Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Showing them all how it should be done...
Paul McCartney's new album "Back In The World" is a real treat. For any sceptics in the vicinity, this 2-disc set is not merely a run of the mill collection of sub-standard renditions of his back catalogue. Indeed, I prefer the live renditions of certain songs on this album to their original versions recorded, in some cases, over thirty years ago (personally, I prefer the...
Published on 20 Mar 2003 by james_thurman

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Time to hang up your plectrum, Paul
I hardly ever write a review on Amazon, only if something is exceptionally good - or exceptionally bad. Unfortunately, with 'Back in the World', we are in the latter category.
What the blurb might tell you is that this album includes many of McCartney's classics. What is doesn't tell you is that you are about to hear him murder them. Whilst these songs may have...
Published on 1 April 2003 by S. Foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Showing them all how it should be done..., 20 Mar 2003
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
Paul McCartney's new album "Back In The World" is a real treat. For any sceptics in the vicinity, this 2-disc set is not merely a run of the mill collection of sub-standard renditions of his back catalogue. Indeed, I prefer the live renditions of certain songs on this album to their original versions recorded, in some cases, over thirty years ago (personally, I prefer the versions of "My Love" and "Coming Up" presented here). The man's voice is in stunning form - notably better than on his tour of the early 1990's, in my opinion. The recording sessions of the wonderful studio album, Driving Rain (from which several numbers are featured on this live album, including the sublime "Your Loving Flame") and his marriage to Heather Mills seem to have instilled new confidence and vitality into his performance.
McCartney's new touring band (the energetic Abe Laboriel Jnr. on the drum kit, Rusty Anderson on lead guitar, Brain Ray on bass and rhythm guitar and Paul "Wix" Wickens on keyboards of all kinds) gel effectively and each faithfully recreate the well known parts they play. All of them contribute backing vocals - on some occasions, it is difficult to distinguish their backings from the familiar Lennon & Harrison parts on the Beatles numbers. Wix on keyboards contributes some gorgeous orchestration when called upon to do so - "She's Leaving Home" being a particularly
Speaking of Beatles numbers, McCartney treats us on this show - 23 of them are given the treatment of his new band. "Getting Better" is performed for the first time ever by McCartney since it was "left on a shelf" after the 1967 opus "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" The remainder of the 36 tracks comprise standouts from his Wings and solo years.
The level of excitement and energy that comes across is overwhelming - McCartney may be 60 years old now, but if this CD is anything to go by, few could suggest he was sounding it. Numbers such as "I Saw Her Standing There", "Can't Buy Me Love" and "All My Loving" sound like they have been pulled straight out of a 1964 concert in all but one respect - modern amplification allows him to be heard over the screaming crowd! McCartney's instrumental performance is commendable too - his versatility showing as he switches from his famous Hofner violin bass to grand piano, electric guitar, electric piano and acoustic guitar (on which he performs a number of solo numbers which sound like very personal studio demos and provide a wonderful contrast to the more rocking numbers). He also switches to ukelele to perform a touchingly nostalgic "Something" to the memory of George Harrison. John Lennon is also remembered with a song few ever thought would appear in his live show - "Here Today".

By the way, I'm not a 50-something who is still not over 60's Beatlemania - I'm an 18 year old who is somehow managing to re-live the whole experience almost forty years later down the timeline. I recommend this live collection to all fans of good music and a good show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Back In The World" Paul McCartney's Tour De Force, 24 Mar 2003
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
Back In The World is one of the best live recordings ever released. Amazingly, McCartney sings and plays better then ever. Stand out tracks are Getting Better, Every Night, Carry That Weight, Something, Back In The USSR and Maybe I'm Amazed. This release is superior to the Back In The US collection because She's Leaving Home, Michelle, Let'em In and Callico Skies have been added. I was fortunate to see this tour when it came to New York's Madison Square Garden and the recording captures the mood and excitement experienced by those in attendance. McCartney's youthful band plays with a rockier edge then previous lineups and this seems to suit Paul and his material much better. Paul sounds re-vitalized, re-juvenated and I look forward to his next studio recording. Long live Paul McCartney. God Bless !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Live Legend, 13 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
I was fortunate to get a ticket to Sir Paul's last show of this tour in the King's Dock in Liverpool on 1st June 2003. Of course we Merseysiders got 4 hours and 8 or 9 extra songs not included on this album such as "Maggie Mae", "Two of Us", and "I've Just Seen a Face" plus "Yellow Submarine" for Ringo. Macca truly plays to his strengths on this album. If ,like me, you were not even born when the Beatles packed in touring then this was truly the next best thing (maybe even better!). Paul plays to his strengths and includes an amazing back catalogue that perhaps no other living composer can emulate. The Beatles classics are all here from All My Loving to Let it Be. Even those never played live "Eleanor Rigby", "She's Leaving Home" , "Getting Better" and "Here, There and Everywhere" sound fresh but true to the originals.
"Band on the Run" (a Wings song) was the big surprise for me as this literally made Liverpool rock and honestly got the biggest cheer of the night ! All the other solo hits are here including "Live & Let Die" , "My Love" and "Jet" plus an interesting acoustic section with Paul alone on guitar.
The Flaming Pie track "Calico Skies" also sounds much better with a full band and we are spared the dull "Mull of Kintyre" and "Ebony & Ivory" type slush that really sucks.
This album is a great retrospective of Sir Paul McCartney's highs of his career. The only criticism I would say is that they edited out all of his inbetween-song banter.
You may be a "Lennon" fan (who was the leader of the band) but McCartney was in , my opinion, the underlying force in the Beatles. So what I'm saying is that this really is a great live album by a man who will be remembered long after you and me have gone. This is better than any of Paul's previously live albums and is also a good representation of his work for 40 years. Fans will love it . Newcomers wanted a bit more depth should also purchase this as a great introduction to Macca. If you are just a Lennon fan then give Macca a chance he was actually just as good in a slightly different way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe We're Amazed, 11 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
For those unable to get a ticket for Paul McCartney's latest sold out tour, this 36 track CD gives the listener a good feel for the energy and power of the ex-Beatle's 2003 live show. Back in the 1970's, when many like me listened to his first solo live outing, 'Wings Over America' the reluctance to include many songs from his previous and more famous band was very obvious, but 30 years on there is no such shyness about featuring the songs which succeeding generations have grown to love, with almost three-quarters of the album dedicated to his Beatles legacy.
Perhaps the death of George Harrison has made the inclusion of more Beatles songs all the more poignant, but who can complain about the selection of songs when the set list contains 'Back in the USSR', 'Michelle', 'Let It Be', 'The Fool on the Hill' and 'Michelle'? There are some surprises too, with versions of songs like 'Mother Nature's Son', 'Getting Better' and 'She's Leaving Home' not previously played live by McCartney. Despite all the debate about writing credits in recent years, songs dedicated to both John Lennon (''Here Today') and Harrison (the ukelele driven 'Something') provide a fitting tribute to both.
There are still highlights from the Wings and solo era, including three tracks from 'Band On the Run', and a superb version of my favourite solo track 'Maybe I'm Amazed'.
Given the familiarity of the material, it is the energy and impetous given by the young and largely new band employed by McCartney which really bring this album to life - there are new arrangments on some songs, and Abe Laboriel on drums is simply a revelation.
If you're a Beatles purist, then this might not be for you - but for those of us who who don't remember the sixties first time around, then this is still a reminder of that amazing legacy, reinterpreted by one of the men who created it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in the World of Nostalgia, 13 April 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Bolton, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
This is the CD version of the Back in the World Tour by Paul McCartney. I saw this concert at the MEN Arena in Manchester on Wednesday 9 April 2003 and it was utterly brilliant!
More than half of the tracks are Beatles' numbers and some (Eleanor Rigby, She's Leaving Home) are performed live for the first time, as they were originally recorded after the Beatles had stopped touring. They range from early Beatles numbers (I Saw Her Standing There) to the later (Back in the USSR) and from well known (Hey Jude - remember Party at the Palace?) to lesser known (Blackbird).
For me the most poignant track is Paul playing Something on ukelele as a tribute to George Harrison. Something is perhaps the most famous song that George wrote (recorded by Shirley Bassey amongst others) and Paul played this on ukelele as George was a member of the George Formby Fan Club.
Other tracks are from Paul's time after the Beatles, with songs to his late wife Linda (My Love) and for his present wife Heather.
Paul appeals to all age groups - witness the audience - teenagers and parents enjoying the same concert. This CD is a reminder of a truly great night with a truly great musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maccas back and as good as ever plus a bit more, 1 April 2003
By 
Mr. GF Settle (Cheshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
This is Paul putting a show on like only he can, full of enthusiasm, passion and a life time of memories for anyone whose lived through the Beatles era and beyond.From the first track you know it's going to be good, recorded on tour you just get carried away with the audience and join in, it must have been a fantastic tour.There are some great renditions of the Lennon and McCartney classics as well as those he co-wrote with Lynda and Something by George. It's 2 hours packed with great music and tremendous backing by his tour band to the 36 songs.All your favourites should be here and they are all done justice.I remember all those parties I used to go to in Liverpool when people used to hum one Beatle tune and an impromptu evening of singing Beatle songs would begin and go on for ages.I'm sure that this CD will be played at many parties in the near future and for many years to come make sure that your party is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll make this short and sweet...!, 25 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
A gorgeous, thrilling, 2 CD album of 36 fantastic songs, with Paul McCartney singing with the gusto and enthusiasm of a guy 40 years younger than him playing with an extremely talented band who happily tear through a cracking selection of his best songs, from the early Beatles right up to Driving Rain, with abandon. The production is raw. The crowd are going absolutely crazy. You will to.
What more do you want to know?
My highlights - "Band On The Run" kicking off, "Let 'Em In" charming the pants of me, "I Saw Her Standing There" making me giddy and "Let It Be" bringing a lump to my throat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a masterpiece..., 18 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
A good album to play to the 'Lennon was better' contingent - this really shows Paul's songs at their best. Back in the USSR and Live and Let Die are as blistering as you might expect (pity Birthday, which he played on my birthday at Earl's Court, wasn't on it) and so is Live and Let Die, as might be expected. The unexpected bonus is how many of the solo songs sound really good as well; it makes you appreciate that they were written for live performance rather than studio or home consumption. Jet, Band on the Run and others are vastly better than the originals and make this a worthwhile buy by themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing... Truly amazing.., 7 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. R. A. Bones "Bob" (Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
I love my music from Beatles to Zappa and a lot more in between. This album is amazing. It is what every Beatle fan wanted to hear thirty years ago, but don't compare with what could of been. Listen to this without prejudice.. It stirs the emotions as the memories come flooding back. This is the first Paul Mac album I have ever bought. I am a Lennon fan! This album highlights the talents of the man, and the band.. and highlights how I have had my head in the sand.. Brilliant entertainment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmacked, 5 April 2003
By 
Anthony Paul Caton (Naples, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back In The World (Audio CD)
I bought Macca's "Back in the World" full of trepidation that
here we go again another assault on Simplistic Lyrics and the
churning syndrome. I thought just maybe that I could pull out my 3 album set "Wings over America" (circa 1976) and expose the flaws with a direct comparison. This
would give me a clue to the fundamentals of this CD and some ammunition to throw. Wow big mistake,
AWESOME. Thanks PMc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back in the World
Back in the World by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews