Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 16 Sep 2003
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
When I first heard about this band, I was completely unsure as what to expect. From the band photos available, Lordi look like a group of people who have spent too much time on making their Halloween costumes; all chain mail and silly–looking masks. Add to that the fact that they have had a number one single in their native Finland, and you are left completely bewildered. Well, instead of the generic Death or Power Metal I was expecting, Lordi have instead come out of nowhere to produce one of the best Hard Rock albums in aeons.
Lordi's sound is surprisingly hard to pinpoint. At times the band sound like self–appointed "saviour of rock" Andrew WK, at others like a less serious, more fun Rob Zombie. However, there are loads of other influences. At the beginning of "Dynamite Tonite", for example, Lordi produce an intro worthy of Gary Numan. Almost every song is catchy enough to be a single, from the anthemic title track, to the sing–along "Devil is a Loser" with it's atrociously bad lyrics ("cos the devil is a loser and he's my bitch / for better or for worse and you don't care which"). Album highlights are hard to pick, but the aforementioned number one single, "Would You Love A Monsterman?", "Get Heavy" with its stupidly camp cry of "oooh, monster sqaud attack", and twisted love song, "Dynamite Tonite" stand slightly above the rest. The only poor track on offer is the synth–driven "Last Kiss Goodbye", but apart from this, there is absolutely no filler to be found.
Lordi may look like a bunch of fools, but don't be put off by the stupid image, their music does not reflect them in the slightest, and they have succeeded in producing an album full of catchy, accessible, and above all, fun songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finnish rockers Lordi bring in the new sound with Get Heavy, 28 Feb 2003
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
Although I only heard this album just a week ago it is one of the best albums i have heard from the new Finnish rockers bringing in a new sound with heavy guitars mixing it with older sounds from 80's rock. With good song writing and music some of the songs could be classics in the world of Rock in many years to come for instance the song "Would You Love A Monsterman?" is the best song simply it mixes a good chorus with Lordi's vocals to make this a modern rock anthem. In all it's a very good album a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums I own, 24 May 2006
By 
T. Eley (Notts, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
I recently bought this album and am very happy that I did. Lordi have been around for a long time now and this album is a great achievement for them. "Would you love a monster man" and "Devil is a loser" are the most well known songs on there, but the other 11 tracks are just as catchy and tuneful. Lordi have established themselves well with an album as good as this and it is a must-buy for anyone who is a true rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eurovision dynamiters!, 24 Aug 2006
By 
Dr. David A. Harbour (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
I had not heard of Lordi until they won the 2006 Eurovision song contest. I bought the CD on the basis of their performance and I am amazed that they are not already superstars. Perhaps hailing from Finland has limited their promotion. All I can say is - if you like Black Sabbath you will warm to Lordi. Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's time to Get Heavy...!, 20 Aug 2007
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
Back in 2002 who could have predicted the 'monsterous' responce that Europe (and other parts of the world) would give these Finnish rockers later on in their career. But looking at this album, it's not hard to see why. With the stopming title track, "Get Heavy" and the sensations that are, "Devil is a Loser" and "Would you love a monsterman" there is nothing to criticise in my opinion. With the inclusion of a monster version of a love song in the form of "Last Kiss Goodbye" and the explosive "Dynamite Tonight" these monster's will definatly "Rock the hell outta you"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Debut!, 7 Aug 2007
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
Get Heavy, I like for the wide range that they go for on this. You've got the stompers like WYLAM and DIAL, the obvious crowd fuillers of choice, the guitar work and the bass on this making you want to shout along no matter when you listen! Then you have Icon Of Dominance, telling you about being held up high, and it may not always be a good thing, Biomechanic Man, a head cracking track introducing you to Mr Lordi, and the term "monstermaniac", and Last Kiss Goodbye, and wow that song, it used to be my favourite, it was brilliant. It really tells you the errors of loving and leaving a highly possesive person, even after death theyll get you. Then you knock straight back into that monster groove with Dynamite Tonight, another twist of perversion just to fuel the flames of desire a little higher. It closes up with Monster Monster, they want to go but we cant let them, and the possibly brilliant if disgustingly macabre piece that is 13. It really brings you into the monster theme and gives you a kick up the arse musically to pay attention. It introduces you to them so well and leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Debut Lordi Album, 26 July 2007
By 
Rob Swain "Rob" (Derby, England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
The first and possibly best Lordi album to date. Get Heavy is a great album packed full of 13 great tracks. I love Not The Nicest Guy as the guitar solo is a real classic rock solo and Kita shows off his drumming skills Monster Monster.

Great album, fully recommend that you buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic album, 10 July 2007
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
This album has some of my fave tunes like Monsterman and the devil is a looser but also has some of the iconic lordi tunes that after a few bars of music you know its them esp hellbender turbulence!
Ooh and not forgetting Biomechanic man!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Would you Love a Monsterman, Would you Understand Beauty of the Beast', 1 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Heavy (Audio CD)
Lordi's Arockalpyse album excited me enough to buy their first two albums on that basis. With Get Heavy, I was not disappointed.

Sounding like the love child of Gene Simmons and Ozzy Osbourne, born on Haloween and raised by Spinal Tap, their strike gold with their OTT lyrics, memorable tunes and raw attitude.

The standout tracks are Devil is a Loser (I want the T-Shirt!), Get Heavy and Would you Love a Monsterman, and the rest of the album is very strong with a fade-out track that sounds like something Alice Cooper would have produced circa 1975 if he was feeling really sick and evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3494edc)

This product

Get Heavy
Get Heavy by Lordi (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews