Customer Reviews
10


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just a brief word...., 3 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
if i were to talk about this album in the depth it deserves, i would be here all night, and i'd go waaaay past the 1000 word limit, so i'm going to keep this very short and simple.
on this band's cds alone, i've spent over 300 pounds through import etc. they are, in my opinion of course, the best band in the world - no doubt. hyperbole, gushing, whatever, it's justified.
i suppose to put it all in perspective: i bought osc-dis and was blown away. i downloaded all the tracks off 010 (which had just been released in japan at the time) and that was enough to convince me to pay 40 quid for it on import, followed by the systematic purchase of their previous 8 albums (already had osc-dis), as well as the extra singles etc etc. as such, i've had access to 010 for about two years now and, no word of a lie, i've probably listened to it in its entirety well over 500 times. it is ASTONISHING. the only track that fails to capture the pure mind bending brilliance of the rest is wardance, and, whaddaya know, it wasn't them who wrote it in the first place. i've seen two people criticise jam!, and i'm still reeling from disbelief.
please buy this album, please give them the attention they deserve. japan, musically, is the most free place on earth - there are no stereotypes concerning music, and it shows magically on this album. everything is treated with the respect it deserves, and the mad capsule markets know exactly how to synthesise it. they haven't been doing it like this for long - someone's comment that they're a rap band was a bit baffling - as they've gone through huuuuuge changes, though all adhering in some way to their punk roots, and this is perhaps where their stunning intelligence lies: 14 songs, 14 completely different moods/styles/characters, but they all share the striking passion and goal of the musicians that have created them. they never sound at odds with one another. they're all at home in their crazy techno metal punk digi pop thrash world, and it's called 010 the mad capsule markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future looks bright....., 3 Mar 2003
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
..... as the final song on 010 intones, the soaring melodic vocal totally at one with the techno beats, metallic riffs and punkish surge that ends this astonishing album. But that's for later.
Quite simply, the Mad Capsule Markets ARE the most innovative and important band around today. Their massive success in their homeland Japan should, in a just and righteous world, be rewarded by the love of the record buying public. Then again, if you prefer Nickelback's dribblings or the Bizkit's unsubtle bellow then stay away from this release. The fusion of so many styles could easily be confusing and messy in the wrong hands (like much of Atari Teenage Riot), but the Capsules' genius is they are truly masters of rebellious, energetic music - be it metal, punk, rap, hip hop or techno.
More accomplished and fluent than 2001's OSC-DIS, 010 is simply splendid. The unsettling cybernetic riff of the introduction leads into 2 viciously crunching tracks, harsher and more exciting than anything bands like Slipknot could produce. Then "Gaga Life" storms in, with furious drum n bass verses matched by a magnificent chorus that Sum 41 just wish they could write. Those familiar with the Capsules' love for bubblegum punk (as in "Good Girl" in OSC-DIS) will be pleased with "XXX can of this" and "Fly High", 2 songs that could really storm the charts.
Most surprising are offerings such as "Kumo" and "Good Life", with their more chilled out beats matched by mesmeric vocals from Kyono, who's really expanded his vocal range for this record. Only "Jam!" and "Wardance" (a Killing Joke cover) dip their head below absolutely top quality; 010 just gets better and better as it goes along, culminating in the supreme R.D.M.C., a worthy successor to OSC-DIS' "Midi Surf". 4 minutes of everything that is great about the Mad Capsule Markets, that's all I can say.
Don't listen to me though, decide for yourself, the fusion of styles may not be to everyone's taste, but if you're prepared for something off the wall yet totally involving, get some Mad energy down you today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than OSC-DIS? Hell Yes!, 7 Mar 2003
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
Ok, I will start by saying that I am NOT a fan of metal or 'hard' rock. I tend to listen to ska/punk type stuff. Also, the MCMs are a PUNK band, albeit with metal/techno/etc influences. Ok, on with the review. As long time followers of these guys will know, they had left most of their punk roots behind when they released 'Digidogheadlock', which is terrible. With OSC-DIS though, they began to return to these punky roots, and there were many classic songs (Pulse, Midi Surf, Good Girl, etc). For this album, imagine the best parts of OSC-DIS but even better. Sure, there are still 'heavy' rock parts, which ain't too great, but the rest is pure poppy goodness.
My highlight would have to be 'Fly High' which is one of the most awesome songs I have EVER heard. Other poppy classics are XXX Can of This, Good Day, Gaga Life, RDMC, etc. If, however, you are a fan of their harder side, they don't disappoint here either: Chaos Step being the best of these and others like Bit Crusherrrr and Jam!.
All in all, if you ask me this or OSC-DIS, 010. But if ya can, get both! And if you have never heard anything by these guys, you really should check them out. Glorious Japanese-Cyber-Punk-Digi-Metal Heaven :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 010 out of 010, 3 Mar 2003
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
So, not many people have heard of The Mad Capsule Markets, but hopefully, with 010, this will change.
TMCM have been around for quite a while now and - thanks to the MP3 revolution - I've been fortunate enough to pick up their back catalogue for free. Now before you gripe and moan, I fully intend to buy all of them (if they ever get a release here - the price of importing them is crazy). In fact, I bought their previous album, OSC-DIS, after downloading it. So there!
Anyway, this release is another astounding hybrid of music, resulting in something unlike any other band out there. Some call their style Cybercore, but that's just a lazy tag. Their music manages to blend metal; hardcore; punk; hardcore dance; drum 'n' bass; hip-hop and more into what is, basically, pure energy in music. Their astounding tour de force blisters on the senses, their hooks grab you and keep you, their dynamic fills you with energy, and their more mellow tunes (e.g. 'Kumo') let you sink into warm relaxation. The hectic may outweigh the mellow by quite some way, but TMCM certainly manage to integrate the two faultlessly.
010 is, unsurprisingly, their tenth album to date and it's a shame that we've only just recently got to know them here, as their early punk stuff is some of the most original of the genre (a favourite of mine) that I've ever heard. The standout tracks on 010 have to be 'Fly High'; 'Chaos Step'; 'Wardance' and 'Kumo', but the whole album is brilliant. It's a perfect transition from OSC-DIS, just as that was from Digidogheadlock (probably their weakest album, but still better than most in the surrounding genres).
I fully recommend this to fans of music in general, to those who need a kick-start in their day, to those who love the aforementioned genres...to everyone! I cannot wait to see them live again. After seeing their debut UK gig at Mean Fiddler, London, I fully intend to catch their Portsmouth gig this March. Anyway, simply put, buy this album and be richer for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TMCM = Best band ever!, 6 Jun 2004
By 
S. Green "Tok" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
The Mad Capsule Markets have been thoroughly explained by other reviewers so I'm going to go straight into my views on 010.
This album rocks! Out of a 14 track LP, 10 songs are greats. I don't mean just good, I mean BRILLIANT! TMCM can flip their style so easily from the infectious Heavy beat of 'Bit Crusherrr' to the chilled out and beautiful 'Kumo'. My favorite songs have to be 'XXX Can of This' and 'Fly High'. These songs are truely phenomenal (In my opinion) and it's so great to see a band excel in every style of rock music.
The 4 remaining songs (that aren't so great) are 'War Dance', 'Come', 'Jam' and 'This is the mad style'. The latter is just a 30 second filler and 'War Dance' wasn't even written by the Mad Caps. 'Come' is a good song, but it just doesn't compare with the brilliant 10 that 010 has to offer.
My copy of this album came with the 'OSC-DIS Videos' DVD. Containing all the singles from TMCM's last album. This is truely an amazing package that everyone should buy.
It's such a shame that no-one in England is a fan, as TMCM are possibly the best band no-one will ever hear of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 010 out of 010, 3 Mar 2003
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
Ok. So not many people have heard of The Mad Capsule Markets, but hopefully, with 010, this will change. TMCM have been around for quite a while now and - thanks to the MP3 revolution - I've been fortunate enough to pick up their back catalogue for free. Now before you gripe and moan, I fully intend to buy all of them (if they ever get a release here - the price of importing them is crazy). In fact, I bought their previous album, OSC-DIS, after downloading it. So there! Anyway, this release is another astounding hybrid of music, resulting in something unlike any other band out there. Some call their style Cybercore, but that's just a lazy tag. Their music manages to blend metal; hardcore; punk; hardcore dance; drum 'n' bass; hip-hop and more into what is, basically, pure energy in music. Their astounding tour de force blisters on the senses, their hooks grab you and keep you, their dynamic fills you with energy, and their more mellow tunes (e.g. 'Kumo') let you sink into warm relaxation. The hectic may outweigh the mellow by quite some way, but TMCM certainly manage to integrate the two faultlessly. 010 is, unsurprisingly, their tenth album to date and it's a shame that we've only just recently got to know them here, as their early punk stuff is some of the most original of the genre (a favourite of mine) that I've ever heard. The standout tracks on 010 have to be 'Fly High'; 'Chaos Step'; 'Wardance' and 'Kumo', but the whole album is brilliant. It's a perfect transition from OSC-DIS, just as that was from Digidogheadlock (probably their weakest album, but still better than most in the surrounding genres), and I fully recommend this to fans of music in general, to those who need a kick-start in their day, to those who love the aforementioned genres...to everyone! I cannot wait to see them live again. After seeing their debut UK gig at Mean Fiddler, London, I fully intend to catch their Portsmouth gig this March. Anyway, simply put, buy this album and be richer for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gamer, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
I love the mad capsule markets and this album sas great i heard the single gaga life and i enjoy the full album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese industrial never sounded so good., 14 Jan 2004
This review is from: 010 (Audio CD)
This is simply a must-buy for any fans of Industrial or cyber-goth metal. 010 relies very heavily on electronica - far more so than their previous albums - particularly in the excellent dance/metal tracks "No Food, Drink or Smoking" and "Chaos Step".
There's something for the feel-good, skate-punks amongst you with "Gaga Life" and "Fly High". "Bit Crusherrrr" is a heart pounding, brooding piece reminiscent of recent efforts by Alec Empire.
Political, angry, funny and lighthearted, the band blend Japanese and English lyrics seamlessly. The album is breathtaking in places, bouncey in others, and excellent throughout. Clicking "add to basket" would only be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big in Japan, 14 Mar 2003
By 
Mr. D. Ball "Badger" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
The mad capsule markets certainly have come on leaps and bounds. The first U.K release OS-DIS gave everyone a very small taste of the raw power and general insanity of this japanese 3-set. The music is beyond definition,combining an essence of punk/metal with some very old-skool hardcore drum beats more expected in the older european rave scene. A lot of the songs are either in japanese or(fairly patchy)english but as with the likes of rammstein the langauge barrier only adds to the enjoyment of the music more than the lyrics by making this the main focus. This offering is a lot darker than the previous album(which contained the delightfully cheery and tuneful ska track,sunny beach)and the album also focusses more on the electronical side of the industrial market. There is still the shrill and distorted power in kyonos lyrics which he barks with such power and feeling aswell as the raw and chugging punk guitar sounds from Takeshi Ueda which still dominate a lot of the tracks.
This said the album is similar enough to the previous for fans of that to return and inovative enough for them to be stunned by how far the band has come.Unfortunately the earlier albums(i think as many as 9!)are not available in the UK as yet but with a growing fanbase in this country it is only a matter of time before the mad capsule markets are hailed as true pioneers of rock in a world which so desperatley needs those who are willing to break the mould.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars High standards continue..., 12 Mar 2003
This review is from: 10 (Audio CD)
The Mad Capsule Markets again come up with the goods with this album. Combining heavy guitars and drums with techno/drum n' bass style beats creates the highly succesful sound the group are becoming well known for. A good 13 heavy tracks on offer with the 1 token 'pop/ambience' based tune thrown in to mix it up a bit. The first few tracks such as Come, Chaos Step and Jam! stand out as do Wardance and Bit Crusher but in general all are of a high standard. If so good then why only 4 stars ? Well, although the album is excellent, it is similar in style to previous releases such as Osc-Dis so it loses a star for not being ground-breaking. But if something works why change it ? Highly recommended !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

10
10 by Mad Capsule Markets (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews