Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far...
Turbonegro broke through to a previously unattained level with this album. Every track is fantastic in its own way and, although Ass Cobra was in my opinion their best album before this, the production and attitude of this piece of genius places it way above its predecessor. If you like rough, loud punk / rock 'n roll then look no further. These guys have got what you...
Published on 8 Aug 2003 by Russ Lee

versus
6 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Even better than Apocalypse Dudes, Turbonegro kicks off with their latesl album Scandinavian Leather, and the comeback of the bands frontman, Hank von Helvete. After a few years break Hank now's better than ever, and the band kicks butt from track one. This is an album that is brilliant! Brilliant because they've returned with an album that is better than Apocalypse, and...
Published on 29 April 2003 by Tholmen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best so far..., 8 Aug 2003
This review is from: Scandinavian Leather (Audio CD)
Turbonegro broke through to a previously unattained level with this album. Every track is fantastic in its own way and, although Ass Cobra was in my opinion their best album before this, the production and attitude of this piece of genius places it way above its predecessor. If you like rough, loud punk / rock 'n roll then look no further. These guys have got what you want. Just pray you get to see them live if you haven't already had that particular pleasure. "Gotta keep it clean, your little meat machine, coz its the only one that you've got."
"OK!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk rock perversions from Skandinavias finest., 20 July 2003
This review is from: Scandinavian Leather (Audio CD)
With more Woh Hoo's & Yeah Yeah's than any record should justifiably have in this day and age, and with lyrics that would make Chris Morris blush Turbonegro are back and boy do they rock!
A gothic style intro gives way to the staggering guitar riff that is 'Wipe it Till it Bleeds' and from then on in it just doesn't let up.
This album is the Ramones fighting with AC/DC, whilst something very dark and nasty is happening in the next room. One for every twisted little denim clad rocker out there then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkness Forever, 16 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Scandinavian Leather (Audio CD)
After the split back in 98 due to an impending religious crisis we all thought we would never see the darkness again. I was initially cautious about the reformation as it might be a complete disaster musically and artistically but, I was not disappointed the album is a real grower getting better with every listen, personal favorites are Turbonegro Must Be Destroyed with a real Poison Idea type Guitar attack on the chourus, Le Saboueur and Drenched In Blood.
Listening to the album is like listening to Poison Idea, The Ramones, Radio Birdman and the New York Dolls all Playing at once, truly indespensable, and by the way there is no Joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kicks ass!, 19 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Scandinavian Leather (Audio CD)
The best EVER Rock/Heavy Metal/Pop whatever album from a Norwegian band! A heavy mixture off dirty punk to arena heavy metal with loads of tabus used both in the lyrics and coverarts(ass cobra-uugh). But for me it is the excellent guitar work by Euroboy that fulfills the picture. They were too rough in the edges before and delivered only pure punk. Now that hard rock is in the equation I love it! It is much better than the dudes album as well with better sound and songs. Go be a Turbojugend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 23 July 2003
By A Customer
I was so excited when I heard about the reuinion of Turbonegro, as this was released I rushed to the shop and bought it and was not dissapointed. The songs are quite simple and happy- no rampant changes in speed and upbeat lyrics make this a really great album- a few instrumentals add effect and the soaring punk vocals aree amazing. The guitars are fantastic- good solos and the drumming too is top knotch overall this album is a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this is good!, 28 Nov 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Leather (Audio CD)
I have seen turbonegro live,before i owned this cd and one thing became apparent,that they are a distraction to their own music,prancing around like the village people,blowing kisses at the male members of the audience and hamming it up,an act it may be ,but nevertheless they go a bit too far and distracted me from their sound,what i did hear wasnt that good so i left my opinion in that.
I took a gamble on this as it was in second hand shop,cheap,so thought lets give this a shot and the truth is when you hear this album and focus on their brand of punk and rock n roll then its hard to ignore their quality.
The lyrics are a little naff but playful and meant in the worst possible taste but they cant half play as the old expression goes.Hank has the perfect voice for this genre and the music trailblazes along nicely,some experimentation occurs with the odd string section or trumpets as well,subtle but evident and all in all this is a strong and intense album.
The band have tunes as infectious as the hives for instance or latter day distillers but are heavier than both.
This is an album of quality and although there is the odd hint of filler,at least two tracks dont work ,the remainder all do what they do and thats rock,good work from the norwegian headcases then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT BAD AT ALL!, 26 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scandinavian Leather (Audio CD)
Don't be deceived by their make-up and dodgy outfits- THIS ALBUM ROCKS! From the very first song we are introduced to their solid, catchy rhythm guitar chops, which are the key to their success. Their lead guitarist 'Euroboy' is no Hendrix or Hammett, but somehow manages to pull off some reasonably convincing solos. The vocals aren't the best out there either- sometimes seeming a bit weak. But, strangely enough, this suits their playing style, and compliments the basic (if slightly juvenile) lyrics. There are a good 5 or 6 songs (if not more) that are worth listening to on this album, which makes it quite successful compared to some others. One of their previous albums, 'Apocalypse Dudes' seemed to me to have far less well-structured songs (although die-hard fans will argue that it is a classic), with 'Get It On' perhaps being their best offering. So Turbonegro HAVE improved with age. Back to 'Scandinavian Leather', about the worst song on the album is 'Train Of Flesh', which doesn't quite work (in my opinion). But don't let that put you off- this IS a pretty good album from an unconventional band. It won't, perhaps, change your life, but it might just entertain you for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wipe Until It Bleeds!, 20 Nov 2005
By 
S. EVANS (Cornwall U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Leather (Audio CD)
Scandinavian Leather is Turbo's reunion/comeback album after the disaster of their breakup (due to singer Hank's mental health deterioration) at the height of their powers in 1998. And what a comeback! After the move from hardcore punk to a more punk rock oriented sound on Apocalypse Dudes Turbo went a step further again towards rock mainstream with this one, with the production being the star here. The trend started on Dudes for the cheesey intro continues with a completely naff 80's piano intro that is a perfect lead into the kickass dirty riff of Wipe Until It Bleeds. The track shows off a more rock direction and is one of two standouts on the album, the shout-along anthem F*** The World being the other. Although Leather can't compete with the sheer kick ass momentum of Dudes it tries its best with tracks like Drenched In Blood, with it's suprising beach boys sing-along chorus, Turbo Must Be Destroyed, which I think is some sort of mockery of the press and their image and Locked Down. There are some stinkers on here, Gimme Some and Train Of Flesh are just completely lacking any Turbo charm and as on Dudes Turbo pay their respects to The Stooges by stealing a riff from Penetration (on Raw Power) for Sell Your Body. What takes it up to four stars is the excellent F*** The World a dark Turbo opera of the highest standard. Combining strings and an anthemic chorus it's the biggest departure from the Apocalypse Dudes sound and the most successfull, easily one of their best tracks. So overall not a classic like Dudes, but rounds off a nice death punk trilogy in style. Takes a while to get into so for Turbo newbies I recommend getting Apocalypse Dudes or Ass Cobra first. Also highly recommended is The Stooges Raw Power, probably the band with the most influences in Turbo's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 April 2003
This review is from: Scandinavian Leather (Audio CD)
Even better than Apocalypse Dudes, Turbonegro kicks off with their latesl album Scandinavian Leather, and the comeback of the bands frontman, Hank von Helvete. After a few years break Hank now's better than ever, and the band kicks butt from track one. This is an album that is brilliant! Brilliant because they've returned with an album that is better than Apocalypse, and that says a hole lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scandinavian Leather
Scandinavian Leather by Turbonegro (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews