Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The goats from the sheep
I've always loved A Passion Play, so I'll just have to let it quietly pass that Ian Anderson himself thinks I should only be permitted day release from a mental institution.

The remastered stereo and 5.1 mixes here of both A Passion Play itself and the Château d'Hérouville sessions are quite simply glorious. APP is loud, crystal clear, sparkling, and...
Published 8 months ago by Patrick Byrne

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Hare who ruined an album
some excellent music from Tull completely negated by the story that would probably have been better served on Listen With Mother or Monty Python.

Perhaps one day in these modern times someone will edit the story out.
Published 4 months ago by Catfish Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated atmospheric brilliance!, 8 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Passion Play (Audio CD)
...I fully agree with Peter Knowles' review. This is (IMHO) one of the most under-appreciated albums ever made, with amazing production. The feel, composition and musicianship are stunning throughout - and it never gets boring. The first listen can be a bit of a challenge to those used to Tulls' more 'conventional' works, but stick with it and it becomes SO rewarding to listen to! BUY IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an Easy Listen - But a Worthwhile One, 29 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Passion Play (Audio CD)
This is a difficult one to assess. Critics are totally divided between those who feel it is essential Tull to those that feel it is filler fodder.

The band weren't in the greatest of shape as they recorded this abroad with feelings of exhaustion from touring and homesickness. This leads to a slightly tired album that is really an extension of the ideas behind Thick as a Brick but in slightly darker and more sombre mood. Once again the album is a concept - chronicling the spiritual journey of a man in the afterlife. Themes of heaven, hell, purgatory are couched in Ian Anderson's now customary sprawling and dense lyrics.

Once again it is divided into just two tracks, although each can almost be sub divided. It doesn't exactly have the charm of Thick as a Brick with a feeling akin to musical waffle to some of the sections. Perhaps the band are just trying to become too prog rock, too conceptual. Whether that is a good or bad thing is exactly what has split the critics. And I have to say I remain firmly sitting on the fence. It's certainly not a bad album, but at the same time it could never be counted as a classic. It's almost as if it has the stirrings of uncertainty within it and I have never been sure what to make of the Lewis Carroll-esque The Story of the Hare Who Lost His Spectacles which opens side two and offers some light relief in the form of a fairy tale. Perhaps it was one concept too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very worthwhile extended performance, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would guess that most fans considering this purchase will already be intimately acquainted with this album. I myself are amongst the 'hard core' that have rated this as my favourite Tull album. Sad maybe, but remember APP reached No.1 in the US. I would heartedly recommend it to all who love the album already, or want to re-experience it. The sound engineering by Steven Wilson is superb as always. He has managed to remix and rejuvenate the sound brilliantly without losing any of the character of the original mix. This is demonstrated on both the CD and DVD 5.1 mixes. The music has been organised into individual tracks (similar to the MFSL remaster). However, the album plays gapplessly as its intended to be a song cycle I assume. This gives one a chance to skip the 'Hare has lost ..........' in case you find it tedious after 1,000 plays! There is even an extra verse on the 'Foot of Our stairs' track which has been inexplicably missed on previous releases. This is another example of the care and attention that has gone into this release along with the 80 booklet giving further incite from Steven Wilson, the ballerina and the infamous 'Crime of Passion' review.

Great care has also been taken to review the Chateau d'Herouville sessions. Although much of the work has been recycled into APP and subsequent albums, the sessions still work as great contribution to the Jethro Tull body of the work. Here they are presented as remixed pieces in CD as well as 5.1 surround and should not be seen as just early version 'fillers' that you find on many deluxe offerings from other artists. Jethro Tull have more respect for their fan base than that.

I hope that this release sparks a re-evaluation of APP within the 'prog rock' genre and renews interest in a sometimes maligned Album. Keep the Jethro Tull re-releases coming. I will certainly pre-order with confidence if this is the quality of work I can expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond superlatives., 24 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Waldron "mhsob" (UK & Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Passion Play (Audio CD)
First time I heard this, I honestly didnt know what to think. After a few more listens, it all starts to become familiar and you almost feel like you've gained entrance to an exclusive club. The more you listen to this album, the better it gets. Yes its a bit mad, yes its a bit weird at times, and yes its complex stuff ..... but what a musical ride! As a complete album I would go as far to say that it is musically stronger than "Thick as a Brick" and much more fun. All I can say is - "I absolutely love it!" and feel my life is that little bit better for being able to enjoy the madness of the Passion Play whenever I need a lift. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tull's strangest album., 14 Oct. 2002
By 
This review is from: A Passion Play (Audio CD)
When this album was first released it was panned by the critics. But it has stood the test of time. People are still buying it.
The stage performance of the album (if I remember the reports correctly) featured members of the band dressing up in bunny suits and doing crazy stuff on stage.
The critics thought the band had gone over the top. Jethro Tull had second thoughts about the show and the tour was cancelled.
This was the concept album that nobody could understand. Lot's of strange characters in some surreal play about life and death and during the interval a children's story about "The hare who'd lost his spectacles".
Actually the music on the album is most enjoyable, although half the time you don't know where it's going to go. It's full of surprises. Like when Martin Barre's electric guitar bursts in during a sleepy acoustic piece and wakes everybody up. It's an adventurous album which has it's flaws. But it's definitly worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Art - A true Masterpiece, 13 Sept. 2013
This review is from: A Passion Play (Audio CD)
Critics age, become irrelevant, eventually die and then are long forgotten. Genius, masterpieces and works of art live on, gain importance and ultimately become appreciated by increasingly wide audiences.

Why do I make that point? it is to underline just how insignificant the so called "critical bashing" this piece of art was subject to back in 1973. It must of hurt Ian Anderson and the rest of the band at the time, but time passes and as I say great art only increases in stature.

This is great art, and perhaps one of the most important pieces of modern classical music of all time. No doubt Jethro Tull fans will continue to debate and argue as to what is their own personal favourite (by general consensus that is Thick as a Brick) but A Passion Play stands above anything else as it works on so many different levels.

The music is flawless (get the newer digital remastering), Anderson's Voice is at is best, Barlow's and Hammond's rhythm's are at one and Barre and Evans work side by side to produce cutting riffs that are punctuated by melodic sections that will haunt you long after you have finished listening. Indeed that will be your draw to repeated listens when you will discover new ideas and possibilities.

The concept (if we can call it that) is generally regarded as a tale of the afterlife and a mans' journey through hell. The lyrics are poetic and the prose used underpin the pure genius of this album and whilst on the most obvious level Anderson has woven a tale of death and reincarnation (although he's never really fully explained his idea's preferring to leave that to the listener) there are undertones and other levels that hint at themes contained within Dante's "Devine Comedy" and this undoubtably rewards repeated listening.

The finished article was formed out of aborted recording sessions at the Chateau d"Herouville (now available on the CD Nightcap - The Unreleased Masters 1973-1991) and this suggests the animal themes that may well of developed into the "Hare who lost his spectacles" which in turn provides the light interlude to the dramatic "Play" and is gem in the overall experience.

Interestingly this followed "Thick as a Brick" in 1973 and with the hugely successful tour of TAAB 1 and the great "Thick as a Brick 2" in 2013 we are told that next year see the release of another concept album that will be "heavier and less dominated by acoustics" could we be waiting for a "Play 2" with both Play 1 and 2 taken back on the road.

That would be something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In essence if you didn't like A Passion Play when it first came out then ..., 19 July 2014
By 
David Matthews (CHIPPENHAM, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having initially read a number of the reviews I realised that they were reviewing the album (from 1973) and not the contents of this product. In essence if you didn't like A Passion Play when it first came out then it is unlikely you are going to like this version, "simples "!

So after 40 years Jethro Tull have revisited one of their most controversial albums and given it the digitally remastered treatment. So this was either going to be a triumph or another attempt by an ageing rock band to squeeze another few quid out of their loyal fans.

For me it is the former. The sound quality is crisp and sharp and the new stereo remix by Steve Wilson provides the right balance (unlike the Genesis remaster that just sounded loud). The presentation is excellent, the boxed set has the feel of quality and the 80 page booklet is witty, well written and provides some very nice previously unseen photographs. It is also great to have both the Original Album plus the aborted but now completed Chateau D'Herouville Sessions all in one place. The Great Lost Tull album now re-united with its big brother!!

I love the enhanced DVD containing the full video of The Hare The Who Lost His Spectacles (previously released on another version of the Passion Play CD).

Brilliant and certainly worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Jethro Tull Album Of All, 29 April 2014
This review is from: A Passion Play (Audio CD)
The pure genius of Ian Anderson comes out in all it's magnificent glory on this inspired concept album.
They say Pink Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon is one of the best albums of all time. It may well be, but it 1973 belonged to Jethro Tull. ( Same year as Dark Side ) You are taken on a musical rollercoaster masterclass. A must buy album. Is it the best album of all time, yes probably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical, medley of music. Tull at their early best, 31 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Passion Play (Audio CD)
Although other hardened fans may say otherwise, this to me is THE best Jethro Tull album produced.
It encompasses all aspects of music, through classical pomp to to tongue in cheek comic opera (The Hare Who Lost His Spectacles), and as a whole it is a monument to the musical skills of messers Anderson, Hammond, Barlow et al, which when combined, manage to convey feelings of happiness, sadness, misery and joy (as a Passion Play should).
Buy it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jethro Tull - A Passion Play ( 2 x CD & 2 x DVD ) box set, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A passion play sounds and just feels much better in this brilliant box set. 2 CDs. disc 1 a passion play remixed by Steven Wilson and another 2nd CD of sessions from the aborted 1972 France sessions which are also superb. The DVDs of these albums also included have 5.1 mixes that are very enjoyable. The sound on all these discs is simply stunning. For a recording from the early 1970s to sound this fresh is a revelation. The booklet is also fantastic and has a lot of info on the sessions etc. just what fans will enjoy!
Overall I am very happy with this box set of yet another great Jethro Tull remix that is so well produced by the engineering wizard Steven Wilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Passion Play
A Passion Play by Jethro Tull (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews