Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damnation An A Day-From Genesis To Nemesis...
Biblical themes litter this epic masterpiece from the dimensions of filthy hell itself. The now five piece filth have created a majesterial album surely worthy of praise from Satan himself.
MUSIC
The music is amazing...filth have the fantastic ablilty to alter their sound according to concepts and themes within the songs, and that on which the album is based...
Published on 3 July 2003 by countvladimirdemagpyre

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars they say change is good, and the critics liked it, but......
I'm fairly new to cradle, having only about 18 months experience of their music. But what i do know is that this album WILL dissapoint those COF fans who and if have not already been turned-off in their droves. Why? Like has been written here before, no guitar duelling or even much (if any) emotional riff work like on Dusk, Cruelty and midian. the breakdown sections all...
Published on 9 Sep 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damnation An A Day-From Genesis To Nemesis..., 3 July 2003
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
Biblical themes litter this epic masterpiece from the dimensions of filthy hell itself. The now five piece filth have created a majesterial album surely worthy of praise from Satan himself.
MUSIC
The music is amazing...filth have the fantastic ablilty to alter their sound according to concepts and themes within the songs, and that on which the album is based upon. Guitars crash and destroy heavenly deities whilst Paul, Dave and the addition of keyboardist Martin riff themselves to death. Despite only having two guitarists after Gians sudden departure filth seem stronger angrier and more agressive than before. As Dani hinmself said..it certainly dosent sound like a two guitar album.
The music is incredibly strong pulling you into the tide of the story and concept whilst matching it admirably. The biblical theme is echoed in the riffs (SEE doberman pharoah) and filth and co have even added egyptian sounding instruments (think sitars!) to add depth to the sound.The only complaint i have of this album is the fact Martin hasn't done any instrumentals. He did however write the choir sections...but the album lacks something in the fact it doesn't include such masterpieces as Creatures that kissed in cold mirrors...which i feel is a dying shame.
VOCALS
Next the addition of a 30 piece choir and film orchestra...which filth forked out thousands for...contribute heavily to the theme and sounds..layering Damnation with thickly textured angelic voices. Giving the album the quality of a horror soundtrack...Dani only completes the aural fest with his own unique and unrivaled vocals. Shrieks and tortured screams rent the air...hisses and spoken passages...prattled between deep dark grunts...in his own words these seriously are 'Dark Immortal Screams!'. Sarah Jezebel Deva also adds a heavenly touch with her also unrivaled and beautiful vocals particularly (my own fav) mannequin, in which she excels. Overall the album is littered with a huge peppering of all sex/type/range of vocals..becomming an increidbly rich offering...not forgetting narration from a fellow fiend from the Cradle of fear movie...reciting passages from the Holy Bible!!!!
CONCEPT AND PACKAGING
Once again an epic concept from Messrs Filth. The album traces the life of Feriluce (rearrange the letters to get Lucifer!)..from banishment from Hell...various romantic aqaintances he meets along the way...to nemesis. Not my favorite concept, and not as vampyric as some may like...but unarguably great! Design once again by John Coultard...each page of the cd booklet traces the story with exceptional graphic design and illustrational skills. This is a beautifully packaged and designed album-very apocalyptic and gothic.
This is definately an essential buy for any fans of Horror, Vampyres, and of course filth! Absolutely exceptional!
BEST TRACKS
Promise Of Fever, Serpent Tongue, Mannequin, Doberman Pharoah, Thank God For The Suffering.
I just wonder how Filth are going to develop from this album...and how they will manage to create a piece that excels Damnation........??
Darkest Wishes.....
To Damnation and beyond
Count Vladimir De Magpyre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COF's Major Label Debut - my opinion, 18 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
This, as you've probably read above, is Cradle of Filth's major label debut. Before this release, they've been on various labels, from Music for Nations to Abracadaver. In order to understand just how great this album is requires an examination of their previous releases.
First off, it should be said that if black metal isn't your thing, you probably won't like this album at all. It does have some classical appeal. However, if you prefer the musings of the likes of Coldplay this probably won't be your bag.
There was one thing that let down every album previous to "Damnation and a Day" - budget. Instead of swathes of strings and choirs of angelic voices we got the 'General Midi sound-a-likes'. (Though, to be fair, Dani Filth and co were doing the best they could.)
But now on a major label, the obviously very talented Mr Filth and company have secured the services of a large orchestra and an equally large choir. Substituted for the ‘MIDI’ affair of previous albums, the music now truly sounds epic, sweeping, and full of gothic majesty.
The long and the short of it: if you like your music heavy, gothic, beautiful, slightly unhinged and at times scary, Damnation and a Day is truly superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Haven't Sold Out, 5 April 2005
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
I keep hearing from certain reviews that cradle have sold out on this album. Yes, its different from Midian and Cruelty but in no shape or form have they sold out on this album. Theres stil the satanic and evil lyrics, heavy riffs and amazing drums. Dani's voice is still the same and as long as it stays like that Cradle will never be classed as sell outs. This is the longest album they have made clocking at 75 minutes. There are 5 instrumentals and 12 songs.
Song by Song -
Promise of fever - excellent start to the album, the first few notes are amazing as are the lyrics - 10/10
Hurt & Virtue - another brilliant heavy track. 9/10
Enemy led the tempest - one of the best on the album. more heavy drums and bass. 10/10
Better to reign in hell - fantastic, another excellent track. Dani's vocal is out of this world. - 10/10
Serpent tongue - not a great track. Quite tedious 8/10
Carrion - another great track. 10/10
mordant liquer of tears - ok, but nothing great - 8/10
presents from the poisened hearted - second best track on the album. love dani's vocal on this - 10/10
Babylon AD - great track, one of the singles. 9/10
Manequin - the first track i ever heard by Cradle. Didnt like them to start of but eventually got into it. excellent track. - 10/10
Thank god for the suffering - excellent ballad type song. 9/10
the smoke of her burning - without doubt the best track on the album - 10/10
there are five instrumentals, each one is very dark and atmospheric. brilliant 5/5 for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars first major label but has the sound of cradle gone?, 6 Mar 2003
By 
B. Blake (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
It seems years ago when the cradle boys entered the studio to record this album but anyway here it is, in all 17 tracks and 77 mins worth of music.
The first thing you will noticed about this album is that the production is a great deal better and a 60 piece orchestra is used throughout the album due to a fatter wallet. The album also seems to have a lot of new fresh ideas and a different direction has certainly been used here. It seems that the cradle are trying hard to impress again just like in the early days.
The album has an extreme edge to it right from the beginning and tracks like "An Enemy Led The Tempest" shows the progression of the band into their new agression, with ferocious drumblasts and crunching guitar riffs. There is also a sort of catchier side to this album and often you will sing riffs or lyrics in your head for no reason,"Serpent Tongue" is a good example.
Dani's voice is very varied and there are even hints of type o negative parts throughout which give the album that extra strength. The songs are too varied as you have slow tunes, fast and mid tempo due to the number of songs on the album.
The only thing this album lacks is that killer stand out tune. Yes some do come close but there isn't that "cruely brought thee orchids" or "her ghost in the fog" that makes this album that wow factor. In all its glory "Damnation and a day" should keep cradle fans happy as well as making new ones, however they have still not,and probably will never beat their reign back in '96 and '98, when there albums were masterpieces. Although it is a good album this album falls short of their previous efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Effort From Cradle Of Filth, 18 Feb 2004
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
This is Cradle Of Filth's major label debut, and it is a LOT better than expected. I know quite a few people slated this for not having the atmosphere of albums like "Dusk...And Her Embrace" or not being as fast and heavy as "Principal Of Evil Made Flesh". I really like this album though, and no, i am not a new fan of Cradle Of Filth i have got everything they have done and have been listening to them since 1994.
The Band: Dani's vocals are on top form. Plenty of shrieks and screams which can suddenly change to a dark whisper. Like him or loathe him, he is extremely talented. Paul's guitars are again on top form, the riffs coming heavy and fast, as well as the lighter song(s) (I.E. Serpent's Tongue). Dave Pybus is an extremely talented bassist, which is why it is a shame that his basslines don't always shine through. Adrian Erlandsson is the second best drummer (losing out to Trym from Emperor) which is why i was really glad that the drums have a nice full sound, and can be heard properly now, which is what the older albums lacked. Martin is also a great keyboard player, and this can be heard. Sarah Jezebel Deva is also on top form providing the beautiful backing vocals.
On top of all that they have now included a full orchestra, making their instrumentals even better.
So Ignore all the haters and give it a try, you will be pleasantly surprised. Just don't expect another "Dusk.." or "Principal Of Evil.." clone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars they say change is good, and the critics liked it, but......, 9 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
I'm fairly new to cradle, having only about 18 months experience of their music. But what i do know is that this album WILL dissapoint those COF fans who and if have not already been turned-off in their droves. Why? Like has been written here before, no guitar duelling or even much (if any) emotional riff work like on Dusk, Cruelty and midian. the breakdown sections all just seem to be un-cradle like keyboards. the intro is great along with the first 2 mins of the first track (The promise of fever.) Actually, the pieces of this album i enjoyed most were the intstrumentals, which are damn fine actually. but there are too many songs just blasting power chords in our faces. Adrian's drumming is as always, exceptional, and very heavy and clear. The standout of this album is in my opinion 'Mannequin', and 'The smoke of her burning', which are the only songs that have (in places) any of Cradles captivating moments. Go try 'Cruelty', Dusk or tPOEMF, before this almost power metal release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars filthy stuff, 18 Jun 2003
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
having read the dimmu borgir reviews, which seemed more intent on slagging off COF, im glad to be able to praise the latter for this gothic masterpiece.having only been recently interested in gothic music, my friend recommended Damnation And A Day to me and i was exptremely pleasantly surprised.Arguably their best effort yet, the album contains a mixture of sounds, making it a very rounded record. Outstanding tracks include The Promise Of Fever, Better To Reign In Hell, Doberman Pharoah, and Presents For The Poison-Hearted, all demonstrating COF's incredible skill and efficiency whilst playing their instruments.The hell-bent guitar riffs and pulverising drumming leave you breathless.The more orchestral tracks also add a nice touch, showing that Cradle are not simply metal maniacs but definitely have a talent for writing compelling melodies.Definitely worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN THORNOGRAPHY, WITH FANTASTIC ORCHESTRAL PASSAGES!, 17 Jun 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
Whatever your views on this band, I'd urge anyone who is into Symphonic Metal to not miss out on this!
I'm no expert on the band; the only other CD I have is Thornography. Of the 2 albums, I MUCH prefer this one (I found Thornography lacking apart from 2 or 3 songs).
What elevates this is the major use of the 80 strong Budapest Film Orchestra and Choir - this is the only COF album, that uses a REAL full orchestra, due to Sony Music coughing up the cash to fulfill the band's symphonic ambitions. It's awesome in arrangement, performance & production, REALLY complimenting the music. Seriously dark & demonic, totally at one with the album's 'Paradise Lost' Concept.
You tend to get approx. 2 minute, orchestral interludes between songs as well as heavy orchestration during the actual songs themselves.
Highlight classical pieces for me are Damned in Any Language - A Plague on Words (The choir, the brass section, SCARY!) & The Mordant Liquor of Tears, but every piece is equally good!
This also pushes the band hard - I enjoyed Dani Filth's Blackened Death Metal vocals (High shrieks, occasionally clean & lots of REALLY low, brutal phrasing) & genuineley clever lyrics. There's a lot of strong riffs and melodic leads, the bass is loud & clear and there's no shortage of double bass drum moments. Even without the orchestra & choir, this would be a far, far stronger album than Thornography is (too mainstream for me). Keyboards are present, but less obvious due to the prominence of the orchestra.
The production is flawless too, everything retains it's identity while still achieving a full on assault! As stated on the product description, the instrumental passages would really accompany the darker images of the LOTR movies - It's pure Cinema on a CD!!!!
Even if you have any prejudices over Cradle Of Filth, I'd strongly recommend this, especially if you liked Dimmu Borgir's Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia or Death Cult Armageddon. Or Therion's later (orchestral) releases, or even Metallica's S&M live album. This is top quality as far as this genre goes, and one of the most successful, Symphony Orchestra/Extreme Metal collaborations.

I'd really appreciate any comments regarding any more COF albums that are closer to this sound than Thornography. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive major label debut, 31 Jan 2004
By 
Mr Grant Elliot (Larbert, Stirlinghsire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
Cradles 1st album for sony has seen continue to produce quality metal. having the financial muscle fo sony behind sadly hasnt made much difference. The album is really good in terms of music, lyrics, sound and quality but it wasnt there best. The album with sonys help has helped the band break the US top 200 which no other black metal has done as well as have a top 40 uk single.
Allbeit not there best work the bands continues to grow and track like babylon ad show that growth. The down point? no label stability. After leaving music for nations they released 2 albums on there own abracadaver label as well as a best of. Despite the promise from sony they never kept there promise and after 1 release the band have signed for Roadrunner Records after a successfull ozzfest & US tour. This move should give the band some needed stability and with a new album out this summer im sure the band will continue to grow and be the best black metal band around.
This is a good album but they will get better. Its impressive in terms quality and production and its a must. So go and enjoy the wonders that are cradle of filth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will either love it or hate it, 30 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. M. White "Michael White" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damnation & A Day (Audio CD)
Originally I was put off from buying this album since I heard it was quite experimental. After having purchased it though I will have to disagree. The orchestra and CoF seem to work together in quite quirky ways.

For any CoF fans then I recommend this album to add to the collection, it is worth it. For anybody else quite interested in CoF then I would try some of their other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Damnation & A Day
Damnation & A Day by Cradle Of Filth (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews