Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful exploration of family realtionships
With a strong cast, this tale unfolds from a gentle depiction of a middle class family to a poignant study of 'hidden' family values. The drama unfolds following the discovery of the true worth of a painting and sketches by their deceased father and hidden feelings start to emerge.
Angela Lansbury in particular is superb, with the film being a visual treat and a...
Published on 11 Mar 2005

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, if you've read the book
If you have read the book, don't bother to buy or see this movie.
The only similarity with the book are the characters involved and the general plot.
The order of events in the book are mixed up and inaccurately misrepresented in dialog, circumstances and detail. And this is not limited to the make of the automobile.
Most annoying, for example, is the...
Published on 26 Nov 2004 by Jukebox Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful exploration of family realtionships, 11 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
With a strong cast, this tale unfolds from a gentle depiction of a middle class family to a poignant study of 'hidden' family values. The drama unfolds following the discovery of the true worth of a painting and sketches by their deceased father and hidden feelings start to emerge.
Angela Lansbury in particular is superb, with the film being a visual treat and a classy tribute to Rosamund Pilcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, if you've read the book, 26 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
If you have read the book, don't bother to buy or see this movie.
The only similarity with the book are the characters involved and the general plot.
The order of events in the book are mixed up and inaccurately misrepresented in dialog, circumstances and detail. And this is not limited to the make of the automobile.
Most annoying, for example, is the character Dolly, who is long gone in the book, but in the film still alive and looking younger than her daughter in law Penelope.
For those who have not read the book, it could be a nice film, but even then, this DVD is not recommended, because of the poor picture quality. It seems to have been copied from a duplicate or even videotape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shell Seekers, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
My mother is a fan of Rosamund Pilcher's work, so I bought this DVD for her to see whilst on a visit. She felt that, compared to the book, this DVD omitted much detail, both of plot and character development. Much that was in the book was not in the DVD. Conversely, in the DVD, a character reappeared, but had not done so in the book. Also, she felt that Angela Lansbury's character was rather too smartly dressed and over-glamourous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shell Seekers DVD, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I thought this version dvd was truest to the book. I read the book many years ago and its always been a favourite. But I am usually quite sceptical when a film is made from the book. However this did not disappoint, Angela Lansbury depicted the heroine just as I had imagined her to be. Of course you can't get all the book into a film but the gist of the plot is all there. But read the book first!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the same as the book, 8 May 2014
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Excellent cast, well acted, very well produced. A lovely film for all the family, or at least anyone interested in the dynamics of family relationships. The plot revolves around 63-year-old Penelope and her grown-up children.

However the story is only roughly like Rosamunde Pilcher’s book! The ending is quite dramatically different and there are several changed incidents. Not really a problem – it worked well, and the film captured much of the essence of the book – but a little disturbing. Nevertheless, well worth watching.

First watched in March 2006… watched again in May 2008 when visitors wanted to see it. Knowing it was different from the book in advance did help, and I was surprised to find myself enjoying it thoroughly despite it being only two years since I first saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I am glad the film was available in dvd because it was one of my favorite stories. It brought back good memories. It would be great if other old miniseries were publshed again on dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
My friend was delghted with this DVD as she is an avid reader of Rosamund Pilcher and I have ordered others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Ordered this for my mother in law. She used to have it on video and wanted to buy the DVD version. Very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 July 2012
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
We had looked forward to watching this film last night but were both really disappointed. It is so far removed from the book, which we loved, that it was really frustrating to the point of annoying especially when certain key characters outcomes change. I suppose if you had not read the book it might be an OK watch but for those who are looking for the same experience as the read - I would avoid this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the book, 28 May 2009
This review is from: The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I did not enjoy the film. I found it disappointing as there were too many major discrepancies between the book and the film. If you have read the book I am sure this would irritate you as it did me. I thoroughly enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989]
The Shell Seekers [DVD] [1989] by Waris Hussein (DVD - 2003)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews