Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
This is one of the best albums that I have ever heard. I have to admit, I was not a big Blur fan during the Britpop era-I tended to side more with Oasis' style of music, but this has converted me. The album is simply gorgeous, from the almost tear inducing yet strangely happy Battery in your Leg and Sweet Song, to the politically inclined Out of Time and jump-around...
Published on 24 July 2006 by M. Nichols

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Come back Coxon
Pretty average offering, Albarn is now the only voice in Blur and what he has to say is not as interesting as he thinks it is.P>Musically it seems diluted by the number of influences cited in its making. And the Norman Cook tune (I can't bring myself to write its name) makes me cringe just thinking about it. It is too awful too describe. This is one collaboration that...
Published on 20 May 2003 by D. Southern


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 24 July 2006
By 
M. Nichols "manic111" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums that I have ever heard. I have to admit, I was not a big Blur fan during the Britpop era-I tended to side more with Oasis' style of music, but this has converted me. The album is simply gorgeous, from the almost tear inducing yet strangely happy Battery in your Leg and Sweet Song, to the politically inclined Out of Time and jump-around inducing Crazy Beat. Good Song is a highlight, which is just beautiful.

This album is different to anything else that I have ever heard, which seems to take its influences from old Blur, Gorrilaz, indie and Morrocan music. Oddly enough, it works fantastically. Dont buy it as a Blur fan, buy it as a music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album in its own right, 30 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
Before we pass any judgements on this album we need to remember that it was not made by the same Blur that we have been used to,this was made with out Graham Coxon(for the most part)and when a guitar orientated band looses their guitarist then the sound is bound to be different.
When you first hear it you will no doubt resent the fact that Blur have a completley different sound, this one is more of a European sound than Brit-pop and the lyrics are more mature(no more very big houses in the country). But after a while you realise that the songs get better and better with every listening and it wont be long before this becomes your new favourite album.
This is a great album in its own right and it seems unfair to compare it with some of Blurs earlier work because now that they have lost their guitarist it is true to say that they are in a way a new band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated? Definately., 24 Mar 2006
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
There are many criticising reviews of think tank. Many fans feel that blur are incomplete without coxon, and that they have abandoned their fanbase. In some ways this is true, however what albarn and co. are are musicians; and musicians foremost. Blur have become a victim of pop culture, and with it comes the problems of over-commercializing and the 'fateful' concept album. However i am one of the few believers that think that this album is a musical canvas waiting to be explored, and it is only when you look deeper that you appreciate it's value. To summarise, want the exciting, brashness of Girls & Boys? look elsewhere. want a great album which could have been made by musical scholars? buy think tank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tender, minimalist and beautiful, 25 July 2003
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
This is not going to appeal to everyone. Most of the songs are in the Out of Time mould - simple, quiet, bordering on the bland, but strangely mystical. It manages to be excellent background music yet also great for simply listening to.
It's not entirely successful. Morrocan Peoples Revolutionary Bowls Club and Jets feel forced in order to add some upbeat songs (unlike Crazy Beat, which sounds like Song 2 Part 2, and We've Got A File on You, which comes in at just over a minute long and is a perfect embodiment of what a such short song should be: fast, offbeat and exhilarating). The order of the tracks is slightly wrong too: WGAFOY should really have come somewhere in between "Good Song", "On The Way To The Club", Brothers and Sisters and Caravan, which feels dull, as it's too similar to the preceding three tracks without adding anything new. But I can forgive this, if only for the wonderful Good Song and Sweet Song, and the strange and infectious Gene By Gene.
The lyrics are what you'd expect from what is a fairly unusual album. They don't stand out, and fit perfectly with the music, occasionally veering into Radiohead territory (such as "I've got nothing to rely on / I've broken every bone" from the excellent closer, Battery In Your Leg)
A brave and, despite blips, successful album, definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An imperishable moment of genius, 20 July 2003
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
Eevryone who is in despair over the state of the current music industry should go and treat themself to a copy of Think Tank -- it is the first fresh , effervescent, REAL music to have graced the charts in a long time. Blur ,manage to mix up the raw and exciting edges that Punk stirred up over 25 years ago now whilst adding their own unique touches on tracks like CRazy BEaT that has just the faint echo of The Sex Pistols - but a resounding new edge. 'We've Got A File On You' would be at home with any Clash lovers and there are tunes to match every mood , smooth classy blues in 'Brothers & Sisters, juxtaposing life affirming uplifting melodies like 'Good Song' with the melancholy and contemplative 'Out Of Time', or the divinely reflective sadness of'Caravan'.'Sweet Song' is truly beautiful a sublime star-gazing lullaby. Musically, vocally and lyrically Blur excel on this album with their rare, innovative and eclectic style;absent of any poor tracks.Think Tank is a moment of musical emancipation freed from all the mechanically packaged fodder that usually stalks the charts. This album has reaffirmed my faith in believing that there are some truly authentic musicians out there still trying to break the mould and create something on par with a work of art- true genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coxons left no hole in blur, 2 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
Think tank definetly grows on you. Quite often with blurs best albums, 13, Blur etc, they grow on you over time, and this is no different.
Think Tank as everyone knows is minus Graham Coxen, probably one of the best Indie Guitarists around, but once you get used to the sound you realise, that maybe Blur are better off without Coxen! That sounds harsh i know but could you imagine the roar of Coxens guitar on some of the gorgeous ballads here? I tell you it would ruin them. However Coxen features on the last track, Battery in your leg where Coxon plays one of the best riffs for blur he's ever done! Damon plays guitar and hes more than up to the task. Dave and Alex play some of the best music you will here them play on a blur record and Albarn's Voice is so so good.
Highlights: Ambulance, Out of time, Good song and On the way to the club.
Buy it and let it Suck you in completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to their best, but with a difference!, 10 May 2003
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
Think Tank is awesome! This is without doubt some of their best work! Creativity is VERY hard to come by these days, by judging all the garbage in today’s charts. Blur always seem to come up trumps producing refreshing and thought provoking music.
The album as a whole is very solid; however there are some tracks that you put on repeat and can't stop playing. Standout tracks are 'out of time', 'on the way to the club' and 'good song’ which drifts along gentle guitar strings. 'Caravan' is my favourite track on the CD Which has an ambient and chilled vibe to it. 'Sweet song' is beautiful and 'Jets' is probably the coolest song on the album. 'Crazy beat' IS crazy, and harps back to the days of 'song2' as they both have a similar vibe.
I won't bother comparing it to their previous work, all I can say is, this is a quality album, so go out and buy it and judge it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better......, 18 May 2003
By 
Mr P T B Kitson (Cardiff United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
Blur's latest effort is not so unlike their previous two albums as some would suggest. Although 'Out of Time' can instantly be recoginised as another sorrowful blur classic a la 'Tender' it takes a while to complelely understand and appreciate the rest of the music on the album. I found that the more I played the CD the more I enjoyed 'Think Tank' Songs such as the imaginitive 'Good song' are touching while 'Battery in your leg' stands tall against any of Radiohead's mourning mellodies. Like in most of blur's albums their are a few tracks which are uninspiring, 'We've got a file on you' reminded me of their earlier, trashier and easily forgetable grunge songs from their first albums.
Blur seem to be able to perform well without their old Guitarist, Coxan, and there appears to be no reason to split the band up while they continue to produce such enjoyable and ground breaking albums as this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And now for something a little different........., 18 Jun 2003
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
I bought this album because of an offer in a shop where i could get it cheap. I had listened to some of blur's other albums and thought they were pretty good, but i was not expecting something like this. It did take a few listenings, but after that, the true greatness of this album started to dawn. The sound of this album isn't like anything i've ever heard. It was recorded in Marocco, and this really shows on the songs. Highlights include Sweet Song, the name says it all, Brothers and Sisters, an anthem if i ever heard one, and the new single, Crazy Beat, a different kind of heavy. This album is so full of contrasts, but manages to pull everything off really convincingly. Even the sax solo on Jets does not feel out of place. If you are a hardcore fan of blur's old material, i would advise you to steer clear of this, but if you have an open mind, get this and prepare to have your mind broadened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Graham is sorely missed, but blur are still very good!, 5 May 2003
By 
S J BRAZIL (London, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Think Tank (Audio CD)
This is without a doubt 'The Damon Albarn Album.'It infact actually sounds much more alike The gorilaz album than it does any previous blur album. The strong influence of his Mali music project on the new sound of blur is also instantly clear; the rythmns, the singing and the sounds throughout the album strike with quite a strong African flavour. Without the input of guitarist Graham Coxon (apart from on the final track)Damon has a creative monopoly which does drive the album with a much tighter focus than previous ablbum 13, but also leaves a kind of hole in the blur sound, to the extent that blur sound less blur sounding than ever with the exception of 2 or 3 tracks.
Think Tank is though a very good album. The tighter focus and atmospheric theme provide the album with a lovely flow. Blur's venture into such a radical sound for a white indie british guitar band can be compared to that of radiohead, except blur's being driven by their lust for new cultures rather than experimentation. The tunes are excellent. Furthermore Alex has never played better bass lines, while Dave provides far and away his most interesting drumming yet. And yes Blur have once more proved that they are more intelligent, more talented, more cocky, and more determined to challenge themselves and their fans than any of their peers.
Blur's last album? Who knows. In years to come though Blur will be remembered as a band, maybe THE band of their generation who created the most brilliantly diverse collection of music, never being boring whilst at the same time never failing to knock out brilliant pop tunes! Think Tank enhances their already impressive portfollio and blur fans should love them all the more for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Think Tank
Think Tank by Blur (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews