Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hobson's Choice/Sound Barrier
The Sound Barrier is a farily run-of-the-mill film, watchable but not great. Buy this double DVD for Hobson's Choice - a classic. The acting by John Mills and Brenda de Banzie and their interplay with the other characters is outstanding. I think this ranks as one of John Mills' two best films (the other being 'The History fo mr.Polly')....and don't forget the wonderful...
Published on 7 Dec. 2003 by gpclowe

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not very good VFM
Both of these films are truly splendid and I can watch them over and over again - so why give only 3 stars ? It is very simple - these two films along with 8 other equally splendid films are to be found in the David Lean Collection boxset which sells for almost exactly the same money as these two. I bought the David Lean boxset some time ago and have been well pleased...
Published on 25 Aug. 2012 by Hugh "Tab Lloyd" Otterburn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hobson's Choice/Sound Barrier, 7 Dec. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
The Sound Barrier is a farily run-of-the-mill film, watchable but not great. Buy this double DVD for Hobson's Choice - a classic. The acting by John Mills and Brenda de Banzie and their interplay with the other characters is outstanding. I think this ranks as one of John Mills' two best films (the other being 'The History fo mr.Polly')....and don't forget the wonderful performance by Charles Laughton as the drunken shop-owner. A pleasure from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull!, 17 Oct. 2010
By 
F. Proctor "Wildfrank" (Plymouth. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I actually bought this DVD purely for Hobson's Choice so The Sound Barrier was a bonus. Hobson's Choice is a beautiful example of Charles Laughton's work, his acting and comic timing is a pleasure to watch and all the other parts are acted wonderfully. Will Mossop's development from the terrified boothand to a man of kindness and stature is a treat and just looking at the street scenes for the period is a wonder!

Unfortunately I didn't watch 'The Sound Barrier' with as much pleasure, if those upper lips were any stiffer they would have snapped right off, and it wasn't just the upper lips that were stiff, the acting was cardboard-like to put it mildly, everything I hate about films from that era was there. I think I might have actually winced on one or two occasions. No, the five stars go to Hobson's Choice but 'The Sound Barrier'?......Naaah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be your choice too!, 16 May 2006
By 
D Deacon "pixist" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
What a truly excellent film with such fine acting it'll blow your boots off. It lasts just under 2 hrs but that for us went by so fast as to seem like 5 minutes - totally engrossed.

There are many funny bits but there is also a deep sadness behind it. Brenda de Banzie's smile is superb as is the endearing character she plays so brilliantly. John Mills and Charles Loughton are simply brilliant. Buy/hire it, watch it. You will not be disappointed. It's worth more than 5 stars. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An amusing comedy., 31 Mar. 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
PLEASE NOTE: THIS REVIEW IS FOR: 'HOBSON'S CHOICE' ONLY:

An amusing comedy starring Charles Laughton and John Mills.

Charles Laughton plays a shop owner who's dominated by his three unmarried daughters - particularly by that of his elder, 'Maggie' - played with gusto by the great Brenda de Banzie. She forces herself into marriage to the somewhat 'simple' employee (Mills) with comic results and a change of character.

It's difficult to know who gives the best performance here; Laughton as the 'drunk' or de Banzie for her excellent portrayal of a dictating wife and daughter - both actors surpass themselves.

Also stars a young Prunella Scales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not very good VFM, 25 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Both of these films are truly splendid and I can watch them over and over again - so why give only 3 stars ? It is very simple - these two films along with 8 other equally splendid films are to be found in the David Lean Collection boxset which sells for almost exactly the same money as these two. I bought the David Lean boxset some time ago and have been well pleased with it and the ten films in it - at roughly £2 per film, that is outstanding VFM - but I would not pay £10 each !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Great movie - received promptly. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
By 
Susan Byrne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Great DVD and fast dispatch time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOPPER, 28 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
HOBSON'S CHOICE ONE OF JOHN MILLS BEST LAUGH OUT LOUD FILMS ITS GREAT EVEN IF ITS A OLD CLASSIC..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hobson's Choice / The Sound Barrier [DVD] [1952]
£27.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews