Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Twisted Humour
Very dark humour indeed.

This comedy series has a very different feel from almost any other thing I've watched. The whole thing is unique and definitely needs to be seen.

The only worry is that some people will not find this funny at all. They'll be very disturbed by some of the scenes.

Worth checking up on youtube to see some of the...
Published on 21 Aug 2009 by M. Murdoch

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever idea taken too far
As with my review of the film 'Antichrist' my feelings here are pretty much the same - in part, creative, memorable and artistic; in part shocking and gratuitous!

Imagine a series of Pythonesque sketches such as a man who visits a consultant for advice on everyday situations or a man who can't find a partner and consequently marries himself or even a TV that...
Published on 12 Feb 2006 by AGC2070


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Twisted Humour, 21 Aug 2009
By 
M. Murdoch "erratic reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very dark humour indeed.

This comedy series has a very different feel from almost any other thing I've watched. The whole thing is unique and definitely needs to be seen.

The only worry is that some people will not find this funny at all. They'll be very disturbed by some of the scenes.

Worth checking up on youtube to see some of the scenes before you buy - it's very possible that you won't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surreal genius, 24 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a DVD that you would put on for Saturday night all-round family entertainment. The humour is often dark, the atmosphere dreamlike and hypnotic in places thanks to the ambient soundtrack, visual effects and deliberately sedated style of speech used by the actors in many of the sketches. The combination makes for compelling and often intense viewing. Imagine David Lynch trying to do comedy and you've got a rough idea of what to expect. Topics covered include incest and infant death, so if you're buying this as a gift just be certain they'll appreciate the dark humour.

If you like Chris Morris then you should like this, but be warned that it is quite different to The Day Today and Brass Eye. Whereas those were more accessible to a wider audience, this is definitely something that not everyone is going to appreciate. However, for those with a taste for inventive, challenging, cutting edge humour with a dark surreal twist it's a must buy. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant DVD of a Great Show, 4 July 2003
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The DVD is well worth owning if you've seen and enjoyed the show. Chris Morris clearly oversees the DVD production - it's chock full of extras, all of them bizarre and confusing like the show.
You can watch deleted scenes and rehearsals, see 3 different versions of every episode, have subtitles (which, in this case, are hilarious, methinks), read the comprehensive music and cast credits, watch Adam and Joe's mickey take of the show, watch two scenes with audience sound and some other stuff I haven't had time to look at.
It's a really wicked DVD production, though I don't know about anamorphic doodaa and framing and suchlike. It all looks good with my big blue eyes.
Buy this if you like Jam. If you don't like Jam, like Jam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam rocks my nut, 28 April 2003
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have been waiting for a release of Jam on video or DVD since it first aired. It became a cult show amongst all my friends at university at that time, many of us already familiar with Chris Morris' work on The Day Today and Brasseye, and with the previous radio version Blue Jam. But when Jam came along it really hit a nerve with its surely darker than legal level of comedy. The hugely controversial Paedophile episode of Morris' Brasseye now seems, stylistically at least, quite tame in comparison. Many may find it confusing that Jam is considered comedy at all, with its unsettling atmosphere of psychological torment and disfunctional brutality, and maybe it goes too far, but there is nothing else like it. Comedy is naturally disruptive, and Morris is really pushing back the boundaries with the absurd world of Jam, proving himself one of the foremost innovators working in television. Except now he's made the My Wrongs short film and will probably be the next David Lynch.
I also met him once and he's really nice, he wasn't in slow-mo or swearing at children or anything. So be really clever and buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm. Welcome. Mmmm. Welcome in Jam. Jaaaaam., 30 April 2003
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This splendid set is not going to make Chris Morris any new fans. Jam is not easy viewing. The atmosphere is surreal nightmare-logic, the pace glacial, the subject material for the sketches generally concerned with death, perversion, corruption, brutality.
And it's marvellous. Absolutely fantastic. The sound mix is particularly crisp and disturbing, the distorted visuals crystal-clear and the overall atmosphere of vague unease that watching Jam first time round brought about is amplified many times by the superb presentation.
Much kudos to the performers, especially Kevin Eldon and Amelia Bullmore. This must be difficult and occasionally disturbing stuff to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Humour, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Ross Blake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i'm a fan of dark humour. and this is the darkest. not a show for the fainthearted or easily upset, this show makes fun of abortions, murder, rape, suicide, sexual accidents leading to death.... everything.

saw this on TV very late one night in the UK and laughed until i cried. the rest of the people int he room were horrified. this gives you an idea of what the "average" person would respond like.

more obscure and dark then Big Train or Brass Eye, this show is warped, in a beautiful and sick way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best comedy writer of our generation does it again, 18 Jan 2007
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
this dvd is special, the cd it is based on is better, even more crazy and with great music interludes from warp records including squarepusher. but morris has made it a great show for tv with wonderful cinematography, namely the colours and slowed up sketches, almost trying to be the opposite of benny hill. you have to be into dark humour to enjoy this as i cannot think of much comedy which is darker, think of 'the aristocrats' joke and it's somewhere close.

the finest bit of this dvd is the extras. with his releases before, notably the day today and also brasseye, extras have been in abundance with interresting pilots, music, etc... with this dvd morris does a satire on dvds! instead of lots of 'bonus' material he has a personnal dig of it all, making disc 2 just the same as disc 1 but with different colours making then a bit more pastilfied(is that a word?). with the actual extras just being all types of versions of the episode but unwatchable! ie episode 1 a miniture version in the middle of the screen or episode 2 miniture but moving! my favoufite has to be the speeded up version of one of the episodes which lasts about 5 seconds. hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JamJamJamJamJamJamJam, 18 Dec 2006
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I was used to Chris Morris' previous comedy stints (On the Hour, The Day Today, Brass Eye) and expected this to be more of the same.

I was wrong.

This takes comedy to another level, it is more art than comedy. It has no laughter track, it challenges the viewer to decide what is funny.

Some scenes leave you feeling a bit numb, the scenes with dead babies I found difficult to watch, but that is what Jam seems to be all about. It seems to get the viewer to assess why they find some things uncomfortable and yet some things accessible. Some scenes however are laugh out loud hilarious.

I'd like to think that this was a pop at the media, especially the Tabloid media who use scaremongering and misery to make money.

Uncomfortable to watch and absolutely genius. We need more people like Chris Morris who are able to try new things and push the boundaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No apologies, 5 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Its too easy, in trying to explain or review Jam to try and explain to peole why they won't like it, or why its not 'comedy'. What it is is dark, moody, unapologetic, surreal, extreme, and hypnotic all at once. The cast are spectacular and Morris is as brilliant as ever. You would watch this with uneasy nervousness, the odd groan, and maybe an occasional titter rather than the loud guffaws of The Day Today and Brasseye, as was doubtlessly Morris'intention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic comedy from Morris, 11 Feb 2007
By 
Michael Soutar "strategy nut" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
After having had this show recommended to me, i went out and bought it. It doesn't let you down. the sketches are just the warped fantastical merriment that I savour. Stand out performer has to be David Cann as the bizzare Doctor. perhaps the most disturbing thing on this disc has to be the House for Sex Sketch: the ending is utterly ghaslty! The only beef I have with this show is the music; compared to the radio show, it feels uninspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000]
Jam: The Complete Series [DVD] [2000] by Christopher Morris (DVD - 2003)
£19.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews