Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe as good 'a place in the sun'?, 12 Mar 2003
Lit fans beware!In the same vein as Lit's masterpiece 'a place in the sun' comes start static.
The same mix of punky riffs,slow thought provoking lyrics and a sense of energy and meaning in the production of this album will have you thinking "have Lit split and reformed again?".
Well thankfully they haven't but they should be scared as this is a well written and powerfull album that has 'instant classic' written all over it.
Buy it now and enjoy the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have album, 7 Mar 2004
This review is from: Start Static (Audio CD)
This album is just amazing for a debut album. Sugarcult are wihtout a doubt (in my opinion, anyway) the best pop-punk band around at the minute. It's beyond me how they aren't huge yet! But if they keep up the standard on Start Static, they soon will be. Not one bad track on the entire album. My personal favourites are Bouncing Off the Walls, Daddy's Little Defect and Hate Every Beautiful Day, but they're all great. The new album is out soon! Long live Sugarcult! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing debut album, 13 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Start Static (Audio CD)
Firstly, I must say, that it's an absolute shame music lovers in the UK have had to wait almost 2 years for the release of this album over here. Why we have to wait so long is an absolute mystery.
Anyway, onto the album. This album has a great mix of music, changing between upbeat and slower songs between tracks like no tomorrow. But this is no bad thing. Every song on this album is catchy, and damn right brilliant. From the recently released moody, yet powerful Pretty Girl (The Way) to the genius of the uplifting How Does It Feel?, this album has consequently been in my CD player solidly for the last month.
It's hard to pick out single tracks that are the best on the album, because they are all equal and amazing.
If you love pop-punk, or anything close, buy this album. Even if you don't, try something new - you won't regret it.
And dont miss their tour this June around the UK. They were fantastic supporting Reel Big Fish (and the other supporting band - The Starting Line, are brilliant - get their album too!)
Buy, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most under-rated bands ever, 16 Dec 2003
This review is from: Start Static (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best i own, the music on it is simply brilliant. Why this band isn't as huge as the likes of blink 182 and sum 41 is a huge mystery. Tracks like stuck in america are fantastic. I really can't describe how much i like this band and i can't wait for there next album which should be out early 2004. I also own there limited edition album that can only be purchased from the web site and have to say thats just as good. I advise you all buy this album and if you get chance go and see the band live as i did because they are the best live act to come out of the states in years and beleive me i should know as i've seen a hell of a lot of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT AN AMAZING ALBUM!!!!, 4 Feb 2003
Sugarcult are a band who don't receive a high enough accolade for their songs. This album is absolutely fantastic where it is safe to say every single track is awesome. A mixture of pop-punk and 70's style rock, Sugarcult have hit the nail on the head and while they're bracketed in the same division as New Found Glory and Reel Big Fish they can sure hold their own! Stand out tracks are 'Hate Every Beautiful Day', 'Stuck In America' and 'How Does It Feel?'. The immortal 'Bouncing Off The Walls' will turn any mosh-pit into a plethora of hyperactive chimpanzees!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brillaint!, 3 Mar 2003
All i can say is buy the album. Also it's a shame it took me 2 years to actually hear the band!
As many of you probably know this album was released originally in 2001, but has been re-released for the UK. Preferably i'd go for the US addition as you get the bonus track at the end!
The personal favourites are obviously "Stuck in America" and "Bouncing off the Walls" as they feature in the film "Van Wilder" (which also rocks). But the rest of the album features great songs, which go from the transition of thrashing rock, to quiet chilled balled soft rock tracks.
I'd definitely recommend this to anyone, especially if you go for bands like Lit and liked the film Van Wilder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Sugarcult Rock!, 29 Jan 2003
This is album is absolutely awesome! It's like a mix of 70's rock and mainstream punk. It's one of those albums which every song is fantastic! Stand out tracks are Stuck In America, Hate Every Beautiful Day and How Does It Feel?
For anyone who is into the melodic punk scene, it is imperative that you buy this album! Its a refreshing punk alternative from other great American punk bands like New Found Glory and Bolwing For Soup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated album, 2 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Start Static (Audio CD)
Firstly Sugarcult are a quite an unknown band which is a shame because this album is just as good if not better than the likes of Blink 182 and Sum 41. Songs such as Stuck in America, Bouncing off the walls, Lost in you and how does it feel? are outstanding, as their catchy and short (to the point) This is definitely worth a listen if you like pop/punk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Destined for greater things..., 25 Mar 2003
By 
Bernie Goodjohn (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Start Static (Audio CD)
After months of listening to my Sugarcult album sampler and watching their videos online, I was really excited for this release.
Start Static is a good record but Sugarcult have the potential to be great, judging by storming anthems such as the brilliant "Bouncing off the walls", "You're the one" and the fantastic single "Stuck in America". Some of the tracks on the album just don't compare!
After creating such a stir supporting Reel Big Fish in the UK, it is hard to agree with those who criticise Sugarcult as being the latest in a long line of pop punk bands who deal with issues such as teenage angst.
Sugarcult are destined for great things if they stick to what they do best - storming pop punk anthems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars powerful and full of energy!, 24 Jan 2003
every song offers something different on this album, powerful songs like Hate Every Beautiful Day are in competition with the happy sounds of Bouncing Off The Walls Again and Stuck In America. some songs are cheesy punk, some are depressing but meaningful and some are just fantastic like Pretty Girl! its one beast of a song, different style to rest so dont buy the album just off hearing this song. its quite punky rocky grungy guitars and very uplifting. if you think you want this you will need to be a punk rock fan who likes slightly cheesy stuff (possibly a ska punk fan?) and also u need 2 have the appreciation for the slow emo's cos theres 3-5 of em. 3 are very slow, the other 2 are mid tempo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Start Static
Start Static by Sugarcult (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews