Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a sequel!
The 2001 French movie 'Vidocq' is an excellent gothic fantasy about the battle of wits between murderer turned police chief / detective Vidocq, and the sinister, supernatural Alchemist.

If, as I did, you see this title and think it's a sequel then you are mistaken... it's the exact same movie, although there's nothing in the info given here that would alert you...
Published on 9 May 2007 by Mr. S. Jenkinson

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical thriller
Vidocq is a famous criminal in the 1830's France. But he spurns his murderous actions one day and turns himself in to the police. Then he informs about all his accomplices to the law eventually becoming a detective from an informer. He climbs the ladders of lawful life establishing his own agency with a friend. One day he is disappeared and rumour has it that he has been...
Published on 5 July 2008 by Ogun Eratalay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical thriller, 5 July 2008
Vidocq is a famous criminal in the 1830's France. But he spurns his murderous actions one day and turns himself in to the police. Then he informs about all his accomplices to the law eventually becoming a detective from an informer. He climbs the ladders of lawful life establishing his own agency with a friend. One day he is disappeared and rumour has it that he has been murdered by demon like being with no face. An investigative journalist decides to investigate the case and the story unfolds. The film depicts an interesting time, France in the 1830's. Reign of Charles X is about to cause an uprising among working class, a revolution is in the making. The misery of the common people, the helplessness of the poor families and the corruption is showed very realistically. Also the luxury life of the rich and the elite is shockingly worlds away from the general misery. The scenery and the in-city shots are wonderful as the music of the film. The film revolves about a fantastic sequence of events so the historical background is not emphasized enough. The soul stealing aspects of the creature etc did not suit the level of the film. Depardieu acts brilliantly as the once criminal detective. Vidocq in real life is the first private detective Eugène François Vidocq whom Victor Hugo got his inspiration for Jean Valjean in The Miserables. As for me I only focused on the historical background of the film and quite frankly was not interested in the fantastic thriller part which I must say lacks plausibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting film - but best to buy the french copy!, 2 Jan 2010
I quite enjoyed this film. It has a made for TV feel about it, but i don't know if that is the case. It is set in the french revolution and has a gothic feel about it. A famous detective is killed and a young reporter endeavours to find out more about the case he was investigating at the time (a string of unusual murders)and who murdered the detective Vidoq. I loved the sets and the film is very entertaining but my one gripe is that everyone is dubbed with an awful american accent, which really does not fit the film. In retrospect i would much prefer to have watched the film in french with english subtitles as the american accent really did affect my enjoyment of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a sequel!, 9 May 2007
By 
Mr. S. Jenkinson "Sean" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 2001 French movie 'Vidocq' is an excellent gothic fantasy about the battle of wits between murderer turned police chief / detective Vidocq, and the sinister, supernatural Alchemist.

If, as I did, you see this title and think it's a sequel then you are mistaken... it's the exact same movie, although there's nothing in the info given here that would alert you to the fact. They even gave it a different name.

Vidocq is a great movie and well worth a viewing but don't buy this title thinking you're in for a sequel treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FILM, POORLY DUBBED, 28 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Vidocq is France's answer to Sherlock Holmes. Vidocq is killed in the first scene. As his partner mourns (over a bottle) a young journalist shows up wanting to finish writing Vidocq's biography and find his killer. Much of the movie is told in flashbacks. Sometimes there are flashbacks during the flashbacks, but it seems to work. Prior to his death Vidocq had the killer remove his mask so he could see his face. Vidocq's body is not recovered. The ending is not going to be too hard to figure out.

I loved the backgrounds in this movie. They were a bit surreal, but not as cartoonish as Dick Tracy. The movie went at a good pace. My biggest problem was the extremely poor dubbing, especially the minor characters who had the same voice. The movie contains a look into opium dens and the red light district. It might be better to watch it in French reading the subtitles.

Minor nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly entertaining fantasy adventure, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Though not so well known outside France, the real Vidocq was a legendary petty criminal who rose through society's ranks by going from poacher to gamekeeper and becoming a celebrated - and controversial - policeman (he's often held as the inspiration for both Valjean and Javert in Les Miserables, though he wasn't exactly a paragon of moral reformation). But this Gerard Depardieu film is no historical reconstruction, more an outlandish reimagination, planting its real-life antihero in the middle of an effects heavy dark action movie that plays like an 18th century French Fu Manchu film with a supernatural villain set against a background of impending revolution as the great and the good start to die in lightning-related accidents as part of a sinister alchemist's search for the secret of immortality. So, not a documentary then. It can be silly, but it is also great fun, with even the digital look less irritating than usual. It's strange to think that at the time Depardieu's stock had fallen so much that he only got the role when Daniel Auteuil had a scheduling clash and had to drop out, and sadder to note that despite making a promising and stylishly energetic directorial debut here, former special effects man Pitof's was promptly guillotined by the dire Catwoman.

The French DVD offers a nice widescreen transfer with English subtitles, though none of the extras on either the single disc or two-disc release have English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vidocq dvd, 9 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vidocq [DVD] (DVD)
Vidocq [2001] [Dutch Import]
actually I bought the german/french import..for dvd format2..
saw the movie first at the Sci-Fi-London festival, and searched for a 2 format...
an incredible eye candy movie, anything where Marc Caro is involved just get it, always a treat for the senses.
A fantasy, Paris, death, mystery,with historical fact weaved in.
OH JUST FIND IT, AND BUY IT....and see how movies should be made, without loud bangs and gratuitous anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vidocq: The dark, the steampunk & the exemplary, 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Vidocq (DVD)
'Vidocq' is a marvel in cinematic story-telling. I happened upon this little gem quite by accident but it has firmly secured its place among my favourite films.

From the opening sequence it is clear that this is not a big budget blockbuster, however it possesses both substance & style in abundance. Pitof's very distinct signature is apparent in every scene of these creative & vibrant foreign language film.

Stylistically, it is a dark & fast-paced action thriller that weaves together a rich tapestry of distinct & memorable characters. I would highly recommend watching this film with subtitles as dubbing detracts from the overall flow & eloquence of the film.

The performances are all strong & the director's eye for striking & characteristic close-ups of a cast with facial acuity cannot go without mention. Gerard Depardieu is excellent in the eponymous role & not only creates a protagonist which you can ardently cheer for, but epitomises the suave & brisk style which is evident throughout this marvellous & under-rated piece of French cinema.

A sleek & stylish steampunk adventure that I highly recommend to connoisseurs of cinema, foreign language film, & sophisticated thrillers. If there is a glimmer of doubt in your mind, I would like to add that Marc Caro (City of Lost Children & Delicatessen) worked on character design for 'Vidocq' & I find it no coincidence that in the end credits, the first special thanks is given to the legendary Jean-Pierre Jeunet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service and DVD!!!, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vidocq [DVD] (DVD)
This is a true, underrated gem of a film; generically, visually, and conceptually unique! Low priced, quickly delivered, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird and Wonderful, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If this was Hollywood it would have been a blockbuster. Great story, good special effects and of course great acting from GD and cast, took me ages to find a version with English subtitles, and still I couldn't find a PAL version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time faves!, 16 Jun 2007
Great, intriguing, very dark story and stunning fight scenes - can't wait until amazon stock it :( Watch it once if just for the experience, but my guess is you'll love as much as me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vidocq [DVD]
Vidocq [DVD] by Pitof (DVD)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews