Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2003
At long last, A Taste Of Pink, the much sought after debut album by the Medway hipsters, The Prisoners receives a long awaited reissue. True to form, The Prisoners deliver their songs with a great sense of passion and raw energy, influenced by the guitar crunching sounds of punk and with a firm salute and nod towards the sounds of 60s garage and psychedelia. A Taste Of Pink boasts a selection of quality unreleased material, such as live songs and obscure acetates. If you like the sounds of the 60s fused with a heavy dose of punk, then A Taste Of Pink comes highly recommended. Another class Prisoners reissue is, In From The Cold, which is well worth investigating. In the meantime, this album is nothing short of sublime and at the price one cannot go wrong-let the Prisoners take your quadrophonic speakers hostage!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Every person that is into music should have this album, fantastic songs by a legendary band that should have been massive, perhaps they were in the wrong decade for what was fashionable at that time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
Top top top band spent my formative years as a young mod, this was one of the best bands at that time often copied, (oasis), for one, never bettered. All there albums to the prime movers excellent, imagine if they had made it in 1982, 8 years before Manchester sound, we still have there back catalogue
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
I love The Prisoners with a huge passion and have done ever since seeing them on the long gone Channel 4 music programme The Tube 30 years ago, playing the amazing "Reaching My Head" dressed in Star Trek outfits in front of a bunch of maniacs that may well have been the also long gone Clarendon Ballroom in Hammersmith. I first picked up a copy of "Taste of Pink" in 1985/6 when it was repressed on pink vinyl in a pink sleeve - I think the first press was black vinyl/white sleeve. No matter, the point is the music. And the music is good, occasionally on tracks like 'Better in Black', "Morning Light" and "Don't Call My Name" they transcend good and become great. Great in a way that every song on their masterpiece, "The Last Four Fathers" is GREAT and is really where anyone coming to their illustrious back catalogue should start. "A Taste of Pink" is the start of something special, embryonic, the band hadn't quite hit their stride on this first outing. There's quite a lot of filler on this record for me, good filler but filler all the same. By the time of the second lp "Wisermiserdemelza", the band had already come on light years from this debut, their chops were pretty much there and their attack was right on it. I wouldn't put anyone off buying this record, I just think in terms of The Prisoners career, its easily their weakest and that is a very good thing in my opinion. Most bands shoot their bolt on their first record. The Prisoners just got better and better. Investigate this record with that thought in mind. Three.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2004
Raw, energetic and melodic, this album of mod/garage/psych blew me away when I first heard it in 1983, the year after it's initial self-financed release by the band. I played it to death and still listen to the CD version regularly today, my original autographed vinyl copy being safely tucked away where the cat can't chew on it! The Prisoners (named after a single by The Vapors - not the TV series) were an exciting aural oasis of the true rock'n roll spirit in the musical wasteland that was the mid 1980s. So unlike anything else of the time their sound continued in the tradition of the more aggressive 1979/80 mod revival bands mixed with late 60s influences such as The Small Faces, Doors and Pretty Things. If you dig this sort of stuff or if you're a fan of the recent garage rock bands such as D4, Vines and Hives etc then this is definitely worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2008
Got this vinyl 1st time round on skydog label after seeing them loads of times in Hammersmith, often with thee Milkshakes. (or should say shared the boxing ring)They where like some kinda flowerpower hooligans. Exellent live band, raw, funny, exciting, different. This was all before madchester and the charts were dominated by utter shiht (blacklace, Minogue...)
This album captures them at their best before the exellent psychadelic Wizerdimizer and more the professinal but cleaner count down albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
Bought "In from the Cold" in vinyl back in the 80s and loved it. Recently purchased it on MP3, fell in love with it again and decided to further explore The Prisoners offering. Taste the Pink is a little more raw than In from the Cold but this is part of The Prisoners charm. The melodies and the sixties rhythms are excellent. He do they manage to write so many excellent songs. If you like 60s inspired guitar music you will love his
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
My Fave band, love all their stuff, if you like a good 60's sound then listen to these guys
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2003
How did I manage to miss out on these guys first time round! Looking for something a bit different? Bored of the endless pre-fabricated similar-sounding boy or girl band stuff? Look no further than The Prisoners. Loud, upbeat, often raw, 60s sound from the 80s. A few tracks, like Lilac reflections, have an indie-like sound that I am sure would do well if released as singles today. Well worth the price!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)