Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, Sign your death certificate and tune in!!, 15 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Death Certificate (Explicit) (Audio CD)
After producing a classic with his debut,AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted, many questioned whether ice cube could get more political,get angrier, and most importantly if he could top the huge standard he'd set for himself. Well no fear, because how do u beat a classic? You make possibly the best hip hop album of your generation! It's political, furious and awesome!! A concept album which has the 1st half of the album labeled "the death side" showing where the black man is, and then "the life side" showing the black man where he must go.Cube's storytelling is off the scale as his lyricism, straight to the point and not making any excuses. Unfortunately it comes at a price as ice's anger got him accused of racism,against the koreans working in the liquor stores and n.w.a's manager a white jewish fella by the name of jerry heller. This was the soundtrack to the l.a riots and perfectly epitomised the struggles of the black peoples of L.A.This album covers everything from hustling, dealing,girlfriends,std's,politics, and a memorable n.w.a diss.Although not for the faint-hearted and not for yer kids, this is straight-up hardcore rap classic material,recommended highly. One of, if not the best album in rap and cube's best. WOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The broomstick fit yo ass all perfect'....., 14 Sept. 2006
By 
A. Fitzgerald "a_fitz" (Co. Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Certificate (Explicit) (Audio CD)
[...] 'No Vaseline'.....probably the best diss-tune ever.
Other than accusing his former fiends of being 'gang-banged' by their manager, he also has a go at the Koreans, white males, cops, the American government, 'bitches n hoes' and generally anyone who gets on his nerves. Therefore you'd be right in thinking that the lyrics on this album are not only violent, but also homophobic, anti-Korean, anti-Semetic, misognystic, anti-AmeriKKKan and anti-authority in general.....However, thay are also poignant, informed, accurate, prophetic, clever and witty. This is an album from an artist at the top of his game. It's like the life of poor, Black Americans in the early nineties chewed up by Cube and spat back out on to this album. It is a monumental hip-hop album from a monumental hip-hop voice. Buy it immediately, if not sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re: One of the best 10 hip hop Albums Ever, 12 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Death Certificate (Explicit) (Audio CD)
All I say is this:
This album has not been bettered by nearly any artist in the last 12 years. Taken as a whole, rather than a collection of singles as most hip hop albums are, this is an amazing conceptual album. I dont think ive ever heard sequencing as good as this on any hip hop album or any album for that matter. The concept in short: Cube shows where black america is on the death side, then proceeds to show you where it needs to go on the life side. His range of topics and storytelling hasnt been matched, and I dont think it ever will be. The music - incredible beats but cohesive as a whole. No beat or bassline is the same. And its weird to think that when they released this in England the first time round, No Vasoline and Black Korea were removed because of their content. Now 12 years on, they are back on again. True Cube in his full on Nation of Islam mode does come out with some stuff that you might take offense at, but this album as with his first leaves you thinking. and it gives you an insight into life that for many normal LA residents in 12 years hasnt changed.
In short- theres not one artist I can think of in the hip hop world at the moment who would dare to make an album like this again because they are too obsessed with getting on MTV and riding in their Bentleys. Cube didnt care about that when he wrote this album. Sure he wanted money, but at least he had the balls to tell it like it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this is a real good album, 31 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Death Certificate (Audio CD)
after the dissapointing 'amerikkkas most wanted', ice cube quickly released this. this is a great improvement, mixing some catchy pop hooks with enough hardcore beats to keep everybody happy. I could go on about ice cubes political stance, with many songs based on the rodney king beating and his mistreatment by policemen, but this album is generally pure class, though nothing compares to his earlier NWA work. this is his second best solo outing, after the predator, so if u have a few quid going spare u could do worse than to pick this up and give it a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ice t and ice cube they were the best and their music still telling it as its I’m ..., 31 July 2014
This review is from: Death Certificate (Audio CD)
20 years + later and its still true this is what got me into hip hop back in my teen years the real MCs .. ice t and ice cube they were the best and their music still telling it as its I’m not a rap fan but I like real music the music which comes with a message not what snoop and everyone later made the sex and more sex rap which gets old fast .. open your taste of music and try this cd it’s a great work of art \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Socio-political commentary gangsta style., 19 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Death Certificate (Explicit) (Audio CD)
It might seem that practically every rap album released in the early 90s is awarded a '5 star' rating. Which makes you wonder how credible that rating really is, nonetheless we have the second offering from Ice Cube, before his music started to go downhill and his acting career became priority.

Highly anticipated at the time of its release in Autumn 1991, this album features a lot of controversial material, provoking accusations of racism in songs like 'Black Korea' and 'Horny Lil' Devil'. Also recorded at a time of acrimony between Cube and the remaining members of N.W.A. 'No Vaseline' is Ice Cube's response to comments made in the N.W.A. song '100 Miles and Runnin'.

This controversy does little to tarnish the quality of the album. Lyrically Ice Cube is at his peak of his remarkable powers. Each song deals with problems effecting black youths in America at that time, every track is relayed to the listener meaningfully, miles apart from the mundane tales of excess you might expect from rappers today.

Musically the production calls upon generous P-Funk sampling, along with some other notable funk artists (James Brown's The Payback features prominently on the opening track) and the Bomb Squad production guarantees a 'Public Enemy' vibe through out.

The album manages to maintain a refreshing consistency throughout, most tracks being in the region of 2-3 minutes long, allowing Cube to keep to the point and avoid any unnecessary filler. The standout track is True To The Game which samples the Gap Band's 1982 hit 'Outstanding' and is a savage critique of certain anonymous rappers (presumably N.W.A and Eazy E in particular).

So is this album really 5 star? With the flawless production and lyrical mastery its hard to find a fault in it. I'm reluctant to hand out a 5 star rating, but for fans of rap music this album really is a must. So if you fall into that category, start digging in your wallet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Ice Cube's best!, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Certificate (Explicit) (Audio CD)
I ordered this CD as I have a vinyl copy that's worn out now... for my money this is Ice Cube's best album and one of my all time favourite albums in any genre. The CD also comes with the excellent Kill At Will EP so is very good money and I can't recommend this enough if you love hip hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Rap Album Ever, 22 Feb. 2001
This review is from: Death Certificate (Audio CD)
Death Certificate in my view is Ice Cube's best solo album and the apart from his earlier N.W.A work this in my opinion is the best rap album in the world ever coming from the best rapper ever. Cube's rhymes are spit out with aggression which suits the big beats. Old Skool is where it's at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Certificate (Explicit) (Audio CD)
Cd exactly how it Woz described, gud value for money and plays perfectly,arrived when it said it would,all great really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WEST WEST, 19 April 2006
By 
C. Mort "sickmc" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Certificate (Explicit) (Audio CD)
This album is a true classic,iv got all cubes albums an this is one ov the best,

my best songs are:

My summer vacation

Steady mobbin

Look who's burnin

I wanna kill sam

But my frav is Color blind its a true cali tune.

so if u like old true westcoast hip hop then buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Certificate (Explicit)
Death Certificate (Explicit) by Ice Cube (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews