Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun game
My son absolutely loves Spongebob so this game was a must. He is only 5 and is still able to do most of it on his own, athough i did have to help on a few bits later in the game.
The game contains all the main characters and is bright and colourful with easy controls. You get to visit all the main parts of Bikini Bottom including Spongebobs house, the Krusty Krab,...
Published on 26 Sep 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should be fun, but is simply frustrating...
Myself and my son are huge fans of the cartoon and so we decided to try this one out on the playstation based on some positive reviews I read. Unfortunately it was quite the disappointing experience for the following reasons:

1) Poor game design and graphics: This game consists of a number of playable areas/levels such as Bikini Bottom, The Tree Dome, Downtown,...
Published on 20 April 2012 by Cerulean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun game, 26 Sep 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
My son absolutely loves Spongebob so this game was a must. He is only 5 and is still able to do most of it on his own, athough i did have to help on a few bits later in the game.
The game contains all the main characters and is bright and colourful with easy controls. You get to visit all the main parts of Bikini Bottom including Spongebobs house, the Krusty Krab, Jellyfish fields, the Chum Bucket, Sandy's Tree Dome, Goo Lagoon and a few more. You even get to dress Spongebob up as mermaid man which my son really enjoyed.
I have since bought the game for my neice and a friends son and they have all enjoyed it.
Plenty to keep the kids happy as well as the adults too. I think i will buy the next spongebob game when we complete this one.
Cheap and chearful, go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F.U.N., 28 Aug 2003
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
As a 'mature' fan of the cartoon I bought this game on the chance that it would be good...and it is. Very good. It's obviously aimed at the younger gamer, but that doesn't detract (and probably adds) to the fact that is very good fun. The gameplay is straightforward (okay, easy), the graphics very cartoon-like and the music difficult not to sing along to. It has all the characters and quirks that the cartoon has. It isn't a difficult game, so don't expect anything too taxing, but if you want an escape from the darker, adult games on the market then this would make a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 14 Nov 2003
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
If your a fan of Spongebob at all, buy this game! Even if your not a fan buy this game! I bought it after reading the other reviews on this page, and have to admit I didn't think it would be as good as they said. But gladly I was wrong. The levels are quite big and theres a lot to do to keep you busy and it's VERY addictive. At that price its worth a bash. "I've been warming my booty in this spot..." hoho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!, 3 Oct 2003
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
Such a fantastic game! I was delighted to find the lovely spongebob on ps2 so i bought it.
The game is enthralling, addictive and so much fun. It's brilliant because you get to wander around 'bikini bottom' and meet all his friends!
With loads of exciting levels and little challenges to play and explore, this game is well worth your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars generally good game, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
was very disappointed with the game. i never got to play it as it got to a certain point and kept freezing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should be fun, but is simply frustrating..., 20 April 2012
By 
Cerulean (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
Myself and my son are huge fans of the cartoon and so we decided to try this one out on the playstation based on some positive reviews I read. Unfortunately it was quite the disappointing experience for the following reasons:

1) Poor game design and graphics: This game consists of a number of playable areas/levels such as Bikini Bottom, The Tree Dome, Downtown, Jellyfish Fields, Chum World, Goo Lagoon and The Dutchman's Graveyard/Ship. In each level you accumulate a number of tiles that spell the word 'Spongebob' before searching for a piece of the Dutchman's treasure. Somewhere along the way you will barter with a character from the show for a bus ticket to one of the other areas.

Unlike any other game I've played, the only way to switch between areas is to virtually walk Spongebob to the bus. This gets tedious. There are no maps so even finding the bus can be a challenge (case in point, Jellyfish Fields). This confusion is confounded by the poor graphics, which render many subareas similar in appearance (and therefore -you guessed it- tedious). If getting lost wasn't bad enough, you'll also be hit with a loading screen every time you move from one subarea to another, prolonging your pain.

2) Lazy programming: You might think the above irrelevant so long as your child (or possibly you :-) can muck about the various levels without an objective in mind. However, there really is very little to do other than get the tiles. These are won by executing a series of jumps, often from one moving platform to another, which can be quite tricky (toggling the viewpoint to see where you are jumping is tetchy at best, and the controls are not sensitive enough). Other than this and picking up the odd pearl or bag of booty, Spongebob can't really interact with his surroundings. You can't get into Squidward's house, or search out the Boating school as the programmers didn't bother including them. Similarly, characters just repeat themselves until you advance to the next stage.

3) Boring, boring, boring: The game fails entirely to capture the humour of the show. There are a number of cutscenes as well as some comical pirates, but even still the laughs are few and far between. You're just jumping for tiles ad nauseum, which as I've pointed out, can be an extremely frustrating endeavor. As the levels invariably feature the same types of challenges, this game can get boring very quickly, and after it's won there is no way to go back into the game with the areas unlocked, the whole thing just starts over. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flying Dutch, 15 Dec 2014
By 
K. A. Cattell "keiffff" (Doncaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
Bought Used good grief what a game, we all enjoyed it, Resold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Game froze, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
Was very very disappointed with this item because game just kept freezing and wouldnt load at all, item did arrive on time though, but was a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2), 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
SpongeBob up to his usual funny capers.
A very entertaining game for the children.
If you like the SpongeBob movies you should like the SpongeBob game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Oct 2014
This review is from: SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2) (Video Game)
Wicked game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SpongeBob: Revenge of the Flying Dutchman (PS2)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews