Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A superlative musical experience
The album "Great Spirit" was first released on a CD by the label New World Music in 1993. It was re-released on a CD in 2003. It is also available as an MP3 download. There are six instrumental tracks on this album, and the total running time is about 41 minutes.

The artist Medwyn Goodall (who is mostly associated with New Age music) was born in Yorkshire,...
Published on 15 Oct. 2011 by Torben Retboll

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In two minds
I am a bit confused about this album...

From one point of view i like it, from the other I think it's rather mediocre.

This is the first (I think) of the trilogy of Medwyn Goodall's albums inspired by the Native Americans. (The other two being Eagle Spirit and Guardian Spirit). As I love Native American-inspired music I thought this would be a great...
Published on 8 July 2012 by Marcin De


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In two minds, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Spirit (Audio CD)
I am a bit confused about this album...

From one point of view i like it, from the other I think it's rather mediocre.

This is the first (I think) of the trilogy of Medwyn Goodall's albums inspired by the Native Americans. (The other two being Eagle Spirit and Guardian Spirit). As I love Native American-inspired music I thought this would be a great addition to my discography.

On the front cover it says "Visionary, Inspiring, Emotive". Well, these are big words, and I think they are a tad too big for this release. Visionary? Maybe, because it really has a relaxing atmosphere. Inspiring? It is quite lifeless and all the sounds are just repetitive - not really inspiring. Emotive? It lacks power to praise the Native Americans, their love of nature, their philosophy... It does not inspire any great emotions in me, apart from sadness and the quiet feeling of something lost... But maybe that was the point of this album from the start?

However, the thing is that it does not sound in any way unique from many of his other native-inspired albums, and he already has many of them. Nothing new. Just panpipes to a more or less accomplished synthesized background and usually slow-paced drums. Nothing special. Relaxing - yes. But nothing more.

Out of total five albums by Mr Goodall the one that is really recommendable is "Priestess - Return to Atlantis". This album is spellbinding, has interesting depth and textures. And the melodies are more memorable and enjoyable. Try this one, or some of Mr Goodall's album released under the Midori moniker. Great are The Forest Awakening and Rain Forest.

While not being a totally bad release, Great Spirit failed to capture me as a listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average cd for relaxing, 23 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Great Spirit (Audio CD)
This cd has a few good tracks, if you are in the relaxing mood and wishes for some background music. I have often heard this type of music played in New age bookshops and it has some merit. The only thing is that it gets to be a bit monotonous after a while, so long breaks between listening is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superlative musical experience, 15 Oct. 2011
By 
Torben Retboll (Thailand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Great Spirit (Audio CD)
The album "Great Spirit" was first released on a CD by the label New World Music in 1993. It was re-released on a CD in 2003. It is also available as an MP3 download. There are six instrumental tracks on this album, and the total running time is about 41 minutes.

The artist Medwyn Goodall (who is mostly associated with New Age music) was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1961. Today he lives in Cornwall in the south west of England. He is a prolific composer and musician: to date he has recorded more than 75 albums.

Each album has a theme, in this case the spirit of the Native Americans. This album is number one in a trilogy about the power of the Native American spirit. Number two is Eagle Spirit first released in 1995 (and re-released in 2003), while number three is Guardian Spirit first released in 1996 (and re-released in 2003).

Goodall plays several musical instruments: the guitar, the flute, the pan-pipe, keyboads, etc. With his acoustic guitar he can create a Spanish flavour; with his pan-pipe a Latin American flavour; and with his keyboards he can combine these flavours.

All music on this album is composed, arranged and performed by him. Here are the titles of the six tracks:

# 1. Spirit Dancer
# 2. Midnight Quest

# 3. Shadow Hunter
# 4. Riding the Dreamland

# 5. Farewell, my Homeland
# 6. Totem

The CD from New World Music comes with sleeve notes which you can take out and fold out. Here you will find some information about the artist and about the record company.

On the back of the jewel case there is a message from New World Music:

"Inspired and emotive music dedicated to the spirit of all Native American Indians. Creative percussive rhythms and evocative sound effects weave through hovering woodwind and string instrumentation to link cultures and Nations in celebrating a journey of an essentially healing and invigorating power. A major theme here is an earthy music performed in reverent tribute to the Spirit of a People that symbolise [sic!] oneness with Nature.

"Whether expressing the poignant longing for the Ancient Days, an exploration into the visionary dream-world of totem animals, or the exquisite outpouring of emotion in a tribal gathering, this is an imaginative, superlative musical experience, radiating with an inner beauty and wisdom."

These are grand words, but we can understand that the record company wants to use grand words to praise the work of an artist who is on their label. To a certain extent I can agree with these words. This album may give you "a superlative musical experience."

All tracks (except one) are great. In my opinion, track # 5 deserves only three stars, while all the other tracks deserve five stars. For this reason I think the album as a whole deserves a rating of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Great Spirit (Audio CD)
I love this Cd . just great , i am verry pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Spirit (Audio CD)
Amazingly calming - using in a primary school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good value for money, 28 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Spirit (Audio CD)
Lovely music. good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Great Spirit (Audio CD)
Great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Spirit
Great Spirit by New World Company
Used & New from: £2.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews