Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
47
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2003
Well no one ever admits to buying one of her albums but selling over 150 million albums worldwide and shes been knocking around for over 20 years would you believe , from her humble beginnings in quebec (canada) and france to hugh hits such as My heart will go on which scored her the biggest single of 1998 an oscar and a couple of Grammy's which she added to her cabinet of awards .On each release she amazes me each time with her beautiful voice and such great material this album is brought her slap bang up to date with modern pop songs but still with the love ballad theme which she is so famous for. From the title track 'One Heart' which is a lively upbeat song to I drove all night her first release from the album along with 'Naked' and " Reveal' which are strong and funky showing the best of her voice and proves she can really sing modern upbeat songs as well as ' Sorry for love' and 'In his touch' the ballards on this album, Throughout this album the songs show all her styles of singing. Some of the songs on this album she will be performing at her new three year concert 'A New Day' in vegas which also gives a feel of her more modern approach to songs and by releasing this album I think Sony are hopping to catch a broader fan base as well as pleasing her current fans across the world. In my own view celine is the best female artist of our time. And if she can continue to move with the times she will be around for a hopefully another 20 years.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2003
My faith in Celine Dion was dying. Undeniably, her voice was and is remarkable, but some of her songs of late had frankly been worrying. Though 'A New Day has Come' may have been embraced by relieved Celine fans, it was no masterpiece. From her signature power ballads to dance to dodgy R&B, Celine's blitz on countless styles of music was confusing. Many of the tracks seemed over produced and /or badly mixed (what on earth went wrong with 'I'm Alive'?'). Thankfully, it seems that 'One Heart' is a strong, focused offering with straightforward contemporary pop as its mainstay. It's very much a 2003 version of 'Falling Into You.'
'One Heart' starts with Celine's funky version of Roy Orbison's 'I Drove all Night.' People say it lacks soul, but this version is worked around groovy dance rhythms, so it's not exactly going to be a 'My heart Will Go On', is it? Take it for what it is, and that's a really energetic opening to the album (and first single). Max Martin provides some breezy tracks like 'Faith' and the impressive 'In his Touch'. The middle tracks are broadly upbeat, easy going, feel-good kind of stuff. Celine's vocals sore in 'I Know What Love is', and the closing track 'Je t'aime Encore', with a great acoustic accompaniment. Mostly strong songs then, except for the reworked 'Sorry for Love' which limps along dangerously with kind of calypso undertones - dire. And what about 'Have You Ever Been in Love?' Haven't we already heard that?!
I am honest when I say that I recommend this album. It's fresh and more simple than former disks. Although I'm a fan of Celine Dion, I'm not blind to the fact that Sony has been churning out some pap lately knowing full well that Dion's megawatt sales tally would keep growing. Celine isn't resting on her laurels here though - 'One Heart' delivers, and really does deserve the five stars. Superb voice, great songs. Nice photos too - What a hat! Thanks Celine!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
Let me start by saying I am a huge Celine fan and she is the person who made me love the usually boring adult contemporary genre and the French language, which I had always hated. I own all her albums, singles, compilations, and DVDs. But, let's be honest here, this is the most shallow English-language album she has ever released. A weird and rushed production, juvenile lyrics, banal ballads, and an obvious lack of quality. It was probably a matter of the record label that attempted to market her then-upcoming residency show and win over new fans, but in the meantime she just ended up alienating her older ones. 'Love Is All We Need' is not the pop-R&B that dominated the charts in 2003 whereas 'One Heart' was no club banger. 'Faith' is a sweet song and 'In His Touch' is an acceptable ballad, nevertheless below the standards of, say, 'Falling into You' or 'I Surrender'. 'Have You Ever Been Love?' is exactly the same version that appeared on "A New Day Has Come" one year ago whereas 'Sorry for Love' from the same album appears on this one in its demo form. The last three ballads are extremely boring and the childish 'Coulda Woulda Shoulda' is not an original tune either, we have heard it on the special edition of, wait, "A New Day Has Come". In the end, all I could really enjoy are the first single 'I Drove All Night' cover and 'Reveal'.

I seriously doubt that Celine is also proud of this album. If she had been, she would have performed more songs from it on her shows. Now all we have is 'I Drove All Night'.

Thankfully she crafted a back to basics album with "Taking Chances" 4.5 years later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2003
Well, this is Celine back to basics...and basics is better. With 'A New Day Has Come', Celine's comeback album, it all seemed a bit too overdone. It was an album that tried to please everyone and in my opinion it failed to hit the mark. BUT 'One Heart' hits the spot. All the songs on the album are simple and don't have huge background music like what was on the last album.
'I Drove All Night' is an excellent song to start the album, it's infectious, and you just want to get up and dance.
'Love Is All We Need' has a good beat to it but I think it sounds a bit too poppy for Celine. Nevertheless it's a great song that delivers.
'Faith' is one of my favourite songs on this album. It has a great tune, and a simple backdrop that doesn't take away from Celine's voice. It's a song that can lighten up anybody's dark day.
'In His Touch' is a slow ballad, again very simple with an easy listening backdrop and it is such a lovely song.
'One Heart'...everybody together now ONE HEART! This song is another highly infectious one. It's a song that you can sing along too and dance too.
'Stand By Your Side' is a great song that shows how good Celine Dion is as a singer. It's Celine at her best and it's sure too be a lot of people's favourite.
'Naked' is a powerful song, which doesn't need a powerful backdrop. Celine's voice is all that's needed to deliver the song to it's full potential.
'Sorry For Love' and 'Have You Ever Been In Love' are two songs off the last album. To be honest, I don't know why they where put on this album because they don't add anything new to it. As I wasn't a great fan of the last album, these two songs are just okay.
'Reveal' is my favourite song on this album. Celine's voice is haunting in the beginning and she immediately changes into a powerful force in the chorus. This is a brilliant song.
'Coulda Woulda Shoulda' was written by the guys that wrote some of the songs on the last album. This is a bit too europop for my liking. The words and the way Celine sings the song are great but the tune to the song is very poppy but other than that it's an okay song.
'Forget Me Not' is one of the songs on this album that brings Celine back to the old days. Everything about the song is great.
'I Know What Love Is' continues the brilliance of this album. This song shows why so many people around the world love Celine...her voice.
'Je T'Aime Encore' feels like a classic song. It's a wonderful song, and again shows how this album is going to be a success. Its back to basics, back to Celine's best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
Celine's second album within a year which may be her last for three years due to her stint in Las Vegas. This album carries off where "A new day has come" left off, being more of a pop album than her previous albums.
The first indication is the first song and single "I drove all night" a cover of the Roy Orbson classic. She sings it with a dance beat to it which makes the song seem lifeless this song is about desire it should be sung with pure emotion which celine lacks in her voice, not a wise choice for a cover. The second song "Love is all we need" is less dance and more pop but it suits celine perfectly one of the stand out tracks that could appeal to all ages, i think this should have opened up the album. "Faith" for me sounds like it doesn't know what to be, it starts off with a 80's feel but then develops into a pop song which is a cross between her 1999 song "That's the way it is" both songs are written by Max Martin, which results in a medicore pop song.
After three uptempo songs the album finally has the inevitable ballad (no celine album would be complete). "In his touch" also written by Martin but i think one of his best, it has a spanish sound with heartfelt lyrics another of the outstanding tracks. Then the title track "One heart" ARGH! this is the worst song on the album i can imagine S Clubs Juniors singing this. "Stand by your side" another ballad that is not unlike Enrique Iglesias' "Hero" but considering it was written by the same people it comes as no suprise. "Naked" a mid-tempo pop song that is catchy but sounds like "Faith". So far it's been an good pop album.
Now it get's confusing "Sorry for love" (2003) the original was in last years album, if you take out the dance beat the song is the same, maybe it would have been better as a b-side rather than an album track. "Have you ever been in love" also on last years album but it's exactly the same, why is it on this album? In saying that it is a very beautiful song. A new song "Reveal" written by Cathy Dennis it's an ok dance song but i don't think it's suited to Celine.
Back to what Celine does best "Coulda Woulda Shoulda" not to be confused with Beverly Knight's song of the same name, but this is a funky song one of the best on the album and Celine sings it to perfection, i can imagine her singing it in concert, it would make a good single. "Forget me not" would not sound out of place on a Britney Spears cd but it has a feel good sound to it. "I know what love is" this is moore like the old Celine similar to the ballads on "Let's talk about love" from 1997. "Je t'aime encore" again i'm a bit confused the french hit from 1995 but in 2003 it's now acoustic and in english bit it's the best song on the album for her voice she sings it beautifully.
Celine has recently gone down the same route as Whitney (career wise), both when younger sang songs that appealed to the older generation but now they sing song to appeal to a younger audience. I think for Celine it's both positive and negative with last year's album Celine would have appealed to both generations but with "One heart" it'a mainly directed to the younger generation this may discourage her fans who have been with her since the beginning but she may not gain new fans. However as a pop album it is very polished sometimes a new direction can do the world of good, if she stayed the same then she'd be boring. She sings pop like it's supposed to be sang. Not her greatest album but would not disgrace a pop fans collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2003
This long-awaited new album from Celine is well worth the wait, and Celine fans will not be disappointed with the content. As on past recordings, the wide range of different musical styles will appeal to many different tastes - whether it be from Celine's upbeat version of Roy Orbison's classic "I Drove all Night", "Love is All We Need", and the title track "One Heart", to the more relaxing ballads of "In His Touch" and "Have You Ever Been in Love". A surprise upbeat chorus is included in the otherwise gentle "Reveal", and a further surprise comes in "Je T'Aime Encore", where the words are mostly in English! Celine fans will love this album and she has, once again, created an emotional link with the listener through many of the songs. Fans listening to the album may like to take special notice of the words to "Faith", "Have You Ever Been in Love" and "I Know What Love is" because Celine certainly has a way of putting great feeling into them, thus providing words where thoughts and emotions cannot be described. Welcome back Celine - We Missed you!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2003
I'm completely torn between giving this album one star, or five. for pop music, it isn't bad at all. In fact, I did a slight experiment with this and gave my ear piece to my thirteen year old sister (in the midst of 'love is all we need) who exclaimed 'Is that Britney?'. So, Celine, thats five stars for your average pop music, considering that our charts are dominated by the likes of Beyonce, J- lo and sean paul.
But as a long standing Celine fan, I tried desperately to love this album but I failed, miserably. after having listened to the songs over and over again, searching for some the of 'real celine' that her fans will know about, i finally hit the nail on the head. the original, inspiring, breathtaking lyrics of her old albums were not there. Her voice the same, the music still -kind -of-not-bad, but the words! 'one heart you are following', 'right beside you is where i'll stay' were corny and childish.wheres the old celine we know?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2004
One Heart Celine's follow up to the multi million selling comeback album A New Day Has Come is a little dissapointing.Opening track I Drove All Night sees Celine at her very best as she belts out a classic tune.Emotional ballads In His Touch written by talented songwriter Max Martin and Stand By Your Side are two other album highlights.However with the inclusion of another version of Sorry For Love and Have You Ever Been In Love which both appear on A New Day Has Come the album loses its way.Terrible songs follow with Forget Me Not and Coulda Woulda Shoulda.This album could be the last English album we get from Celine for a while and although a little dissapointing One Heart continues Celine's dominance as the greatest female artist the world has seen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2003
Celine Dion has a voice which would inspire angels and this new albumn demonstrates that such a voice cannot be contained within one sound. New upbeat covers and catchy tunes lay alongside deeper and more thoughtful pieces in this menagerie of brilliance. If you're a Celine fan, click the button to buy it. If not, you know where the button is anyway.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
What can i say but BUY BUY BUY!!! Celine Dion is one of the greatest Singers of our time.This CD has such a lovely selection of tracks.You get to hear how wonderful her voice is and how good the tracks our.I have played this CD many a time and will continue to do so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)