Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey guys I kind of liked it!!
Ok, ok the story is far fetched, the script is somewhat wobbly and this film will not tax your brain but if you just want to sit and veg and have two hours of roller coaster fun then it's pretty damn good!! - Sean Connery is not bad in this at all and the special effects are excellent. How they managed to shoe horn an American into the team is somewhat strange and the...
Published on 17 July 2004 by Mr. Anthony C. Lebaigue

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A clever graphic novel is transformed into big dumb fun
When reviewing a film based on an intelligent and critically lauded graphic novel by Alan Moore and the mad genius of Kevin O'Neill its not surprising that the critics found this film both disappointing and confusing.
In fact to say it is based on the graphic novels is a bit of a stretch as the plot is in reality an original screenplay based only on the premise of...
Published on 7 Jun 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hey guys I kind of liked it!!, 17 July 2004
Ok, ok the story is far fetched, the script is somewhat wobbly and this film will not tax your brain but if you just want to sit and veg and have two hours of roller coaster fun then it's pretty damn good!! - Sean Connery is not bad in this at all and the special effects are excellent. How they managed to shoe horn an American into the team is somewhat strange and the invisible man did not get a lot of screen time. But Dorean Grey was convinsingly waspish and I for one was glad to see him get his comeupance and overall I found this a good 'boys own' adventure. For those of you who did not like this movie I suggest you go and watch Artificial Intelligence or starship troopers 2 and then maybe you will appreciate the fact that this film is pretty damn good after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A clever graphic novel is transformed into big dumb fun, 7 Jun 2004
When reviewing a film based on an intelligent and critically lauded graphic novel by Alan Moore and the mad genius of Kevin O'Neill its not surprising that the critics found this film both disappointing and confusing.
In fact to say it is based on the graphic novels is a bit of a stretch as the plot is in reality an original screenplay based only on the premise of the GNs.
That premise being the creation of a 19th Century 'superhero' team made up of popular fictional characters.
In the original work the team consisted of The Invisible Man, Allan Quatermain, Jeykll & Hyde, Capt Nemo and Mina Harker.
The movie adds Dorian Grey and Tom Sawyer and mutates Mina Harker from the brains of the outfit into a sultry vampire.
None of these changes really detract from the fun though and are in keeping with the normal rules of book to movie conversion.
The plot however is another matter, James Robinson (who wrote the screenplay) is a talented comic writer himself and I really expected better than a 2nd rate James Bond style story.
There are moments of wit and some nice in-jokes (the posters on the walls in one scene hint at a possible sequel and name-check Moore and O'Neill).
The acting and special effects are good enough for the most part but still patchy.
Good performances are turned in by Sean Connery in fine heroic form as the aging Quatermain, Stuart Townsend is haughty and mysterious as Dorian Grey and Jason Flemyng is a convincingly tortured Jekll & Hyde, Shane West also puts in a convincing performance as the young buck Tom Sawyer.
As for the others, Peta Wilson (Mina Karker) and Tony Curran (The Invisible Man) are ok, but Naseeruddin Shah is dreadful as Nemo and Richard Roxburgh is almost embarassingly bad as M.
The special effects for Hyde are pretty good, Mina Harkers vampiric transformations are quite well done and the scenery is mostly ok . The invisible man is a quandry though. Some of the effects are excellent but at other times all but non-existant. From one scene to the next he is portrayed either as a very intriguing floating face with a coat on, then with his whole head visible (white grease paint having supposed to have been applied in both cases). I'm prepared to go with the flow and accept that the budget didn't stretch to doing all the scenes with the fancy computer graphics, but the glaring continuity error is somewhat distracting. The makeup effects for 'The Phantom' are also dreadful.
The DVD extras are ok, with some deleted and extended scenes, but nothing to suggest that a better film ended up on the cutting room floor.
The commentary from the producters and actors is pretty interesting.
Compared to the other superhero movies on the go, its certainly no X-men and doesn't have the mass appeal of Spiderman but it can stand up alongide Blade, Daredevil and the Hulk which all had their flaws as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun popcorn flick that could have been better, 21 Nov 2004
By 
Darren Harrison "DVD collector and reviewer" (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Quite unfairly drubbed by the critics upon its release and ignored by film audiences for the likes of X2. Matrix 2 and HULK was this entertaining action movie that slipped in and out of theaters almost unnoticed in the summer of 2003.
Taking its basis from the well known graphic novel of the same name this movie has a fascinating premise. What if the characters of Victorian literature were actually real people? What if technology that we take for granted now was suddenly thrust upon a world before their time. Thus, we have a bank robbery at the turn of the 20th century involving a tank. Machine gun toting villains tearing up an African country club. An automobile chasing through the streets of Europe and Jules Verne's Capt. Nemo (this time portrayed correctly as an Indian prince as he was in the novel) transporting our team of heroes in the submarine Nautilus.
Leading the group though is H. Rider Haggard's adventurer Allan Quatermain (played with spirit and gusto by Sean Connery). Also included among the ragtag group are the likes of the Invisible Man, Tom Sawyer (an addition to the cast of characters no doubt in an effort to help the movie sell to an American audience) and Dorian Gray.
The team must race across the continent of Europe in an effort to defuse what is fast turning into a growing conflict between the Great Powers. The villain (the Fantom) has designs on making a boatload of money selling high-tech weapons (by 19th century standards) to the competing nations - or is he...there is a surprising twist to the story that eluded me until I checked out the special features.
The narrative to this movie does seem a little muddled and at times it all appears a little too top-heavy with heroes. But if you take LXG (as it was called by Fox marketing) as a fun loving light hearted action adventure, and don't try and think it through too hard, then the movie can promise an entertaining evening.
What this movie does provide is some great action scenes, an ingenious premise and Sean Connery. It's not as bad as some would have you believe, but it's also not as good as it should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good family film, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
NOTE: There is no difference between the special edition and the definitive edition - all the extras are exactly the same.

I had never read the "comic" books that the film is based on, so I came to the film with no preconceptions, and I enjoyed it for what it is - a family orientated adventure film.

We open with the dark cobbled streets of London in 1899 and a strange, never seen before, metal vehicle (we know to be a tank) is rolling through the streets and heading straight into the Bank of England, where a German scientist is kidnapped.

We move to Kenya, June 1899, where a man comes in search of the legendary hero Allan Quatermain. Except Quatermain (Sean Connery) is now jaded by his experiences and until attacked he wants nothing to do with the problems of the empire - only then does he agree to return once more to save the world.

July 1899 Quatermain arrives in London and is introduced to "M" (Richard Roxburgh - Van Helsing)) who explains that the villain of the peace is a man known as the "Fantom", and that over the centuries there have been groups of chosen men with special attributes who were known as "The League of Extra Ordinary Gentlemen" or "The League".

This League will be Quatermain, Captain Nemo (Naseeruddin Shah), Rodney Skinner aka the Invisible Man (Tony Curran - Underworld - Evolution), Mina Harker (Peta Wilson - La Femme Nikita), Dorian Gray (Stuart Townsend), Dr Jekyll / Mr Hyde (Jason Flemyng - Primeval) and Agent Tom Sawyer (Shane West - ER).

This film was going to divide people into those that know the graphic novels and those that don't know them at all. Since I don't know them I have nothing that I can complain about - I enjoyed them. The film not only suffered because of the link to the graphic novels, but because it's release coincided with the release of Van Helsing - even the DVD was released at the same time.

What I love are the references to the older books, such as Moby Dick, Around the World in 80 Days, etc. There are also hints as to who the baddy is very early on in the film. I also like the fact that the Mr Hyde character was not created by the use of CGI but the old fashion way using makeup.

Interestingly, Roxburgh appeared in both films, and moved between the sets, which were being filmed only a short distance apart.

It is an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon with the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable film, 24 Jan 2009
I remember being interested in this film when it first came out, so i hired it. We loved it so much that in the week we had it, we watched it every day at some point. I love the story (like most fantasy and sci-fi films it isn't meant to be taken seriously), the graphics were very good and some of the lines were witty and very funny. The extras are very good and interesting to watch, especially Hyde's and how they made him up. I don't think it's fair that it has had so many bad reviews! It actually left it open for a second one and i hope they do it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect the comics and you won't be disappointed.., 22 Feb 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a big fan of the comics but then having read all of the very average reviews this film received, I approached it with more than a little trepidation.. and was therefore surprised to find it a thoroughly enjoyable action adventure. Admittedly it doesn't have the depth and attention to detail that the comics had (still, what comic adaptation does?) but it's an action-packed thrill a minute with some genius set pieces and a slightly more involved plot than I'd expected.. well worth repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LXG is good action film..., 27 Feb 2004
By A Customer
First off, yes I have read the graphic novel on which the film is based, and no the film is not as good as the book - in the same way most films aren't as good as the books on which they are based. There isn't the subtlety you get with a book, even a graphic novel. But don't let that put you off...
The easiest way to describe this film is to say it's like the X-Men but set in a stylised Victorian era. Basically a bunch of [literary] hero characters get together, under the direction of the shadowy 'M' (a nice link to the Bond films) to fight a super villain and rescue the world. What follows is a series set piece fights/explosions combined with a light sprinkling of character development.
While all of the above breaks no new boundaries (the mixing of literary characters aside) is does do what it does very well. It probably helps if you know a little about the characters involved but for the most part this is just a good, well paced and stylish action film. Accept that and I think you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saturday Afternoon Picture Stuff - Fantastic!, 31 Mar 2004
By 
T. K. Robson "tkr9" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ridiculed by overpaid film critics, riled by the 'elite' who know so much more about this sort of thing than the rest of us, this is one of the best films I have ever seen. Dastardly bad guys (Richard Roxborough, now one of the few men to have played Sherlock Holmes AND Moriarty, credit indeed!), victorious good guys and all of my favourite characters, from Alan Quartermain to Captain Nemo and the to-die-for Nautilus. For those of us that prefer not to bore ourselves with chick flicks, smart alecs and films where swearing and directors falling over themselves to be sophisticated are the norm, this is a thoroughly enjoyable yarn, spun in the old pattern of a good, down to earth adventure, with foreign locations, good guys, bad guys and slick, well intentioned fight scenes and some beautiful set designs. Only disliked by those too intimidated by the quality of Victorian character design to know a good film when they see it, this is a masterpiece of imagination.
Bring on the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it..., 14 Feb 2004
By 
Mark Jeffrey "Brit Abroad. Nearly six hundred... (Chene en Semine, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Good enough for me to have watched it through three times in seven days.
I've not read the graphic novel yet, but perhaps I have the advantage in having read most of the original novels from which the characters derive (except for Allan Quartermain, and I just ordered "King Solomon's Mines" today!).
The whole concept worked very well for me, and the special effects were up to par. Sean was great as always, but the supporting cast were also well worth watching. Not many surprises, and the cityscapes didn't look much like the real places, but this is a story about characters despite being billed as a pure action movie. There wasn't time to get as much character from each as I would have liked, but what was there was consistent with the sources.
I appreciate there are differences from the GN, but anyone who knows about movies knows that is inevitable. Some things just don't work on screen, and others simply can't be done in the time and budget available.
If you are looking for a blood-and-gore violent movie, go find something else. Personally I would rather have good dialog, good acting, and quality action and effects. The fight scenes were fast and exciting, with a few classic moments. Several people get impaled, but there's nothing you wouldn't see in an Indiana Jones movie, so it's perfectly OK for older children to enjoy.
A sequel would probably work even better as too much time gets wasted on introducing the people and the world in such a movie. I hope they stick with it, and that Sean is game for a second go; he certainly adds a huge amount to the production.
I strongly recommend listening to the producers commentary. It reveals a lot of depths in the script that I missed first time through.
If the movie flops as we're told, I would still expect it to become a cult favourite among those who appreciate such things (e.g. geeks like me), though the average dumb (and probably American) teenager would miss the subtlety and will probably be disappointed accordingly. The same was true of The Shadow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QUIRKY STUFF, 26 Sep 2007
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Fantasy storyline. The League are engaged to stop the masked baddie and stop the pre-first world war nations going into full scale conflict.

Characters like Sean Connery's Alain Quartermayne, is joined by Captain Nemo, Dr Hyde, The Invisible man, Dorian Gray and Nina Harker, wife of Dracula's victim, Johnathon.

There is plenty of action throughout and great special effects abound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen [2003] [DVD]
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen [2003] [DVD] by Stephen Norrington (DVD - 2004)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews