Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Nirvana!
By the time I finished my first listen of this album, my face muscles were exhausted due to the constant grining, yes "Man With A Movie Camera" is one of those albums that will leave you so utterly flabbergasted you'll need a a bottle of water for every listen! From the soothing transitions of "Reel Life (Evolution II)" to the haunting "All Things To All Men", the album...
Published on 3 April 2005

versus
1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hotel lobby music
totally unimpressed. soundtrack to the film oceans 11. alot of trumpets and new york pretentious jazz. filler music. nothing interesting. Hotel lobby, slick, dull piano riffs.
massive step down from Ma Fleur. a pure waste of money.
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by amoylan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Nirvana!, 3 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
By the time I finished my first listen of this album, my face muscles were exhausted due to the constant grining, yes "Man With A Movie Camera" is one of those albums that will leave you so utterly flabbergasted you'll need a a bottle of water for every listen! From the soothing transitions of "Reel Life (Evolution II)" to the haunting "All Things To All Men", the album is designed with precision, to take your breath away.
Its epic presentation is what makes each listen so amazing. The instruments blend in a beautifully flowing and seamless manner with laid back yet powerful soulful beats. Whether you're into jazz or not, Cinematic Orchestra have pulled off something thats universal to anyone who appreciates good music. Listen to it now and be amazed over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning. If you want goosebumps... sign here!, 16 July 2003
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see the live performance in Manchester last month, and I've got to say that it was one of the best gigs I've ever seen. What's even better is that the quality of the live music is just as strong as that on the CD! An amazing group of musicians and creatives who deserve a good hard pat on the back. If you want the hairs on the back of your neck to stand on end, order it now. Cleverly composed jazz/funk blends, string swells to bring a tear to your eye, sparing complimenting samples and sounds, the best tenner I've ever parted with! Add it to your basket and your ears will love you forever! :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!, 6 Jun 2003
By 
Jack (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
Wow, what can I say? This is simply gorgeous music. Having not ever been a great fan of jazz, I was increedibely impressed by this. I own their first two albums (both growers, and both excellent) and went along to see them live, as recommended by Gilles Peterson. They projected the film of the title (1920s Russian silent movie) onto a screen and then played the soundtrack live. It was, in a word, awesome. Upbeat and mellow in equal measures, and these guys can play their instruments!
The album features other versions of their older tracks, plus some new ones and a lot of incidental music. Definitely also worth buying the DVD for the full aural/visual experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz is dead! Long live the new Jazz!, 20 July 2003
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
Unlike anything I've heard for years: has a the technical jazz grounding of musicians like Tommy Smith ("Spartacus", etc.), the spontaneity and originality of Chris Bowden, and the modern feel of some work by Jazzanova and others.
Cool, breezy, flowing, rhythm, beats, intense, liquid, syncopated. You'll find your self being drawn in and carried away within moments. Mixtures of steady and gentle rhythms with fiery and powerful top-lines; careful and solid construction; originality and drive. Whether you like jazz, like lounge, like beats; want to dance, want to chill; and fan of real music will be all over this.
I have recommended this album to everyone I know - my friends, my colleagues, random people in record stores, my mother(!). You will want to play this over and over again, louder and louder, blast it from the top of your building. It could be the new Jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slick and evocative trip-hop, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Chris J. Gorman "Gorman" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
A brilliant purchase - having seen the Cinematic Orchestra live years ago, I'd somehow managed to overlook this superb CD. Since it's their best record in my (recently updated) opinion, I feel pretty daft.

Smooth modern jazz influences combined with trip-hop textures, the Man With The Movie Camera is an excellent album, and I'd recommend it to anyone - particularly fans of jazz, Portishead, early Goldfrapp or Sneaker Pimps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 27 Feb 2009
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
This album from start to finish is fantastic. I brought the vinyl version as well which has a slightly different mix to some of the songs which add a different dimension. So if you like this go buy it. The album itself fuses effortlessly Jazz and classical music which is very easy to listen to. You'll find yourself tapping away throughout it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful, 6 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
Anyone who enjoyed Swinscoe et al's sublime EVERY DAY will find this a marvellous companion piece, not just because of the early versions of some of that album's stand-out tracks. This is music to get lost in & come back to time & again: constantly shifting, surprising & transporting. Are the Cinematics the most interesting band working today? Discuss . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 23 Aug 2003
By 
A. BADDELEY "sawtooth12" (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
Cinematic Orchestra quite simply put make this world seem to be a much better place than it often is through their music. Simple honesty, beauty, sincerity, strength - this music transcends words. As Claude Debussy said in early 20th century: 'Music is the space between the notes'. Cinematics have mastered this. Music and art collide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More and More Everyday, 6 Jun 2003
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
I'm not eloquent enough to write a proper review but I will just add that in addition to the two tracks from Everyday mentioned above that it also includes new/old versions of Burmont and All Things.
If you already love Cinematic then don't think...buy. If you're new to their sound then maybe Everyday or Motion are better starting points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man With a Movie Camera (Audio CD)
As above ..... lllllll. lllllll ..llllllll. ll ll . lll llll lll lllll llll ll l l l l l
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Man With a Movie Camera
Man With a Movie Camera by Cinematic Orchestra (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews