Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection.. but do we need another Clash compilation?
Nearly all the classic Clash songs are featured on this compilation and it offers a useful insight into the sheer range and timeless craft of this definitive rock band of the late 70s. Compared with other Clash compilations, it is clearly a cut above "The Singles" but not a lot more imaginative than "The Story of the Clash, Vol 1" and trailing "On Broadway" IMHO. It is...
Published on 15 Mar 2003 by Nicholas Oatridge

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good-ish
In all honesty, as a true Clash city rocker, this album is only good for those who are new to their awesome sound. As another reviewer has already stated this is missing some pretty damn important tunes! If you are only just getting into the Clash, then this is the album 4 u, if a true fan u should already own the real ones anyway!!
Published on 8 May 2004 by smirnoff_icequeen_69


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection.. but do we need another Clash compilation?, 15 Mar 2003
By 
Nicholas Oatridge (Basel, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
Nearly all the classic Clash songs are featured on this compilation and it offers a useful insight into the sheer range and timeless craft of this definitive rock band of the late 70s. Compared with other Clash compilations, it is clearly a cut above "The Singles" but not a lot more imaginative than "The Story of the Clash, Vol 1" and trailing "On Broadway" IMHO. It is the only compilation, however, to feature the track "This is England" - although purists will probably reckon that the band were a spent force by the time this was released. All the same, if you don't have a Clash album in your collection, my advice is go out and buy this and get a flavour of what was the most imaginative and exciting rock band of its generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Clash, 10 Mar 2003
By 
MR R LUCAS (Southall, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
Being nearly 20 when I first saw The Clash had a profound effect on me. At that time I lived in a small town in the West Coast of Scotland. I had bought the singles - the debut album was like a breath of fresh air - now the Apollo in Glasgow, it was electric, by that time I had seen some bands, some good, some bad, some ....leave that to you. But here was a band that understood ME! Songs that you believed in, songs that believed in you, for me personally I cannot think of (and I know some) of a more succinct, straight to the point, and down right belligerent song than 'Complete Control'. Its testament to everything The Clash stood for and believed in right or wrong. This album should really be called 'The Clash an Introduction' because as good as it is, and it is essential it should drive any lover of rock n roll to search for more.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last ! A GREAT Clash collection, 26 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
Please ignore grandmaster_clash's ideological objections to this compliation - this IS a great CD.
It is far superior to "The Story of the Clash Vol.1" because it has a much better running order & includes such gems as "1977" and "This is England".
To my mind you can't beat the first 5 tracks off "London Calling", but buy this first and then buy "London Calling"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I NEVER GET BORED OF THIS CD!, 10 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
This is such an awesome collection!

I have more or less every Clash album made, but this 2 disc CD is a great mix of some of their best work, and really represents why they are one of the greatest and most important bands ever formed.

The first disc is my personal favourite - opening with the stomping 'White Riot', this CD shows their early work...tracks such as 'Complete Control' and 'London's Burning' have heavy political views, but performed in such a furious rage that demands your attention. This is the band in their youth years - all the tracks are pure punk anthems, which I love!

Disc Two starts off with their best work - a mixture of genres such as reggae and rock are clearly heard in 'London Calling' and 'Rudy Can't Fail', but particularly in 'The Guns Of Brixton'; one of my favorite Clash songs. This stage saw the band at their peak, and made them unique compared to many other punk bands at the time.

The last few tracks in my opinion are not as good, as this shows the bands more mainstream approach...although 'Stay/Go' is still very catchy!

All in all, this for me is a perfect tribute to one of my favorite bands ever. 30 years on, and many modern bands (The Libertines etc) are still influenced by this group, as this CD clearly shows. I'm only 20 years old, meaning I wasn't even around when the group were formed...but in my opinion this band simply wipe most of the modern so-called-punk bands off the floor!

If your new to The Clash or an old school fan, you owe it to yourself to buy this collection - enough said, BUY NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A suitable summary of a great band!, 20 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
Of course there have been compilations of the Clash before but not one that is as extensive as this(40 tracks),encompasses all their musical styles and has been chosen by the band themselves. Choice tracks from all of the bands albums, there are even tracks that were not available on previous albums eg 1977....one of their best incidentally! "The Essential Clash" presents an accurate history of the band that shows their first titular album was the best, "Give 'Em Enough Rope" was underated, "London Calling" was vastly overated, "Combat Rock" was their most commercial album and all the others were interesting if self indulgent.If you have all of their product then why would you buy this? Like most people I don't claim to be obsessive to this extent so as a result I found the 2 CD's superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Don't Make Them Like This Anymore, 27 July 2004
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
The Essential Clash falls into two categories on each CD. CD 1 is the old skool punk collection, CD 2 is the one that is designed to advertise.
I only got into The Clash a few months back and to be honest i can't find anything wrong with this collection, whether your a fan of the break neck speed of "White Riot" , the smooth jazzy sounds of "Rock the Casbah" or the reggae movements of "Police and Thieves" this is as essential as the title of the album says.
RIP Joe Strummer you left a legacy to be blessed :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY BUY BUY BUY!!!, 16 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
The Clash are undoubtedly one of the best british bands ever, and this compilation is a must-have for any clash fan and will probably be a good introduction for younger people who have never heard of the clash. You've just gotta love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Clash collection avaliable!, 28 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
Like most people, I had only heard London Calling, when i decided to buy this CD. I was stunned right from the first song (white riot) and now, three or four months later i am a big Clash fan and have every CD possible. CD 1 has the best songs form 1976-1978, and highlights include: (White Man) in Hammersmith Palais, White Riot, Safe European Home, Tommy Gun and loads more. This is early punk at its finest with great music and lyrics from the late, great Joe Strummer.
CD 2 has best songs from 1979(London Calling)-1985(End of The Clash). Highlights include:London Calling, Clampdown, Spanish Bombs, Magnificent 7, and definitely Rock The Casbah. Dissapointed The Call Up has not appeared. (I'm glad it has included This Is England, as other Clash compilations do not include songs off a Mick Jones-less and Topper Headon-less clash album called Cut The Crap - the last Clash album.)
This Cd is where The Clash moved on from punk and explored other styles of music and produced some great songs.
Well worth a tenner if your a rock music fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good morning, 16 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
The last time I bought a Clash album it was vinyl and Margaret Thatcher was finding her way around Number 10

But within fifteen seconds of putting on White Riot on Disc One I could feel the energy that the band exploded with when I first heard them

Bloody marvellous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Clash, 18 Mar 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Clash (Audio CD)
`The Essential Clash' is probably the best starting point if you're new to this band and want to give them a try. You get a wide selection of their music across two discs including the well known favourites `I Fought The Law' and `Should I Stay Or Should I Go', but there is more to this band than just those two songs. The booklet has a small essay about the bands history and makes for interesting reading. The Clash are an influential band and had a huge impact on the music scene and on artists since and this collection goes some way to show just why that is. Disc 1 has a more punk feel to it and Disc 2 more ska. You get their punk playing, discordant but completely apt singing and catchy as hell songs, what more could you want? Well worth a try.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Clash
The Essential Clash by The Clash (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews