and a man's head exploding from a shotgun blast. Also included is the machete in the head. Yes, it's UNCUT! If you've only seen the heavily cut late eighties video version released by EIV, you're in for a treat here.
First point of contention is the 4:3 picture (seems unmatted) and the print used, which is from an NTSC source and features frequent speckles and marks. On the good side, colours and black level are both reasonably good, and for a low-budget seventies movie it generally looks okay, with a reasonable amount of detail. It's arguable that a fully remastered version wouldn't look that much better unless an original negative was used.
Soundwise, it's the original mono soundtrack, and this sounds clear enough through TV speakers. I generally prefer a movie's original soundtrack to any sort of upgraded 5.1 remix, which usually sounds flat and echoey.
Extras-wise we get Tom Savini's commentary, which is well worth a listen but may already be very familiar to fans of the movie, and a gallery of a dozen or so production stills. Apart from scene selection, that's it.
As for the movie, any horror fan worth their salt will know this is a genuine classic, and I'm sure I don't need to elaborate here. Although the DVD presentation may be somewhat lacking, the main draw here is the full uncensored director's cut, and for that alone it's well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic zombie movie!, 9 July 2004
This review is from: Dawn Of The Dead: Director's Cut [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
When there's no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth.
Dawn of the Dead is George A. Romeros classic follow-up to the equally brilliant, Return of the Living dead. As the plague of zombies continue to roam the earth a, 4 fortunate survivors create themselves a zombie free hideout andt take refuge in the ultimate place to be in their situation, a large shopping centre. Once all of the dead have been cleared from the shopping centre and the quartet are securley sealed inside, the four friends are having the times of their lives!
With dawn of the Dead most oftenly being classed as a long film(as it is on over 2 hours) for me this film ends too soon. The pure quality of this film keeps you so deeply engrossed, that instead of seeming too long, the movie seems too short and keeps you wanting to more right at the bitter end. The shopping centre itself is a perfect location for the setting of this movie, allowing Romero to create a deeply humorous side to the movie as incredibly stupid zombies fall down stairs, scratching hopelessly at the door windows of shops and walking around the shops like the living.Dawn of the dead contains some of the most clever zombie deaths ever and the best of which include a screwdriver through the ear, head explosions from gunshots and the classic decapitation by machete.
25 years on from the original release of Dawn of the Dead, the film does not look the slightest bit dated, the gore, humour and effects are just as amazing now as they always have been. With the ravenous swarms of zombies reeking havoc all over the world and the gore laden action that makes Dawn of the Dead the brilliant horror film its turned out to be, its obvious why this film has many a time been rated, the greatest Zombie flick of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If There's Only One Zombie Film You Ever See......, 7 Oct 2002
By 
I must admit I'm biased when it comes to D Of The D,ALIEN was released a few months before in the UK and at the age of 12 I'd become preoccupied with gore after a few years of reading Sci Fi,my Mum despaired and had heard of a film that was supposed to scare me out of my obsession.Scared I was,I hid through the initial scenes in the tenement,only daring to glance occasionally at scenes so visceral,vivid and so much more terrifying than the Hammer horrors that I'd been weened on,only for the the rest of the movie to pan out to be a classic of allegorical,character based horror in the most innovative style and location any budding classic horror hound could hope for.36 viewings later,12 at cinemas,criminally cut BBFC versions,a laughable BBC2 TV version and my prized US pirate complete version,here it is,complete,uncut and as good a quality as a remastered version as you'll ever see.Dated,flawed,a little overlong but doubtless a classic of the genre.If you want to see what still sets the benchmarch for a genre buy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great script! One of the finnest horror films ever made!, 1 July 2002
By 
Paulo Leite (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DAWN OF THE DEAD is the second film from Romero's living dead trilogy. For me, it is the best! Why? Because it has a great screenplay and the production values that make it work.
The story is great: four people escape from a world thrown into chaos by an increasing population of zombies. They travel by Helicopter for hours and hours trying to reach Canada. On their way, they reach a shopping mall and decide to search for food. The mall is, in fact, crowded with zombies walking around the stores, probably because of the fragments of memories they have from the time the were alive.
The four characters decide to reclaim the mall for themselves and live a life of bliss.
The great thing about the story is that their consumerism turns the mall into a prison. It is also obvious that the zombies are not an easy match... but this is just the begining.
I loved the sense of claustrophobia of it... you never know what's going to happen next. And the end is perfect.
The film starts inside a TV station where I saw one of the best state-of-confusion-like scenes I have ever seen. The sound design of the film is great and conveys just the right mood. The moment the film starts, you'll know you are in another world. The photography is peerless (with that 70's decadent feel). The music is great (the mall music is perfect!). This is one of those films that makes you cry for more - and it is sad no one makes zombie films anymore.
The DVD is ok. Sound seems fine and image sharp enough. Sadly, it doesn't come with a trailer. The gallery has only six photos (six!!) and it is presented in full screen (but since the original aspect ratio was 1.66:1, you won't loose much). I just hope someday, a collector's edition is available.
After the film ended, I started wondering how did they menaged to shoot the whole thing in a mall? Was it filmed during the night? Did it cost a lot? I wish someone could tell me...
Buy it, but just don't watch it alone. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best version available here, 22 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This is the best version you can buy here. It contains the 128m theatrical cut, 2 audio commentaries, trailers, still gallery, 85m documentary as well as a decent picture and good sound. It is also uncut. Do not buy the "Directors cut", buy this version (or the 4disc ultimate edition from anchorbayus if you have a multi-region-dvd-player).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dawn of a Movie Era, 3 Dec 2003
By 
D. Moss "systemj" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawn Of The Dead: Director's Cut [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
The fact that Dawn of the Dead is a horror classic is undisputed. The film has become part of popular culture, name-checked everywhere from the local paper to The Simpsons. The film was a massive success on both sides of the Atlantic, and opened the flood-gate of zombie movies in the early and mid 1980s. If the original movie was the revolution, Dawn was the film that kick-started the 80s video-nasties spree.
The film stars four people struggling to stay alive in the madness of a world breaking apart. The dead are walking and eating human flesh, the epidemic is spreading and all people can do is kill each other and steal and loot. Director George Romero uses the film to make stabs at the beast within us and the pettiness of mankind, with an added attack on consumerism. One character remarks that the shopping mall was "an important part in their lives" and the dead return there with as little thought as most shoppers. The images of zombies aimlessly wandering the mall are scarily mirrored every time you go shopping.
The actors are of course unknown, but the star of the show are Romero's undead and Tom Savini's effects. While many of the zombies are just painted blue, all are acted with great intensity by a host of extras whose only reward was a dollar and a T-shirt entitled: "I was a zombie in Dawn of the Dead". The walking dead make terrifying enemies in the film, and Romero potrays them with disturbing realism.
One of the reasons I bought this DVD was for the Uncut moniker, but there are only six seconds of footage that was previously unseen. While other reviewers claim the film is missing scenes where the bikers storm the mall, my version at least keeps the whole scene intact.
The fact that the film has only just been released uncut after 25 years isn't surprising, as its staggeringly violent and Romero directs the violence with a nochalance that makes it even more impacting. There are dozens of head shots in the film (and one impressive exploding head which was previously cut) and every one looks utterly convincing and is accompanied by a spray of blood. Savini has great fun killing zombies with a variety of tools from machetes and katanas to screwdrivers and helicopter blades. There are also the disturbing scenes when the careless looters are overwhelmed by the undead and ripped apart and devoured. If there is one quibble with the effects it is that the blood is, at times, obviously paint. In the final film, Day of the Dead, Romero addressed these criticisms with shocking brutality.
Overall this is an intelligent, thought-provoking nightmare that is all too believable. While many zombie flicks are utter trash that are only known to horror elitists, Dawn of the Dead is a cinema classic that has survived the passing of time and is remembered for more than merely being banned by the BBFC. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to me!!, 8 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. N. England (Wimbledon, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawn Of The Dead: Director's Cut [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I've just read all of the other reviews for this film and none of them (bar one- but it's fleeting)mention one of the most important aspects about this film- consumerism. One other reviewer even goes so far as to criticise the time spent within the shopping mall in the movie.
That's the whole point!! The film not only gives the viewer an excellent blood-drenched zombie-movie but also an excellent take on consumerism- when the zombies have nothing to do, they start shopping for god's sake!
I also rate the film as a real insight into human behaviour whilst stuck in a confined space. You can literally feel the atmosphere when the characters begin to tire of their surroundings and turn on each other.
Don't get me wrong, this zombie film rocks, but not just as a flesh-ripping, blood-spurting, gore fest but also as a deeper more intelligent comment on the human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure 5 star film best horror film ever, 6 July 2001
this is the best horror zombie film ever george a romero is the best director in the horror field by far i dont matter how old the film is you have to watch it to love it i have the watched the zombie gore blood spurting gun rumberling film now in the 100rds simply because i never get bored my view on the film has to be a gory 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

Dawn Of The Dead: Director's Cut [DVD] [1980]
Dawn Of The Dead: Director's Cut [DVD] [1980] by George A. Romero (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: 5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews