Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is very sneaky
I saw this movie on my travels in the states over last summer for the first time. I have been waiting and waiting for it to come out on release over here for a long time. I cant wait to get it on DVD. The movie is a typical Adam Sandler movie, but it is the funniest one i have seen yet(it rates up there with Happy Gilmore), you get what you expect from Adam sandler and...
Published on 6 April 2003 by Fergal Keating

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better
This film started off well but went down hill.
It was ok but not a film I would watch again, It didn't come close to Anger Management or Chuck & Larry which were
superb films. Some of the cast were in Anger Management but the characters they played In Mr Deeds were so plain that you couldn't appreciate what great Actors they were. A real shame as the film...
Published on 26 Nov. 2012 by Debs


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is very sneaky, 6 April 2003
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I saw this movie on my travels in the states over last summer for the first time. I have been waiting and waiting for it to come out on release over here for a long time. I cant wait to get it on DVD. The movie is a typical Adam Sandler movie, but it is the funniest one i have seen yet(it rates up there with Happy Gilmore), you get what you expect from Adam sandler and Winona Ryder's performance and the story line is also what you expect from the original (to an extent). The best thing about this movie are the bits you dont expect, the bits your going to quote for days to come and the characters that play themselves. It adds life to the movie and will have you rolling around with laughter. For me the trailers didn't tell me everything and the movie was all the better for it.
So if you want my advice.....and your still reading so i can see you do...don't watch the trailers... just go ahead and buy the DVD... you'll want all your friends to see it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Deeds, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I enjoyed this one.

Hadn't seen the Capra original, but the story's so similar in many ways to the Hudsucker Proxy that's immediadately apparent the Coen brothers' film is a Deeds tribute too.

Good, well-scripted Hollywood comedy that has an abundance of acting talent - John Turtorro and Winona Ryder both turn in performances that should have won Academy Awards (who knows, maybe they did?, I'll need to write to Showbiz Sam at the Sunday Mail and ask him). Adam Sandler kind of just does what he does - no bad thing. Buscemi's role here is limited but he approaches it with gusto. John McEnroe's cameo is entertaining enough to make you wonder why he bothered TV commentating after his glorious tennis career, and didn't go into acting full time.

Visual direction is excellent, pace never gets slow. All in all, Mr Deeds is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very very sneaky..., 4 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
When Longfellow Deeds, a small-town pizzeria owner and poet, inherits $40 billion from his deceased uncle, he quickly begins rolling in a different kind of dough.

Moving to the big city, Deeds finds himself besieged by opportunists all gunning for their pie.

Babe, a television tabloid reporter, poses as an innocent small-town girl to do an exposé on Deeds. Of course, Deeds' sincere naiveté has Babe falling in love with him instead.

Ultimately, Deeds comes to find that money truly has the power to change things, but it doesn't necessarily need to change him....

So the thing is about this film, is that it's been done time and time again by Sandler. He plays the nice guy against the odds, who meets a nice girl, but has a lot of obstacles to overcome, usually in the shape of very rich people.

But these films work on so many levels. Not because of the story or the flow of the narrative, it's the random characters and their traits, that distract the viewer from the story, and just deliver the big laughs.

There is nothing original in the story, but the fact that a tennis player can jump 15 or so feet in the air, an opera singer sings as he is being beaten up, John Tuturro being sneaky, just makes for the film to so silly, you cannot help but laugh.

And laugh I did. It's one of Sandlers best films, and despite the fact his movies are gradually diminishing in quality, you cannot help but smile.

It's a big fat sunshine movie, full of joy, and guaranteed to make you laugh.

Don't be a snob, let yourself go....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandlers best work yet, 14 April 2003
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The story of a small town man who brings morals to the ruthless business dealings of new york, mister deeds cannot fail to amuse. I first saw Mister Deeds in America last summer whilst holidaying there and couldn't wait for it to be released over here. Anyone who is a fan of Sandlers previous work particularly Happy Gilmore and The Wedding Singer will love this film. The critics slated Mister Deeds but i still love it! If you like films which are a laugh a minute yet still manage to touch something inside then you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i love this film., 18 May 2003
By 
James (Russia with Love) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
i won't write about the story of the film. thats just silly. u can use the site 4 that. But this film is brilliant and very funny! if your an Adam Sandler fan, Then I definately recommend this. If your not, well i STILL definately recommend this 4 u! ! for Sandler fans, watching other movies of his i.e the water boy, big daddy, lil nicky. u probly noticed the same cast used in all o his films. well several of them r back in this movie. Nice to see him working with Winona Ryder too! there is some great humour in this film. if you dont really like it that much then watch it again with some1 else, cos wid me, the first time, i was a lil bit diss. but the 2nd time 4 some reason i absolutely loved it. watch this movie. I kind of wish there were more people on this world like Sandler's character in this movie. The world would be a better place. Although violence in posh restaurants would probly increase!! And a lot more muggers would get their comeuppance. U'LL C WHAT I MEAN!! LOL. Cya ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and witty comedy, 9 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Adam Sandler is back on fine form with Mr Deeds, a return to laugh-out-loud comedy in a similar vein to Happy Gilmore. After the disappointing Little Nicky, it is good to see Sandler at his best with slapstick humour, uncontrollable aggressive outbursts, bizarre jokes and charming naivety. What makes this film so funny is Sandler's interaction with the other characters, the funniest being his "sneaky sneaky" butler played by John Turturro. As is typical of Sandler films there are also many cameos including Steve Buscemi as "crazy-eyes" and John McEnroe as himself. Whilst some of the humour is fairly low-brow, as is to be expected from a Sandler flick, there are some genuinely hilarious moments and I couldn't stop laughing throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the best, 9 April 2003
By 
James headspeath (minchinhampton, gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I was watching it on the plane in the early hours of the mourning i missed the first Ten mins and i still thought it was great all round a really funny film if you want to laugh you're self silly watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny,romantic,inventive and unpredictable, 21 May 2007
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Mr Deeds was great entertainment:it was really funny,romantic,inventive

and unpredictable.This is the best Adam Sandler film I have seen and is a good comedy film even by the standards of other comedy actors like Bill Murray or Steve Martin.There are lots of extra sections on the dvd including a video of the pop star Dave Thomas singing,and previews of other Adam Sandler projects.Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better, 26 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film started off well but went down hill.
It was ok but not a film I would watch again, It didn't come close to Anger Management or Chuck & Larry which were
superb films. Some of the cast were in Anger Management but the characters they played In Mr Deeds were so plain that you couldn't appreciate what great Actors they were. A real shame as the film started off with potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Faulty DVD Mr DEEDS, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Unfortunately, this is the first purchase that I have received that has not come up to expectations. The DVD froze half way through, and even though we cleaned it and tried to watch again, it froze again in the same place. We will be returning the DVD, not, to have a refund but, to replace it. Delivery was on time, and no other problems. Its a pity, because it is such a funny film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002]
Mr Deeds [DVD] [2002] by Steven Brill (DVD - 2005)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews