Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, exciting stuff, but sadly not complete
AVTAK was the first time I noticed how good the Bond scores were. John Barry scored 11 movies in the series, a record that is unlikely to ever be broken. Barry created new and unique themes for each movie and frequently worked in the melodies from the title songs, blending the Bond theme into them so seamlessly and naturally that it became a staple of the franchise that...
Published 16 months ago by Inspector Gadget

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barry on autopilot
Much as I love John Barry’s work and his Bond music, I have to say that this score is rather tired sounding and I get the impression that Barry was running on automatic pilot when he composed it. Mind, the film as a whole had a wearying feel to it, so perhaps this isn’t surprising.
By and large the music is traditional Barry tension stuff – slow...
Published on 29 Oct. 2003 by Gareth Austin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, exciting stuff, but sadly not complete, 29 Jan. 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
AVTAK was the first time I noticed how good the Bond scores were. John Barry scored 11 movies in the series, a record that is unlikely to ever be broken. Barry created new and unique themes for each movie and frequently worked in the melodies from the title songs, blending the Bond theme into them so seamlessly and naturally that it became a staple of the franchise that those familiar with the latter title songs probably won't even notice it.

Duran Duran's effort for AVTAK has many critics, but I like the song, and the melody is brilliantly developed by Barry into wonderful flute solos. The triumphant score to the scene where Bond rescues Stacey Sutton from the burning San Francisco City Hall to the tune of "Dance into the Fire" is sadly not on this CD. For Bond fans and for score collectors this is a bit of a let-down. A few other cues seem rearranged or edited for reasons I can't imagine.

The action scenes have some very exciting orchestration and some classic moments. I am unsure if this or Living Daylights is my favorite of the series. I just LOVE the screaming, rasping brass sections of "He's Dangerous" and the bridging theme - a nail-biting piece of work used again for the climax at the top of the Golden Gate south tower, and the intense crescendo as Grace Jones suicides herself to save San Francisco is breathtaking. Really, really good stuff here, kiddies. This IS spy music.

The only other demerit I can think of is that Barry only uses the famous Bond chorus once, and rather weakly too. For this reason I think I might give Living Daylights the edge, but this is still a must-have score.

Fans of Duran Duran's famous title song should also check-out the epic cover version by Northern Kings.

The CD is hopelessly out of order. The correct order of the track is this:

1. Snow Job
2. A View to a Kill
3. May Day Jumps
4. Bond Meets Stacy
5. Pegasus' Stable
6. Tibbet Gets Washed-Out
7. Bond Escapes Roller
8. Bond Underwater
9. Wine With Stacey
10. He's Dangerous
11. Destroy Silicon Valley
12. Airship to Silicon Valley
13. May Day Bombs Out
14. Golden Gate Fight
15. A View to A Kill

Score as heard in the film 5/5
Score as heard on the CD 3/5
Overall 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what a score......, 13 Feb. 2004
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
Ok, A View to a kill was not the bes of the Bond Movies, but boy did it have a great soundtrack. The classic theme tune by Duran Duran (the only Bond them song to reach number 1 so far) is great, as is the absolutly brilliant instrumental verison of it, of which you get two versions. Included is a great little booklet which has alot of information about the film and the music. This is a great addition to any Bond fans CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Bond Sundtrack, 4 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
Recently I purchased this soundtrack.I'm a big Bond fan and I think this record truly captures the spirit of the Bond movie. There is excitemtent mixed with more mellow themes. The romance between Bond and Stacey really is apparent with the flute in the parts where it's used. Buy it, you might like it; I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Bond soundtrack ever!, 29 July 2009
By 
K. W. Wardle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
I had to get this CD on import from Japan about 12 years ago, but now it's here in all it's glory and better than ever. The title song is a classic and all the tracks are VERY dynamic and will rock your speakers. The sleeve notes are very good too. All-in-all a superb soundtrack in every way...Shame about the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A view to a kill OST, 10 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
Another great Bond score by John Barry. Barry manages to create a certain Bond "feeling" as in almost every Bond OST he's been involved in. The title song performed by Duran Duran is a pop music masterpiece, at least that's my opinion.

A view to a kill may not be the greatest moment in the Bond franchise (although I think that Max Zorin/Christopher Walken is a superb charachter) but Barry's score, along with the title song, really colours this motion picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Barry, 25 Nov. 2006
By 
Mark Higgins "mark7793" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
Other reviews have suggested Barry was "running out of steam at this point". I couldn't disagree more - Barry's influence on the extraordinary theme tune alone makes this easily one of the best Bond soundtracks.

I would accept that the rest of the soundtrack is far from ground breaking, but full of many classic Barry pieces. The instrumental versions of the them are excellent, e.g. "Bond meets Stacey"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barry on autopilot, 29 Oct. 2003
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
Much as I love John Barry’s work and his Bond music, I have to say that this score is rather tired sounding and I get the impression that Barry was running on automatic pilot when he composed it. Mind, the film as a whole had a wearying feel to it, so perhaps this isn’t surprising.
By and large the music is traditional Barry tension stuff – slow build up to climax, but it lacks the inspiration of what he composed for his earlier Bond scores. The best of these cues is ‘Airship To Silicon Valley’. Despite what I’ve just said about lack of inspiration, the action music is actually quite good and is one of Barry’s punchier compositions, sometimes compared to the action music from OHMSS. It appears in three cues: ‘Snow Job’, ‘He’s Dangerous’ and ‘Golden Gate Fight’. The complaint I’d have about it is that it’s repeated in these cues with little or no variation, which is a bit of a let down. Disappointingly the good old James Bond Theme makes only one appearance at the end of ‘May Day Jumps’.
The main theme is a good one and is used in two cues as a love theme ('Bond Meets Stacey' & 'Wine With Stacey'), but doesn’t make any other appearance within the score, which for John Barry is quite unusual. Personally, I think it would have made a good action cue if beefed up a little.
Overall, while this is OK to listen to, it’s not a score that encourages repeated listening. It’s not the weakest Bond score of all, but it is Barry’s weakest. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... the poorer Bond films ironically has one of the best soundtracks. Duran Duran and John Barry majesty here, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
One of the poorer Bond films ironically has one of the best soundtracks. Duran Duran and John Barry majesty here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get this..., 18 Nov. 2014
By 
YK "YK" (Tokyo, Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A View to a Kill (Audio CD)
excellent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A View to a Kill
A View to a Kill by John Barry (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews