Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars446
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2007
Having just ead "evil castus" review i have to say and i dont mean to offend evil cactus but his review is most probably one of the most ignorant i have ever read. I have a new appreciation for this movie since I discovered that Pinochhio is not really a little boy, but indeed a Teenager! He goes through all the typical teenage crises such as lying to get his own way, bunking school, seeking to live life for pleasure, and wanting to be a famous star He argues with his conscience (Jiminey Crickett) through all his crises. He doesn't become a "real boy" (man) until he does something selfless, risking his own life to save his own father. It is a brilliant analogy of the journey of a teenager from childhood to adulthood! so reading "evil cactus review and him quoting this disney film is for babies needs to sit back and watch it again and take note and realise that disney is for children and adults alike and also see that pinocchio is indeed something special and its not just about visuals but its also about morals and children can learn something from watching it <even adults> hope this helps fellow amazon users..
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Beautiful classic disney movie, see all the reviews. Glad i bought it here. We had the video for the kids, but now i wanted the bluray for myself:)

Unfortunately, with my Philips Blu-ray Disc player BDP7300 i cannot watch all the extra's. no deleted scenes, no making of.

There is no current driver update available (last one 2010)

The philips is a good player, so, let's hope for an upgrade.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Bought this for myself ( 49yr old mum and grandmother ) well why not?! I love my Disney too. I used to watch this when my son was just a little boy and now he has children of his own! My grandchildren watch this with me. It's wonderful to share with them the meanings of the story portrayed in the film as they enjoy the magic of Disney.
I would recommend this to any one who likes a good old fashioned favourite.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
This film is the most endearing of all Disney's full-length animation features, and, despite its age (it was made in 1940), it still remains fresh with every new viewing. This has as much to do with the perfect characterisations of the main protagonists as it does with the supreme quality of the animation and the picture's beautiful colour. The songs and musical interludes are also mainly memorable (high-lighted by the Oscar-winning and now classic "When You Wish Upon a Star"), but are not overbearing nor an infringement upon the story-telling and the morals and sentiments on which Collodi's fable are based. Some of the scenes, particularly that in the pool-room in which Lampwick mutates into an ass, achieve relevant moods and atmospheres which subsequent animators, even with the benefit of modern techniques, have never approached. With "Fantasia" (also released in 1940), this film marked the pinnacle of the Disney studio's development of the art of movie animation. Whilst the pictures of subsequent years continued to be hailed as classics and to achieve huge commercial success, none have surpassed the freshness, originality and technical innovation of Pinocchio and Fantasia.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
This is coming from a North American importer who bought this only to find out it is NOT region free as advertised. Tried on my PS3 and it stops at a message saying it was not for my region.

Otherwise this is a good "catch-up" release for those in the region since the movie is technically in the vault, but now re-released. Disney should definitely consider a North American release since I'm one of the many who missed out. This also seems to be the one of the exact same disc from the 2-Disc Platinum Edition since the PS3 shows the disc as "Disc 1".

Unless you have an all-region Blu-Ray player, do NOT import this. There are a lot of Disney Blu-Rays labeled with "Region Free" so do be careful. Returning this item was not fun as I had to pay for return shipping.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
For anyone who's a Special Features geek like myself!

FEATURE DISC

Music Video
- Meaghan Jette Martin - When You Wish Upon a Star

Disney Song Selection
- When You Wish Upon a Star
- Little Wooden Head
- Give a Little Whistle
- Hi Diddle Dee Dee
- I've Got No Strings

Audio Commentary With Leonard Maltin, Eric Goldberg and JB Kaufman

Pinocchio's Matter of Facts

BONUS DISC

Pinocchio Jigsaw Puzzles

Backstage Disney
- No Strings Attached: The Making of Pinocchio
- Deleted Scenes
- The Sweatbox
- Geppettos Then and Now
- Live Action Reference Footage
- Pinocchio Art Galleries
- Publicity
- Deleted Song: "Honest John"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
This DVD is really nice, I love it! It tells the storey of a toymaker who makes a little wooden puppet and how it comes to life. It tells of the lesson it learns on its quest to become a real boy! Such a nice film!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
the old ones are the best,so they say- you can't dispute this when it comes to disney's film portayal of classic stories- still entertaining to todays youngsters & a film the whole family can watch together
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
This was received very quickly, and in mint unopened condition. Very impressed with all round service. The movie itself, is timeless, giving my little girl the same enjoyment as I did as a child.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
I could watch this 1000 times and still it is fresh every time. My grandson never tires of it. A must to have at any age. Cartoons are just NOT made with such intimate precision these days.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.