Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Billy the Kid Ever
Young Guns was one of those films labelled as "A Western for the MTV generation," whatever that means.

Although this film is based on the life of legendary outlaw Billy the Kid it is in no way an accurate historical representation of his life and makes no attempt to suggest it.

What it does is takes a group of young (at the time) Hollywood actors...
Published on 7 Jan 2007 by Michael Jones

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong type of dvd
Wrong dvd for my player but didn't no this until after I had bought it, so it's useless to me!!!!
Published 5 months ago by sarah hooper


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Billy the Kid Ever, 7 Jan 2007
By 
Michael Jones "Western Fan" (Honiton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Young Guns [DVD] (DVD)
Young Guns was one of those films labelled as "A Western for the MTV generation," whatever that means.

Although this film is based on the life of legendary outlaw Billy the Kid it is in no way an accurate historical representation of his life and makes no attempt to suggest it.

What it does is takes a group of young (at the time) Hollywood actors labelled as the Brat Pack, who were in their acting prime and give them a chance to live up to their name in a tale of vengeance and corruption loosely based around the Lincoln County War.

Star of the show for me has to be Emilio Estevev, cast in his finest role as Billy the Kid. Estevez seems to possess the boyish cheek and arrogance that you can imagine the real Billy would have possessed.

The film is littered with action, gunfights and wise cracks and finishes off with an "against impossible odds," gunfight that will keep viewers entertained all the way through.

A good fun Western for those who just want to be entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Guns, 24 Nov 2003
This review is from: Young Guns [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This movie should be in everybodys DVD collection. The film toils with emotions throughout and brings a slight comic relief. Emilio Estevez shone as the major star, although packed out with many big names Charlie Sheen, Lou Diamond Phillips, Kiefer Sutherland, Dermot Mulroney, Terence Stamp and Jack Palance. Deserved more awards when released and holds as a great film 15yrs later. Westerns usually become dated very quick but this holds tension throughout. Its a must buy if you ask me!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'll make you famous", 7 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Young Guns [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
A very good film with a great cast. I have always hated Dick which means Charlie Sheen did a superb job in that role. Keifer Sutherland's Doc is a very sympathetic character who always seem torn between whats right and what has to be done. As for Emilio Estevez he really does a sterling job portraying Billy the Kid. His best acting performance I have seen (and yes I have seen the Mighty Ducks!). Lou Diamond Philips really finds his niche playing Chavez. The film itself then just blew me away, never a dull moment and not very predictable. The ending is great and not a weak point (e.g. Terminator 2) and I must have watched this film 12 times, it doesn't get old.
Westerns are rarely so good and the only other western I like as much is the Outlaw Josey Wales which says alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Young Guns 1 and 2, 10 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Young Guns [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Two great films to kick back and enjoy a few beers with. I have not tired of these since first seeing them back in the early nineties. Great Bon Jovi soundtrack worth getting from the second film. Emilio Estevez is superb as the wild eyed Billy The Kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice transfer, good movie., 13 Nov 2009
By 
Paul A. Lewis "Paul A J Lewis" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Young Guns [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought the UK Blu-Ray release of YOUNG GUNS after reading some of the negative reviews of the US Blu-Ray release - based on the negative comments about the US Blu-Ray release, I was expecting the worst. However, the Blu-Ray was as cheap as the DVD release so I threw caution to the wind. I've just watched the disc and am very pleased: in 720p or 1080p, I didn't see any evidence of the kind of saw-toothing that would indicate an interlaced transfer; there was no evidence of pixellation (the tinted opening credits sequence is processed in such a way that there is heavy grain in the image, as viewers familiar with the film will probably remember - this may create the illusion of pixellation that an earlier reviewer noted); and to my eyes, I really don't see strong evidence that this is an upconversion from a DigiBeta master - that's not to say this definitely isn't an upconversion, but only to assert that if it is, it wasn't readily apparent to me.

The film itself is pretty good, with a solid cast - and Jack Palance and Terence Stamp in strong supporting roles. It's not quite up there with Sam Peckinpah's bleak and booze-sodden PAT GARRETT AND BILLY THE KID, but what is? YOUNG GUNS is a modern Western in the classical mold - there's little that could be labelled 'revisionist' here. It's a well-shot, well-acted, well-written and all-round engaging modern Western.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Modern Western, 28 Jun 2007
This review is from: Young Guns [DVD] (DVD)
The script is cleverly written and there are scenes which will make you cry, make you laugh, make you shiver with excitement, and make you hate certain characters. These superbly written scenes are delivered by a perfect cast, with exceptional acting from Emilio Estevez and Lou Diamond Phillips in particular. The film focuses on the Lincoln County War, paying particular attention to the part played by the Regulators in this war. The Regulators and the few people on their side are shown in a positive light, and other parties involved are shown in a negative light. I believe this film is an accurate representation of the war and of those involved. I strongly recommend this outstanding film to everyone, whatever your interests, this film is a must see. If you have already seen this film but have not yet seen it's equally brilliant follow up 'Young Guns II' then you really should do, the sequel does this film justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're damn good too!, 22 July 2004
By 
Rhino "Rhino" (Frimley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Young Guns [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
One of the greatest westerns in modern times that holds its age very well indeed. My personal opinion was that Dermot Mulroney's performance as Dirty Steve was outstanding his unfortunate ending was a real pity because although the sequel is a very good film it lacks a "Dirty Steve" type character. All in all a must have for your DVD shelf. Try the special edition for a remastered DTS version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad history, great movie. . ., 29 April 2003
This review is from: Young Guns [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Emilio Estevez, Charlie Sheen, and Kiefer Sutherland are just a few of the all-star cast who fill out this film about outlaws set in the old west: The story of Billy the Kid & Co. Aside from the fact that its historical accuracy is more than highly questionable, the movie was more than entertaining.
Emilio Estevez plays William H. Bonney, a.k.a. Billy the Kid who was a runaway and an alleged murderer, who was taken in by Mr. John Tunstall, an English cattleman. Tunstall was murdered by a rival cattleman, a Mr. Murphy, played by Jack Palance. The movie goes on from there with a killing spree of those who were responsible for the death of Tunstall. The acting was great. "Dick," played by Charlie Sheen, was very good and one of Sheen's better roles. Lou Diamond Phillips was absolutely amazing as the Mexican Indian: Jose Chavez y Chavez. Charlie, played by Casey Siemasko, was a great and devoted friend, to Billy, and to the rest of the "Regulators."
It is said that Billy the Kid was no where near as arrogant, nor as trigger happy as the film portrays, but Estevez was rather impressive in his skills both as an actor and a gunslinger. Sutherland's "Josiah 'Doc' Scurlock" was an admirable man; full of character and class given the circumstances. Terrance Camp's role as "John Tunstall" was short-lived but excellent.
This movie is highly entertaining. I recommend it to anyone who likes a good Robin Hood story (who isn't terribly concerned of historical accuracy). It is fun to watch, and the cast is second to none.
epc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars William H Bonney, 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: Young Guns [VHS] [1989] (VHS Tape)
That main review above has not grasped the fun and enjoyment of this film. YOung Guns is a good, action film with great action scenes, an interesting (true) story and a hatful of great one-liners. I would strongly recommend this film as it has it all. IT is a shame that some people can not get of their high horses and enjoy such films!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'BILLY' 'DOC' 'CHAVEZ' 'DICK' 'STEVE' 'CHARLEY' ('PALS'), 7 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Young Guns [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favourite western of relatively recent times (1988)
Telling the story of how 'William H Bonney' and his 'Pals' became among
'America's' most wanted.
'John Tunstall' (Terence Stamp) a british ranch owner makes it his business
to try and help young tearaways better their prospects, calling the 'young
guns' regulators.
When there friend, mentor and benefactor is gunned down the regulators
led early on by 'Dick' (Charlie Sheen) set out to bring the killers to book,
'William (Billy) has his own way of serving justice.
The Regulators soon become the hunted.
A better than average western with plenty of six-gun action throughout
(The sequence when they are as high as a kite is indeed memorable)
'Emilio Estevez' is brilliant as 'Billy the Kid' well supported by 'Kiefer
Sutherland' as 'Doc' and 'Lou Diamond Phillips' as 'Chavez' the cast list
also includes screen legend 'Jack Palance' as arch-enemy 'Murphy'
Good picture and sound quality....worth a re-visit.
Special Features :
* The real 'Billy the Kid' documentary.
* Advanced trivia track.
I've been hoping that 'Young Guns' 2 Blaze of Glory' would be given a
Blu-ray update.......I live in hope, among some of the other 'Westerns'
I'd love to see upgraded.....'John Wayne's' --'The Alamo' and the 'Shootist'
'Kris Kristofferson's' --'Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid' and the 2004 'Billy
Bob Thornton' version of 'The Alamo'
Maybe one day ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Guns [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£3.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews