Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars116
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2013
'Day Of The Dead' is a zombie film classic, and one of the best of its genre when it comes to story, gore, humour, affects, and characterisation.

This has got to be one of my favourite zombie films and my second facvourite piece of work from the legendary director 'George A. Romero'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2008
I LOVE Day Of The Dead. Not only is this one of my favourite zombie films, but it's one of my favourite films in general.

That said, let's get on to my gripes with this DVD. I bought this DVD after borrowing an older single disc version of this film from a friend.

I was unpleasantly surprised to find that the audio and image has been over cleaned up, which in my opinion diminishes the atmosphere throughout the movie. The sound is quieter in places whereas before it was raw and hard hitting. This is a tragic trend that I see happening to many old classic films that are being re-released on DVD today.

I now understand fully why older generations hold on to their old vinyls or VHS tapes because re releases can often disapoint if not post produced properly.

If you want to buy and watch this classic film, buy the 2001 single disc release DVD of this film. The quality of the 2001 release will more than make up for the lack of extras.

Oh, and it's cheaper, though becoming increasingly hard to get hold of. If you plan on buying the version I speak of, it's the 2001 DVD release. It's 'remastered,' in widescreen, and has a black and white cover with a close up of a zombie on the right side.

I'm going to now buy the version that I watched originally, and will attempt to sell on the double disc version that I still have.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
I have had a wierd fascination with Zombies since I first saw this film round a friend's house at 13 years old - it scared the hell out of me then and still gives me the occasional nightmare now.

Although I love the grisly gore in the film, the real credit must go to the actors. I cannot think of a single bad performance in this film. If George A Romero can get performances like that out of actors being paid probably far less than the standard Hollywood paycheck of the day, then who knows what the guy could do. Riccles is a fantasticly crazy character, Steel looks desperately trying to maintain his sanity but is losing it and Captain Rhodes is just brilliantly unsympathetic - you hate the guy yet he really is trying to keep things in line. Sarah should have got an Oscar for her performance in this film and the others put in performances worthy of best supporting oscar by far. Great movie. Disturbing, distressing, exciting to watch and a necessary reflection on humans if the norms of society were removed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Been my favourite film for years!
Even to this day the effects still look real even though they were done in 1985.
Love the gore
Best Zombie film by far!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2010
george. a. romero at his best! the remake does`nt do it justice, but then again, what remake does!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2002
I thought this was one of the better of the three films but only in dialogue. The characters in this are more developed and a lot less annoying. (thankfully, there are no Judy Roses, with that annoying hill billy tone)
The start has to be the best though giving the viwer a glimpse of what the world has turned to after the first two films. The film literally makes you wanna scream, at the characters as you try to verbally save them, the start for example when our female star knowingly stands in the centre of the zombie popoulation of Florida.
The gore in this is very cheesy but it only strengthens it!
The only reason i gave this 4 stars instead of 5 was because of the 'Bud' thing :P I thought that was pretty damn stupid, but the thought of trying to tame the zombies was an intresting idea.
Anyhoo, a very nice film.
Btw did any 1 find the zombie bride and clown scary?)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
what else can you say true horror classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Thank You, Very happy indeed!!! XXX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2001
This is the least of the trilogy. Why? There aren't many likable characters. But, in the gore factor, it's the most relistic of them all. Except when the skin rips of, that doesn't look to realistic, but apart from that it's good. Now, there isn't orange blood, which anoyes me a bit when I wacth Dawn Of The Dead. So, this is pretty much an average movie. If the information is correct, then there isn't nothing on the DVD. But on the Region 1, which I own, has on the other side Behind the scenes and A Theatrical Trailer. So, I think the Region 1 version is better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)