Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Interpretations of Brahms 1-4, 24 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
What we get here are four powerfull readings that are assured, controlled deep and meaningfull. Syphonies 1-3 are taken from the Digtial Era [i.e. 1980's] and the 4th Symphony dates from 1978. Placing the 4th Symphony taken from the 1970's placed alongside the Digital recordings does not make sense - my guess is that the Digital 4th Symphony version could not be accomated to fit this 2CD-set.
Brahms Symphony No. 1 [rec 1987]
- this particular version beats all the previous recordings that Karajan commited to record - and beats every other possible recording of this Symphony by any other conductor. The only competitor for the No. 1 spot is Klaus Tennstedt.
Brahms Symphony No. 2 [rec 1987]
- a sure footed well played and a well engineered recording of this symphony.
Brahms Symphony No. 3 [rec 1989]
- a well executed performance and descent recording of a symphony that appears to elude that 100% definitve recording anywhere. In the abscence of the definitive recording - this 1989 recording is more than recomendable.
Brahms Symphony No. 4 [rec 1978]
A passionate and fire driven performance of Symphony No. 4 that has few faults and all that one could wish to hear in this work.
In conclusion - If your looking for a Brahms - Syms 1-4 you can't go wrong with this set. The Brahms - Sym No. 1 here is the definitive recording and none so far have been able to exceed its excellence. An unmissable opportunity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars von Karajan, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Charles J. Morris "Obelix" (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
It is always good to have more than one recording of the same work using anoth conductor/ orchestra. Karajan fully lived up to my expectations. Brahms is Brahams, enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The maestro at his best again, 1 Mar 2014
By 
T.R.SULLIVAN (OXSHOTT, SURREY United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
Along with the 2 Piano Concertos (Barbirolli) I could listen to this for days. Each symphony is bold, touching and robust and Karajan knows exactly when to calm the bursts of almost ecstatic joy, for something altogether more calm and even sad. Music for the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brahms by a master, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Egmont (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
Always did like Karajan's performances. Used to have some of these on vinyl. Great to hear them again... like old friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MAESTRO KARAJAN ON SOLID GROUND, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. W. Greenock (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
Berlin Philharmonic and Karajan guarantee the kind of 'old fashioned' performance and recording that many of us still prefer. These won't disappoint - rolls royce orchestra with supreme technician
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant..., 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
..a combination of Brahms and Karajan can only be brilliant...no need to comment further...this is sheer listening pleasure and therefore recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Topperking99 (Millbrook, Torpoint Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
I love the sound of these symphonies!
It transports me to another world. Karajan & DG - can't complain about the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karajan at his best, 7 Jan 2012
By 
ManchesterMonkey (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
I've always admired Brahms' work although he's not my favourite composer nor is the Romantic my favourite period.

The fluency of Brahms' 2nd symphony rivals Beethoven (I know; a bold claim) with it's texture and tonality, and for perfect appreciation of this, the only conductor worth listening to is von Karajan with the Berlin Philharmonic.

2 and 4 are my personal favourites of this particular CD, but they are all good really. Nice and easy - buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music album, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
These two orchestral works were in my vynyl collection and were in need of replacing/
I looked at the different optionsavailable on Classic fm and then made my Amazon purchase
. I really like these performances, hence the ratings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen,Listen and Listen Again, 29 Jan 2010
By 
R. J. Knight (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms: The 4 Symphonies (Audio CD)
Listening to Brahms you can sometimes think you have chanced upon Beethoven - and with this recording Karajan certainly brings to the fore the Beethoven influences on Brahms - but it is not long before you realize you are hearing a different, unique, musical mind at work. In the wrong hands Brahms can too easily sound bland, an undifferentiated mix of orchestral sounds. In the hands of the Berlin Philharmoniker and Herbert Von Karajan, however, the memorable melodies, like a school of orcas on an undulating orchestral ocean, surface and subside in a delightful, almost unexpected fashion. Indeed, so richly crafted are these performances of the four symphonies that repeated listening reveals things you scarcely noticed before - strings soaring and reeling like a flock of gulls, bubbly reed warbler woodwind passages backed by the generally gentle and reserved (it is Brahms, after all) sea shore sounds of the percussion. Karajan is the Bill Oddie of Brahms conducting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brahms: The 4 Symphonies
Brahms: The 4 Symphonies by Berliner Philharmoniker (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews