Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


250 of 256 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Good, Le Bad and Le Duo
These juicers are pretty heavy geezers so if you are serious about juicing you need to keep the thing out on a worktop and accessible for everyday use or else it will gather dust in a kitchen cupboard. It works well, not too noisy (the baby doesn't mind it) and seems to give out a heap of juice leaving very dry residue in the basket which must be good if I'm to believe...
Published on 29 April 2003 by LYNNE MURRAY

versus
71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Designed to be Used Once and put in the Attic!
When my cheap juice extractor eventually broke after many years of constant use I decided to invest more money and purchase a Le Duo.
Within months hairline cracks had appeared over the motor housing, the main collecting bowl and the citrus press.
I am now on a second Le Duo (which is even worse) for it still has developed hairline cracks but in addition pours...
Published on 2 Jan. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Designed to be Used Once and put in the Attic!, 2 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
When my cheap juice extractor eventually broke after many years of constant use I decided to invest more money and purchase a Le Duo.
Within months hairline cracks had appeared over the motor housing, the main collecting bowl and the citrus press.
I am now on a second Le Duo (which is even worse) for it still has developed hairline cracks but in addition pours the extracted juice not only from the spout but from around the base of the bowl, which leaves a mess on the work surfaces.
The Le Duo looks good and does do a great job at extracting juice but in my opinion is not designed for regular use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


250 of 256 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Good, Le Bad and Le Duo, 29 April 2003
By 
LYNNE MURRAY (ABERDEEN United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
These juicers are pretty heavy geezers so if you are serious about juicing you need to keep the thing out on a worktop and accessible for everyday use or else it will gather dust in a kitchen cupboard. It works well, not too noisy (the baby doesn't mind it) and seems to give out a heap of juice leaving very dry residue in the basket which must be good if I'm to believe all the nutrition is in the juice not the fibre.
Speaking of the basket, if you are a greedy beast like me and like a good few glassfuls at each go (I'm talking a pint or more here depending on what you're juicing), you may need to empty the residue basket mid juicing as it can get pretty full round the edges and vibrate horribly across the worktop and leak a bit.
And don't chuck away the spatula to clean out the basket either as you'll need it handy to scrape out the leftovers to your compost heap before giving it a wash. You have to do this part pretty quick as if leftovers dry up then it's fairly ugly to clean all the nooks and crannies in the basket when the leftovers have cemented themselves to everything.
On the design side, it would be easier to dismantle if someone had the foresight to put some grooves or handholds onto the thing to get a good grip to pull it apart. This was a real down point initially as it was very stiff until used a bit. Now I've got my own technique but ask anyone else in the household to take it apart and they'd probably fail miserably. It is not at all intuitive and no guides or arrows are to be seen on the juicer itself to help out.
Yes, I could have bought a juicer that took a whole apple in one go without having to chop it into quarters to fit in the feed tube but this is not really much hardship. I did contemplate a juicer with a separate residue basket too but I'm glad I didn't as I've since read up that they don't produce so much juice. (Purists would argue you should consume the residue too but I'll pass on that.) Also, this one works on centrifugal force so maximises the juice output and hence nutrition content which is what I'm after.
The citrus part is very good and quick. 5/6 medium oranges will give over a pint. You need to press down on the citrus press top whilst the motor is running to get most of the juice out but you never hear it complaining.
The spout perplexed me initially and the first few goes the juice spewed out the middle of the machine until I realised I hadn't got the spout open! You'll be able to fit a pint jug underneath the spout but not a pint glass (too tall).
Conclusion. All in all, it wasn't the cheapest but it's been reliable, efficient, looks good and the juices taste even better! (Have a gawk at Micheal Van Straten's SUPER JUICE book for some yummy ideas- even the book looks good!; the recipes with Le Duo are not too inspiring) . Instructions are concise, and the juicer robust. Once you've made friends with your juicer and keep him somewhere you can access him easily and you'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clearly a case for juicing, 9 Aug. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
This machine is virtually the only juicer not to be sourced in China these days. As a result, there is abundant plastic and a proven motor on this Burgundy made machine. Apparently after many years it has benefited from a minor redesign - which took away an existing feature (the on-off spout), so that this singular advance in product development leaves the machine dripping although less likely to require replacement parts. This might justify the increased warranty (12 years on the motor and 3 on the rest of the machine).
This centrifuagal juicer works differently from virtually all of its peers (rather like an accessory juicer on food processors). Most juicers hurl pith and skin over the top of a sloping filter into a basket. The Magimix keeps everything within its vertical overhanging walls. The positive result: less to clean and clearer thinner juice. The negative result is that although juice is longer lasting and doesn't seperate into layers of sewer-like sludge, the juice is less tasty and the machine becomes unstable if you try to juice too much at a time.
The sieve/grater is heavy and well made, although it really should have been redesigned to come apart for cleaning - as it is difficult to remove detritus from the overhanging assembly. The motor is reasonably quiet although not nearly as quiet as other induction rivals although it appears to have much torque and doesn't slow under load. Unfortunately, the filter/sieve assembly is not dynamically balanced - resulting in unecessary noise and uneveness even when empty. The feeder is primitively narrow and pathetically constricted for a machine at this price level, making it necessary to cut fruit etc into small segments. The absence of a feeder hod is utterly unforgivable in a machine at this price level.
The citrus press performs well, although having to turn the motor on and off for each half of even the smallest fruit is just a pain. Higher and narrowing citrus press walls or a fruit grabber would allow continuous processing.
So there you are. Chose this model for thin and relatively clear juicing and gain clarity and longevity at the cost of taste and layered oxygenated sludge. There is no perfect centrifugal juicer at the moment. This one produces results which do not require separation or straining and perhaps last longer in the fridge. Yet, sadly, there is something missing! I'm not experienced with masticating juicers, which I gather are slower to use. Perhaps they might combine taste and texture better than the flawed centifuges currently on offer.
With the Magimix we win some and lose some - but all centrifugal juicers these days fail to produce acceptable results. The Le Duo at least is almost on its own in design terms, is relatively easy to clean, well guaranteed, and produces relatively clear juice which is a little too thin for enhanced taste and texture and you don't have to stir or chew your way through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magmix juicer, 30 Dec. 2005
By 
S Forder (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
I have this juicer and also the coolie attachment that sits in the sieve and forces soft fruit out through the sieve to make thick coolies. I love it find it easy to clean using the spatula and one of those long handled nylon bristled washing up brushes that Ikea sell. The whole top assembly goes in the dishwasher once a week and the stainless steel bottom wipes clean. The citrus press is ok, it works better than a hand press and means I don't have to have too machines or to skin the oranges before juicing, it gives orange juice with just the right amount of pulp. To get mroe from you press gently move the citrus press back and forth , it has give built into the design. This juicer suits a two person household, makes 2/3 very large glasses without needing emptying. If I'm juicing more I simply tip the pulp out into out into a bowl by the juicer, carry on and at the end put the lot in the bin. I'm a fan... Tip once fininshed tip juicer towards the glass, a little will be inside and place a small shot glass under the spout stopping drips landing on the work top
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best !, 11 April 2003
By 
Mr. C. B. Gregory (Odiham, Hook, Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
A solid juicer which feels like it will last for ever with its powerful motor. Results are superb and much better than our old unit. I am not sure how this happens but the juices, apples, oranges as well as the excellent recipies (jncl carrots) in the accompanying manual are just superb. Only drawback is that the cleaning is a chore, so make sure than you don't want to make just one glass of juice. Some may find the weight an inconvenience too. Really pleased with our purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A major disappointment, 21 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
I was given my first Le Duo for Christmas 2004. In January 2005 I returned it for the first time: cracks were appearing in the casing, and so it was leaking. The second lasted another couple of months, before being returned for the same reason. I still have the third.... but it is used very rarely. It is cracked; the spout has worked loose; and the lid frequently jams into the locked position (and needs either forcing or a knife to un-jam it). It should have gone back months ago, but we've just got fed up with the effort involved in returning it. The replacement won't be any different.
The juice is really lovely... but that's the ingredients, not the equpiment.
A very poorly constructed bit of equipment, which is OK if used on occasions, but nowhere near robust enough to use as a daily tool. Surprising for a Magimax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this juicer as it was one of the most expensive and the old saying 'you get what you pay for' is true. This juicer is simply excellent. Not only is it easy to use but also easy to clean. The only slightly annoying thing is none of my glasses are short enough to fit under the spout so have had to buy shorter ones which don't tend to hold very much juice before you have to swap it. However apart from this the juicer has been well worth the money. I would recommend to anyone, in fact, I have bought one for my mum for her birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars looks better than it works, 18 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
We chose this juicer mainly due to the look and the powerful motor. I had started a special diet and fresh juice was a must. Initally I liked the machine. I found it easy to clean and the results were good. But eventually it was a let down.

My sister and I bought a machine each and her one lasted a month. Firstly the citrus press which is removable got stuck to the main body of the machine and was sent for repair. But when it came back from repair it started leaking. so it was returned for a refund.
I would not recommend this machine if you juice every day. It is good for occasional use and looking good in the kitchen. It will vibrate and unfortunately you have to cut up the fruit. I didnt like the results from the citrus press, so for me it was a waste of time.You get more juice and fibre by juicing the segments of the fruit anyway.
After five months of continued use the machine started to show signs of rust, even though it had been looked after well. but the final straw was when it started to spin round and the juice would miss the glass. So I now have a machine which doesnt look as good but works alot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful healthy drinks, 25 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
EXCELLENT...is the first word that comes to mind. Very simple to operate and clean. The extractor and the citrus press are both efficient at providing a good quantity of juice. Straight after using remove the very dry pulp with the spatula provided; rinse under a running tap and put in the dishwasher, as easy as that ! I do have Michael Van Straten's book Super Juices as well as the recipe book that came with it but have so far just used the fruit and veg that I already had and made some lovely drinks, that all the family have enjoyed. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality well made juicer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two in one,drink 2 your health!, 2 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Magimix Le Duo Juice Extractor Chrome/Charcoal Finish (Kitchen & Home)
I use this every day ,and since I bought this we dont buy juice any more,this juces so efficiently that the remaining pulp is completely dry;Here are some tips to get the most of your juicer: 1)Wash it after each use,this way nothing would get stuck.2) To clean the metal part I found that a toothbrush or a small brush realy does the trick.just put it under running water and use the brush to clean the inside of the metal basket. This is not a juicer for big families since you have to empty the pulp collecter quite often if you dont want your juicer to start vibrating.In the instructions it says that you dont have to peel you apple,but I do because you get more juice.Two oranges and three apples will give two servings.Try this, and enjoy juice like you have never enjoyed juice!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews