Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous listening memories of my first cinema experience
The main appeal for me of this CD are the iconic `Mojave Club', `Ride To Atlantis' and `Bond 77' tracks however I was pleasantly surprised by the funky feel to `Eastern Lights'. At barely 36 mins this is probably the briefest of James Bond soundtracks however I thought the stylish accompanying booklet more than made up for the lack of bonus tracks. I like the...
Published 18 months ago by Ms. Sarah E. Tarrant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spy Who Loved Me
The music is great as obvious from the film. What I am disappointed about is there aren't many tracks on the album whereas some Bond soundtrack albums have 20+. I would've thought there were more tracks available from the film to include.
Published 22 months ago by GB67


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous listening memories of my first cinema experience, 4 May 2013
By 
Ms. Sarah E. Tarrant (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
The main appeal for me of this CD are the iconic `Mojave Club', `Ride To Atlantis' and `Bond 77' tracks however I was pleasantly surprised by the funky feel to `Eastern Lights'. At barely 36 mins this is probably the briefest of James Bond soundtracks however I thought the stylish accompanying booklet more than made up for the lack of bonus tracks. I like the informative four panel listening notes (with things I didn't know about), fold out two panel montage of colour photos, single panel Anya holding a gun on Bond in the escape pod picture and interesting chart position details. As a complete package I'm delighted with this title covering the first film I ever went to see at the cinema on its original theatrical release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Hope You Enjoyed The Show! Goodnight!", 12 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
A little on the short side for my taste, but this has always been a favourite James Bond soundtrack ever since hearing 'BOND 77' at the pre-title sequence of the film and also at the climax. One hell of a tune, filled with exciting bursts and pulse-pounding synth beats along with the chilling twangy guitar of the 007 theme. This tune is worth the CD alone.

The other tunes range from the sombre and beautiful, letting you totally become one with the aquatic feel of the movie which is a brilliant touch. 'Ride To Atlantis' and 'Anya' are a couple. They're totally in tune with the 70s era and the Roger Moore tongue-in-cheek portrayal of James Bond.

'The Pyramids' and 'The Mojave Club' capture the frolics and culture of Egypt with totally wicked instrumentals and beats, like nothing heard in a Bond movie before.

'Conclusion' is heard when 007 battles two of Anya's agents in Egypt and is one of the most memorable pieces of music used to tie in with the Pyramids and exotic location. It's short and sweet, but by goodness the final notes are EPIC and true Bond at this best!

Coupled with the gorgeous 'Nobody Does It Better' theme tune as the benchmark for James Bond, this soundtrack does really prove that nobody does it better than James Bond, and The Spy Who Loved Me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rich and luxurious, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
one of the best bond soundtracks. catchy in places, moody in others. Variation enough to keep the interest. Bond music is curiously involving when it perhaps should not be, I guess there is more magic to this franchise than meets the eye..... BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spy Who Loved Me, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
The music is great as obvious from the film. What I am disappointed about is there aren't many tracks on the album whereas some Bond soundtrack albums have 20+. I would've thought there were more tracks available from the film to include.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 10 Oct 2012
By 
M. McGowan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
Fantastic score not by John Barry but by Marvin Hamlisch. It includes the legendary song Nobody Does it Better sung by Carly Simon, but also has brilliant 007 music such as the cheesy but fun Bond '77.

A superb addition to any film music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond '77..., 13 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
The spy who loved me is one of the best Bond films, not just because of the great story line, but also because of the brilliant sound track. This CD is the full score, including the famous title song and the great Bond '77 theme. Included is also a very informative and useful booklet about the film and the music itself. This CD is a great addition to any Bond fans CD collection, or anyone who loves great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOND FILMTRACK, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for my husband who loves Bond films. Always listens to one when he is washing up and starts quoting the film. Would recommend to all Bond fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the british end up sir !, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
The Spy who loved me's score is usually ranked at the bottom of the heap in the list of Bond scores,whilst that criticism in reality may be slightly too harsh it doesn't rank amongst the sterling work of John Barry and the new scores by David Arnold in really showcasing the Bond sound. After scoring "The man with the golden gun", John Barry declined to score TSWLM as he was now a tax exile living in the U.S. and couldn't commit the necessary time in the U.K to work on the movie without being penalised by the British government. Cubby Broccoli and United Artists subsequently asked respected songwriter and composer Marvin Hamlisch to score the movie and whist Hamlisch's score may not for the most part be particularly noteworthy or Bond-esq it does have one or two moments of quality.

The title song "Nobody does it better" Performed by Carly Simon is easily one of the all time top Bond theme tunes reaching the top 10 in both the UK and U.S and is still today one of the most popular Bond theme's played on the radio.

As for the score itself - the one track that is worth the price of the CD alone for most would be the groovy and disco-fied "Bond 77" with it's Bee gee's esq disco beat and liberal use of the Bond theme throughout it's easy to see why this has been so popular over the years, yes it sounds dated ( this was made in 1977 afterall when Disco was huge!) but it's so ruddy infectious you'll have it in your brain all day long!

Elsewhere "Rise to atlantis" is a nice piece with it's haunting synthesiser melody and "Anya" which i believe was not used in the film in the end, is another pleasant slower number. More traditional orchestral sounds can be heard in tracks like "The Tanker" and are more Barry-esq but lacking the magic and mood Barry so often created for serious dramatic numbers.

I have all the bond scores on CD and this one is probably like many people one of my least favourites, i could only really recommend you buy this for the title song and Bond 77 as there is little else to really get too excited about.

The remastering though is one of the better one's in the Bond remasters series with crystal clear sound and good bass and for such as cheap price now a Bond fan or soundtrack collector deserves to have this sitting on their shelf.

3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Nobody (but John Barry) Does It Better", 11 May 2008
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Loved Me (Audio CD)
Since I was a teenager, I have always been a huge fan of John Barry's work for the Bond films. This is the only non-John Barry Bond OST in my collection, which says a lot for how Marvin Hamlisch managed to successfully perpetuate the Bond feel and yet provide a new approach.

"Nobody Does It Better" was one of the best Bond themes ever. This disc also features a well-arranged warm and cosy instrumental version with piano solo, soft strings, harp, and guitar and saxophone solos.

"Bond 77" is a chase-scene piece with an original arrangement based around a disco beat (this was 1977, after all). But that arrangement also features a rhythm guitar, a brilliant trumpet sound, saxophone and strings, and in the middle the original Bond theme is given out on a low guitar.

"Ride to Atlantis" is laid-back and bass-led with a repeated melody on top: cocktail bar music in a way, but with a greater sense of urgency towards the end. "Anya" hints at the Russian agent's exoticism through the arabesques at the end of phrases.

High strings and flaring brass shout danger in "The Tanker", whist the lower strings and insistent brass riffs convey the intention that nothing will stop this supertanker in its tracks. Meanwhile shimmering strings and sustained low brass chords convey the mystery of "The Pyramids", whilst a five-note figure on woodwind spells menace.

"Eastern Lights" is a fusion of Arabic and western sounds; at times, it reminds me of a George Benson instrumental. There is another Arabic-feel track in "Mojave" with authentic instruments.

With only 36 minutes of music, one might hesitate to buy this CD, but for me it is so reminiscent of its time, and so perfectly scored that it must be one of the best Bond soundtracks ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spy Who Loved Me
The Spy Who Loved Me by Marvin Hamlisch (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews