Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please purchase this CD
First of all, let me state that I am not a fan of Tom Jones. I am a fan of good voices, and good music. Both are present in abundance here.
After reading rave reviews of the "TOM JONES & JOOLS HOLLAND" CD, I took a chance, ordered it from Amazon, and have been listening to it repeatedly since. Please, give yourself a gift, buy that one also. This led me to order the...
Published on 14 Feb 2011 by François Brunelle, Québec

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, poor quality
A fantastic album (one or two tracks that I would happily do without - specifically the Robbie Williams and James Dean Bradfield tracks - but most are great) - but unfortunately marred by being heavily over-compressed, so the sound quality isn't quite up to scratch on the louder bits (and there are lots of those). It's a shame, other than this it would be a 4-star CD.
Published on 19 Jan 2000


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please purchase this CD, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Reload (Re-issue) (Audio CD)
First of all, let me state that I am not a fan of Tom Jones. I am a fan of good voices, and good music. Both are present in abundance here.
After reading rave reviews of the "TOM JONES & JOOLS HOLLAND" CD, I took a chance, ordered it from Amazon, and have been listening to it repeatedly since. Please, give yourself a gift, buy that one also. This led me to order the "LIVE FROM CARDIFF CASTLE" DVD from Amazon ; the song titles forebode well. I was not disapointed. Another great gift to give yourself.
During the DVD, Mr. Jones explains that some, most, of the songs he is about to perform come from, a then recent CD, "RELOAD". The performances on the DVD are so great, I had to order the CD (yes from Amazon). Here is where I got a surprise : the songs on the CD have perceptively more punch than on the DVD. Usualy I find that shows on DVD give more of an edge to the songs, I guess the presence of the audience does this. In this case, the fact that the songs are recorded in duos with performers not normaly associated with him, gave Tom Jones the little extra energy needed to acheive the sublime.
The CD is a pure pleasure to listen to, from the first to the last song. More so with this european version that has remixes not available on the North-American one. So, give yourself a treat, purchase it (from Amazon of course).Tom Jones and Jools HollandTom Jones - Live At Cardiff Castle [DVD] [2002]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An up-to-date album from the master, 26 Nov 2000
This review is from: Reload: (New Edition) (Audio CD)
If you can get past the hair and the orange complexion, you will realise this is a masterpiece from the welsh wonder from the valleys. Even the Stereos and the Cerys know a legend when they see one. His gravelly voice and hip thrusting delivery appeals to all ages and his fans range from thong wearers to die hard fans more comfortable in .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality sounds from Mr. Jones, 15 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Reload (Re-issue) (Audio CD)
This is a great album of top notch songs sung by Mr. Jones, with the added extra of the other vocalists/bands as well. Every song is a winner. This is a must for driving in the car on an open road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RELOAD Again and Again..., 20 Aug 2003
By 
Belinda Phillips (Albuquerque, New Mexico USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reload (Re-issue) (Audio CD)
Reload is cut from a little bit different cloth than most other Tom Jones CD's I have heard. It offers a variety of music styles: Rock, R&B, Funk, Country and even a hint of Dean Martin in Baby it's Cold Outside. Each song performed with guest artists, an incredible pool of vocal and musical talent. I enjoyed every song on the CD. Different is not bad at all, especially in this case, different is fun and exciting and haunting and sexy. I'm hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The coolest pensioner in pop/rock !, 6 Mar 2000
By A Customer
I was sceptical when I heard about this album. It seemed like Jones The Voice was trying to improve his credibility by performing with the current generation of music ( + Van Morrison ).
I always knew that Tom had a superb voice but he really shines against nearly all of his partners on this album. There are a few songs that I always skip ( Simply Red, Chrissie Hynde, Zucchero ) but the rest of them are damn fine pop/rock tracks.
My personal favourite is Sexbomb with Mousse T followed by the Phonics, Barenaked Ladies and Cerys Matthews ...
If you like pop/rock, forget your 'cred' and grab a copy. You'll probably like it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Jones has yet again succeeded in re-inventing himself., 18 Nov 2000
This review is from: Reload: (New Edition) (Audio CD)
What can I say - he is the man. Live - absolutely amazing and just as good on CD. A variety of styles of music with a number of contemporary artists. The highlights for me are "I'm left, you're right..." with James Dean Bradfield of the Manics- what a combination of voices, "Mama told me not to come"- what could be better than Tom and The Stereophonics. I also luuuurve "Baby it's cold outside" - what a sexy song, sung by two of the sexiest voices that we have. If you like Rock, Pop, Jazz, whatever....Buy This!!!!, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Covers given clout by the classy Welsh Prince & his cohorts, 26 Oct 1999
By A Customer
I realise that nobody does it better than the original artist (quite often - admittedly there are some groups that don't do justice the first time around and no self-respecting artist would consider a cover of what's left): but sometimes the re-mix or the cover gets a leg-up from a fresh face and a new edge to an old tune is honed.
There are perfect matches and mismatches amidst the duets and partnerships in this album, but through and through the rich and confident tones of Tom are a shining light that you can hardly fault. I admit to be a new-comer to many of these songs, but there are plenty that I'm familiar with. The combinations that don't quite seem to gel do so because the artists involved are such opposites to the Welsh Prince - Natalie Imbruglia and The Divine Comedy being good examples. The apposites amidst the guest artists are the likes of Robbie Williams, Cerys and Zucchero, who manage - in their own inimitable fashion - to stamp their presence within the rhythms and verse and provide perfect, balancing partners to the fullsome tones of Tom.
Burning Down The House, Mama Told Me Not To Come and She Drives Me Crazy stand out to me as the best of this album; but there is little here that won't please those who pick it up. If more than half of these songs get your feet-tapping, and they will, then I think you can consider your pounds and pennies well invested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reload, 8 July 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reload (Re-issue) (Audio CD)
More cheesy than the cheese board at the annual general meeting of the cheese farmers held every year in Cheddar you still can't deny that this album is a "must have" for any half decent record collection.
Collaboration albums have been done before this offering from the legendary Tom Jones, but few I would guess have done it with such panache and flair. Taking in almost every possible musical style from the funky disco version of Talking Head's "Burning Down The House" with The Cardigans to the dramatic orchestralisation of "All Mine" with The Divine Comedy. From the big band sound of "Baby It's Cold Outside" with Cerys Matthews to the smouldering heat of the jazzy blues version of The Kinks' "Sunny Afternoon" with Space.
Jones more than holds his own with the vocal talents of other collaborators on this album, Mick Hucknell, Heather Small, Van Morrison and Chrissie Hynde all feature.
It really is the perfect summer bar-b-que music and has something for almost everyone. Personal favourite is the perfect window open driving song "I'm Left, You're Right, She's Gone" with James Dean Bradfield of the Manic Street Preachers which is just a perfect mix of guitar led rock and singalong pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New acts give fuddy-duddy new lease of life!, 5 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Reload (1999) (Audio CD)
How do you bring an old artist back to life? It's simple - you adapt their sound to suit today's market by adding in artists who's music they already listen to. Even with my early aprehensions about this album, Tom Jones was really brought to life in some of the songs; "Burning Down The House" being one of the aforementioned tracks; outstanding! However, even though a good investment for all you music lovers out there(!), some of the matches on this track were not exactly sucessful - although I must admit - with Tom Jones' powerful yet seductive voice, it takes some doing to find a decent match. Tom Jnes - being the main artist - does steal the limelight a bit, as the other acts: Stereophonics, Moussse T, and Portishead to name but a few, do put in a fair bit of effort.
All in all, "Reload" is a great album, and well worth buying if you just want something to listen to, but it is NOT the album for all you sceptics out there that sit and find fault with everything - you'll be there all day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep up the good work Tom-boyo!, 6 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Hah, yet again the great man has popped out a classic. OK, OK, so he may be pandering to the younger generation, but it works, and at least he is doing it with acts who have a fair amount of control over the direction of their music. There's no 'with Steps' or 'accompanied by S Club 7'.
A couple of the tracks weren't my cup of tea, but most of them were.....anyway, one man's meat is another man's poison and it makes a refreshing change to see more good that bad songs on a CD these days. Ones which stand out? Ultimately, the fantastic Stereophonics track, the drifting Neil Hannon (Divine Comedy) and the cutting J D B(Manic Street Preachers), the incredibly schmoozy 'Sexbomb' with Mousse T (be warned, it's not the pumping single version - completely different in fact - but you'll still love it), there is tremendous power in 'Never tear us apart' and 'Cold outside' oozes humour. But it's the excellent collaboration with the James Taylor Quartet which takes the biscuit.
Buy it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reload (Re-issue)
Reload (Re-issue) by Tom Jones (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews