Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Bee Proves Shes Still Queen
Lil'Kim's been gone for a minute but now shes back doing what she does best. Kim has been around for 8 years and released now three albums and for the third time she has released a great album.
Lil'Kim has to be by far the best female rapper theres Eve, and Foxy who do there thing but Lil'Kim is the only one who releases really good albums.
In this one her...
Published on 9 Mar 2003 by JL

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Notorious?
Im a newcomer to Lil' Kim but 'La Bella Mafia' has been a fairly good introduction. With the husky temptresses reputation, its no suprise ive enjoyed the album in the way i have. With tunes such as the addictive 'Doing It Way Big' and 'Thug Luv' pulling you through the album you cant help but sample the other 14 tracks, which include samples from 50 Cent, Twista, Missy...
Published on 10 May 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Notorious?, 10 May 2003
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
Im a newcomer to Lil' Kim but 'La Bella Mafia' has been a fairly good introduction. With the husky temptresses reputation, its no suprise ive enjoyed the album in the way i have. With tunes such as the addictive 'Doing It Way Big' and 'Thug Luv' pulling you through the album you cant help but sample the other 14 tracks, which include samples from 50 Cent, Twista, Missy Elliot and the producer Timberland.
Nearly every tune on the album is top notch when it comes to the music side, leaving sick beats in your head for days on end, but the same can't be said for kim's lyrics. Unfortunately, if her Notoriousness isn't chattin' about B.I.G. himself, its about how lush she is or how no-one else in the game compares to her. This is what leads me to give the album the rating i have. Although allot of Hip hop and RnB is based purely on the music, an MC cannot reley on this to make an album, but must use her lyrics. Personally i find that the best lyrics are the ones that leave you thinking about the meaning behind them or that are so catchy you cant get them out of your head. I find Lil' Kims neither. Instead i have found that they are either rather bland or are overcast by the faeture artist instead.
Altough the album does not rate with others in the game however, it is still a good album. In this i have found a few beats i will go back to and listen to over and over and over again, but i'm undecided whether it will be to listen to the beat or to Lil' Kim?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen Bee Proves Shes Still Queen, 9 Mar 2003
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
Lil'Kim's been gone for a minute but now shes back doing what she does best. Kim has been around for 8 years and released now three albums and for the third time she has released a great album.
Lil'Kim has to be by far the best female rapper theres Eve, and Foxy who do there thing but Lil'Kim is the only one who releases really good albums.
In this one her third she as teamed up with top producers including Timbaland and Swizz Beatz and also Havoc of Mobb Deep who producers one of the best tracks on the album Hold It Down.
She has also called upon some of todays top rap stars including Twista, 50 Cent, Missy, and Styles P
Some of the highlights of this album include the lead of track which is The Jump Off with Mr Cheeks, Doing It Way Big, Thug Luv with Twista, Magic Stick with 50 Cent, Get In Tounch With Us with Styles P.
Lil'Kim also addresses some of the beef she has with past friends including a diss directed at P.Diddy and her former Junior Mafia friend Lil'Cease along with disses directed at Foxy Brown.
If u have bought any of her previous releases you will know what ur in for and that is a great album from one of the best if not the best female rappers around this album is definately worth buying as its a great album cos all the other female MC's ain't got nothing on Queen Bee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but still not another 'Hardcore'...., 18 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Kim since her work on the Junior MAFIA album but I have to agree with the previous reviewer to an extent. The beats are a vast improvement over those on the Notorious KIM album but Kim's lyrics are still not on a level as they used to be or where Foxy is right now as a comparison. I hoped for something really introspective from this album but the only song where she really lays her soul bare in 'Heavenly Father'.
It seems that she dropped her racy & raunchy rhymes but doesn't know quite what to say when they've gone which is a shame because Hip-Hop music in general needs something fresh right now.
There isn't one song I could say isn't worth listening to but there's nothing here that quite reaches the sheer brilliance of 'Queen B***h' from her 'Hardcore' album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant sketch of Hip-Hop music, 22 Mar 2003
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
'La Bella Mafia' is a totally original Lil' Kim sounding album. Her interludes really make this genre her own, her husky-lush voice mixed with her varied hardcore and softcore beats and riffs really amaze me. I love 'Shake ya bum bum' for its simplicity and catchiness - also 'Magic Stick' is already a classic in my eyes. This album totally lives up to the standard of her previous 2 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lil' Kim is better than B.I.G., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
Amazon's review is mediocre. Lil' Kim is not just the greatest female rapper, she the best rapper, end of. She took B.I.G.'s style of lyrics and flow and made it better. She is the Greatest Of All Time. Under-appreciated, even though she HAS proven herself time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mafia, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
Sexy sound from a sexy G
Very good album, some of her best work
Good old skool sounding beats going on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it!, 26 Feb 2013
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
Good CD, Lil'Kim will always be Lil'Kim! All the songs lived up to my expectations! The lyrics are meaningful in some parts which makes the purchase all the more worth it, you won't regret the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIL'KIM OVER minaj ANYDAY, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
still one of my best albums of all time - TIMELESS

SHARP LYRICS AND A GREAT SOUND
lil'Kim cemented more than just her talent here, she revealed her passion and absolute undeniable love for the game.

this album is a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Sarah hobson (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
I love Lil' Kim and although there are some good songs on this album and of course Kim sounds Sik! it's definatley not her best. Sorry Kim :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of Kim's best albums, 1 Jan 2008
This review is from: La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim (Audio CD)
Right, the first thing that some of you reading this review may want to consider is the fact that I actually think "HardCore" was Kim's weakest album. So, if you're looking for that gangsta that she brought on "HardCore" you might wanna check for either "Naked Truth" or "Ms. G.O.A.T" - her new mixtape.

This album has a great variety of club bangers, street hits and pop-friendly tunes. Songs like "The Jump Off" [produced by Timbaland] are representative of the more pop/club type songs on this album. Sometimes she delivers this genre brilliantly well (for example "The Magic Stick" featuring 50 Cent) and sometimes NOT so well [more notably "Shake Ya Bum Bum"]

However, Kim definitely delivers with this album. After her latest album Notorious K.I.M was critically panned, Kim came with a whole new sound once again, changing from the euro-pop style which she adopted on Notorious, to a much wider-spread album. If you're lookin for good gutta tracks on here, you will DEFINITELY wanna skip to "Hold It Now" and "Thug Luv". If you buy this album, chances are you will definitely enjoy at least half of it, as there seems to be a song for every audience on this great piece of work from the Queen Bee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim
La Bella Mafia Starring Lil' Kim by Lil' Kim (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews