Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut LP of the decade so far., 11 April 2003
This review is from: Songs of Innocence and of Experience (Audio CD)
This is Adequate Seven’s first LP, yet it has the sound and look of a band that has been around for decades. Perhaps this is due to the band‘s experience, as they contain members from such great bands as Spiderplug and Shootin’ Goon. The LP is a refreshing blend of many different styles, creating a new sound which refuses to fit into any one genre, and with such diverse influences as Shelter, Gorilla Biscuits, A Tribe Called Quest, AFI, and Sick of it All, it’s not hard to see why. The sound is likely to be branded as hardcore ska, but is much more than this. It’s more like hardcore punk based on a solid foundation of brass driven funk. Most tracks offer a blast punk rock energy, along with almost jazzy brass sections and funkadelic beats. However each track differs in style, with inclusion of tracks like Meltdown, which has a real blues and mellowed chill out feel to it, before blasting into the next more guitar driven track.
Singer and Songwriter Jamie Searle really digs into the roots of old school punk in his lyrics, returning to what punk is really about, politics. The Government, Capitalism, Consumerism etc, come under fire (to name but a few of the issues raised) and in the track No Space, they launch a scathing attack on the advertising industry. Searle’s vocal talents also add diversity to the album, switching between screaming, singing, and a rhythmic style associated more with rap music.
The album is a success from start to finish, blending the diverse styles of music effortlessly while still capturing melodic, catchy tunes and thought provoking lyrics. Every song on this album has every right to be there, it contains no fillers. This is due to the ability of these talented musicians, particularly Jonny Prosser, whose bass playing on the record is outstanding. This album deserves to be huge and Adequate Seven definitely have the potential to be massive. However, whether they manage to break out of the punk scene will remain to be seen, but watch this space. If you want to add some diversity to your CD collection, then this a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars possibly the best hardcore album... ever!, 17 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Songs of Innocence and of Experience (Audio CD)
wow... these guys are just great! i saw them live in yeovil, and they were awsome, so i bought this and i'm hooked already. they seem to have created a new sub-genre by mixing funk music with hardcore punk, which creates some really great grooves with that truly irreplaceable hardcore sound. also - this isn't a typical band thats only interested in making money (although i'm sure they wouldn't mind a little bit). judging from their lyrics, they seem to be genuinely only interested in making a point. there's some amazing anti-establishment stuff in here: buy it now!!
i've said it before, and i'll say it again... wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hail the new kings of british punk, 10 April 2003
By 
A. G. H. Schofield "Alex" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs of Innocence and of Experience (Audio CD)
i saw this band live last year at my local venue in front of 50 people and i was simply blown away,as i purchased their self titled E.P as well i was really looking forward to the delayed release of this album.the band play with so much energy and have a big sound from the excellent brass section and politically aware lyrics.there is definetly some elements of Capdown here and comparisons are obvious,but apart from that there is simply no other band around at the moment like Adequate 7.they have a groovy and funky sound which they describe as "brass driven funkcore",they are the best band on the householdname label and that is really saying something as it also has lightyear,capdown,five knuckle and the take,4 of the best bands in England right now.
Songs on this CD such as "gotta stay focused" and "minor details" showcase the bands strength that is the brass section,and are the stand out tracks here.the album flows along really well and at 45 minutes is just the right length,which means the album has a real playability factor with permanantly stuck in stereo potential.
This album is recommended for any fan of the excellent current punk scene in England,but the band are really very unique,and that alone with it being so difficult to find unique bands now is reason good enough to warrent getting this album.If there is any justice Adequate 7 will be the band of 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awe-inspiring debut album from promising talent, 11 May 2003
This review is from: Songs of Innocence and of Experience (Audio CD)
It's amazing to think that such a young band could produce such an uplifting and politically-aware set of songs, but this is possibly the most amazing debut I have heard in a long time. The underlying funk influences set it apart from a lot of other 'ska' records, while the intelligent lyrics show they have a real message to convey.
Tackling issues from ignorance of world affairs to globalisation and even the triviality of popstars lives and the dumbing down of the media, Adequate Seven make it a priority to motivate the listener into, at the very least, awareness of the world around them. Couple this with guitars and brass that give your feet a mind of their own, and a singer whose heartfelt screams bring the message to life, you have a record which is quite simply mind-blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awe-inspiring debut album from promising talent, 11 May 2003
This review is from: Songs of Innocence and of Experience (Audio CD)
It's amazing to think that such a young band could produce such an uplifting and politically-aware set of songs, but this is possibly the most amazing debut I have heard in a long time. The underlying funk influences set it apart from a lot of other 'ska' records, while the intelligent lyrics show they have a real message to convey.
Tackling issues from ignorance of world affairs to globalisation and even the triviality of popstars lives and the dumbing down of the media, Adequate Seven make it a priority to motivate the listener into, at the very least, awareness of the world around them. Couple this with guitars and brass that give your feet a mind of their own, and a singer whose heartfelt screams bring the message to life, you have a record which is quite simply mind-blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome debut from the 7, 19 April 2003
This review is from: Songs of Innocence and of Experience (Audio CD)
This album has to be my favourite underground album. Adequate 7 have brought so many different types of music into this album. From the opener, The Shape Of Funk To Come to the end, Free The Adequate 7, you don't know what to expect next. You get hardcore punk, funk, ska, jazz and emo all in the space of 13 songs. They have some awesome bass grooves, a few guitar solos, horns, instrumentals and this is all complimented with hardcore vocals and politically driven lyrics. Check these dudes out, they are going to be huge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars most original album, 20 April 2003
This review is from: Songs of Innocence and of Experience (Audio CD)
this album is brilliant. adequate 7 have their own style crossing between skacore and funk. this album is one of my favorates and one of my most listened to. anyone who already has this album would agree with this comment, and anyone who buys this album will have a good buy and will not regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shape Of Funk To Come., 11 Aug. 2003
By 
Darryn (Salisbury, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs of Innocence and of Experience (Audio CD)
First thing I need to get off my chest to people is that, this isn't ska. Not in any shape or form. People seem to get confused to what ska actually is, and it's not 'punks with horns'. Adequate Seven are punks with horns, and not a single ska line is heard within the whole album. You can't skank to it. It's not ska. I usually don't like labels and sub-genres, but Adequate Seven seem to be the orignators of political 'funk-core'. Funky basslines in abundance? Yes. Some amazing horn lines? Yes. All mixed up with politically aware, angry lyrics, the odd dub sounds and some fast, driving hardcore punk, that make you want to put your fist in the air and shout at the top of your lungs? YES! Songs about girls, relationships, heartbreak, shoes, how life sucks? No. Songs about how British Welfare System is fucked up, how Pop Idol is a joke and how we should all unite to progress and for freedom? Yes.
'The Seven' have created one of the most genre-defying sounds I've heard in the last year or so, and maybe only Ye Wiles can rival them in originality. To the songs, there is not a dull moment. There aren't many albums that I can sit through, and never get bored. Maybe Thursday's sophomore and FATA's spellbinding debut on Ferret, but that's about it. There are great albums, which have plenty of good songs but a few as filler, and then there are the classics. I feel this album is a classic. From the slower, funkier, mellow songs like 'Minor Details', the superb 'Grassroots Resisance' and the fantastic closer 'Free The Adequate Seven' to the guitar driven all out funk-core of 'Everybody Hates' and 'No Space', and to mixes of mellow funk parts and punk in the forms of 'Gotta Stay Focused' and 'The State We're In'. Hell, even the instrumentals keep me entertained, and I'm not a fan of instrumentals, but the intro to 'Songs Of Innocence...' and to the start-stop basslines and jazzy horns of of 'Meltdown' make me not to want to reach for the skip button.
The lyrics are very well written, they're not written to thought provoke, ala Thursday, but they're excellent and getting one thing accross: The Message. They do the job, no problems whatsoever. The vocals sound perfectly suited, and sometimes backup vocals and group-shouts are used to emphasise certain points. There's very little singing here. If you're expecting something emo or something from a whiney pop-punk record, you're gonna be dissapointed.
This album is sure to do these things: Make you nod your head, make you want to get out of that chair or off of that bed and jump around, and make you stand up and listen.
HHN have got a real diamond in their hands here, and hopefully Adequate Seven will rise to greatness someday, following in the wake of bands like Capdown who are getting more successful all the time. Adequate Seven are sure to gain many, many fans from this release and rightly so. I await their next release with huge anticipation, but not yet. I still listen to this record all the time and I expect I will do until the next one is out.
Is this the shape of funk to come? Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs of Innocence and of Experience
Songs of Innocence and of Experience by Adequate Seven (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews